Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Tuckers Grave Inn And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Somerset > Radstock > Tuckers Grave Inn And Campsite > Reviews

Tuckers Grave Inn And Campsite
Faulkland
Radstock
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA3 5XF
Tel: 07976897743
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30+
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 8 Reviews
                9/10 from 8 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: October 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Deb-snovice 8 reviews from this member

 We came here with friends for a get together. Unfortunately the grass was so wet it wasn't possible to pitch on it so everyone was crammed on the tarmac.

Was we pitched safely?? NO. We were literally 2 metres apart, and we paid premium for this too.

The on site bar serves a selection of food which was very good, and breakfast too. The food and drink where good value for money, its a shame I can't say the same about the pitch per night cost. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: CrystalCamper 9 reviews from this member

 I really loved my stay at this campsite. The spacious fields meant that the pitches didnít feel too crowded. Most weekends there is live music in the barn, on-site, and the vibe is really friendly and accommodating.

I can recommend the vegan sausage rolls at the cafe, they were delicious! Iím not sure whether the cafe will be open during the weekdays in the summer months, but during my stay it was only open Friday, Saturday and Sunday.

The nearby village of Faulkland has a small store, but if you need groceries for your stay you might want to stock up before you arrive, as the most direct path to the village is along a quite busy road, without footpaths. Be careful when exiting onto the A366 from the Innís car park, as the Inn is situated on a blind curve and inching out to get any clear view from both directions is tricky.

I would most definitely stay here again, and certainly recommend this campsite as a place that isnít a one-trick pony. The beautiful Somerset landscape, clean and ample amenities, live music, friendly and accommodating staff, nearby attractions and loads of ciders on tap. Fires are allowed as are dogs on leads. The Inn is historically registered and as such, is small but beautiful and packed with history and character.

You wonít be disappointed when you stay. I canít wait to go back! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: ChrisBradburn 30 reviews from this member

 We stayed here in mid-winter, temperatures below freezing all day. 15 minute drive to the Bath Park & Ride for their Christmas Market and 30 minute drive to the Bristol P&R, for theirs. (Both cities have LEZs). The site is magic!

The new shower and WC block was first rate - once the heating was fixed. It was "Bracing" before that. The fresh water supply was frozen one morning as was the cleaning water for the chemical disposal facility. All part of winter camping though.

The Pub was something from history, there won't be many who can remember pubs in the old days when beer was served from a hatch in the front room. There was local bitter and local cider available from the barrel as well as a draft lager and some spirits and wines and the locals were very friendly and sociable.

Food was available at the weekend and there were social activities planned for the weekends as well.

On the down side, I tried to book a pitch with EHU but the automated booking form told me none were available. It was disappointing to find that of the four available in total, two pitches were vacant throughout our stay.

One of the EHU pitches had a camper van overnight which ran its engine -noisy, smelly diesel- almost every half an hour. I know generators are not allowed but this was annoying at times.

I did however, book for four nights but left after 3 because we had done all we came for and the weather was too cold for sitting about - even if camp fires are permitted.

There is plenty of space, no hard standing pitches and since the ground was frozen, no problem with mud after the recent heavy rainfalls.

Niggles aside, this is a wonderful site for anyone who does not favour the regimentation of Club Sites. 


Date of Visit: November 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Chrisandsandra 67 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for one night as a friend was playing in the Parlour.

The site is quite large with several fields. Only one field has EHUs and atm they are limited and only provide 6A but this was enough for us to run the diesel heating all night as it was quite chilly.

The pub toilets, which we used as they were nearest to our pitch, are open all the time and were well kept and very clean, plus there are portaloos across the site. As previously said there are no showers atm.

The welcome from the site manager, Prem, was very warm and he went out of his way to make sure we were happy. As there had been a lot of rain he allowed us to walk the site before pitching to make sure it was suitable for us. The ground was soft in places but we had no difficulty getting on or off.

We did not use any other facilities on the campsite as we were only there for one night.

The pub and the Parlour had a great choice of ciders from the 'barrel' plus bottled beers. Draught ale was brought over to the Parlour from the main pub so real ale drinkers were catered for. Food was limited to curry but that was wholesome and cheap.

This site is in its infancy under new management and as said in previous reviews the new owners have great plans to improve it in the near future.

For us it's a great place for a weekend away or to meet up with camping friends as it is so laid back and spacious. We'll certainly return.  


Date of Visit: October 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Dk168 48 reviews from this member

 There are many reasons why I would not like this campsite, however, there were 2 reasons why I did: the management team and the pub.

It is a pub site as in a site next to a pub, with minimal facilities:

* 6A EHU on 4 pitches

* No flushing toilets (portaloos were provided around the campsite, and there are loos next to the pub which are open all the time)

* No showers

* Only cold water at the 2 sinks for washing up

* No hardstanding pitches (grass only)

* No motorhome service point

If I were still camping under canvas, I would not have stayed at this site. However, as I have onboard facilities in my panel van conversion, and it was only a short stay to attend a rally for VW owners, I decided to chance it.

The owners had planned for a new facilities block with showers and toilets to be built, however, the work has been delayed due to Covid-19, and will now be completed hopefully in time for next year's season at the end of March 2022.

In addition to the facilities block, they are also upgrading the electricity supply to at least 10A for EHU pitches. Hardstanding pitches are unlikely to be available in 2022.

When I arrived, I was taken aback to discover the EHU supply was only 6A and there was no hardstanding pitches available.

Apparently the 6A EHU supply was mentioned in one of their pages or booking information; however, I still have not been able to find it.

When asked what would happen if I got stuck in the mud, the site manager cheerfully and reassuringly pointed at a big tractor and said he would pull me with it. And he did use the tractor to pull a motorhome out during my stay!

The campsite was boggy in places, especially near the stream in the lower fields.

The pub is famed for its ciders and perries. And the selection during my stay did not disappoint, with a good selection of bar snacks available, plus filled baguettes.

The original pub is tiny, however, there is a big multi-use extension called the Old Parlour as well as a barn where free live entertainments were staged.

Food wise they have a curry night on Fridays (the chicken curry with rice I had was tasty), and an external caterer provides BBQ on Saturdays, and cooked breakfast on Sundays. All the food I had during my stay were very good value for money IMHO, including the coffees and cakes.

I had a good chat with the lady owner of the pub and site, as well as the site manager. They were very helpful and have a good vision with regard to improvements to be made to the site. Had it not been for Covid-19, there would have been a new facilities block and better EHU supply this year!

Being late in October, the site was quiet once the V-Dubbers had departed. Apparently it will be quite busy during October half term school holiday.

Mobile phone signal was good for 4G EE and 3 coverage.

Site WiFi was free to use, with good signal in the Old Parlour. However, there was no signal at my pitch which was one of the 4 EHU pitches near the barn.

There is no play area or equipment for children.

I could envisage this being a very lovely site after completion of its upgrades, especially in the quieter periods, even though the peace and quiet could be interrupted by the occasional noisy vehicles thundering past the main road nearby.

After my initial apprehensions for its lack of facilities, I found myself liking this site so much that I have already planned to return next year soon after the completion of its upgrades. It is under an hour's drive from home which is very handy.

All in all, a gem of a site as it is now, and no doubt it will be much better next year. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Clayta 1 review from this member

 What a wonderfull site. Had a great weekend.

Very friendly host. Visited the inn for a cider(or 2).

Lovely walks in surrounding countryside.

Will definitely be back 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Heidil 1 review from this member

 Absolutely loved our stay.

Prem, the campsite manager, was brilliant. Friendly, wants to chat, and helped us out with a couple of chairs as we had forgot ours.

Rustic charm and can imagine such a festival vibe at weekends (we were weekday)

Might see if they have a pitch for us on way back up.

Site facilities is a 9 because no showers but they are urging these in soon.

Child friendly 9 as there isnít a specific child area but our kids are close in age and donít need entertaining, they see a big field and make their own fun 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Bobb 19 reviews from this member

 This is an absolutely splendid, old fashioned, pub.

Geat welcome from the landlady and locals, no bar, just barrels in the bay window. Top quality beer and good selection of ciders.

Food is just pasties until they run out.

At the moment the site is basic but priced accordingly - £5. 00 per person per night. Pub loos open 24/7, no showers, but there is major investment taking place.

A new access road, hard standings and hook ups being installed, and a shower block to be built, this will almost certainly incease the price, though.

The location is very good with woods for the yougsters to play and walks into Faulkland village and Norton St Philip, both with pubs doing decent meals.

Plenty more to do in the area, Bath, Medip Hills and so on.

A great place to stay in my opinion. 



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Tuckers Grave Inn And Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Tuckers Grave Inn And Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Tuckers Grave Inn And Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Radstock      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


51406 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement