Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Trekenning Tourist Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Newquay > Trekenning Tourist Park Reviews

Trekenning Tourist Park
Trekenning
Newquay
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR8 4JF
Tel: 01637 880462
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 75
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 16 Reviews
                8/10 from 16 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Newnatjj 25 reviews from this member

 Two adults, two kids (aged 14 & 12) plus dog, Vango Maritsa 700.

Just returned from a two week stay at Trekenning which started off with a lovely warm and friendly welcome from the managers and ended with a warm and friendly goodbye by the managers.

The site is just off a main roundabout leading into Newquay & initially was worried as it is a busy road however we did not get disturbed by traffic noise at all. It is also on the flight path to Newquay Airport but no planes flying through the night that I heard (and I am a very light sleeper!).

Our pitch was HUGE. Easily fit our Maritsa 700, car and enough space for us a 'garden' area. Fortunately our pitch was an end pitch otherwise may have felt a little squashed together as not a lot of space separating pitches which were mostly occupied by touring caravans.

The showers/toilets were cleaned to a high standard, very regularly. A couple of showers located in the toilets but then the main showers in a separate area with the covered but not enclosed washing up area behind. The showers were very hot and the push button type. There were a couple of bathrooms available too with a bath, sink and loo in each; there was a £1 charge for the bath. A tip for the loos through the night would be to take a torch with you - they have individual push button lights in each cubical which gave you a bit of a shock when they switched off and left you in darkness!

There is a laundry room with a washer, dryer, iron etc available.

There is an on site shop which we found reasonably priced compared to the usual price hikes you find on campsites for everyday essentials. There is also a cafť area where you can buy breakfast buns which we can highly recommend! There is a small bar which serves food on an evening and a pool table. There is a small games room with another two pool tables in. Lots of information/leaflets etc available in reception.

There is a small play area for under 10's which all the younger kids seemed to enjoy, but there was no areas of grass for kids to play on/kick a ball about which our two children struggled without.

The pool and pool area is beautiful. Would have liked to have had the chance to spend an afternoon around it but ran out of time (always places to go in Cornwall!).

The site is dog friendly, however there is no where to walk the dog other than up the lane that leads to the site off the main road. There is no where without a drive to let dogs off lead for a good run.

I have to say the site is good value for money, very fairly priced with lovely warm & friendly staff who work really hard.

Although we enjoyed our stay at Trekenning, we will probably try a site closer to Newquay/with more walks in the immediate area in the future. It is only a 15/20 min drive (with no traffic - took us an hour one day in traffic!) but as the only driver I did feel like I spent the majority of my time driving about; you do have to drive to get anywhere from the site. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Chowmein 8 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from this site a day early !

We pulled up to our pitch near to the park on a slope and already felt exposed in this area ! Not a good place for a campervan ! The first night was ok then after that we were harassed by kids kicking the ball at our camper and on our pitch. We told them various times to play somewhere else and they moved to harass someone else for a bit then returned when they got told off. When we went out for the day the kids were playing on our pitch and when we returned they felt put out because they had to move ! The cheek !. One of the kids tried to steal my daughters bike by starting to ride it away bearing in mind it was fenced in with windbreaks !. The kids played on the park till after 10 pm even though a rule on the park states 8. 30 is time to leave but then again who enforces this rule !

When leaving we reported our issues to the lady in reception and she didn't seem to care ! We left a day early and returned to a previous site which was quiet and felt safer. Our experience was not good possibly due to being situated in the wrong place so if booking ask to be away from the park !

The showers / toilets were clean as expected although the pool looked green ! Other Kids didn't mind they swam in it anyway. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paulkaren 2 reviews from this member

 Dont normally do reviews but I feel after reading a previous review I should do this time.

We spent two weeks along with our niece and her partner here and couldn't fault anything. The owners were helpful and friendly, the facilities were spotless and the breakfast butties were a temptation too much, I am sure he had a fan to spread the smell of bacon.

We were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived and when we visited the bar in the first evening I was offered a pint of Sunny Holidays In Trekenning which if you know was nothing like its name.

We were asked by one of the customers who has a seasonal pitch if we would like to join in a game of pool, killer, which staight away got us introduced and involved with everyone in the bar which set the tone for the next two weeks not just in the bar but all around the site. We ate there a couple of times and it was plentiful good value home cooking. One evening we tried to order pizza from the village and it was closed and the staff cooked us a curry for supper, brilliant!

My wife thought the baths were great. Any information we needed was no trouble and a couple of good restaurants were recommended. Just to the left when leaving the campsite, on the industrial estate is the bakery that supplies most of the pasties around Newquay, they have a shop that sells fresh baked for two thirds what you pay in the town, well worth a visit we brought a dozen frozen home for less than 1. 50 a pastie. Oh and dogs were allowed in the bar. We never used the pool but it seemed busy and the people that used it seemed to be having a good time.

A great site run by very helpful friendly people

We are returning next year 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jo p 6 reviews from this member

 We booked this site for a week and stayed for the full week with the possibility of extending the stay.

The site was small and clean and the grass pitches well tended. The showers and toilets were kept clean and tidy with loo roll always available, The shop was only open between 9am and 11am but this wasn't a problem as there was a spar just down the road which was open till 10pm.

The pitch was slightly sloping and wasn't a problem while it was dry but after torrential rain on the last 2 days this caused the tent groundsheet to slightly sink inti the ground at one end.

As we had 2 dogs in our group we were unable to use the pub and we were also unable to walk the dogs on the site which I found strange but respected this and walked my dog up and down the lane leading to the site, the games room was really run down although clean many of the machines were turned off or broken.

There were regular air traffic overhead but this stopped quite early in the evening and some of this was military which we found exciting.

The pool was lovely too, a notice explaining that due to the bad weather the water wasn't clear however the water quality was good and well chlorinated.

The staff on the site were really helpful and the regular visitors/residents were also really lovely and offered their help when we got stuck on the site due to high rain etc.

Would we go again, yes definitely a nice little site. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Joanne0904 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned from what was supposed to be a week long stay at this site in our tent. When we arrived we were surprised to notice that not only were we the only tent on site, we were in fact almost on our own on the site - there were some statics down the one end of the site which appeared to have people living and working from them which was odd. The rest were either empty pitches or touring caravans set up in seasonal pitches with their own gardens etc. Almost all of these were empty.

This meant that most of the facilities that we had paid for we're not open - the bar was open 2 nights in the week, it didn't serve food, the games room and sun terrace were not open, the shop and takeaway were closed as was one of the shower blocks.

The heated pool wasn't heated, we did manage to go in it because the place was empty but it was freezing and not very clean. We did go into the pub on one of the nights it was open but we felt out of place as everyone seemed to know each other, as they stay all the time so this felt odd, plus with no food available we didn't stay long.

Other than that the site is nice, with lovely views, the toilets are clean and the free showers nice, being able to have a bath was also nice and you need 2 50p's which is enough for a hot bath, just run the hot first till it stops then add cold! The noise from the road does get bad as does the airport but you do get used to it.

We chose to leave earlier because of the lack of facilities, we picked this site because it had an on site pub and takeaway so we could have a drink and something to eat at night without having to drive, but as this was not available we had to drive away from the site to find food each night -

Disposable BBQ are not allowed on site so this also restricted us - we hadn't packed our BBQ as we didn't think we would need it!

Failing that the pitches are a good size, although they do slope downwards, and we had plenty of room for our hi gear Mohave 5 tent and porch as well as our car and room to sit outside.

Personally I won't be going back which is a shame but if you are looking for a site to use as a base for seeing Cornwall and just for sleeping you should be ok. 
Management response: We feel extremely upset by some of the comments that have been pointed at us and disappointed that the comments were not discussed with us at the time of departure.

In fact when asked why they were going early we were told that the tent was leaking and because of the bad weather thought that it was a good time to leave.

At no point was anything mentioned to us about closure of facilities.

Can I point out that the whole country had had very unusual weather and that every camp site was suffering with bookings and still is.

Our booking conditions clearly state that some if not all facilities will be removed dependant on numbers. We therefore feel that if the questions had been raised on booking they would have been told the above.

We are a very small family site and pride ourselves on our customer service and our willingness to assist and help in any situation.

We do have a number of seasonal pitches which often does mean that people are not always at their caravans.

We do however have a lot of repeat business and people do get to meet up with each other every year and therefore will meet up in the bar.

Food was available in the bar but we were never asked.

As far as the swimming pool was concerned we had had problems which were being address but unfortunately not at this time. Again this would have been indicated to them if asked.

Like most camping and caravan sites there is a low season and high season and the tariff reflects this.

The subject of people living on is a false accusation and for the 5 days that they actually stayed with us we did have a number of seasonals on, who may I state are allowed within our license to spend extended lengths of time and are mostly retired couples.

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The_Daws 5 reviews from this member

 Myself, the wife and two young children stayed here for a week.

I booked to go camping quite late as part of a 2 part holiday (1st week in Devon). This was one of the few sites left not fully booked. The fees were very good in comparison to some sites who were charging £40 plus per night.

Part of the drawback with the site is that its a bit far out for the coast - 6 miles to Newquay and 4/5 to Watergate Bay. However, this may have contributed to the fact that there were no late night revellers stumbling back at 3am waking everyone up. Generally speaking, everything went quite by 10pm.

The actual site is situated off of a main roundabout and so there is some road noise. It is also under the flight path for Newquay airport, but again not enough to be an issue.

Although it does have a small playing area for children there is no real room for playing ball games. It was only for the fact that several pitches were empty that meant that the kids had a bit more room to run around. Our pitch was more than large enough.

There is a nearbye market town - St Columb Major that is a short walk away. The Ring O Bells pub was recommended to us and we found the food to be very good and the town very pretty.

The facilities were good - clean hot showers, warm swimming pool and nicely done out bar serving hot food. The bar charges standard pub rates and with St Column Major being so close they must lose out on a lot of business.

In summary this is a nice clean site with good facilities. I would prefer somewhere closer to the coast next time to cut down on the driving but overall we had a good stay. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kotisan 3 reviews from this member

 Small but perfectly formed camping and caravanning site. Very clean and very friendly owner operated site. Heated outdoor swimming pool, free showers and washing up area, bar with entertainment, children's activity room and small adventure playground, site shop and evening take away.

This is the second time we have visited this site and it has improved since our first very happy visit. No queues for facilities and a very friendly atmosphere, including being made to feel very welcome by the owners of sited caravans.

It's about a ten minute drive from Newquay, which wasn't hindered by traffic, even during a busy Easter break.

This site is perfect if you want to sit by the pool, or as we do, let the kids splash around in perfect safety as we read a book and enjoy a glass of wine.

I think the best way to describe this site would be unspoiled, considerate, relaxing and well maintained - you would do well to find a better place to stay, especially at the rates which are charged. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dkp1 2 reviews from this member

 My husband and I have just returned from a 4 night stay at this site and we had a really lovely time. The site isn't to large and there seemed to be enough showers / toilets for everyone, never had to queue the whole time we were there. The bar was really nice and somewhere to go in the evening if you were too tired to go anywhere but not wanting to stay in the tent.

Our pitch was a good size and accommodated our tent and gazebo nicely. This summer has been quite rainy but the pitch just had a small amount of mud on which wasn't to bad considering.

You do need a car or vehicle of sorts to go anywhere as the site is just off a busy main road and there really wasn't anywhere to go without driving to it. This didn't worry us though as the general idea of our holiday was to visit places every day.

We would recommend this site to anyone visiting the area. 


Date of Visit: December 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tim M 2 reviews from this member

 We spent 5 nights including New Year at this park and liked it a lot. Being out of season we were unable to use or comment on the shop as it was closed for the winter as was the swimming pool. However, the park is set on a slight hill with graded pitches, some levelling is required but donít let this put you off its nothing really.

The owners were fantastic and couldnít do enough for us from the time we arrived we were shown to our pitch (we arrived 7.30 pm and it was dark), to the time we went when they wished us well.

The site consists of a house which is used as a reception and office and which the owners live in, and a block of buildings which hosted the shop, toilets and wash room which were closed. Situated next to them is a purpose built toilet and shower block which was open and appears to be used out of season. The toilets X6 are individual cubicles with a wash basin and toilet backing on to X6 shower cubicles and a bath, plenty of hot water and clean. Ideal if you have children and or need a bit of space and privacy.

The Bar is more of a pub type building with a real fire and a large conservatory area which opens out to a decking area which in turn overlooks the swimming pool. I can imagine that during the summer this is the place to be. There is a small sandy childrenís play area and the site is total surrounded by trees shrubs and hedges so no worries about them running off. There is a security barrier on the entrance with a code to get in to the site again no worries about any unwanted visitors.

The only criticism is that the lighting around the site is poor, but again donít let this put you off. The main road dint effect us neither did the airport a few miles up the road however this may be different during the summer I will let you know because we will definitely be revisiting this site again. 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Qsbuilder 19 reviews from this member

 This is a small family orientated site so don't expect the entertainment facilities of a larger one. However there is a nice swimming pool, good toilets and powerful showers, a security barrier at the entrance and helpful owners who are making continuous improvements to the site.
There are seasonal pitches all around the perimeter being mostly full which tells a lot, and the owners are developing a static area for permanent residential use. This is not a beach-side site but is a good base for touring around Cornwall being just 5 minutes from the A30.
The downsides are that it is right next to the A39 Wadebridge road so expect some traffic noise and it can get muddy after a wet summer like 2007, but so do many other sites. And yes, aircraft do fly overhead en-route to Newquay Airport but this isn't intrusive. If you want to be close to Newquay and avoid the noise from other campers and caravanners that you'll encounter on the larger sites then this is a good choice. 


Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Trekenning Tourist Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Trekenning Tourist Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Trekenning Tourist Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Trekenning Tourist Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Newquay      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2851 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement