Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Borders Hideaway Holiday Home Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Herefordshire > Site Reviews

Borders Hideaway Holiday Home Park
Painscastle Rd
Clyro
Hay On Wye
Herefordshire   (Browse area)
HR3 5SG
Tel: 01497 820156
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 35
Open: 1st January - 31st December

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 55 Reviews
                9/10 from 55 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  55 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Allymod 2 reviews from this member

Weve just spent an amazing week at Borders Hideaway. Its a lovely site. Its very peaceful and tucked away in the countryside. The owners are very friendly and helpful and the site is beautifully maintained and on arrival youre handed and very helpful information pack. They have gold awards for conservation and a lovely orchard and herb garden which you can use.

Each serviced pitch has its own water supply and TV Ariel, if you really want it! Also free Wi-Fi on site too with a very good signal. Good washing up facilities with complimentary Eco friendly washing up liquid. There is also an information room with lots of leaflet son the local area and also a small freezer for you to re-freeze your ice packs.

The shower block is immaculate and cleaned many times during the day, with no closure as they work around the visitors. There are 3 wet rooms with toilet, shower and basin and then one toilet on its own.

Its a very quiet location in beautiful Welsh countryside with easy access to the Black Mountains & Brecon Beacons. 5 minutes from Hay-on-Wye where there is a Co-op to get provisions. Lots of lovely pubs around which all serve lovely food. Wed never been to Wales on holiday before but well definitely be going back. Everyone we met were so friendly and everywhere we ate the food was amazing. Well definitely be returning to this campsite & the local area.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Paul and eileen 1 review from this member

This site has fantastic views and the Wardens Don and Trish do a fantastic job of looking after the site. Would recommend a visit. The toilets and showers are lovely and clean, the site is well maintained.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ShellyPugh 1 review from this member

Fantastic camp site and wonderful friendly couple running it.

It is clean and well maintained, everything is well thought out. The childrens play area kept our little one's occupied for hours, which meant we could relax and enjoy the views! The host's really do think of everything and lending us the hook up connection was a life line! If you've not stayed here, you're missing out!

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MrsCol 1 review from this member

We stayed here for 3 nights in our family tent (2 adults, 3 children and 1 dog). It is the best campsite we have ever been to! Lovely owners, very friendly, informative and easy to contact. The site is set in beautiful views and is pristine everywhere.

The toilet block was amazing, you get a toilet, shower and sink in the same room so it's great for everyone getting washed and ready. The site is a bit 'hilly' but all the pitches were even and we benefitted from the free wifi!

The kids loved the park and running in the adjacent field with the dog. The owners have gone above and beyond with things like the orchard and herb garden, where you can help yourself to the produce!

The nearby town of Hay-on-Wye is lovely, loads of quirky shops and plenty of places to eat etc.

We would definitely recommend this site and will definitely be back!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: REGINALD GOULD 1 review from this member

My daughter, two granddaughter plus family members recently spent 3 nights at the Borders Hideaway Holiday camp and were really impressed with the site. It was kept clean, and the toilets/shower facilities were kept in an immaculate condition. The staff were pleasant and extremely helpful. I have to thank them on my daughters behave for a really good first time camping experience and I do know that they want to return sometime next year.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Retsilaear 1 review from this member

The site is fantastic. Lovely welcome when we arrived after a long journey from Fife, and we were given an excellent information pack, which gave info on the site itself and local amenities and attractions. The free WiFi was explained in detail, and this worked a treat. In the toilet block there was an info room, containing leaflets and maps on local attractions, and this also housed a freezer where freezer blocks could be borrowed or stored. The camping field itself is sloping, but each pitch is perfectly level and was large enough for our considerable amount of tents, and a car. The toilet and shower block was a revelation! This is the first one we've stayed at where we had a private cubicle with toilet, shower and sink all in the same cubicle! There were also additional sinks, a hand drier, and a hair drier. For the amount of people at the site later in the week, we always felt like we had plenty of space, and there was never a queue for the toilets or wash up sinks. Great hook-up facilities, shared between 2 pitches, water tap on each pitch and also a freeview link (which we didn't use). Super central playground for kids. The only 2 very small things to mention (but certainly not warranting less of a rating), the grass was quite long, which made it lovely and soft, but when wet, was very cloggy, with the cuttings sticking to feet and getting dragged into tents etc, and there wasn't enough big bins or recycling visible, but we just took ours to Hay to dispose of. The area around Clyro, Hay on Wye, Herefordshire and the Brecon Beacons is beautiful too, super walks and wild swims in the River Wye. Excellent pub grub, and cafes available in the local area too. Great place, highly recommended.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ninasm1 1 review from this member

Beautiful site!

On a hill but all pitches are level and have EHU, water, freeview and wifi.

Showers / toilets are spotless with plenty of hot water.

Good playground in the middle of the pitches.

Nature areas, orchard and herb garden were a lovely bonus.

Because of its rural location it wouldn't be suitable for non drivers, but this makes for quiet times and stunning night skies!

Really helpful warm welcome. Highly recommended

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nosesrred 4 reviews from this member

We just returned from a most enjoyable stay at this campsite. The campsite is very well maintained and the facilities are oof a very standard, I don't think they could be beaten. The pitches are large and the grass is well cut, the views from pitch 10 are amazing. I will defitely be returning very soon

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: KurtAlden 1 review from this member

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of July. The camping field had around 16 pitches arranged in a circle around the outside with a lovely wooden play area in the centre and wonderful views across the valley. The field itself had quite a slope on it but each of the pitches appeared level enough, ours certainly was. The shower block was fantastic, the mens had 3 cubicles with a loo, sink and shower in each, it was very clean and obviously well maintained. There was also a room with a freezer so you could put in your ice packs, a lovely change not to have to pay for it. It was the little touches like this that made The Borders so special. The free (and very good) wi-fi was the icing on the cake.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Staceypicton 2 reviews from this member

This campsite is by far the best I have ever stayed on. The facilities are fantastic and the website does not do it justice.

All in all 5 families stayed and it was brilliant park in the centre all very safe for the kids to run around.

The toilet block was fantastic and clean. They have a freezer so you can Re freeze ice blocks.

Blocks for disposable bbqs to go on. There isn't much more you would need that they don't have there.

It is about 45 mins walk into hay on Wye.

Fab site would definitely return and recommend. Plus the owner was very friendly and helpful.

Previous     55 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Herefordshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4104 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019