Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Glenluce Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart > Glenluce Holiday Park Reviews

Glenluce Holiday Park
Balkail Avenue
Glenluce
Newton Stewart
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG8 0QR
Tel: 01581 300412
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 18
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 9 Reviews
                8/10 from 9 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Marty2711 8 reviews from this member

We booked Glenluce fairly last minute - we were originally intending to visit their sister site, Whitecairn.

Anyway, we chose Glenluce. First impressions were that it was predominantly a static caravan site. We followed the sign for the walled garden camping area and upon finding it were quite delighted by it's secluded beauty.

Grass pitches, slight undulations in the level of the ground but nothing too severe. A lovely stream flows through the campsite and there are wooded areas for the kids to play - and they did - for hours.

No shop or bar on site however that didn't detract from our enjoyment. There is a pub at the top of the road and a shop 50 yards down the street selling most of what you'll need.

They have this lovely little swimming pool which you book for an hour at a time and you get private use of it. We loved that!

On the downsides, and to be fair they wouldn't put me off going back, the toilet facilities are limited, 2 loo's and two 2 showers (one of which was out of order throughout our stay). The washup is a bit of a trek but decent once you get there. On calm nights with no wind you'll hear the trucks on the nearby A75 going to and from the Irish ferry ports at Stranraer.

We had marvelous weather throughout our weekend there, it really made it a good break. All in all on balance, a lovely wee site, will never become really overcrowded, it's not big enough, and really good value for money. And importantly just over an hour and half from where we live.

MLAZ

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lilly59 2 reviews from this member

My husband and I have just returned from a 3 night stay on the Glenluce campsite and although we had lots of rain we still enjoyed our stay.

The field is secluded with a high wall to protect you from the elements, there is a lovely stream running through and the toilet block was right next to our tent,which was very convenient,they were very clean and well-maintained although the door of one of the showers would not close.The ground is not completely level but it did not cause any problems for us.

There was a short walk to the pot washing facilities, which also contained a washing machine and tumbledryer.

The receptionist was very welcoming.She recommended the hotel opposite for a meal and we weren't disappointed.The other pub in the village was livlier, the locals favourite it would seem.

Dumfries & Galloway is a very picturesque part of Scotland. We visited many villages in the area; Port Logan, Mull of Galloway, Stranraer, Port William, Newton Stewart (where we had a meal in a hotel which was exceptional)

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Grapefruitmoon 23 reviews from this member

We really liked this site. It's in a wooded glade and you wouldn't know you were in a village. The camping area is totally separate from the static area. There is hook-up if required. The ground was flat and firm, and being surrounded by trees and with a wall on two sides, it's a sheltered spot. There is a burn running along one side.

The lady who greeted us was very nice and laid back. There is an information area with all the pamphlets. The pot wash / washing machine area is in the static part of the site - a bit of a walk. The camping area has a nice wooden cabin with showers and toilets. They are modern and clean with spacious electric showers. Lots of hooks.

Nice quiet site with lots of bird song and there is some distant road notice but it didn't ruin the ambience. The site is surrounded by woodland walks. The village playpark and football pitch is through the trees from the site so ok for older kids to go off on their own. There's space to play games in the centre of the camping area.

We ate at the local cafe. There's a village shop which sells everything. There are two hotels. You can see the sea from the main street. You can walk to the sea - a couple of miles.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mfairbairn 3 reviews from this member

This was our first ever camping experience. Five in total: 2 adults; 12 year-old; 8 year-old; and 5 year-old.

The previous week had been very wet and the forecast for the weekend wasn't good. We were fortunate on the Saturday night and Sunday morning that it stayed fair. However, it rained continuously on the Sunday afternoon so we packed up rather than stay the second night.

Despite the large amount of rain that had fallen and some parts of the tent area being quite soft, we were able to find a relatively dry pitch. Probably because of the bad weather we were the only people there on the Saturday night. However, motorhome and tent arrived as we were departing on the Sunday.

The tent area is self-contained and has it's own toilet and shower facilities. The toilets and showers were very clean. As one or two others have commented, there is a slight midge problem. However, if you use Avon Skin-so-soft you'll be OK (the village shop stocks Avon Skin-so-soft behind the counter).

The village itself is quiet. The village shop is open until 7pm, is well-stocked and has a free cash machine.

The surrounding area is good for family cycling. We had a particularly nice ride up to Glenluce Abbey on the Saturday evening.

We did not use the site's swimming pool. I think the charge is 3/head, which is a wee bit pricey when you can get the whole family into the Ryan Centre in Stranraer at the weekends for about 5 (because children get in free).

All-in-all this was a very good first experience and I could see us coming back some day.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ju1ianb 2 reviews from this member

We had a great time on a pitch in the walled garden, next to the River Luce, the site was quiet, especially towards the end of the month. Some nights we were the only tourers on site.
The small warm indoor swimming pool was ideal for the family and if you booked you had exclusive use of it for your time. We were lucky and not bothered by midges during our 2 week stay. The toilet and shower block was new and spotless, very good!
There is lots of good cycling in the area and it would make a good base for this. We would definitely go back!

Reviewer: Carolannjo 4 reviews from this member

May 2005
This is a very nice site in a nice location. Mostly given over to statics with another 3 areas for tourers. We stayed on a grassy area in the middle of all the statics, next to the toilet blocks, on a hard standing. The toilets were clean with 2 showers and 3 toilets, each of the toilet cubicles had a wash hand basin. The pool and spa were immaculate, but you do need to book. We were the only 3 people in at our scheduled slot. The booking is for an hour. There are some very nice pubs and a bistro in Glenluce and a couple of shops, also a bank which bizarrely had NO cashline. My only slight gripes with this site is the lack of heaters in the showers,the way they ran hot and cold if someone flushed the loo, the fact you had to PAY for them (20p a time, lastly the price for the pool I thought was a little steep at Two pounds an adult and a pound for a child.
The owners are doing a lot of building work and have added a laundry room and onother toilet building so they are improving it a bit at a time as they have only recently taken over. I would definately go back.

Reviewer: Evelyn cathalin 4 reviews from this member

June 2004
Having had a long drive from Dublin, and not knowing what to expect, I found this site charming and very clean. I set up camp right beside the River Luce and enjoyed my one night stop over. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, and advised me of various options for a short drive, this included the nearby abbey and a coastal drive. I would recommend this site to anybody visiting the area.

Rating:
Reviewer: Sue 7 reviews from this member

July 2003
As Alistair has said - a great site with clean loos and showers etc. Ladies loos had spacious cubicles with washbasins which meant that washing was always able to be done in privacy! The walled garden did not produce too many midges whilst we were there - but we were prepared.
We did try the small pool and jacuzzi on a couple of occasions and really enjoyed it. Changing from the pool also provides showers and hairdrying within the small cost of using the pool. The day we used the pool we were the only people in.
The only drawback of the site was the distance from pitches at the far end of the walled garden through to the toilets. Small children need to be encouraged not to leave it too late!

Reviewer: Alistair

July 2003
Excellent site for camping while exploring the surrounding area. The main stay of the site is residential, however the camping area is within what was a Walled Garden of the estate house ( very picturesque) so you have 20 foot walls surrounding the area with a burn on the open side.

The burn contains fish, however the only lucky fisherman was a Heron who knew just where and when to make his appearence..

Toilet, Showers and washing area was immaculate. An small indoor pool and Jacuzzi was available but we never got the chance to try it out..

Limited power supplies (6 I think) and the camping/touring area is shared with exhaust catchers (caravans)

Site is 3 mins from the village centre of Glenluce which has a range of pubs,hotels,store and bistro

Only drawback of this site is the Scottish MIDGE they can be ferocious and with an enclosed site near water the camping area can be daunting to those unprepared...





Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Newton Stewart      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5319 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019