Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Porthdinllaen Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Pwllheli > Porthdinllaen Caravan Site > Reviews

Porthdinllaen Caravan Site
Fferm Porthdinllaen
Morfa Nefyn
Pwllheli
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL53 6BE
Tel: 07379 365411  or  07990 545751
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 28 Reviews
                9/10 from 28 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Sfowler50 2 reviews from this member

 So came again because we so enjoyed last year

The weather wasnít brilliant so my daughterís partner first time camping wasnít the best but was impressed that the golf course was so close so he got to play

Was very impressed that Tracy came round the second day to make sure that we had survived the night as it was very windy and wet.

We were very grateful that the weather brightened up by wed so was able to enjoy rest of the week

Just disappointed that we couldnít stay longer as weather was meant to be good till following week

Hope to come again

The Ty coch pub is also well worth a visit early evening 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Athers 12 reviews from this member

 Nice camp site but needs a little touch up here and there,

Toilets very clean but nowhere near enough for a campsite this big and busy showers still on the old push button and an extra charge.

Was given the a pitch which was meant to be one of the best ! well it was like sitting at a junction. the gate to the beach was on our pitch and was for ever someone coming or going at all stages of the day and night, so much for the peace and quite.

All in all wouldn't return due to the facilities

On the upside beach is a trek and but worth it and there is a pub 


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Stevejose 1 review from this member

 Just got home from a fantastic few days at this lovely site.

Location is beautiful and only a short walk to the fantastic beaches.

The site itself is well kept by the friendly and helpful owners.

We have left talking about when we can go again! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gazza1309 50 reviews from this member

 An absolute gem of a site. The site is perfectly situated for the Ty Coch inn and lovely coastal walks.

We received a very friendly welcome and a choice of pitches - as we had booked hardstanding, but we were offered a grass pitch as the views were better.

Glad we opted for the grass pitch (with electric) as we were fortunate to witness the most gorgeous sunset. There is a small spar shop within walking distance - about 15 mins and a couple of pubs which seem to open when they like.

The site was very quiet at night; with a good mix of campers; caravaners and motorhomes all respecting the 11pm quiet time. You have to pay 50p for the showers which is a bit inconvenient.

My only gripe was although the site is very dog friendly, there are no poo bins anywhere.

Overall, excellent value for money. 


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: CelynMai 1 review from this member

 The campsite is at a great location and was a perfectly lovely stay, even the toilets were clean most of the time.

However, my issue was with the owners. Not that they were unwelcoming but almost unwilling to offer support. When booking I explained over the phone that I do not usually book these things, and I leave my partner to it. He is the one who loves to camp and recently I have gotten out of my comfort zone to go with him.

This trip was for his birthday, and so I couldnít ask him for advice or I would ruin the surprise. I clearly explained all that we were bringing with us, x1 camper van, x1 medium tent, x2 small tents. And so I booked two pitches next to each other in order to accommodate us all.

No suggestion was made that this would not be enough space, nothing was offered such as access to electric, or perhaps what amount of pitches to go for.

That is until we arrived on site and the owner very rudely said that it was not enough space and made a fuss about having to fit us in.

If she had perhaps offered some advice or better customer service when booking, this would have been avoided. Yes, I could have asked more questions but, truthfully even when I asked I was met with very dry responses, almost as if I was dragging a conversation out of her.

Despite this in the build up and at beginning of our stay, we had a great time.

We walked through the golf club to the famous Tŷ Coch Inn. Had dinner at The Ship and had some lovely bbq buts from the butchers next to the ship.

We also had a lovely encounter with the dog from the farm next door which made our night being dog lovers, but may be something to be aware of if you are not a dog lover. Apparently she escaped a lot whenever she smelled a bbq. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: CAMPME22 1 review from this member

 LIKED -

Big site that looks very new and smart and is obviously a work in progress. Big open fields and everyone given a big plot. Woman (owner?) on reception very very friendly and helpful. Good washing up area and laundry room.

Fields have been designed with double fences everywhere to create wildlife areas - which is very admirable BUT (see below). Good price £20 without electricity, £26 with. Microwave ovens for free use to campers. Site very very clean and tidy.

DISLIKED -

Smart new shower block, toilets, shop, cafe but needs to be redesigned. Only 4 showers and 4 toilets (per gender) for 1000s of people - not enough. And a very long way for people to walk as no other toilet/shower block. Bins also miles for people to walk and not signed. Not enough water points and not easy to find. Wifi didn't work.

Double fences for wildlife areas are a real nuisance and gaps need to be added to allow people to get through. Families climbing over the wire fences and will ruin them - but if you don't climb over it is a very long way around. We were only here 2 nights but were fed up of walking right round to go to the shower/toilet block. Why no gaps?

Reception gave us a list of rules on entry, which said all dogs on leads, and no ball games etc, but dogs running about freely and kids playing football etc everywhere. Didn't bother us, but would bother some. (We are dog owners) It could get wild on busy weekends possibly.

Finding the site - Not easy to find site from main road. Signs not clear and there is a sign at the entrance that says 'private road, no access' at the entrance to the site! Terribly potholed and rough road (1/2 mile long) from main road to site.

Potentially a great site but really needs a rethink. Could be a fantastic site in a beautiful location. Not far from golf course, and walkable to Porthdinllaen which is a stunning little hamlet with great pub and beach. May2022 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Sfowler50 2 reviews from this member

 Ideally site for sea and sand shops petrol station with great takeaway food and all essentials that you need fish and chip shop also excellent.

The site itself has excellent facilities as well as a kitchen area that if you want a morning coffee you can get one to take away as well as microwaves if you wish to cheat on cooking.

Showers and toilets very clean all that you need for a camping experience thoroughly enjoyed by two grandchildren that had never been camping before on list for next years trip👍👍👍 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Mcdona 1 review from this member

 Couldn't recommend highly enough.

This place is great. 15 mins walk to the beach and the world famous Ty coch inn.

Lovely village and the ship inn is a must.

Great clean facilities.

Off the floor fires allowed. Much enjoyed trip by all 👍

Great size pitches and plenty water points and electric hook ups.

Thanks for an amazing stay 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Poweje 1 review from this member

 Lovely big site, mostly static vans, but area for tents motorhomes and caravans. Lots of open space.

Tracey very friendly and helpful. There are lovely facilities toilets, showers (50p) and laundry.

There is on on site Kiosk for burgers and ice cream. Lovely views and walks from the site.

For £30 a night I would expect the showers to be free. 


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Simon4 1 review from this member

 Awesome place. Superb location and facilities.

Really close to the beach and local shops and pubs.

Helpful and informative hosts who made the whole weekend a pleasure

Canít wait to return 
via mobile


Previous     28 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Porthdinllaen Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Porthdinllaen Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Porthdinllaen Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Pwllheli      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2054 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement