Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Manifold Valley Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Peak District & Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Manifold Valley Campsite > Reviews

Manifold Valley Campsite
Dale Farm
Wetton Mill
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 2AG
Tel: 07534 720903
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: 15/04/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 64 Reviews
                9/10 from 64 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  64 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Frosty 1 review from this member

 No frills/basic camping for £7pn and perfect for a couple of days.

No showers. Couple of portable toilets one end and a work site toilet (2male, 1 female) the other. Can imagine this would be a pain if it was really busy but ok this time. Kept as clean as possible for what it is. Running water/ washing up sink and drinking water tap which is handy.

Lovely fields to camp, beautiful setting, reasonably flat and next to the river. Accept pretty much any vehicle/ camp style. Tents, car camping, campervans, motor homes. No electric hook up though!

Dogs accepted at no extra cost

Family friendly, although I did get annoyed with kids playing around my car/awning, so be warned if you are trying to have a peaceful time and you visit in holidays time.

It can get very busy at weekend with people walking to area/thors cave. Some lovely walks in the area but if you want peace and quiet, go mid week/non school holidays.

Wetton Mill cafe has lovely food and drinks, and the sausage cob (served weekends/bank holidays, served from 9:15) was lovely!

As a solo camper, I felt very safe here and although a little busy due to the weekend/time of year, I'd like to return when less busy. Definitely on my keeper list. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: DodgeLisie 1 review from this member

 Peaceful and relaxed site.

Large, sheltered field, pitch where you want. Be warned no signal at all. Suited us.

Bike ride 5 Mile on the manifold way, with a walk up to thor's Cave.

Great one nighter. Free range friendless chickens. Roads to site very narrow.

Facilities clean and as promised. Suited our needs for the night. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Squidg 1 review from this member

 Absolutely love this campsite! Very peaceful and lots to explore.

Thors cave is a must!

I'd recommend this site to everyone can't fault it!

The site manager is lovely and will go above and beyond if you have any problems. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Brianalfred 11 reviews from this member

 Gorgeous site, very basic, (but I like it that way) friendly, helpful hosts, bags of space; - really - there are 2 HUGE fields mostly pretty level and flat and another smaller field. The grass is cut to decent level.

Loads of good walking and cycling straight from the site - Thors Cave is within 20(?) mins walk (but watch for queues in busy periods).

There's a refreshment shop by site entrance - very rewarding after a day out (closes around 5). The Manifold Valley railway walk is beautiful and undemanding going north and south.

The only downside in busy periods are the loos - a small, re-cycled workman's loo block with 1 ladies' and 2 men's loos (and basins with cold water), and 2 portaloos at the far end of the first main field. They're kept very clean - daily, thorough cleaning but you're advised to bring your own for bank holidays and busy times. There's also 1 outdoor washing-up sink (cold water) by the main loos.

You can paddle and splash in the river and there's a rope swing but no other child friendly activities. But plenty of space for cricket, football etc. The site was very quiet after 10 as requested on notices from the hosts. All this for £7pp. Pn (2023). I loved it! 


Date of Visit: June 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Kaylei 1 review from this member

 Basic site, but everything we needed for a lovely night stay. Really quite place to camp. Large open space for the children to play - close to a river - but just some safe access points.

Friendly hosts - able to cancel up until arrival which was perfect for us.

Toilets - small but clean. No shower but I was made aware of this prior to booking.

Would stay again :)

Stunning location with miles and miles to explore on the door step - no need to use the car!

Site facilities - only scored 7/10 purely because they are limited. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Tracyr 1 review from this member

 An absolutely enjoyable stay the lady at the farm was very pleasant.

The toilets a d sink were well maintained and very clean.

A lovely places to explore and leave city life behind.

Highly recommended 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: S j webster 10 reviews from this member

 Beautiful Campsite! Nice owner.

I camped next to the river and I found it very tranquil but others may not like the constant sounds of river. Lucky for them lots of space here to enjoy the scenery and the peace and quiet.

There is no phone signal here so no phones and no Internet. Ideal for a digital detox. My DAB radio also got no signal and the FM radio was a bit dodgy. So a pleasantly peaceful time.

The site doesn't have any showers. There are toilets and a tap so what more do you really need?

Locally there are a wealth of stunning walks. Thors cave is a must! For supplies Hartington has what you need. If you fancy a stroll to the pub it's a bit of a hike so take a torch but there are two Locally if you want. Toss a coin and decide left or right at the bridge. Personally I didn't visit either but I'm sure they are worth the effort. Literally next door is the mill with a cafe. I did note that they were selling sausage and bacon cobs for breakfast at the weekend when I visited.

If you want a quiet getaway and appreciate no frills camping or have your own personalised little luxuries this is definitely worth visiting. I shall visit again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Kellyd 1 review from this member

 A Great weekend spent with my son camping at the Manifold Valley Campsite.

Would highly recommend for couples and families alike.

Location is great. 


Date of Visit: September 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Kelibr 1 review from this member

 The campsite is in a lovely setting right by a shallow river, national trust cafe and has clean toilets. Cold water only, which was fine with us. But the noise from other camperís ruined it for us, I have a 5 and 3 year old.

We were kept up both nights by other people playing music and shouting till gone 1am.

There were notices on facilities that there was a 10pm loud noise curfew but this was ignored and no one came to tell them to quieten down.

I wouldnít camp here again only because of other campers and lack of rules that ruined our stay.

Owners are lovely. So friendly. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Aliceg 1 review from this member

 Great for a weekend camping trip but due to no washing facilities itís not suitable for longer than a weekend.

Great location with no signal (which is good at times). 
via mobile


Previous     64 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Manifold Valley Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Manifold Valley Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Manifold Valley Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ashbourne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


39941 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement