Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hogsdown Farm Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Dursley > Hogsdown Farm Camping Site Reviews

Hogsdown Farm Camping Site
Lower Wick
Dursley
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL11 6DD
Tel: 01453 810224
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 32 Reviews
                8/10 from 32 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  32 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: The mcquarrie 7 reviews from this member

 Very friendly and helpful staff all precautions put in place.

The field we were on was a bit churned up due to all the rain that had fallen, but they offered to use their 4wheel drive vehicle to get us on our pitch if we needed it. Could not have been more helpul 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Haidi 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a stay at Hogsdown Farm and we had a fab time. Plenty of precaution taken in respect of Coronavirus, but was not overwhelming.

The place was lovely and clean and had a friendly relaxed atmosphere.

Will definitely look to return soon. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: BethyM 1 review from this member

 Really fab campsite, pitches generous, excellent value for money. Check in was welcoming and efficient, as well as covid secure.

Location is fab, plenty of stuff within easy reach including a walkable pub and we checked out Purton Hulks.

Facilities well equipped and spotless, as well as plenty of hand sanitiser available.

Kids enjoyed the little playpark. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Suzie2poos 11 reviews from this member

 Hogsdown is a pleasant base for exploring the Cotswolds and Severn Valley being situated a few miles off the M5.

This site is decent no-thrills camping but is excellent value. The site wardens are polite and helpful and willing to leave you up to your own devices. The toilets are always stocked with loo roll etc. And with 4 loos and 3 showers for the ladies and similar for the men there is never a need to queue.

The site has a small wash room which provides a washing up sink, washing machines and a tumble dryer. There are also a couple of spare plug sockets that the younger campers were using to charge their mobile phones. The wash room also has plenty of books and tourist information plus a kettle.

The site is flat and grassy, we found it really easy to pitch our tent. On arrival we were given a general area to pitch in and allowed to chose our spot for ourselves. One issue we came up against was that the site seems very popular with caravaners who liked to hog the drinking water supply by hooking it up to their caravans for lengthy amounts of time but we eventually tracked down an alternative tap.

During the day the site was lively with lots of children playing but by night it was very quiet even when groups arrived. Overnight the motorway is audible but it's a constant hum of traffic so it quickly becomes background noise. There is also a railway line close by but it didn't make much of an impact noise wise.

As a word of caution, if you enjoy walking, we found that many of the local public footpaths have been allowed to be consumed by nature by brambles or blocked by farmers with crops, barbed wire and even electric fences so always plan an alternative route! Oh and you will also be needing a pub on your walk so a word to the wise, most of them seem to shut in the afternoon so make sure to reach one before 2. 30! 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pitchperfect777 3 reviews from this member

 Had a reasonable stay here. Grounds well kept but if only the same effort was put into the cleanliness of the toilet/shower block. They are dated, but a good clean would really help - plus the addition of a mop or similar to clean up after yourself too. The play area could also do with some repairs as was dangerous in parts. There was plenty of toilet roll and nice hand soap. The owners were helpful and the site well placed to visit Cattle Country Farm park (well worth a visit if you have kids). 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Zulu100 4 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site which we all loved. Site is split into 3, being a tent we were on the back field which is small and enclosed, about 10 tents would fit nicely and it felt very peaceful, The main fields had a mix of vans and tents but still felt roomy, Kids loved the play area. With the secure gate you felt safe letting them play.

Staff were great. Polite, helpful, cheerful, relaxed.

You can here the motorway from the site but it isn't loud and the low continual sound meant it didn't disturb as you soon got used to it.

Definitely will be going back here soon. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kimberscraig 1 review from this member

 Excellent well laid out site which allows people to stay in different sections, bordered with high hedges and trees. Really beautiful and calm. We were a group booking so were at the back of the field which suited us fine - it meant we weren't in anyone's way. The showers and toilets are basic but clean, and the showers are HOT! We have been to too many sites, some of them very expensive and have had warm/cold showers. Staff are very friendly and welcoming. We were very lazy last night and got a delivery of food.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this site - it was a pleasure staying there. The only, and I do mean only downside is no grey water emptying for motorhomes. This is not a glamorous site, it is a peaceful; friendly and relaxing place to be, where you can really get away from it all! 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ettenaej 6 reviews from this member

 The site it's self fine reception good. Could pick our own pitch, grounds well kept. Toilets could do with an update and spruce but that just cosmetics. The showers were a little hot for younger ones but ok for us oldies. Found the charge of 4 for the leci excessive considering the output. And for just one night. The pitch itself was reasonably priced, just not leci. Would stop there again if needed to, suppose if the only complaint I had was price of hook up then that's pretty good. Things to learn and accept is everything has it's price. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Janeygoy 8 reviews from this member

 Just spent a weekend at Hogsdown as part of a group booking - 7 tents with plenty of young children between us! The owners welcomed our group and arranged for us to be together in a smaller field so we felt like we had a semi-private area.

The pitches are spacious and flat and the grass is kept beautifully short. There was plenty of space for the children to play around in the centre of the pitches without annoying people in the nearby tents. The surrounding trees and bushes occupied our children for hours as they made 'dens'. The playground equipment is basic but perfect for younger children.

There is a pond that out children found that isn't 'fenced' off. We weren't made aware of this at check-in and it is something that should perhaps be pointed out so that parents are aware.

Facilities were clean and the showers were free and hot. There is no temperature adjustment on the showers and they were a bit too hot for the children but better that than too cold! We never had to queue for the facilities despite there being plenty of people on site.

The washing up facilities are in a separate unit and are fully enclosed which is nice if the weather isn't too good. There is a washing machine, tumble dryer and iron in this room too (washing machine and dryer are chargeable). There are electric sockets here too free of charge.

The fresh eggs were delicious.

The railway is close by and some noise can be heard but it was not intrusive and did not keep any of our light sleepers awake.

You can pay by credit card which is a bonus as many smaller sites accept cash only.

We visited the Cattle Country Adventure Park (10 mins drive away) which occupied the children (and the adults) for the day with hair-raising slides and a tall climbing net amongst many other things - worth a visit if you have younger children.

All in all a lovely site and we will return again. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Flipflop13 5 reviews from this member

 Nice level site, only stayed a night after collecting new van, friendly owner, site level, great level well kept grass.

Had lots of space and allowed to choose our pitch.

Toilets a bit dated and could do with replacing, but clean and welcoming ie nice hand soap and flowers and did not charge for showers!

Would def return with child as play area looked fun and well kept. Looked like they had secure on-site storage and had to go through sturdy entrance gate, which was locked so felt secure. 


Previous     32 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hogsdown Farm Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hogsdown Farm Camping Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Hogsdown Farm Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Dursley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4279 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement