Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Borders Hideaway Holiday Home Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Herefordshire > Hay On Wye > Borders Hideaway Holiday Home Park Reviews

Borders Hideaway Holiday Home Park
Painscastle Rd
Clyro
Hay On Wye
Herefordshire   (Browse area)
HR3 5SG
Tel: 01497 820156
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 35
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/10/2020
           06/03/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 60 Reviews
                9/10 from 60 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  60 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Harryo 1 review from this member

 This is 5 star camping; the facilities are superb. Never seen washrooms this pristine in all my years of camping; they are spotless.

Managers were all terrific; helpful, friendly and knowledgeable but let you get on with enjoying yourself.

Our tent pitch had great views but all of the pitches do, beautifully maintained with short grass for the pitch and longer grass around. Pitches are spread out around the field, not just along the edges which makes for a lovely set up. Water tap only meters away.

Great Place to get away from it all but still feel clean and civilized!

Easy walk down to the petrol station for basic supplies and Hay on Wye is only a few minutes drive. We planned our trip around Hay on Wye but had more fun at Borders Hideaway.

The fee for a tent pitch is an absolute gift, we will definitely return, next time for longer. Huge effort has been made to encourage plants and insects and the grounds are a delight to be in.

Deserves every award going; especially the "Platinum Washroom Award. " Large play area for the kids (unused as school had restarted but very much there!), so families would also enjoy.

Most of the visitors seemed to be retired so very quiet during our stay. 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Craig7 2 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site. Quiet and peaceful but catered for my two girls to play. Facilities are immaculate.

We had pitch 10 which had beautiful views.

Children's playground right in front of us so we were able to relax whilst the children blew off steam.

One of the best we've ever been to. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lawry1964 2 reviews from this member

 The site wardens were very helpful and friendly and the site was kept very clean. The pitches are well kept and there was plenty of room for our van awning and car.

It is well placed for trips around Brecon, Hereford and the Black Mountains.

All of the facilities are of a high standard and we would recommend the site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Bagofg 1 review from this member

 Borders is a great small to medium sized campsite.

It had immaculate facilities during our recent stay.

Helpful and friendly staff. Incredibly peaceful. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Bananarama 14 reviews from this member

 Our first trip to this park, fantastic site.

Great welcome, escorted to pitch, given lots of info about site, etc.

Fabulous views from the top of the site where we were pitched. Lovely spacious pitches with water on each pitch. Site all kept immaculately clean and tidy.

Fantastic facilities block, always kept spotlessly clean, plenty of hot water in the showers. Great place for families with a small play area in the middle. A bit noisy if you don't have kids I suppose, but our grandson enjoyed it. Plenty of space to run around and kick a ball.

Loved the Bee Hotel and garden. Wardens all very friendly and helpful. Short drive to Hay on Wye,

No bad points, would definitely return here. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Allymod 2 reviews from this member

 Weve just spent an amazing week at Borders Hideaway. Its a lovely site. Its very peaceful and tucked away in the countryside. The owners are very friendly and helpful and the site is beautifully maintained and on arrival youre handed and very helpful information pack. They have gold awards for conservation and a lovely orchard and herb garden which you can use.

Each serviced pitch has its own water supply and TV Ariel, if you really want it! Also free Wi-Fi on site too with a very good signal. Good washing up facilities with complimentary Eco friendly washing up liquid. There is also an information room with lots of leaflet son the local area and also a small freezer for you to re-freeze your ice packs.

The shower block is immaculate and cleaned many times during the day, with no closure as they work around the visitors. There are 3 wet rooms with toilet, shower and basin and then one toilet on its own.

Its a very quiet location in beautiful Welsh countryside with easy access to the Black Mountains & Brecon Beacons. 5 minutes from Hay-on-Wye where there is a Co-op to get provisions. Lots of lovely pubs around which all serve lovely food. Wed never been to Wales on holiday before but well definitely be going back. Everyone we met were so friendly and everywhere we ate the food was amazing. Well definitely be returning to this campsite & the local area. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paul and eileen 1 review from this member

 This site has fantastic views and the Wardens Don and Trish do a fantastic job of looking after the site. Would recommend a visit. The toilets and showers are lovely and clean, the site is well maintained. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ShellyPugh 1 review from this member

 Fantastic camp site and wonderful friendly couple running it.

It is clean and well maintained, everything is well thought out. The childrens play area kept our little one's occupied for hours, which meant we could relax and enjoy the views! The host's really do think of everything and lending us the hook up connection was a life line! If you've not stayed here, you're missing out! 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MrsCol 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for 3 nights in our family tent (2 adults, 3 children and 1 dog). It is the best campsite we have ever been to! Lovely owners, very friendly, informative and easy to contact. The site is set in beautiful views and is pristine everywhere.

The toilet block was amazing, you get a toilet, shower and sink in the same room so it's great for everyone getting washed and ready. The site is a bit 'hilly' but all the pitches were even and we benefitted from the free wifi!

The kids loved the park and running in the adjacent field with the dog. The owners have gone above and beyond with things like the orchard and herb garden, where you can help yourself to the produce!

The nearby town of Hay-on-Wye is lovely, loads of quirky shops and plenty of places to eat etc.

We would definitely recommend this site and will definitely be back! 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: REGINALD GOULD 1 review from this member

 My daughter, two granddaughter plus family members recently spent 3 nights at the Borders Hideaway Holiday camp and were really impressed with the site. It was kept clean, and the toilets/shower facilities were kept in an immaculate condition. The staff were pleasant and extremely helpful. I have to thank them on my daughters behave for a really good first time camping experience and I do know that they want to return sometime next year. 


Previous     60 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Borders Hideaway Holiday Home Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Borders Hideaway Holiday Home Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Borders Hideaway Holiday Home Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hay On Wye      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Herefordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2123 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement