Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Waleswood Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > South Yorkshire > Sheffield > Waleswood Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Waleswood Caravan And Camping Park
Rother Valley Country Park
Delves Lane
Wales Bar
Sheffield
South Yorkshire   (Browse area)
S26 5RN
Tel: 07825 125328
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 163
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 12 Reviews
                10/10 from 12 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is opening in line with government guidance and we are taking bookings for arrivals from 04/07/2020 onwards , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas and this may include toilet and shower facilities being closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Neringa 1 review from this member

 Amazing site! Clean and tidy. Grass is very soft!

Facilities all brand new. Staff is very friendly. Good dog walking area.

Would definitely recommend to everyone. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: February 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Ray Clayton 24 reviews from this member

 Should be a Mature couple with Granddaughter.

Site was great, very friendly welcome from the wardens, and excellent information, on where to pitch and what facility's are on site.

We stopped on super pitch 34 found we had plenty of room for car awning and van, and had no problems at all.

Free WiFi which worked very well.

Shower and toilet area was fantastic, and coming up to a year old are still like new.

Kids play area was ok, could do with a a few more things on it, but was ok.

You got free parking at Rother Valley Country park, which was great.

Only problem was the weather, it was a total wash out, and most of the things where closed at the park, which being half term was a bit crap to be honest.

Overall a great visit, could not fault the camp site at all, weather you can do nothing about, and it was what it was, no fault of anyone.

We will be going back in the Summer to see how it all looks then.

Ray 


Date of Visit: January 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Keith19208jsy 1 review from this member

 Visited Waleswood in preference to the site we normally visit in the area. What a breath of fresh air! Friendly welcome and everything you could want on-site.

Excellent fully serviced huge pitch, good TV & mobile reception. Free site WiFi was lightning fast. Good toilet block.

Site is new so a little bit open but new hedges and plenty of trees have been planted so this will be sorted in a couple of years.

Easy access to Rother Valley Country Park with wonderful walks.

Only slight negative is that there is no lighting at the Elsan emptying point - so empty your toilet cassette in daylight!

We'll be back! 


Date of Visit: January 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dawnyowl2905 28 reviews from this member

 Well Iím a Yorkshire lass Sheffield born and bred! Moved down South in 1994 but still have family in Yorkshire. Many times Ive looked for places to stay in the Motorhome and finally here it is!

This site has been open for 9 months. Everything is shiny and new and was perfect for our needs.

The pitches are huge and have taps - always a plus for Motorhomes. There is a cafe/bar reception and the staff we really friendly and helpful. We had a lovely bacon sandwich in the morning and drinks in the evening.

Sheffield city centre is a bus ride away - £5. 00 each return and a half hour journey.

Rother Valley Country Park is within walking distance with a craft centre, little train and water sports etc.

This spot was perfect for us and easy and well signposted to find!

Will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: December 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Vanman66 1 review from this member

 Excellent site. we have stayed here a few times now, as I'm new to UKCampsite.co.ukuk I thought I would put my review of waleswood. We last stayed at xmas 2019, we had Christmas dinner in the caravan. Roll on 2020 we will be back.

Cant fault the site facilities are still like new after a year. The toilet blocks are kept in pristine condition

Cant fault the staff, there is not enough they cant do to help you,

We love the on site cafe and bar, hope they decide to do more food this year. Just snacks at first. But with the popularity getting bigger, I'm sure the food side will grow even more.

The walks around rother valley are beautiful, lots of wildlife. And what with the new gullivers park opening next door it would make a great holiday stay for families.

We just cant wait to get back to waleswood. At the end of the lane there is a chinese takeaway, down in the next village of killamarsh you will find one of the best fish n chip shops in the area. Just gorgeous.

Aldi and a few shops so you can stock up on bits and bobs. Crystal peaks is a short driveaway great for shopping. And then sheffield city centre will keep the ladies busy shopping.

So in my opinion lots going off in the area, we give it 5 stars,

If I was to moan about anything it would be, you will struggle to reverse a caravan on the pitches in certain places, but that's nothing. Just use the motor mover simples. 


Date of Visit: November 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Opal0313 26 reviews from this member

 Was hoping this site would be just what we wanted as it's only around 30 mins drive away. The site is down a country lane and the barriers are off this lane.

You have to stop at the barrier and ring the site to let you in. Once in we could see that it still looks new only been open seven months.

We found where to book in at reception, this is also the cafe bar. I asked if they did meals but no unfortunately only did snacks. So we looked up a pub and found a chain pub about 10 mins drive away. We left the reception and soon found how narrow the roads are around the site.

We could see the grass was churned up on the corners where units had had to cut the corners. There were cones everywhere that were put on mud patches were there use to be grass.

We had to drive on neighbouring pitches (that were empty) to be able to reverse onto our pitch. On the morning we left we thought it easier to motor mover the caravan to the car but that meant blocking the road off and being on a pitch where it was on a bend made it difficult as there were cones and light bollards to miss.

Most pitches are hard standing but a lot are sinking, our car and caravan had sunk in the two nights we were there. There are security cameras around the site making it feel very secure.

The site is lovely two new warm shower blocks. Country park within walking distance. There are no shops pubs etc within walking distance. Lots of trees and shrubs been planted. The staff are lovely and helpful and make you feel welcome.

The cafe bar sold a small choice of food drinks and accessories. When we headed for home the barrier did not raise so again we had to call reception.

Would have been just what we were looking for had the cafe bar done meals as when we set off for a weekend break we prefer not to use the car. Would we come again, yes but only in winter not in the summer months been busy you would really struggle to get on pitches even with a motor mover. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Aceselect 13 reviews from this member

 A beautiful site, lots of pitches, great toilet facilities, play areas for children, cafe, bar area etc, nicely landscaped, great views, not badly priced for fully serviced pitches and free late stay until 6pm if your pitch isnít booked, bonus, easy to get to and includes free ca parking voucher for Rother Valley Country Park too.

Now the negatives, on arrival there is a small sign which tells you where to park whilst checking in, easily missed as the area is not marked as Arrivals on the road, where most sites are.

The reception is in the cafe, bar area and as you walk in, you would think you are just going into the cafe, it could do with a check in here sign on the desk.

Thirdly, the roads around the site are narrow, so much so, that if you have a long unit, car and caravan and you have a pitch opposite, you may find it a struggle to reverse on your pitch.

The site is not on one level so you may find that not only is it tight to get on pitch but you are also reversing up hill and the some pitches even have an incline on them so not only are you reversing up hill but also Ďup hillí on the pitch, my clutch certainly let me know it was struggling.

We eventually changed pitch. , to one that was easier to het on. The majority of pitches are hardstanding. We had a lot of rai m this weekend and some hardstanding pitches sunk when units tried to get on them.

Itís a shame some of these things were not thought about when designing the park. Lastly, the staff were not that attentive in the cafe area, we stood at the counter for about 3 minutes or so before a member of staff actually acknowledged us, there were three members of staff present.

All that said, it is a new park and we will be visiting again, but have made a note of the pitches that are easier to get on. 


Date of Visit: October 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Brumfield70 1 review from this member

 Perfect site for us.

Very clean lovely heated shower rooms/toilets stunning views

Lovely play area for kids,

Cafe on site (only sold sandwiches not meals which was a downside for us, but had a bar so we could have a few drinks plus side for us. )

You will need to motor move your caravan in the pitch if the site is full as there is no space to reverse it in.

Staff very helpful and friendly

Will stay here again 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Poulter3407 8 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely well laid out site with excellent clean facilities and generous pitches. We stayed on a standard pitch which was big enough for caravan, awning and car.

The only negative I can write about is the pricing, I donít think it is fair to be charged and additional cost for putting an awning up when you have already paid for the pitch, I donít think this is necessary and could be off putting to customers which is why I rated value lower than other scores. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Looneyellis 4 reviews from this member

 Beautiful new site overlooking the lakes at Rother Valley.

Facilities are amazing! They have thought of everything from food prep sinks to family bathrooms. All pitches are spacious. When the shrubs and trees have grown, pitches will be even better.

Friendly cafe/bar/shop area. We didn't have any meals there, but lots of others did. Sell lovely coffee! Shop part sells basics like milk etc. Nice kiddies play area, grandchildren enjoyed it.

Overall will be a firm favourite when heading that way. 


Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Waleswood Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Waleswood Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Waleswood Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Sheffield      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in South Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2362 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020