Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Fishguard Bay Resort

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Site Reviews

Fishguard Bay Resort
Garn Gelli
Fishguard
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA65 9ET
Tel: 01348 811415
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: March To January

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 65 Reviews
                9/10 from 65 Reviews

Photos (5)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  65 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Hedgehugger 7 reviews from this member

I spent five nights in a clifftop glamping pod 'The Cwtch' here. The site is signed from the main road with a pale blue sign, and a winding lane (with plenty of passing places) leads to the site itself, affording an excellent view en route of the site perched high on its headland. I was very impressed with the site in general, everything very clean and well-kept, staff friendly and attentive. There was an introductory 'things to do in the area' talk on Tuesday morning and a barbecue (proceeds in aid of charity) on Wednesday evening. The pod itself was fine for one, cosy for two, and would be crowded for four to be honest, even if they were small children, as there isn't any storage, not even hanging hooks because of the shape of it. I feel something could be contrived in the small porch area for muddy boots/wet coats etc. If the wind gets up it certainly beats a tent though! It has tv, fridge, heater and kettle and a barbecue and picnic bench outside. Quite a few people on the site had dogs with them; the coastal path can be accessed either way from the site but there's no direct access to the beach - no beach, in fact, just cliffs! The nearest decent beach is about 40 mins walk along the path east, Pwllgwaelod (pub, car park, toilets) or, by car, Goodwick. Not sure about seasonal restrictions on that.

I was struggling a bit with the step up to the pod and, though I'd not said anything about it, on my second day they came along and placed blocks and slabs to create a step which made access much better. Storm Hector blew through one night and I worried about the two tents snugged up against the cliffside hedge, but they seemed to survive the experience unscathed. There's an area for tourers slightly further back; looked like a slight slope but no problem. The views are superb, looking across the bay to Goodwick just on the edge of Fishguard (nice sandy/pebbly beach, cafe, Tesco Express, garage, free car park by the Sea Scouts hut) and the Irish ferry terminal - two sailings a day; late morning and late evening.

Be alert driving down into Fishguard; there are some steep hills and traffic congestion through Lower Fishguard and through the town itself, which has a slightly straggling layout. The main town car park was 60p for 2 hours which was very reasonable.

I would visit the Fishguard Bay Resort again and would be happy to recommend it. Not cheap, but a view like that is priceless.

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Lorfal 21 reviews from this member

Had 4 nights here. Originally 3 but weather delayed departure.

Really liked this site. Location could not be faulted. Right on cliffs, superb views and surprisingly didnít get battered with wind.

Staff are very helpful. We got stuck on grass and staff went all out to help us, they were great! Always a wave or hello from them too. Very approachable and nothing is too much trouble. So a big thanks just to the staff!

Moved to hard standing, pitches are good size with grass at side for awning. The touring pitches are kinda mid site, great views, close to amenities block with water and EHU at pitch. There is an easily accessible motorhome service point. Slightly slopping, ramps might be needed but we parked nose in and so were ok.

Dog friendly. Great cliff and hill walks right from the site. Lots of lodges and statics but doesnít feel crowded at all. Lots of waste bin areas about too. There is a chemical toilet point in the touring area.

Shop is ok, I though it could be better stocked. DVDs available for stay in van nights.

Facilities Block is spotless and itís warm too !

We would return to spend more time exploring the area.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tunde 1 review from this member

Ours was the last tent pitch and on a slope and with no electricity. We had a great experience. Very well kept. The staff was helpful and the little store had most essentials. The site is open on the cliff so just have to orientate the door away from the wind. Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Walesbug 2 reviews from this member

Absolutely stunning location ! Couldn't fault the welcome we received from Vicki and her staff. The pitches are large and most are sheltered by hedges.

The site was very clean and tidy and the facilities were extremely clean. Well stocked shop on the site. Highly recommended

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: KmarieL 3 reviews from this member

What a beautiful place. We look forward to returning!

On a very steep arrival the road bends to the right and at that moment you realise what a treat is in store. The sheer natural beauty of the site is what appealed to us when booking.

We were nestled on the cliff's edge over the bay, where we spotted dolphins on our first morning.

The staff could not have been more helpful, polite and generally friendly. We were nervous first time campers but were given a spot with hedging to brace against the wind.

The site is quiet, but as its on the famous costal walking path you will see a few walkers taking the chance for a quick break and a brew before heading back off.

The facilities are immaculate and really set the bar as far as our expectations went for camping facilities. The toilets were always being cleaned with ample showers and toilets for the small site. They also have freezers for ice blocks and laundry facilities. The children's play equipment is simple but well maintained.

The site is a good mix of campers / tourers / statics and glamping pods - all receiving the same excellent service

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: HelenBFC 2 reviews from this member

Beautiful campsite, spectacular views, we had a really great week here! Having camped all over UK and Europe for 26 years, we can truthfully say that this is the VERY BEST campsite we have ever stayed in!

Lots of toilets, free showers with nice hot water, private hand basins, all spick and span at all times, even quietly played piped music 24/7!

Vicki and Dai or their colleagues were on hand at all times, friendly, helpful and able to recommend good local pubs etc for lunch or evening meals. The shop is well-stocked, and the ability to order newspapers and fresh baguettes every morning was great.

The grounds and pitches are very well maintained, with bins and recycling facilities in several places in the campsite.

There is a comfortable lounge with TV etc for wet evenings, and you can hire DVD players and films if the weather is especially unkind (we were lucky for most of our stay!)

The coast path goes right through the campsite and the bus passes nearby so it was easy to go for walks in both directions with no need to drive anywhere.

We had a wonderful pitch with EHU and it was excellent value for money - we would love to come back again!

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ade426 3 reviews from this member

Stayed here for two nights, no problems with the lane, nice big pitch on hard stand, ok first day as sunny weather but poured down on second day, good phone and tv signal, best shower block I've ever used so warm with music and spotlessly clean, the only downside we needed a tow off the pitch due to rain, but a regular caravanner was very obliging with his winch and landrover

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sylvieb 24 reviews from this member

What can I say? This has got to be the best site in the UK bar none. We had not booked, so called in on spec. The road in is quite narrow and you begin to wonder if you have gone wrong. Then the site comes into view and first impressions are 'wow'! it is immaculate. The staff were very friendly and made us feel very welcome, even though we were only staying one night. Our pitch overlooked Fishguard Bay and the views were stunning. The toilet and shower block were best we have ever seen and the grounds were well tended. Free wifi too. For once we were sorry to leave. Other sites could do better than to follow this example of how a site should be. Fantastic

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Christheshop 3 reviews from this member

Hubby was quite worried about this one as we only normally go on small sites but he soon changed his mind. Narrow lane to access the site but no problems with it. The site itself is fabulous, very well maintained with excellent washroom facilities that would not have been out of place in a 4/5 star hotel. Reception was welcoming and the shop well stocked, the other facilities were also impressive. We were on a pitch overlooking the sea with other tourers and statics nearby but with planting and hedges nothing was intrusive. We manage a caravan park double the size elsewhere and this has to rank in the top ten of all the parks we have been on. We will be back for definite.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Worldcamping 3 reviews from this member

This was one of several campsites we visited on a trip along the Pembrokeshire Coast.

It was an immaculate site with short cut collected grass pitches and hard standing. The toilet and shower facilities were immaculate; the cleanest we have encountered in the UK. The service from the staff and owners was outstanding. This is how a site should be run and many other campsite owners could learn a thing or two by visiting this site.

The area is perfect for walking to both Fishguard and Newport along the magnificent coastal pathway. The site is a real credit to the owners.

Previous     65 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2847 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019