Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Abbey Farm Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Ormskirk > Abbey Farm Camp Site Reviews

Abbey Farm Camp Site
Dark Lane
Ormskirk
Lancashire   (Browse area)
L40 5TX
Tel: 01695 572686
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2020 to 31/12/2020
           01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 132 Reviews
                9/10 from 132 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  132 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Yourcodding 1 review from this member

 Our first visit to this site for over 10 years and I must say how impressed we were with the park.

The grounds and pitches were immaculate, and the site facilities the same, very friendly campers on site.

The new Wardens (Dave and Sandie) I believe, are so helpful and approachable and worked tirelessly during our stay. I would definitely recommend Abbey Farm to anyone looking to stay in the area

Quiet, peaceful site ( apart from the Cockerel) lol

Will definitely return very soon

Thanks for a nice weekend 🤙 
via mobile


Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JonGwinMunt 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for the first time this week. Dave and Sandy are the friendliest and most helpful caravan site owners weve ever come across. Site is immaculately clean. We will definitely return again. Site is very well run and its a very quiet site. Stay here you will not be disappointed.  
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: BrumD 1 review from this member

 This is a lovely rural, peaceful and spacious caravan park. Sandy and Dave, the proprietors, have only been there for a short time but have worked extremely hard to bring the site up to its current high standard. They made us feel really welcome, and the daily maintenance of the site has become a labour of love for them both.

Although in a rural setting, it is only a ten minute walk to a pleasant pub/restaurant and a variety of shops. The shower block is spacious, and is kept pleasantly clean with plenty of hot water. The pitch for our caravan was also very spacious.

The National Trust property at Old Rufford Hall is well worth a visit and is only a short drive from the site.

Overall, a very pleasant stay at this lovely site, and we hope to return there some time in the future. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Asfc70 31 reviews from this member

 On arrival we were informed that we may need the help of a tractor to get us onto our serviced pitch due to the recent heavy rain fall. We did not need it, but the field was very muddy and we did need a tractor to get us off, thanks John. In hindsight we should have requested to change to a drier part of the field and a non-serviced pitch.

The site is a bit dated but we;; maintained by the owners. We found the showers to be luke warm. Unfortunately we had inconsiderate neighbours with young children screaming every night until 11pm. TV reception was great. Lovely canal walk at Burscough. The Ship Inn at Lathom serves fantastic food, almost Michelin star. Games room has a Pool Table, Table Tennis and a few arcade games. Library is great, lots of books and DVD's.

We did not use the shop or playgrounds.

Big car boot sale every Sunday in Burscough.

Not much within walking distance.

Would return but only in dry weather 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tshelton1 1 review from this member

 First time camping trip with 3 adults and 3 children didn't want to go to far encase it was a disaster so this ideal as not too far away.

It was great, the site has play area for the children, fishing pond, the other amenities are small but useful, games room, library, laundry and dish washing, food prep and there are two shower blocks, the small one is a bit tired but clean and the larger is easy for everyone to use so you can keep a eye on the kids.

There is a supermarket, B & M and pub about 10 minutes walk away which is great.

The staff are very friendly and helpful when you have a problem they go out of their way to help.

We will definitely be going back here! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jon16 1 review from this member

 I've just had 3 nights camping at abbey farm and I'm finding it hard to write anything bad about it. What a really nice place to stay. I only found out the day before leaving that it is only about a 8 minute drive from the local town centre where they have a petrol station, a spar, a number of chip shops, a camping store. Also you are very close to Llangollen motor museum. I also must put right a review that I had read about the shower block being old and battered, well I just want to add the shower block I used couldn't of been any better 10/10 on that one. I was there mid May and it did get really cold so just be prepared. I am looking forward to going back. Everything about abbey farm was excellent. Thanks. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Blueboy2 9 reviews from this member

 This is our second visit to abbey farm and we plan on returning in the future. This is a delightful site with spacious pitches, spotlessly clean toilet blocks, a separate dog field, fishing pond, games room, library, children's play area and field. It is very well kept, the wardens are helpful and there is a security barrier. Although there are many seasonal tourers and a few statics as well as a tent field and 2 tourer fields it doesn't seem crowded at any time. We stayed to go to the southport air show which was a 20 minute drive. We discovered the hop vine pub restaurant in burscough which is well worth a visit with good food at a reasonable price. You need to book especially if it's a weekend. Ormskirk is about minutes drive and has resteraunts and pubs galore. We went to the fat Italian which was excellent food and big portions. Although the site is in a rural setting its not far to civilisation. For national trust members there is for formby beach with the red squirrel sanctuary, and rufford old hall 👍 and a 30 minute drive takes you to Crosby where you can see the art sculptures in the sea and walk along the prom. 👍 Martin mere bird sanctuary is 10 minutes away. Lots to see and do in the area. Well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: RACHIE23X 6 reviews from this member

 Lovely caravan site, set in a nice area. Has different areas for caravans and tents.

Good facilities and nice walks around

Has 2 small parks

Shop on site is small and very limited, there is a supermarket in the local time a few miles away.

Overall good site and I would probably stop again. Parks are quite small and the land the parts are on is amazing. I would definitely recommend the site owners extend the park area with like wooden tubes and climbing frames etc as the space is great and there needs to be a bit more play area for kids inbetween baby / old children.

Lovely site 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Deedee26 1 review from this member

 We had a lovely time at Abbey Farm, Ormskirk. I highly recommend it. Small field for tents, more than adequaate, plenty space between tents to park 1 car. The shower/toilet blocks are clean and looked after regularly by the owners. The play area for children is quite large, also there is a smaller area for toddlers should you wish to use it. A games room for older children and a library, (how trusting of the owners, it is unattended (they do trust you to return books borrowed). A smaller fishing lake, which we will put to good use next visit, and a dog park(could do with being a bit bigger) but is adequate if your dog is not of a large breed. The shop on site is handy for any items you run out of/forget to take, and the owners are on hand at all times to answer any queries you might have. A pub is 10min walk away, dog friendly and food is good. Town a 10-15min drive, but you are in the heart of the country. Good walks to take, remember to adhere to country code. We will be returning in a few weeks, and will more than likely spend our breaks at this site this year. It is not a party site, which is ideal for anyone wanting a relaxing break away. Oh and the field is flat and we were sheltered which is a blessing for tent users with hook up and wifi available, it was cheap compared to some sites we have used. All in all no criticism whatsoever regarding this site. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Julesandron 1 review from this member

 Wonderful place! Very peaceful, lovely owners, spotless facilities. Plenty for the children to do and the site never seems noisy. Little shop selling the basics and very reasonable. This was our first visit with our grandchildren and we loved it so much we are going back next weekend! Sshh, don't tell the kids. Location is spot on, 5 minutes in the car, lovely little town with a great market.

Highly recommended 


Previous     132 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Abbey Farm Camp Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Abbey Farm Camp Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Abbey Farm Camp Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ormskirk      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1629 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 865

Get an email reminder on 1st December