Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Gardeners Cottage Campsite Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Angus > Brechin > Gardeners Cottage Campsite Certificated Site > Reviews

Gardeners Cottage Campsite Certificated Site
Fern
Brechin
Angus   (Browse area)
DD8 3FF
Tel: 01356 650432  or  07739 390088
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 vans
Open: 01/04/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 9 Reviews
                10/10 from 9 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <10 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <10 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2024  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Annai9 1 review from this member

 This is a lovely secluded site.

There are trails through the woods and unusual things to look for.

This site also has a lot of interesting history attached to it.

Michelle and Nick were both very welcoming and helpful. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Cannyscot 2 reviews from this member

 This place is a little (not so little) slice of heaven dropped in the heart of the Angus glens. Touring caravans, campervan and motorhomes only

Great hosts with passion for the woods and gardens that encapsulates the site.

Great local history of the site and even more in the surrounding area.

Lots to see within 20 minutes drive to fill a whole week or as we did just relax for a few nights and listen and watch the wildlife on the site.

Highly recommend, will be back but for longer next time. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Scankguy 22 reviews from this member

 Fabulous peaceful and secluded place although they do have peacocks which call. Hosts Nick and Michelle are wonderful, interesting, helpful and friendly.

Very simple set up. No toilet or shower. They have EHU, Water, CDP and grey waste disposal.

There is a lovely information round building with maps and useful info. Views across farmland to hills. Metered electric, when we stayed 10kwh per night was included.

Very dog friendly and a woodland walk on site. Lots of rabbits on site and deers. Good location for access to the Angus places of interest and Montrose etc.

Close to A90 but last couple of miles on narrow roads with few passing places. (We have a twin axle 8m long caravan so happy we didnít meet a tractor)

Follow the directions in the handbook not Google. No pubs shops etc nearby.

We would stay again and call our hosts friends. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Rockhead000 1 review from this member

 This is a great little campsite in beautiful quiet countryside with friendly, helpful and knowledgeable owners. I am new to motor-homing and I couldnít have picked a better place to start. Nick explained how to do everything and more besides so Iíve come away feeling much more confident and ready for my next trip away.

I love this site - itís a peaceful, private and sheltered campsite with only the soothing sounds of the wind and nature to enjoy. Just be aware that there are no toilet or shower facilities so you must have those on board. CDP, fresh water and waste water drain are provided and well maintained. And thereís a huge dense wood alongside with a network of paths and benches to enjoy it.

I chose this site because of its close proximity to the world famous (to geologists) Glen Esk riverside excursion to view the spectacular ORS conglomerates of the Strathmore Gp, the Highland Border Complex which abut the Great Glen Fault and the metamorphic Barrow zones in the Dalradian rocks beyond, and all capped by ice-age fluvio-glacial outwash deposits. 


Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sallyca 5 reviews from this member

 Gardeners Cottage is a very interesting site set in a wonderful very quiet setting with views to die for.

Michelle & Nick were wonderful hosts, giving us information about the sites former use and also suggestions of walks and attractions in the area.

The site itself was clean and well kept with easy access for our car & caravan.

Its just a shame that Gardeners Cottage is 450 miles away from where we live or else we would be there much more often! Thoroughly recommended. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Alronald 11 reviews from this member

 What a lovely little site. And a real gem in a great location.

It's set a few miles off the A90 slightly under half-way between Dundee and Aberdeen near Brechin in the beautiful rolling Angus countryside so its a great place for a stop-over, but its proximity to both cities, the Angus Glens, Montrose and Arbroath make it perfect for a much longer stay.

The day after I stayed I drove up and parked before walking up to the Caterthun hill forts before heading back on to the A90 via Edzell

It's a C/S so no toilet facilities but there's everything else you need - fresh water, grey water driveover, reliable EHU, chemical toilet disposal point. There's also an information room and drying area.

There's an area of woodland perfect for a dusk or dawn stroll with / without a dog. The owners have created paths and put some benches there so perfect for a bit of wildlife watching. The site overlooks farmland and is just so peaceful - I just sat outside the van and watched the sun go down.

As others have alluded to there's a private walled garden next to the site but you can peek through the gate and admire what the owners are creating. There's also a ? herd of peacocks which wander round the site and seemed rather intrigued by their guests

The owners Nick and MIchelle are great. I was greeted by Nick on my arrival and Michelle popped down to see me before I left.

As others have said this really is a place of tranquillity. 


Date of Visit: June 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mary Bain Lockhart 1 review from this member

 Rarely is a site significantly better than expected. Gardener's Cottage is exceptional in every way.

It is set in beautiful farmland, with rolling fields, hedges and woodland alive with small birds, and narrow but well maintained roads.

The facilities are perfect for self contained units like our motorhome. Two drinking water taps, on easily accessible for drive up. A chemical disposal point sheltered by enclosure from any wind, and at just the right height, and easily washable by its stainless steel surround.

Consistent electric hook up. A drying room in a wooden structure which looks in keeping with the other walls and buildings on site.

The site itself has a walled garden which is private, but to which the knowledgeable owners showed us. The work of restoration and reshaping is already showing results as herbaceous borders, formal squares and burgeoning apple trees emerge or are planted, and the murmering bees explore the blossom.

White doves populate the doocot, and poultry of various kinds sit on eggs, overlooked and guarded by a magnificent peacock.

The owners Nick and Michelle are like old friends. Not overly effusive, never intrusive, but there when you want them, helpful, informative, and welcoming.

This is a place of tranquillity. A haven of peace. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: LouLiz 36 reviews from this member

 Lovely little site. Had trouble finding a small site on our way round East Scotland but came across this and we werenít disappointed.

Nick came out to greet us when we arrived and showed us where everything was.

It had everything apart from toilets or showers but as we had our own facilities in our motorhome it wasnít a problem.

It was a shame we were only using it as a stopover while touring the area as it seemed like there were some lovely walks round and about.

We were made very welcome and would definitely return if in the area. 


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lornablake 3 reviews from this member

 Amazing little gem in Angus, you wont be disappointed with this site.

Quiet, beautiful views.

Lovely friendly hosts Nick and Michelle made us feel very welcome.

It's so lovely that we have booked again.

Don't forget to bring your bikes as there are loads of cycling around here. 
via mobile



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Gardeners Cottage Campsite Certificated Site child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gardeners Cottage Campsite Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 10 miles  View all facilities

Is Gardeners Cottage Campsite Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Brechin      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Angus

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2230 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement