Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hollins Farm Camp Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Site Reviews

Hollins Farm Camp Site
Far Arnside
Silverdale
Carnforth
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA5 0SL
Tel: 01524 701508
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40 Serviced & 40 Non-Serviced
Open: 14th March - 7th November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 72 Reviews
                9/10 from 72 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  72 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Evierose1 1 review from this member

My wife and I brought our 7 year old granddaughter to the campsite at Hollins farm. Straight away we were impressed by the greeting we got of the young lady who shown us to our pitch. The site was absolutely spotless we could keep a watch on the young one as she played on the park. The toilets were spotless and the views over the surrounding area was fantastic, we will definitely be going again.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Arpana minhas 1 review from this member

We stayed at this campsite for May bank holiday weekend for 42. 50/night for family of four. Overall the site was pleasant and well kept but nothing special. Unfortunately our electric pitch was on quite a slope. The shower facilities are new but there were only two ladies' showers for the whole place. There is a basic play area and games room (but you need to pay extra for the use of it. )

The walk to the sister site is 10mins but across a road and field. So you can't leave your children visit the on their own.

Apart from little niggles such as there were not enough hooks in the shower block our biggest bug bear was that it was pricey for what it was especially compared with other local campsites which were closer to the beach, forest and other amenities. We even had to pay for a photocopy of a map of the local area!

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Paulhe 5 reviews from this member

This beautiful site never fails to impress. The location is excellent, the views are fantastic and the owners are great (my son even got to feed the chickens with Sue). We have been here once before and will definitely be going again this year.

If you are looking for a quiet site with great amenities (You even get the use of the indoor pool and other stuff at the nearby Holgates site) This is definitely worth a look.

We have been camping for the last 30 years and this site is in our top 5 without a doubt.

Be aware the site can be windy from time to time but that is the sacrifice for the great views of Morecombe bay.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Michellendek 4 reviews from this member

Arrived Friday evening later than planned, the wardens didn't have a problem with this and welcomed us on site, we were guided to our plot and they kindly opened the shop for us to get some milk.

We woke Saturday morning to chickens at our doorstep which the kids loved,

The playground was perfect for the smaller kids and the play room with football table and tv was great for the older ones.

The toilets/showers were spotless in fact we were very impressed with the whole stone block which housed the play room, toilets and showers, pot washing and laundry room.

The walk over to the sister site was picturesque and the leisure facilities were great, the kids loved the idea of being allowed in the sauna with an adult.

A visit to Arnside on the Sunday and a lovely Sunday lunch in Ye Olde Fighting Cocks finished off the school holidays nicely.

We liked the place so much we stayed an extra day!

Worth a visit if your looking for a nice quite weekend away.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: DLSL 1 review from this member

Lovely little farm site. Site was kept very clean, the toilet/shower block was always spotless, plenty of showers ( hot) and toilets for the size of the site. Nice indoor pot wash area. There was a small games room on site with a pool table and football table in, a small park area too. The warden was very helpful on arrival, she offered the chance for us to buy extra tent pegs as the winds were very strong and also let us choose between two different pitches. The views were amazing from the site across the bay and the chickens that were wandering around the site were no problem at all.

Around a 10min walk across fields led you to the main site Silverdale. As we were staying on Hollins Farm you can use the pool free of charge. There is also a shop on this site, games room and a restaurant/bar. The food was nice and reasonably priced as were the drinks.

Staff all very pleasant on both sites.

Arnside was a lovely little village only 5 mins in the car. Carnforth was a slightly bigger village with a good selection of shops.

The only thing I didn't like was the grass being cut around our tent the day before we left and because it was wet we had wet grass stuck to the tent - however, thankfully it dried the next morning before we packed up.

We paid 144 for 2 adults/2 children for 4 nights - slightly more than we would normal pay but as the pool entry is included in that - reasonably priced.

All in all a nice site, and we would go back

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Diana20 11 reviews from this member

If you want peace and quiet, this is the site to come to, the wardens Sue and Stuart are amazing and have restored my faith in human nature, with a few hiccups throughout our long stay, they were so helpful and went far beyond their job description, facilities are perfect, everything you need is there, so clean you could eat your dinner off the floor. Area is lovely, lots of walks, although the only downfall is the beach, it is more mud flaps rather than sand, but the views from the site are brilliant. With the main site about a 5 min walk over the field, you can use all the facilities including swimming pool, and they have a decent priced restaurant, all in all we had a most relaxing holiday, and could not have asked for more

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tazziejones5 1 review from this member

Myself husband and two girls aged 3 and 15 have just come back from a wonderful stay at hollies farm

This campsite is by far one of the nicest sites we have been on it is kept beautiful and clean. It is a family campsite all round although weather wasn't good when we pitched up (intact very heavy rain) we are glad we did all the kids on the site got together and had a game of football and rounders (everybody was so friendly) while all the adults got the bbq going.

Silverdale campsite a ten minute walk through a lovely field with beautiful views along the way, silver dale has a kids park a soft play area and a swimming pool which you can use. Nice bar and restaurant a very good prices.

All the staff were very nice and could not be more helpful my hat goes of to the work they do at hollies farm

There are beautiful walks to look right over the bay a direct walk to far arnside

If you looking for a campsite that has everything then hollies farm if the place to go

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Racheleliz 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here for two nights with my partner and our two year old.

This has to be one of my favourite sites ever. The pitches are organised with easy access to electric hook ups and space to park the car next to your tent. We were on a slight slant but not so much that it was a problem. We were right next to a water tap and electric hook up and close to the facilities block.

The toilets and showers here are fabulous. They are well heated, clean and spacious. The shower cubicles have space for getting changed with a sink. In the same block are washing up facilities in a dedicated room, also kept really clean. There is a chest freezer for everyone to use as well.

Our daughter loved going to see the farm animals while playing on the basic playground and was really amused with the free range chickens who came to say hello!

We walked to the beach which is good for a little paddle but not exactly your dream beach.

The facilities at the main Holgates site are fab, though we spent more time out and about at the various attractions in the area.

The owners are really friendly and show real care for the site and their visitors.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Crossers 9 reviews from this member

Spent a long weekend here and was warmly welcomed by the owner. He kindly showed us to our pitch and also offered to help set up the tent. The campsite is kept immaculate. Chickens was wandering around but they weren't a problem at all. In fact, they were quite amusing. Nice playground for the little one. Great views across the bay. We had a mix of weather over the weekend with nice sunshine one day and strong winds with rain the following day. We were on a pitch closest to the entrance to the site, which was quite exposed from the wind coming in from the west. If possible you should ask for a pitch a little further up the field as these are in a little bit of a dip and don't received the wind as much. The facilities on Silverdale ie pool, bar etc are all excellent and a nice little walk from Hollins Farm. We will certainly be returning very soon and we would highly recommend this site.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: LucyBrown 1 review from this member

Myself and my boyfriend stayed at Hollins for 4 nights in July 2013. I wanted to write a review on here to let others know how perfect it was. As we don't have children, we asked for a 'quiter' pitch if possible. Our request was accomodated and we were placed right at the top of the site, up the lane and away from any related noise.

It was idyllic - with shetland ponies opposite and a beautiful open field, plus a view of the ocean to the left and a view of the hills to the right. The facilities on site were always quiet and clean, even at peak times. The nearby swimming pool was lovely at Holgates and included in the cost, though for those without children the 'adults only' pool time is recommended as made for a much more relaxing swim.

We also had several lovely walks along the coast and further in land up to Arnside Tower and through into Silverdale. The weather was great which helps, but I'm sure that even with gloomier skies the place would still have been an absolute pleasure.

I felt that the cost was very reasonable, with no extra charge for an awning, and a water tap and EHU. Staff also very friendly and helpful.

Previous     72 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1892 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019