Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hevingham Lakes

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Hevingham Lakes Reviews

Hevingham Lakes
Hevingham
Norwich
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR10 5QL
Tel: 01603 754368
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 20
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 27 Reviews
                8/10 from 27 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Static Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Markypoos1 5 reviews from this member

Well back again. New toilet block now in. Amazing wildlife everywhere. Kingfisher s, treecreepers, Deer etc. Great walks with wild ponies through colourful heather.

Owners are lovely. Dogs welcome. Very cheap for electric or non electric. Tents, caravans all welcome

My wife and I call it Heaven ham as is is Heaven here.
via mobile

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nicgeojak 6 reviews from this member

Just spent a night at Hevingham Lakes on a very last minute trip out in a tent with our 3 spaniels. What a gem. Very reasonably priced and very spacious site.

Absolutely perfect for dog owners or walkers as there is a huge heath surrounding the site, just be mindful of the wild ponies. Huge pitches but very limited hook ups. Great lake for fishing.

Ten mins from Norwich shops pubs etc. Only one toilet/shower block which could definitely do with an update. Basic but clean. We will definitely be back for another short break.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Markypoos1 5 reviews from this member

WOW, what a wonderful place to have a peaceful holiday. Beautiful, peaceful, dark skies. Can't recommend this site enough. Owners are like family and they love dogs.

Great doggie walks over the heather field, but be careful as ponies are running free. You could be anywhere in the world but why when you have a site like this on your doorstep.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jane&Lynn 6 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 3 nights in May. We chose to pitch by the lakes as the CL bit was next to the road albeit a very quiet one. Spacious pitches, adequate toilet and shower facilities although not heated.

A bit of a walk to taps and bins. Owners were very friendly and helped us when we had problems with our electrics. Good value at £15. 50 per night and £14. 50 on CL.

The site is remote but that's part of its charm. Lovely walks on the site with access onto Buxton Heath. Would recommend.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andrew20 1 review from this member

What a lovely site! Quiet, peaceful, spacious. We stayed for a week and wished we could have stayed longer. The owners are lovely. We had a spacious pitch with EHU, overlooking the lake. The surrounding views of the lake, trees and the wildlife were great. It is a great site to walk around.

Occasionally we heard other campers who were situated across the lake, but usually it was dogs barking rather than people. The site is adjacent to a working arable farm but this caused no problem to us whatsoever. Likewise there is a sawmill about 1/4 mile away but this was only noticeable when walking along the drive to the owner's house.

The facilities were adequate and clean. There is only one shower in the mens toilet/shower block and, I'm told, one in the ladies. However I never had to queue so this was fine. The showers are on a timer (50p for 5 minutes approx. ) This is a very good idea as it deters users from hogging the shower and using up all the hot water.

There are a number of shops and supermarkets in Aylsham, which is about 10 minutes drive from the site.

The surrounding area is beautiful and there are so many lovely places to visit. It takes a week to do all the National Trust places.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Johnjory 119 reviews from this member

Hevingham Lakes is a very nice site set in arable farmland. It has two pitching areas, A CL and a much larger area set in woodland which appeared to be occupied mainly by seasonally pitched 'vans and statics next to the fishing lakes. It appeared to me to be a nice place for a seasonal pitch. There are also a couple of holiday cottages.

We stayed on the CL which is spacious (very approx 100M x 50M), level, hedged with a very well prepared surface. We experienced an extended period of heavy rain but the field did not become waterlogged.

Conveniently located in one corner of the pitching area is a small modern shower (50p) / wc facility together with the water & chem disposal.

Very dog friendly (No charge). Directly accessible from the site is Buxton Heath which is a very pleasant place for you and your pet to enjoy.

No local shops. Most of your basic requirements can be obtained in Horsford. (Approx 4 miles). Norwich Caravans is nearby for any spares / repairs.

Travel tip: Approach using B1149 (Holt Road). If you use the intuitively more obvious A140 (Aylsham / Cromer Road) you will find the last mile or so very narrow.

To sum up: a very comfortable and spacious site.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Millwardw 1 review from this member

Been home a few days after a week in one of the static caravans.

What a lovely peaceful spot to be in. The sign for the site is a tad hard to see but hey who would want a huge sign on such a narrow road.

On arrival we were told our caravan was the first on the left, the keys were in the door. We found it no problem. Problems started as soon as we got in, it was very dirty and quite obviously hadn't been cleaned for a while. I gave it a pretty good clean but realised I was supposed to be on holiday! Anyway we didn't complain until the Tuesday which was silly of us. They practically accused us of lying. I have a few photos of what I didn't clean.

Had a look at the on site loos which seemed very clean, only one shower for women and one for men, . Not enough if the site was busy. 50p for the shower which I thought a bit steep if a family are using them.

The site is gorgeous, quiet and peaceful, no traffic, just the birds. Lovely fishing lakes, quite shallow waters but it don't stop them biting😄.

I would oh back but certainly not in the caravan I was in

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Victor58 2 reviews from this member

Spent 7 nights at this lovely site we just love it here.

Went with the family who stayed in the new 6 berth holiday caravan while we had a pitch for our tourer.

These people that run this site are amazingly friendly, really nice folk.

Had some great fishing with good carp and Bream, very peaceful

Place to chill, the only slight downside is the shower block could be bigger, but this did not spoil our holiday.

We will be back again next year, great value for money!

Mr & Mrs Jones Scunthorpe

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Leadbelly 2 reviews from this member

Three night stay just after August Bank Holiday. Four adults and two kids in our group with one camper van and one tent.

When I booked several months ago I was told there was only one pitch available with an EHU so our party would be split between the two areas of the site. On arrival it was obvious that almost half the EHU pitches were free. The owner was very reluctant to allow our friends tent onto this area, even though they were happy to pay for the electric they wouldn't use but after some haggling we had adjoining pitches.

The pitches were very generous. We had a campervan, large awning and gazebo with plenty of room left for cricket! Mature trees surrounded the area which was very sheltered.

The facilities are pretty basic but clean. I could never work out how to operate the lights in the gents and water pressure was very low in the pot wash area.

No shortage of fish in the lakes and we all enjoyed a couple of hours each evening catching lots of them.

We visited Bewilderwood and Dinosaur Adventure, both within 20/25 minutes drive. Good options if you have kids. Unanimous opinion was Bewilderwood was by far the best day out.

We didn't need to do any shopping whilst we were staying so I don't know how close shops might be.

One note of warning. There is a sawmill/timber yard close to this site. Operations started well before first light which woke up several of our party every morning. The disturbance went on for several hours and we found it quite intrusive.

Site itself is good but the facilities and nearby sawmill let it down somewhat.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Michelle ethan 1 review from this member

Just got back from our second visit to the site and are looking forward to returning next year. This is a family friendly site and if you have children I can recommend it. There is lots of open space to explore, a heath a few steps away and a fishing lake.

One of the things we enjoy when we visit is there are a few different fields to camp in and lots of nooks and crannies, so you can enjoy a degree of seclusion if you choose. It is surrounded by trees and greenery so you really get a sense of being in the countryside, not just a big field with a sea of tents around you. It is also very quiet.

The owners are very friendly and helpful and keep their site clean and well maintained. The toilets and shower blocks were always clean and everything you would expect from a camping cleaning block. You are enjoying nature after all.

Well situated to explore the broads and beaches we would highly recommend this site.

Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4173 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019