Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Oakwood Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Aviemore > Oakwood Caravan And Camping Park > Reviews

Oakwood Caravan And Camping Park
Granish
Aviemore
Highlands   (Browse area)
PH22 1QD
Tel: 01479 258197
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 33
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 15 Reviews
                8/10 from 15 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2024 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: The mcquarrie 19 reviews from this member

 Great site for visiting the cairngorm, The areas has much to offer walkers, cycling, and climbers.

Aviemore only a mile down the road with all the usual facilities.

Toilets well-maintained would recommend. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Emmami 1 review from this member

 Very clean and spacious site, shower and toilet facilities were excellent and immaculate.

Play park was perfect for our little girl.

Would definitely recommend this site and stay again 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Icande 1 review from this member

 Last minute booking, good value, nice welcome when we arrived.

Clean and modern facilities.

Camping ground a bit stony for getting getting tent pegs into ground.

Quite a lot of traffic noise as near A9. Will take ear plugs next time! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Tubby1888 1 review from this member

 Good looking site. Great looking play area for kids in site's centre with several pieces of equipment to play on.

Generous number of toilets and showers and washbasins.

The showers themselves are good but each has a wetroom floor which becomes wet everywhere. A shower curtain is required.

The site location is not ideal, being stuck between 2 busy roads though of course they do quieten somewhat overnight. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Laurie 1 review from this member

 Overall good clean site.

Door code on toilet was a bit annoying as couldn't let nephew go without going with him to put number in.

Further outside of Aviemore than we initially realised - most expensive site we stayed at on our weeklong trip as well 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Invern 1 review from this member

 New site, between two roads but we were not bothered with road noise. Ground was solid so getting the pegs in for the awning was a challenge but we have upgraded our pegs for future trips.

Our only issue is that the sinks for dish washing were right next to the Motorhome Sluice drain. The smell is not nice when the motor homes are dropping their loads right next to the sinks when you are cleaning your dishes. It may make sense to move the sinks to the other side of the building.

Other than that this is a good site and seemed well maintained. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rod+Ali 24 reviews from this member

 First time staying on this site (we usually stay at Glenmore but site closed due to covid).

The site is fairly new so facilities in good condition. Excellent cleaning regime for toilet/shower block and we felt safe using facilities.

Pitches were fine and sufficient space between units.

Good location - 20 minute walk into town along a traffic-free path. Site is sandwiched between two main roads but we weren't disturbed by road noise.

Only gripe is that they need to empty bins more regularly - bins were overflowing from the middle of the week and still hadn't been emptied when we left at the weekend - would have been a 9/10 otherwise ! 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Diamond blade 10 reviews from this member

 Great site, all facilities open, (unlike some sites just now) and quiet despite being near the A9.

Facilities are modern and the site kept very tidy.

Being within walking distance of Aviemore is a bonus.

We'll return for a longer stay soon. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Jswind 1 review from this member

 Lovely clean site and very friendly welcome.

The showers and toilet block were very clean and we felt safe at all times.

20 minute walk into Aviemore, and make sure you book if you expect to eat out! 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gkkad 19 reviews from this member

 Although regular visitors to Aviemore, this was our first stay at Oakwood, and I have to say that I think previous reviews appear harsh in scoring a combinded 6 out of 10 and the site seems way better than that to me- more around the 8 or 9 mark. Perhaps teething issues were encountered that have mainly been worked through.

The location is great and we will probably look to stay here in future, rather than the 6 miles each way from Glenmore.

I think they have also removed one pitch from the row parallel to the A9, and spaced the pitches out a bit and even added a few hedge rows. That said the pitches still aren't the widest (although they are deep) and could do with being properly marked out. I was most annoyed when half way through our stay and having been away all day, we came back to find our new (inconsiderate) neighbours had stolen an additional 3 to 4ft of our pitch.

We were in the pitches closest to the A9 and in all honesty the noise was not an issue (hope that remains the case after the dueling happens - although that may be many years).

The shower blocks are excellent, although as others have mentioned there are two issues which, if they were to be addressed would make them almost perfect. These are the drainage with water coming out of shower into main corridor and some overspray from shower and difficulty in keeping clothing etc dry - easily addressed by an additional curtain.

All in all we would definitely stay again, due to combination of site itself and great location. 


Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Oakwood Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Oakwood Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Oakwood Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Aviemore      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5579 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement