Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Speyside Gardens Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Banffshire > Aberlour > Speyside Gardens Caravan Park Reviews

Speyside Gardens Caravan Park
Aberlour On Spey
Aberlour
Banffshire   (Browse area)
AB38 9LD
Tel: 01340 871586
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 35
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 31 Reviews
                9/10 from 31 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  31 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Carris75 2 reviews from this member

 Great campsite. Nice helpful and friendly staff.

Located out in the countryside so nice and quiet.

Very clean and tidy site and a well stocked shop.

And the bathroom facilities are out of this world xx 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mosbyr 1 review from this member

 Arrived at the site to a lovely welcome and very helpful staff.

Was easy to find our hardstand and the site is set in a wonderful quiet location and very well set out and spotless clean

10 stars would stay here again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Fiona W 198 reviews from this member

 Very informative website, though I managed to book a specific pitch without realising. Someone kindly phoned and said - you asked for a sunny pitch, but x is in the shade - and gave me an ideal one instead. Helpful young welcoming staff on arrival. Good recycling. No road noise at all.

There are a lot of mature pine trees here in the former walled garden of Aberlour House (now HQ for Walker's shortbread), plus adjacent woodland, which meant some areas are in shade much of the day. It also meant we saw red squirrels. And the recent rain turned the access track through the grass pitches under the trees into mud soup; great for wee kids to jump in, however! This feels like an old fashioned campsite, with several groups of at least 3 tents of friends & family enjoying themselves.

All the pitches (hardstand and grass) have EHU, water and drain, but it was the cheapest site on our fortnight trip at 30. 50 pn. No Wi-Fi.

The new facilities block has smart fittings, though an unusual layout which puzzled some people trying to queue: there are doors on both sides, some for ladies or gents toilets only, some for toilet with shower, some for "family bathrooms" (ie unisex toilet & shower, so we'd go in together).

The facilities were cleaned regularly, but there were no mops (maybe due to Covid?), no windows, the floors were almost flooded at times, the extractor fans struggled after a steamy shower, and inevitably some floor trims were beginning to fail. We'd leave the stool propping the door open after we'd finished to let the room air.

Aberlour is about 30 mins walk, back down the C-road and over the A-road onto the disused railway (Speyside Way). It might be the best deli ever and Walker's shortbread "seconds" shop is worth a visit.

Dog walks: the footpath into town through the fields that Google maps shows is closed by a Covid sign at a farm. The handsome gate in the walled garden is locked. Instead, go down the C-road and into the forest at a gate by a lay-by; there are several paths through the wood, one of which leads to the former drive to Aberlour House (on the bridge over the C-road) and the derelict lodge house.

Elgin is worth a visit for the cashmere at Johnstone's of Elgin and the nearby cathedral which has wonderful stone carvings. A day at Gordon castle's huge walled garden at Fochabers is a must if you grow your own fruit & veg or flowers for cutting. And the new visitor centre at Macallan Distillery (almost visible from the site) has rightly won awards with its beautiful curved roof, designed by the same architects as Madrid Airport and The Shard - if you're in a MH, drive on past the 'car' entrance as there's a gantry, and turn in at the deliveries entrance, where you'll be made welcome and shown where to park.

It's a bit far from home for us, so it'll be a while until we're back, but we'd recommend the site. We enjoyed our stay here. 


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Jenniefaethebroch 2 reviews from this member

 This is an amazing site.

The toilets are very modern and cleaned 3 times a day.

You get a toilet, shower and sink and very large room for dressing in to yourself so no chance of catching Covid!

The owner is very friendly and always willing to help.

Lovely location - about 20 minute walk to the village. 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Smart Family 68 reviews from this member

 Fantastic stay again. We initially booked this site for April 2020, but due to Coronavirus rearranged it to August. Nice friendly welcome on arrival.

We had pre booked our pitch and prepaid just before we arrived. Nice large flat hardstanding pitch, close to toilet block.

The toilets here are excellent with a male and female toilet and self contained family toilets, with shower, toilet and sink, so no queuing required. They were kept spotlessly clean.

It is a short walk into Aberlour which has a small selection of shops and cafes. There are nice pubs also.

The area is great for walking as it is on the Speyside way. It is also possible to walk to Dufftown and Craigellachie.

The site also had a small shop. We had stayed here 2 years ago and it has kept it's good standards.

We would return. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Ray Ayr 5 reviews from this member

 Liked the welcome from owner who is managing to upgrade the site with modern toilet block and offering a tidy, neat appearance. Spacious pitches with hard standing and grass.

The approach road was needing attention and the owner was seemingly on the case. The water flow at central taps was a bit slow to fill the water barrels.

Recycling facilities were good and the site was calm, quiet and secure. Speyside Gardens was central to many attractions for activity(walking and cycling the Speyside Way) and visiting ( Ballindalloch castle, Speyside distilleries). Aberlour was convenient for all needs and Elgin itself was only 20 mins away.

Would consider staying again in the future despite the mix of tourers, tents and statics. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Fierymac 7 reviews from this member

 Stayed here one night and liked it so much we rearranged our plans to return and stay there a second night. If you've found a lovely site why risk a different one if it can be accommodated?

The facilities here are clearly new and look lovely. Perhaps not the biggest, and could possibly be a problem during busier times, but we were there with only 5 or 6 other touring/camping groups and had no issues so could be wrong.

The site is completely confined within an old walled garden and has large mature trees dotted around it. It gives it a lovely feel overall and would be very safe for children.

The owners are very welcoming and friendly. Genuine lovely people. And they sell lovely coffee in the shop too!

You can walk/cycle a mile and a half to either Craigellachie or Aberlour although the return journey is either along main roads or is a little on the steep side. (very steep in the case of Aberlour!).

If I was being picky I'd say the location isn't perfect because my Granny couldn't walk to the nearest eatery, but then again that might also be considered a positive as it's got the peace of a rural site but is only a short distance from shops, restaurants and bars. Also it's possibly 2-3 per night dearer than what I reckon is the going rate, but overall it's a great place and wouldn't hesitate to revisit or recommend. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Igol861 1 review from this member

 Ended up staying fior two nights although only planned one originally. The site was well presented and the owners really friendly and helpful. The family bathrooms (4) were really roomy and with shower, toilet and sink very nice. Single shower cubicles were perfectly adequate. Visually the site felt like a French campsite with the walled garden and gateway to 'gatehouse at the end of the touring field. Will definitely return. Perfectly located for all spayside has to offer. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cory 09 1 review from this member

 We looked forward to visiting this site and were very disappointed. On arrival the owner appeared, opened up reception, took our payment and we never saw him again during our 4 day stay and reception was never open. We were given a site outwith the main caravan park because we had a twin axle unit. The area we were allocated was still being worked on, the grass separation between pitches was full of rubble, thistles and weeds. The single shower units left a lot to be desired. Won't be back. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: NMack 15 reviews from this member

 This site must be one of the best kept secrets! We've been a couple of times now and even when it is fairly full, it is a quite site. No traffic noise to be heard although you are not far off the main road.

The site itself is extremely well kept and although the toilet facility block has aged, it is still beautifully clean and the showers are lovely and hot. There is a small play area more suited to younger children. Currently the hanging baskets are blooming a treat, with a waft of scent as you walk past.

There is a lovely dog walk off site, but within easy walking distance and if you go the full length up hill, you get some wonderful views over the river and beyond.

Aberlour has a variety of shops, pubs and distilleries close by. Nice little town. Elgin is about 20 minutes drive if you're looking for the larger supermarkets, with Asda, Tesco, Aldi and Lidl as well as M&S foodhal and a variety of other shops.

We'll definitely be back. Even if it is just for a weekend. 


Previous     31 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Speyside Gardens Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Speyside Gardens Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Speyside Gardens Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Aberlour      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Banffshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2032 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement