Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Poston Mill Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Herefordshire > Site Reviews

Poston Mill Park
Golden Valley
Peterchurch
Hereford
Herefordshire   (Browse area)
HR2 0SF
Tel: 01981 550225
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 35
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 81 Reviews
                9/10 from 81 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (6) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  81 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nuevoboy 68 reviews from this member

We've just had 4 nights there (our fourth or fifth visit) and still top notch. Staff as friendly as ever and if anything the site was even more pristine.

Two minor let downs though:

The lights in the shower block are on timers and as I was enjoying a long hot shower after a day's cycling, they went off, leaving me groping in the dark.

The Mill restaurant is better than ever, with a good selection of food, but served on cold plates!

Other than that, we had a great time again, despite the rain, sleet and minus two temperature.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cathw155 1 review from this member

Our second visit the first in September 2014 and now the fairer weather this June. Nothing has changed as far as the camping was concerned and you wouldn’t want it to; everything is perfect. Great pitch, fantastic facilities for washing up ; personal hygiene; fridge and freezer storage; welcoming and very helpful staff; lots of local information ; and the sports pitches and nine hole pitch and putt.

The restaurant at the mill has changed hands recently and the food and service there is also fantastic. It’s open longer hours than previously, opening for breakfast, afternoon tea and dinner- really lovely. There’s no need to venture off site at all! Planning to go back much sooner this time!

There’s a superb little shop open in the morning selling everything you need as well as fresh bread and breakfast bundles, alongside local artist craft work.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Archie Bargee 21 reviews from this member

Our first visit to Poston Mill, easy to find, and a genuine warm welcome. Lovely sized pitches, furthest away from the facilities, but no problem. The individual shower rooms with washbasin are great, the others a little cramped, lack of shower curtains means leaving your clothes and shoes as far away from the spray zone as possible - but sparklingly clean and plentiful (very) hot water. The whole site is beautifully kept and well run, phone reception etc a bit dodgy but fine if you walk across into the next field. We had been planning to stay here for a couple of years and it didn't disappoint - we will be back.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Steve.c 8 reviews from this member

Just returned from a week's break here. What a fantastic site, Staff warm and friendly and very helpful, facilities excellent, Shop and Bar also excellent. A very well cared for site with everything spotlessly clean and tidy. Ideally situated for visiting several towns within easy reach eg Hay on Wye, Hereford and Ross on Wye. Very dog friendly, really enjoyed my stay ! Would I visit again ? Most definitely !

Steve. C

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Coopertroopers 26 reviews from this member

Our third visit to this site and it is as good as ever. The facilities are always clean and the showers are really hot and powerful. The off lead dog walk area is huge which is great for us with 3 dogs.

The on site restaurant 'The Mill' is now open every day which is a bonus for a quick drink or bite to eat, they also do a takeaway service.

A great site, I'm sure we'll return.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alanterri 44 reviews from this member

Back here after a six year break.

This place just gets better. Fully serviced pitch with 16 amp EHU, Freeview tv point too. Good sized

Pitches not far from the excellent super clean facilities. The showers are awesome. On site shop open four days a week. Well stocked. The dog walks, walks, are great. There are a number of off lead choices. Our Springers were exhausted and swam every day.

The Mill bar and restaurant is a ‘don’t Miss’. Great beer and food. New owners are personable and looking to offer a very comfortable atmosphere enjoyable experience.

Hay on Wye and Hereford are 10 miles away with supermarkets and good butchers.

The site is very well tended. Will return soon.

Date of Visit: December 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: George-Mildred 4 reviews from this member

Our first, but not last visit to Poston Mill. We arrived with friends in a motorhome. For us, in a tourer it was ideal as we had a car to get out and about in. Hereford & Hay on Wye are both about 10 miles away. For motorhomers, you either need the bus which stops outside park or take your motorhome out. Staff advised the bus is not always regular, but timetables available in reception and on wall by toilet block. Easy access to site off the main road, heard no noise from traffic in the caravan. Seems well sheltered site.

As it was winter we opted for the fully serviced pitch which are located nearer the facilities block. There were standard pitches slighly further away, and it looks as though more pitches may be going in as some work had been started in another area.

What made this site for us, was how dog friendly it is (we've just had a new pup and it was her first holiday) as mentioned by others there are buckets everywhere for tidying up after your dog.

The showers were hot and not the push button type and easily set to your own heat and stayed on as long as you needed. All very clean and tidy in facilities and around site. Main shop closed over winter but basics available in reception. All staff we spoke to were very friendly and helpful, showed us to our pitches on arrival. Key code access on the entrance barrier, which you are given the code for on arrival. Pub on site fine and went one night, food was good and a reasonable price, but closed after New Year till March, so bear in mind.

A lovely walk over fields to the village with shop & pub (didn't use the pub though). Had mobile signal on o2 and EE, not brilliant but it worked fine. Playground looked good for youngsters. We will return in the summer no doubt.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Coopertroopers 26 reviews from this member

Second visit to this site this year - wondered whether it would live up to our first visit and it did not disappoint !

Facilities are excellent - toilet block always clean and hot, powerful showers.

Dog walk is huge with loads of space and plenty of buckets so no excuse not to pick up.

We were fortunate with the weather which was a bonus - will definitely return.

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Coopertroopers 26 reviews from this member

What a fantastic site ! The staff could not be more helpful and the facilities were always immaculate.

The off lead dog walk is enormous and there are waste buckets all around so no excuses for lazy owners not picking up after the pooch. There was a lot of rain during our stay but not once did the dog field or golf course seem to be muddy for which we were thankful.

We had a drink in the bar and, whilst we didn't dine, the food looked good.

There's not much to walk to in the area but we amused ourselves with a game of 9 hole pitch n put which was great fun !

Date of Visit: November 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Willfred 6 reviews from this member

Just returned from a Friday to Sunday weekend break at Poston Mill Park. It was a cold but dry November weekend but there had been quite a lot of rain earler in the week. Nevertheless the site was very clean and tidy. The facilities were spotless which was impressive as the site was surrounded by wet muddy fields. The staff were very friendly and helpful and showed us to our pitch and noted if we had any questions/ concerns to come and speak to them at reception. The site itself is by the river and there is lots available on site including golf, children's play area, dog walk and a lovely riverside walk. We have two dogs and there was loads of dog buckets so no one has any excuses for not picking up and I have to say there was no evidence that they had any irresponsible dog owners visiting. There is a lovely dog friendly pub virtually on site where we had a good meal on Saturday night served by friendly staff. I would imagine it gets busy in high season. The park is fairly isolated so no good for anyone who wants a more commercialised break. There is a shop on site but was closed till March 2017. The village of Peterchurch was a good walk over several fields which was an enjoyable walk but not sure you would want to carry much shopping from the little shop in the village. Mind the people next door to us had the right idea and had shopping delivered to their van from Asda. We were o. K because it was a short break. There was bus stop just outside the park but unable to comment on bus service or frequency as didn't use but would be useful for longer stay as we don't like to move our van once on site.

We had no mobile or internet signal so it really was a get away from it all weekend but we like that. The pitch was spacious and we had fully serviced which was great. There did seem a bit of lack of privacy between pitches as it felt like we could look straight into next doors caravan but that was a minor issue.

All in all a lovely site that we plan to visit again in 2017,

Previous     81 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Herefordshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


505 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.0957