Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Spital Caravans Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Kendal > Spital Caravans Campsite > Reviews

Spital Caravans Campsite
Appleby Road
Kendal
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA9 6PJ
Tel: 07305 766739
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/03/2024 to 21/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 13 Reviews
                10/10 from 13 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Lisas3 2 reviews from this member

 A lovely quiet campsite. A great base for exploring the lakes.

We have 2 young children who were able to ride their bikes around the site on the gravel track, it was a nice loop for them.

We were also pitched near an open grass space so the children could play, the owner kindly sorted the pitch so we were next to the grassy area for the children.

There are no toilet or shower facilities on this site.

The site is only minutes from an Aldi and Morrisons which was very handy!

We would definitely stay here again! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mondeocort 65 reviews from this member

 This is our 2nd visit this year to Spital and our 5th visit since it opened.

It has been expanded over the last 12 months and has approx 30 pitches now but still maintains it's standards.

There is also a rally field in front of the site.

Waste water drain, fresh water tap and EHU on each pitch. Rubbish/recycling and elsan point area is very clean and has daily checks.

The only niggle I have is with other patrons on the site walking between pitches to get to and from the entrance or to use the elsan point or take rubbish instead of using the access road.

Yes, it may take 30 seconds more to walk round but walking in-between vans whilst talking loudly is disrespectful. This only affects pitches in the middle of the site but it's patrons pitched on the outer ring of the site using what they deem as direct access or a short cut.

All in all, great site, great prices and great access to all Kendal and surrounding areas amenities. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Marywa 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent site. The owner couldn't have been more helpful. We had fabulous views behind us.

Bus stop outside the site but an easy 20 minute walk to Kendal town centre and bus station where as pensioners, with a bus pass, you can gain free travel all around the lake district.

Beautiful buildings with a rich history, look out for the numerous plaques on the walls.

Supermarkets and competitive fuel prices very close to site.

We would certainly go back there again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Ecb57 2 reviews from this member

 Was expecting to hear the noise from the road but couldn't hear it at all, was very peaceful stay.

The slate covering on the ground was excellent as on some sites where there has been gravel it has got trodden into the van.

Easy walk into Kendal and very convenient for Morrisons. 


Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Sw2607 1 review from this member

 Excellent site offering all that you would need if in a self sufficient unit, with all pitches being serviced pitches.

Well placed for walking access to Kendal 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Susieb555 7 reviews from this member

 First visit to this fairly new site and it was perfect for our needs. Easy access with a barrier pre programmed with our registration so it went up automatically.

All the pitches are flat, hardstanding and with their own water, waste and electricity supplies.

Close to supermarkets and easy 15 minute walk into town. Ideal if, like us, you are happy to use your own on board facilities which we prefer during the covid pandemic anyway.

Opposite the large Queen Katherine's School but separated from the road by a small field. It gets a bit busy at the start and end of the school day but didn't cause any problems.

We were even treated to a free performance by the excellent Samba band Drum Nation who were rehearsing on the school field one evening ready for a festival. An added bonus to a great stay. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Seasider2021 1 review from this member

 Just bought our motorhome so this was our first trip out to test things out. The site was very easy to book and good communication from Rachel the owner.

Site is exactly as described on their website. This is a young site only 18mths old so still in the making with some new pitches being installed in the next field, hard standings are big and plenty of grassed areas.

Ideal fenced in dog area were your pooch can have a run around. 10 min walk to the Duke of Cumberland pub and 15-20 mins into centre of Kendal.

Large retail area across the road where we picked up a couple of extra pillows and some vino (always needed) All in all a very clean and tidy, quiet site which will only get better in the future.

Beauty of it is its only an hour from home so probably become a regular stop. 


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bofs 98 reviews from this member

 Another short stay here - nothing to change from the previous positive reviews, still all good.

It is quiet, well-located, well-maintained, not too big, has good-sized hardstanding pitches with plenty of grass around and is sensibly priced. We now always use our on-board facilities, and so the individual water-taps and drainage to each pitch are a definite bonus.

This has become a site we are happy to visit regularly (about an hour from home) when we fancy a few days away. 


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Erica3 2 reviews from this member

 Brilliant campsite, 20 mins walk into Kendal and supermarket across the road. Very quiet site with no toilets or showers but water tap and hook up on the very large hardstanding pitches.

Rachel is a great host, very accomadating and friendly

We love it here. :) 


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bofs 98 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to this site, the first being for 5 nights in April this year, as our trial trip out after lockdown.

The website is accurate and informative and there is a very efficient on-line system which allows you to check availability, choose your pitch, book and also make your payment this way, or you can book by phone if you prefer.

The site has 15 well-spaced, large, level, fully-serviced hardstanding pitches with 16 amp electric, and plenty of grass areas. It has a well-screened waste disposal and separate chemical disposal area, ANPR or code operated barrier entry, a drive over motorhome point and a useful, secure area for dogs to have a wander round or a little run off-lead.

It is very well kept, with short, regularly mown grass and hand sanitiser at key points around the site. The fact there is no toilet or shower block is not an issue for us as we rarely use on-site facilities anyway, even when allowed. The owners live just up the road from the site and Rachel visits every day, cleaning the hook-up points etc and checking in with everybody, and they are easily contactable by phone if need be.

Despite our pitch being on the side nearest the road this time, we did not find road noise at all intrusive, possibly because the traffic is mostly just cars and vans, not HGVs. There is a field between the site and the road and hedging which will provide further screening, once established. The other 3 sides of the site are bordered by fields.

This site is in an ideal location for visiting Kendal, the southern Lakes and surrounding areas. Access is straightforward, though we find it better to approach from the northern exit from the A591 as it avoids most of Kendal town centre and some tightish turns. Aldi, Morrison's and Sainsbury supermarkets are within a 5-10 minute walk, with fuel at the latter two, and there is a bus-stop by the supermarkets for trips into Kendal or further afield.

Although the site was almost full for both of our stays, it was really quiet and peaceful during the day and at night, and as it is within an hour of home, I'm sure we will become regular visitors. 


Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Spital Caravans Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Spital Caravans Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Spital Caravans Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kendal      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


47495 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement