Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Alanholme Caravan & Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Appleby In Westmorland > Alanholme Caravan & Camping Reviews

Alanholme Caravan & Camping
Alanholme
Long Marton
Appleby In Westmorland
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA16 6BN
Tel: 017683 61628  or  07789 502 864
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 15
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 18 Reviews
                10/10 from 18 Reviews

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 23 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Chappies43 37 reviews from this member

 What can we say about Alanholme - we've found our happy place! Part of me doesn't want to leave a review as we want to make sure we can always go back to this gem of a site.

Our 23 nights spent there this summer were actually in 2 blocks - 14 nights, then we went home for 2 weeks and then we returned for a further 9 nights. We originally booked another site for the second dates but loved our time at Alanholme so much that we desperately wanted to go back.

The site is just a couple of miles from the A66 but be warned that the road off the A66 that takes you to Long Marton is national speed limit and some drivers seem to think this is a target; take it steady as the road is only just wide enough for 2 vehicles.

Traffic on the A66 can be problematic as there are often accidents and roadworks which cause jams.

The village of Long Marton is lovely with a nice pub and the locals are so friendly. There are some great walks from the site, taking you across fields with fab views.

There isn't a shop in the village but it's only a few miles to the nearest petrol station on the A66 which has a shop selling the basics. Penrith isn't far away with plentiful shops, restaurants and takeaways. Appleby is even closer with a well stocked Co-op, nice fish & chip shop and other shops and cafes.

Facilities on the site are communal with showers charged at 20p for 2 minutes or £1 for 10 minutes so take some change with you. Joanne and Sam the owners work very hard to keep them spotlessly clean and Sam takes great pleasure in frequently mowing the grass on his ride-on mower.

There are several taps dotted around the site and waste water is disposed of by pouring on the side of the road through the site which has a soakaway. There's an Elson disposal point and the 16 amp electric hook-up is very reliable.

The free Wi-Fi is good but does slow down when the site is busy. Mobile phone reception is good. There is no play area on site but it is a very short walk to the one in the village. On a clear day the view from the site is quite simply stunning.

There is so much to do in the area which is in the North East of the beautiful Lake District. We walked miles with our dog who had the time of his life. Favourites were Glenridding/Ullswater, Pooley Bridge, Keswick where we walked around Derwent Water (11. 5 miles), High Cup Nick, Haweswater (12 miles of quite difficult terrain for over half of this), Brother's Water, Kirkby Stephen, Barnard castle and our favourite Buttermere.

We've still got lots to see in the area and have made friends with some lovely campers on seasonal pitches on site so we will definitely plan a return visit or three.  


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Timzo4 2 reviews from this member

 Beautiful location, and a nice campsite with good facilities -

Toilets, showers, facilities for washing up.

The owner, Mike, was very friendly and helpful.

Wouldn't hesitate to go there again 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 21 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Genieb 11 reviews from this member

 Nothing to dislike, beautiful views, when clear but then one cannot do anything about the weather.

Joanne and Sam a very hospitable couple who kept the place immaculate, the grass nicely cut and the recycling and waste bins washed out on a daily basis.

We has 3 good weeks and although the weather was very mixed didn't hold us back. Plenty of nice walks and places to visit.

Would certainly revisit and definitely recommend.

We always use our own facilities in the van but those on site were spotless. Thank you both.

Jean and John 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Bernstein 1 review from this member

 A beautiful clean and quiet site with glorious views for all to enjoy.

The owners are really nice and helpful.

Thank you so much for such a wonderful break. 


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: EmmanAdam 1 review from this member

 This site is lovely clean and well looked after, the owners are polite and helpful.

We stayed in our touring caravan with electric hook up never had a problem.

Clean facilities, grass kept tidy and freshly cut, good area of field so kids can play.

Peacefull a d tranquil.

Not far from appleby it self a d 20 min to Penrith

We will be coming back. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Luanne 1 review from this member

 Perfect place for a wonderful little break with my friends and grandchildren, they absolutely loved it and want to go back very soon.

Very safe and very clean.

We will definitely be coming back real soon. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Robth2 1 review from this member

 Stayed in the camping pod at Alanholme Caravan and Camping after a recommendation from the owner of another local site. What a find this place is!

Arrangements were made by email and the comms were very timely and concise.

On arrival the site is well manicured and very well run, the owners Joanne and Sam clearly have a lot of pride in their business but there is still a very laid back feeling at the site.

The shared facilities, toilets, showers, washing area etc were cleaned regularly throughout the day and I always found them in immaculate condition.

The location is amazing. We were there to do some hiking and there was a plethora of good walks within a stones throw. High Cup, Cross Fell, Dufton Pike could all be walked from the door and many other walks are within a short drive.

The pod itself was clean and tidy and contained all of the things you would need for a short trip. All we needed were airbeds and sleeping bags. The pod had heating and electric and a nice large deck out front. Perfect for visiting at any time of year and great value.

My 6 year old son enjoyed every moment of his stay and made some amazing memories. I can say that we will be back. Thank you 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Iainc3 1 review from this member

 Pleasant and very friendly stay and will return.

A bit lax on Covid protocol though with no signs or recommendations etc. This did not spoil our stay but made us very cautious about entering the amenities block. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Yellof 1 review from this member

 Absolutely amazing site.

Small, quiet and perfectly placed with amazing views.

Exceptionally clean and Joanne couldn’t do enough to help.

Very friendly pub conveniently close by.

We’ll definitely be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Michel 1 review from this member

 Excellent campsite very clean and well looked after by friendly hosts.

Plenty of walks around the area, such as Dufton Pike and High Cup Nick which begin in nearby Dufton.

We visited the Mason Arms Pub, a 5 minute walk from the site and the food was excellent. 
via mobile


Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Alanholme Caravan & Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Alanholme Caravan & Camping?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Alanholme Caravan & Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Appleby In Westmorland      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4055 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Open Today's Window