Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Oakwood Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Aviemore > Oakwood Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Oakwood Caravan & Camping Park
Granish
Aviemore
Highlands   (Browse area)
PH22 1QD
Tel: 01479 258197
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 33
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/01/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 9 Reviews
                7/10 from 9 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: November 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rod+Ali 19 reviews from this member

 First time staying on this site (we usually stay at Glenmore but site closed due to covid).

The site is fairly new so facilities in good condition. Excellent cleaning regime for toilet/shower block and we felt safe using facilities.

Pitches were fine and sufficient space between units.

Good location - 20 minute walk into town along a traffic-free path. Site is sandwiched between two main roads but we weren't disturbed by road noise.

Only gripe is that they need to empty bins more regularly - bins were overflowing from the middle of the week and still hadn't been emptied when we left at the weekend - would have been a 9/10 otherwise ! 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Diamond blade 6 reviews from this member

 Great site, all facilities open, (unlike some sites just now) and quiet despite being near the A9.

Facilities are modern and the site kept very tidy.

Being within walking distance of Aviemore is a bonus.

We'll return for a longer stay soon. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Jswind 1 review from this member

 Lovely clean site and very friendly welcome.

The showers and toilet block were very clean and we felt safe at all times.

20 minute walk into Aviemore, and make sure you book if you expect to eat out! 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gkkad 19 reviews from this member

 Although regular visitors to Aviemore, this was our first stay at Oakwood, and I have to say that I think previous reviews appear harsh in scoring a combinded 6 out of 10 and the site seems way better than that to me- more around the 8 or 9 mark. Perhaps teething issues were encountered that have mainly been worked through.

The location is great and we will probably look to stay here in future, rather than the 6 miles each way from Glenmore.

I think they have also removed one pitch from the row parallel to the A9, and spaced the pitches out a bit and even added a few hedge rows. That said the pitches still aren't the widest (although they are deep) and could do with being properly marked out. I was most annoyed when half way through our stay and having been away all day, we came back to find our new (inconsiderate) neighbours had stolen an additional 3 to 4ft of our pitch.

We were in the pitches closest to the A9 and in all honesty the noise was not an issue (hope that remains the case after the dueling happens - although that may be many years).

The shower blocks are excellent, although as others have mentioned there are two issues which, if they were to be addressed would make them almost perfect. These are the drainage with water coming out of shower into main corridor and some overspray from shower and difficulty in keeping clothing etc dry - easily addressed by an additional curtain.

All in all we would definitely stay again, due to combination of site itself and great location. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Smart Family 57 reviews from this member

 Part 2; Having finished our stay we enjoyed it mainly for its location. The toilets and showers although very nice and new, have a problem that water gets all over the floor, creating a mess.

As far as the pitches, they would benefit from being divided properly so there was no overlapping.

Also all doors of Van's facing the same way especially with so many foreign visitors.

As other sites do, show people to there pitch and advise them how to pitch.

All in all a good site that could be so much better. We would return, mainly due to location. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Smart Family 57 reviews from this member

 We booked this site well in advance. We have stayed at every other site around Aviemore, high range, Rothiemurcus and Glenmore, this site held promise being new and close to Aviemore.

The arrival at reception was friendly but no direction to facilities. We were allocated pitch 6 which was a large hardstanding area with grass, yes grass ! With our motorhome we were told we could go in reverse or nose in so we went nose in with our awning nearside.

The pitches were not in any way divided and seemed very close together, not good. The toilet and shower block was great, very modern and clean. No privacy sinks.

Dish wash area only has 2 sinks, very inadequate for a site this size, also they are outside sinks not great for winter. We were in pitch area 1 to 17, the only water tap is located on pitch 2 right next to somebody's caravan window, not good for them, the tap surely could have been better located.

The A9 noise is not an issue. Aviemore is an easy walk. So a perfectly located site, just seems like they constructed it without looking at other sites. Review to follow after completion of stay. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Mmad 15 reviews from this member

 Arrived early evening on a Wednesday having come to paddle the Spey. Had not pre-booked. Very helpful woman who came quickly to reception when phoned. Allowed us to sort out booking for people who were arriving even later after work and helped us by allowing car to stop after we had paddled further up the Spey.

Two tent areas, both flat. A lot of work seems to have gone into the site and a new children's play area is being built (not ready yet). Shower block was lovely and clean with plenty of hot water.

A shortish walk into Aviemore, with a range of shops apart from outdoor including a Tescos and Lidl. There is quite a bit of noise from the A9 as very close, which is the only real downside.

Midges were not too bad. Much cheaper without car (7 pounds I think). 


Date of Visit: January 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: SWC276 2 reviews from this member

 This new site is a not one we will be visiting in future. The site is close to the A9 so road noise would be an issue if you end up on one of the pitches nearest the road.

The access and site roads are a nightmare in the wet as they turn to a wet clay like surface and your shoes and dog needs washed every time you have have to walk anywhere.

The grass hard standing pitches mean that you are always dragging a mixture of grit and rabbit droppings in to your van. We paid for 2 nights and only stayed 1 night.

On leaving we were met by a cold response so they also need to work on their customer service! 


Date of Visit: December 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Purpledeb 1 review from this member

 This site has a good location for exploring the Cairngorms and is easily accessible from the A9, however there is some road noise due to the close proximity to this road. It is only a 20 minute walk into Aviemore with many good shops and eating places. Plenty of walks straight from the site.

The site staff are lovely and welcoming. The pitches are hardstanding grass pitches as opposed to gravel which unfortunately means that the local rabbit population tend to use the area as a toilet and our shoes were constantly caked in droppings which got transferred into car and motorhome. However, one of the main issues we found was with the shower facilities.

Although they were kept nice and clean and warm, one hook in the shower cubicle is simply not good enough as there was nowhere to put clothes while showering. The bench seat in the cubicle got soaking wet as there is no shower curtain to separate the area so drying and changing was very difficult.

Also, a shelf near the shower would be useful for putting bottles, sponge etc rather than on the floor. The timer on the hot water supply was only 15-20 seconds which was a real nuisance when trying to wash hair etc. Some of the shower cubicle doors were fitted in such a way that there was a large gap which meant the person using the shower was clearly visible to anyone queuing outside the cubicle - not great! This could be rectified by rehanging the doors and moving the hinges further across.

There was no information provided about the toilet block cleaning times. This was a very hit and miss affair, sometimes 9 am, other times 10 am. You simply had no idea when the shower block was going to be locked which was very inconvenient when you want to plan your morning and have to be ready to go out for the day or indeed on the departure day.

Surely it would not be difficult to have a designated closure time so that people can plan around it. Also, there did not seem to be an alternative toilet to use during cleaning times. Other things which were disappointing were the waste water drain for motorhomes, which is situated in such a way that it is impossible to dispose of waste water without it going all over the area.

Also, the rubbish disposal bins have a narrow opening at the top which makes it really difficult to get a bag of rubbish in the bin with some people having to leave rubbish on the top. We also did not see any means of recycling rubbish on the site which was disappointing. Also, the spacing between pitches is very narrow.

Taking all these issues into account, we feel that this site is priced a bit too high when compared to others in the area. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Oakwood Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Oakwood Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Oakwood Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Aviemore      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3557 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement