Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hogsdown Farm Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Gloucestershire > Dursley > Hogsdown Farm Caravan And Camping Park > Reviews

Hogsdown Farm Caravan And Camping Park
Lower Wick
Dursley
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL11 6DD
Tel: 01453 810224
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 37 Reviews
                8/10 from 37 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <10 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  37 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2024  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Dkehe1 1 review from this member

 This pretty site suited me down to the ground. It was quiet, and yet only a few minutes drive from local towns.

Returning late after a day out, I really appreciated being shown by torchlight to my pitch to help me dodge the wettest areas. ( my torch was in my tent )

Clean toilets and showers, and an impressive washing up and hanging out space. Also the widest choice of book and magazines I've ever encountered ! 


Date of Visit: April 2024 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: PattyG368 4 reviews from this member

 Welcoming site with all needed facilities. Not a big beautiful site but rather a base for travels.

Has EHU, elsan point, toilets, showers, wash up area as well as laundry room and small cozy lounge area with as many books, mags and dvds as my local library!

Level hardstanding pitch at £24 + £4 for hook up.

Not on a bus route so will need to walk about a mile to the main road.

Secured by electric gates with code. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: CasBar 2 reviews from this member

 The gentleman who runs the camp is very helpful, and a lovely man. Didnít use the facilities so canít comment on them, plus there was a lovely childrenís play area.

The electric gated access did make me feel secure, but feel it could do with a longer outside driveway approach as you have to stop on the narrow road before entering the turn into the gateway.

Saw plenty of wild life and lots of birds which was a plus.

The local area has plenty to offer such as Slimbridge wetlands/Berkeley castle /historic town of Dursley etc and the site is well placed for access to the M5.

The negative side was the amount of dog poo all over the field, and It wouldnít take a detective to say it was more than one dog.

We spent more time watching where we put our feet rather than admiring the beautiful scenery on our walks (Itís really annoying when thoughtless dog owners donít clear up after their pets)

I also feel the site is a little overpriced at £25 a night, but having said that, it wouldnít stop us visiting again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: ReesKim 1 review from this member

 Great camp site. Weíve not camped for many a year and done the pin the tail on the donkey type of thing.

Really glad we chose here for our first and then second ( consecutive weekend) camps.

Well run gated site and campers allocated appropriate pitches.

Clean toilets and washing facilities. Play area for kids.

Thanks to Jerry. More than helpful with our stays. 


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Jaimie 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely little quiet campsite. Clean toilets and hot showers.

Play area which the kids loved as they got to make friends there too. Very good price per night.

Great location with quite a lot to do nearby,

I'd recommend Berkeley castle!

Would definitely stay at this campsite again. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: The mcquarrie 15 reviews from this member

 Very friendly and helpful staff all precautions put in place.

The field we were on was a bit churned up due to all the rain that had fallen, but they offered to use their 4wheel drive vehicle to get us on our pitch if we needed it. Could not have been more helpul 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Haidi 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a stay at Hogsdown Farm and we had a fab time. Plenty of precaution taken in respect of Coronavirus, but was not overwhelming.

The place was lovely and clean and had a friendly relaxed atmosphere.

Will definitely look to return soon. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: BethyM 1 review from this member

 Really fab campsite, pitches generous, excellent value for money. Check in was welcoming and efficient, as well as covid secure.

Location is fab, plenty of stuff within easy reach including a walkable pub and we checked out Purton Hulks.

Facilities well equipped and spotless, as well as plenty of hand sanitiser available.

Kids enjoyed the little playpark. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Suzie2poos 11 reviews from this member

 Hogsdown is a pleasant base for exploring the Cotswolds and Severn Valley being situated a few miles off the M5.

This site is decent no-thrills camping but is excellent value. The site wardens are polite and helpful and willing to leave you up to your own devices. The toilets are always stocked with loo roll etc. And with 4 loos and 3 showers for the ladies and similar for the men there is never a need to queue.

The site has a small wash room which provides a washing up sink, washing machines and a tumble dryer. There are also a couple of spare plug sockets that the younger campers were using to charge their mobile phones. The wash room also has plenty of books and tourist information plus a kettle.

The site is flat and grassy, we found it really easy to pitch our tent. On arrival we were given a general area to pitch in and allowed to chose our spot for ourselves. One issue we came up against was that the site seems very popular with caravaners who liked to hog the drinking water supply by hooking it up to their caravans for lengthy amounts of time but we eventually tracked down an alternative tap.

During the day the site was lively with lots of children playing but by night it was very quiet even when groups arrived. Overnight the motorway is audible but it's a constant hum of traffic so it quickly becomes background noise. There is also a railway line close by but it didn't make much of an impact noise wise.

As a word of caution, if you enjoy walking, we found that many of the local public footpaths have been allowed to be consumed by nature by brambles or blocked by farmers with crops, barbed wire and even electric fences so always plan an alternative route! Oh and you will also be needing a pub on your walk so a word to the wise, most of them seem to shut in the afternoon so make sure to reach one before 2. 30! 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pitchperfect777 3 reviews from this member

 Had a reasonable stay here. Grounds well kept but if only the same effort was put into the cleanliness of the toilet/shower block. They are dated, but a good clean would really help - plus the addition of a mop or similar to clean up after yourself too. The play area could also do with some repairs as was dangerous in parts. There was plenty of toilet roll and nice hand soap. The owners were helpful and the site well placed to visit Cattle Country Farm park (well worth a visit if you have kids). 


Previous     37 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Hogsdown Farm Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hogsdown Farm Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Hogsdown Farm Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Dursley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4087 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement