Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Fishguard Bay Resort

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Fishguard > Fishguard Bay Resort > Reviews

Fishguard Bay Resort
Garn Gelli
Fishguard
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA65 9ET
Tel: 01348 811415
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/03/2024 to 09/01/2025
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 74 Reviews
                9/10 from 74 Reviews

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  74 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Carl1411 2 reviews from this member

 Beautiful views over Fishguard bay.

Site facilities excellent and spotlessly clean.

Reception staff very pleasant and helpful.

Shop has all you need from bread to a great selection of beers and wine.

Lovely walks along coastal path. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2021 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Dannygibbins 1 review from this member

 We stayed here recently “glamping”

Heating was advertised- turned out to be a tiny heater which when switched on barely gave off any heat and also kept setting the carbon monoxide alarm off (thank god there was one) so we just turned it off and spent the night freezing cold.

WiFi was advertised- didn’t reach to our pod for any of our 4 devices

The site was incredibly dark and there was very few instructions on where to park and nobody in the office to assist us with any of these issues.

Nobody was around to greet us we were simply emailed a code to collect keys and told check in was at 5pm and check out at 9am. Which considering the time of year basically meant arriving after dark and leaving just after sun up so seemed quite pointless. Might as well have slept in the car on the side of the road to be honest. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Wanderer 69 reviews from this member

 As we drove in we realised what a great setting the site was in with fantastic sea and coast views.

There are grass and hard standing pitches of varying sizes, many with sea views. The whole site was very clean and tidy and well kept. The toilets and showers were spotlessly clean and quite modern.

The road down to the site is a quite narrow single track road with passing places which at first sight seemed quite daunting but there were several double axle caravans on the site so obviously not a problem.

Reception staff were very friendly and efficient and on our second day received a phone call to check everything was OK for us.

The coast path passes through the site so good costal walks in both directions from the site.

Would happily return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Caric1 2 reviews from this member

 I loved the situation set on a hill. If you are lucky enough to have a shed/pod they look directly over the sea. Motorhomes etc are dotted around the static lodges which seemed to dominate the site but not too intrusive. It's well thought out.

The shower and toilet block was brilliant and even had piped music.

It has a view of the ferry to and from Ireland but Fishguard was a longish walk.

There seems to be a lot of paperwork which was a bit overwhelming but a phone call is easy and the site is run well by Jess and her colleague.

Look out for the pizza van, smelt yummy. 


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Angela71 6 reviews from this member

 Beautiful location with stunning views overlooking Fishguard. Toilet and shower block were kept very clean.

There was a freezer and microwave for use in the kitchen area. We ordered pizza on the first night from the Driftwood pizza company who visit the camp site twice weekly. This was great that I didn’t have to cook on the first night and pizzas were amazing! (I messaged prior to our visit on Facebook and managed to book a slot).

We were emailed our camping pitch the morning of our visit and sent a map of the camp site. I had a phone call the next morning to ensure we had settled in ok which I thought was a nice touch. Although reception staff were available if needed. The free WiFi was a bonus for my teenage daughter!

We would stay here again although next time I would choose to stay closer to the front of the camp site. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gareth 1 review from this member

 Great location overlooking Fishguard. Facilities were very clean. Could be exposed in windy weather.

All Covid guidelines were clearly stated - easy system to follow.

Only had one night there, would return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Colin Dawson 1 review from this member

 Greeted by Charlie who had a beaming smile and couldn't do enough for us. We were in a grass pitch and the site was really good in a spectacular location with stunning views without having to stray far.

The toilet and shower block was really nice and spangly clean.

A special mention must go to Bernard who went well above and beyond his duties insisting on driving us into Newport as we were in a motorhome. What a really nice guy, helpful and so knowledgeable about the area and, knows every man and his dog. Really top bloke. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Kensingtongreen 125 reviews from this member

 There are only 16 touring pitches, the rest of the site being given over to statics and lodges. The site was very well maintained. A bit pricey at £34. 50. Helpful friendly staff.

The approach lane is not good news! It's single track, about a mile long and walled on one or both sides all along. It's a 30 minute walk to the road to pick up the bus. There's no pavement. We took minicabs into town at £8 each way.

Free strong wifi, lovely views, a bit windy and all pitches slope slightly. You will need chocks wherever you park.  


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ian29 9 reviews from this member

 Excellent site with first class facilities. Entrance is very long winding and narrow, wouldn’t want to meet anyone coming the other way.

The reception staff are very friendly and booking in was straight forward. Pitches are a good size and well laid out, site is sloping but not too bad.

Lovely walks on the coastal path which runs through the site.

We stayed for 3 nights here and found it really relaxing. Bernard, the manager puts on a BBQ evening once a week and I can recommend his steak.

Local bus service is poor, there are taxi’s but not many. I can recommend this site for a few nights while touring the area or longer if you want a relaxing break. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Hedgehugger 10 reviews from this member

 I spent five nights in a clifftop glamping pod 'The Cwtch' here. The site is signed from the main road with a pale blue sign, and a winding lane (with plenty of passing places) leads to the site itself, affording an excellent view en route of the site perched high on its headland.

I was very impressed with the site in general, everything very clean and well-kept, staff friendly and attentive. There was an introductory 'things to do in the area' talk on Tuesday morning and a barbecue (proceeds in aid of charity) on Wednesday evening. The pod itself was fine for one, cosy for two, and would be crowded for four to be honest, even if they were small children, as there isn't any storage, not even hanging hooks because of the shape of it.

I feel something could be contrived in the small porch area for muddy boots/wet coats etc. If the wind gets up it certainly beats a tent though! It has tv, fridge, heater and kettle and a barbecue and picnic bench outside.

Quite a few people on the site had dogs with them; the coastal path can be accessed either way from the site but there's no direct access to the beach - no beach, in fact, just cliffs! The nearest decent beach is about 40 mins walk along the path east, Pwllgwaelod (pub, car park, toilets) or, by car, Goodwick. Not sure about seasonal restrictions on that.

I was struggling a bit with the step up to the pod and, though I'd not said anything about it, on my second day they came along and placed blocks and slabs to create a step which made access much better. Storm Hector blew through one night and I worried about the two tents snugged up against the cliffside hedge, but they seemed to survive the experience unscathed.

There's an area for tourers slightly further back; looked like a slight slope but no problem. The views are superb, looking across the bay to Goodwick just on the edge of Fishguard (nice sandy/pebbly beach, cafe, Tesco Express, garage, free car park by the Sea Scouts hut) and the Irish ferry terminal - two sailings a day; late morning and late evening.

Be alert driving down into Fishguard; there are some steep hills and traffic congestion through Lower Fishguard and through the town itself, which has a slightly straggling layout. The main town car park was 60p for 2 hours which was very reasonable.

I would visit the Fishguard Bay Resort again and would be happy to recommend it. Not cheap, but a view like that is priceless. 


Previous     74 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Fishguard Bay Resort child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Fishguard Bay Resort?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Fishguard Bay Resort dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Fishguard      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


42361 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement