Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Fishguard Bay Resort

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Fishguard > Fishguard Bay Resort Reviews

Fishguard Bay Resort
Garn Gelli
Fishguard
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA65 9ET
Tel: 01348 811415
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/01/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 69 Reviews
                9/10 from 69 Reviews

Photos (5)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  69 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gareth 1 review from this member

 Great location overlooking Fishguard. Facilities were very clean. Could be exposed in windy weather.

All Covid guidelines were clearly stated - easy system to follow.

Only had one night there, would return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Colin Dawson 1 review from this member

 Greeted by Charlie who had a beaming smile and couldn't do enough for us. We were in a grass pitch and the site was really good in a spectacular location with stunning views without having to stray far.

The toilet and shower block was really nice and spangly clean.

A special mention must go to Bernard who went well above and beyond his duties insisting on driving us into Newport as we were in a motorhome. What a really nice guy, helpful and so knowledgeable about the area and, knows every man and his dog. Really top bloke. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Kensingtongreen 79 reviews from this member

 There are only 16 touring pitches, the rest of the site being given over to statics and lodges. The site was very well maintained. A bit pricey at £34. 50. Helpful friendly staff.

The approach lane is not good news! It's single track, about a mile long and walled on one or both sides all along. It's a 30 minute walk to the road to pick up the bus. There's no pavement. We took minicabs into town at £8 each way.

Free strong wifi, lovely views, a bit windy and all pitches slope slightly. You will need chocks wherever you park.  


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ian29 8 reviews from this member

 Excellent site with first class facilities. Entrance is very long winding and narrow, wouldnít want to meet anyone coming the other way.

The reception staff are very friendly and booking in was straight forward. Pitches are a good size and well laid out, site is sloping but not too bad.

Lovely walks on the coastal path which runs through the site.

We stayed for 3 nights here and found it really relaxing. Bernard, the manager puts on a BBQ evening once a week and I can recommend his steak.

Local bus service is poor, there are taxiís but not many. I can recommend this site for a few nights while touring the area or longer if you want a relaxing break. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Hedgehugger 9 reviews from this member

 I spent five nights in a clifftop glamping pod 'The Cwtch' here. The site is signed from the main road with a pale blue sign, and a winding lane (with plenty of passing places) leads to the site itself, affording an excellent view en route of the site perched high on its headland.

I was very impressed with the site in general, everything very clean and well-kept, staff friendly and attentive. There was an introductory 'things to do in the area' talk on Tuesday morning and a barbecue (proceeds in aid of charity) on Wednesday evening. The pod itself was fine for one, cosy for two, and would be crowded for four to be honest, even if they were small children, as there isn't any storage, not even hanging hooks because of the shape of it.

I feel something could be contrived in the small porch area for muddy boots/wet coats etc. If the wind gets up it certainly beats a tent though! It has tv, fridge, heater and kettle and a barbecue and picnic bench outside.

Quite a few people on the site had dogs with them; the coastal path can be accessed either way from the site but there's no direct access to the beach - no beach, in fact, just cliffs! The nearest decent beach is about 40 mins walk along the path east, Pwllgwaelod (pub, car park, toilets) or, by car, Goodwick. Not sure about seasonal restrictions on that.

I was struggling a bit with the step up to the pod and, though I'd not said anything about it, on my second day they came along and placed blocks and slabs to create a step which made access much better. Storm Hector blew through one night and I worried about the two tents snugged up against the cliffside hedge, but they seemed to survive the experience unscathed.

There's an area for tourers slightly further back; looked like a slight slope but no problem. The views are superb, looking across the bay to Goodwick just on the edge of Fishguard (nice sandy/pebbly beach, cafe, Tesco Express, garage, free car park by the Sea Scouts hut) and the Irish ferry terminal - two sailings a day; late morning and late evening.

Be alert driving down into Fishguard; there are some steep hills and traffic congestion through Lower Fishguard and through the town itself, which has a slightly straggling layout. The main town car park was 60p for 2 hours which was very reasonable.

I would visit the Fishguard Bay Resort again and would be happy to recommend it. Not cheap, but a view like that is priceless. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Lorfal 23 reviews from this member

 Had 4 nights here. Originally 3 but weather delayed departure.

Really liked this site. Location could not be faulted. Right on cliffs, superb views and surprisingly didnít get battered with wind.

Staff are very helpful. We got stuck on grass and staff went all out to help us, they were great! Always a wave or hello from them too. Very approachable and nothing is too much trouble. So a big thanks just to the staff!

Moved to hard standing, pitches are good size with grass at side for awning. The touring pitches are kinda mid site, great views, close to amenities block with water and EHU at pitch. There is an easily accessible motorhome service point. Slightly slopping, ramps might be needed but we parked nose in and so were ok.

Dog friendly. Great cliff and hill walks right from the site. Lots of lodges and statics but doesnít feel crowded at all. Lots of waste bin areas about too. There is a chemical toilet point in the touring area.

Shop is ok, I though it could be better stocked. DVDs available for stay in van nights.

Facilities Block is spotless and itís warm too !

We would return to spend more time exploring the area. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tunde 1 review from this member

 Ours was the last tent pitch and on a slope and with no electricity. We had a great experience. Very well kept.

The staff was helpful and the little store had most essentials. The site is open on the cliff so just have to orientate the door away from the wind.

Highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Walesbug 2 reviews from this member

 Absolutely stunning location ! Couldn't fault the welcome we received from Vicki and her staff. The pitches are large and most are sheltered by hedges.

The site was very clean and tidy and the facilities were extremely clean. Well stocked shop on the site. Highly recommended 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KmarieL 3 reviews from this member

 What a beautiful place. We look forward to returning!

On a very steep arrival the road bends to the right and at that moment you realise what a treat is in store. The sheer natural beauty of the site is what appealed to us when booking.

We were nestled on the cliff's edge over the bay, where we spotted dolphins on our first morning.

The staff could not have been more helpful, polite and generally friendly. We were nervous first time campers but were given a spot with hedging to brace against the wind.

The site is quiet, but as its on the famous costal walking path you will see a few walkers taking the chance for a quick break and a brew before heading back off.

The facilities are immaculate and really set the bar as far as our expectations went for camping facilities. The toilets were always being cleaned with ample showers and toilets for the small site. They also have freezers for ice blocks and laundry facilities. The children's play equipment is simple but well maintained.

The site is a good mix of campers / tourers / statics and glamping pods - all receiving the same excellent service 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HelenBFC 2 reviews from this member

 Beautiful campsite, spectacular views, we had a really great week here! Having camped all over UK and Europe for 26 years, we can truthfully say that this is the VERY BEST campsite we have ever stayed in!

Lots of toilets, free showers with nice hot water, private hand basins, all spick and span at all times, even quietly played piped music 24/7!

Vicki and Dai or their colleagues were on hand at all times, friendly, helpful and able to recommend good local pubs etc for lunch or evening meals. The shop is well-stocked, and the ability to order newspapers and fresh baguettes every morning was great.

The grounds and pitches are very well maintained, with bins and recycling facilities in several places in the campsite.

There is a comfortable lounge with TV etc for wet evenings, and you can hire DVD players and films if the weather is especially unkind (we were lucky for most of our stay!)

The coast path goes right through the campsite and the bus passes nearby so it was easy to go for walks in both directions with no need to drive anywhere.

We had a wonderful pitch with EHU and it was excellent value for money - we would love to come back again! 


Previous     69 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Fishguard Bay Resort child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Fishguard Bay Resort?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Fishguard Bay Resort dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Fishguard      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/03
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3370 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement