Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Martello Beach Holiday Park (park Holidays Uk)

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Essex > Clacton On Sea > Martello Beach Holiday Park (park Holidays Uk) Reviews

Martello Beach Holiday Park (park Holidays Uk)
Belsize Avenue
Jaywick
Clacton On Sea
Essex   (Browse area)
CO15 2LF
Tel: 0343 178 7070  or  01255 442430
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 13/03/2021 to 02/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 65 Reviews
                6/10 from 65 Reviews

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  65 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: JamesRytter 1 review from this member

 Our first impression when driving to the site, on the road running up to the entrance, along the sea, front was 'What the hell have we booked'?! while laughing nervously and joking about what we were looking at. The road is full of small buildings, quite a few of which had no roof or are boarded up and in a state of disrepair. There were areas of waste land with security fencing round them dotted about. It's sort of like drive through a slum on the final approach to the site. A place that time and holiday makers have forgotten to the neighbouring areas that are a stones throw away. And quite rightly so! Read on for our experience!

We stayed for 3 nights camping on an electric pitch, when we turned up we thought everything looked nice for what we'd paid. We were told there are no set pitches, just head over to the field and find a spot you like and setup. Great! There also was no checks on whether we were fitting in the allotted 6x6m plot. The plots seem to be dotted about with no real guide to where they start and end, so we choose one that had free space either side and setup close to the hookup point. Some tents were well over the allotted size, so that's a bonus if you have a footprint larger than 6x6m. That's about all I have to say that is good about this site, barring the drive into the site. Once setup we went to use the toilet block for the first time to find blocked loos and no paper in any of the 4-5 cubicles, maybe they don't supply it? The cleaner happened to turned up as I was heading back to get my 5 YO a roll and was surprised there was none left. That was the first let down, to be honest though, this didn't happen again barring a blockage a couple of times. I guess these things happen though, so not a massive issue.

The main build's toilet's were not much better. One loo was also out of order for the duration of the stay and was often found over flowing. Nice, poo water on the floor.

We headed over to restaurant and amusements for dinner and some fun, let was let down 2 and 3. :( The food was really poor, I had a burger with bacon and it had to be the cheapest nasty 'offal' tasting thing I've ever eaten! I love a dirty burger from a van etc. But this was something else! The other options on the menu were better but I'd advise you take your money off site and get something nice, this isn't. The best thing was the Goodfella's pizza (it was openly advertised as this) that they serve. The same one you can buy in any supermarket for £2-3, yep exactly the same. This was being heated up for you and plated for over £12! It it were a nice premium pizza sure, but not a oven ready one from the supermarket! The vegetable curry was bland and tasteless with no heat what so ever. The food was over priced for the rubbish that was served to sum it up.

Onto the entertainment / arcade area. 60%+ of the machines were broken, either the money went in and fell straight out, or the money went in and it was lost. The best one was the Deal or No Deal '£5 max win' fruit machine. It had all the reels mis-aligned so you had no idea what had actually landed and worse the 'DEAL' button didn't work so you just had to keep going if you got to the main game and either loose the good offer or hope you have a good box lol. It was a bit of fun playing with your eyes closed with no deals allowed tbh in a weird way. :)

We had asked about the children's play ground and were told it would be open during our stay, it was padlocked shut for the duration. Again more disappointment. There of course was the standard (for this site) broken swings and other damage visible when we when to check it out.

We got to use the pool (during lock down restrictions) twice for a 45 minute period each visit. The first day we went the indoor pool was so cold my daughter was physically shivering, the heating was however on. The next day it was a surprise as the water was pleasant and worm. We didn't get to use the out door pool so can't comment on that. As we had to leave the pool for them to clean before the next session, we didn't use the showers there, instead we opted to use the shower block. I went to the block and found the freezing water slowly coming out of the shower head, I braced and got under assuming they was no heater(I'm sure a read somewhere there were hot showers) and got to washing, almost. Once covered in shampoo and needing to rinse, the water stopped, lots of swearing from other cubicles ensued. After a minute thinking maybe another tank would switch over and maybe I'll get hot water??? Maybe?? A staff member was heard explaining 'the water has run out in the tank, the showers use it faster than it can fill up. It'll take about 10 minutes till it's back'. There was only 3 of us in the shower using the 10 or so cubicles, I'd hate to be there on a busy day. 20 minutes later still nothing so I went back to the tent. Another 30 minutes later I go back hoping to finish to find there is still no water! I gave up at that point and had a crappy wash in the sink in the toilets and used plenty of deodorant! What a massive let down. Of my 3 attempts to shower, I had the water run out twice (about 30 seconds to a minute in) and not once was the water any warmer then bracing!

What were the other guests like?

There were lots of travellers, thankfully the group that setup a huge tent directly next to us were very thoughtful and generally we never heard a peep out of them after 10PM, well, unless the boys were rampaging about swearing and threatening to stab someone or other. :O They generally went off within a few minutes, so were not really any trouble to us.

There were also a lot of kids roaming about in groups around and in the main entertainment building as well as the outdoor seated areas. A lot had 'hover boards' and most groups had someone carrying around large Bluetooth speakers loudly blasting out non-family friendly music, only once did they get told to move on or turn it off. Of course they were rude to the security lady that asked them to leave, it sounded like she had to tell them on a regular bases. This sort of behaviour really does ruin your stay when it's so prolific.

However there were a lot of civilised people getting on and making the best of this, I'd have to call dive of a site.

The kids entertainment was not taken up buy many if anyone at all. We booked the build a bear activity easily online and could pay there. The next day we went to go to it and didn't have any instruction where it was to be held. We asked in reception, they had no clue and we were pointed to the entertainment staff (yellow shirts??). Found a couple and they also had no idea. Brilliant! Nobody has a clue where anything is. We took a guess and went to the main entertainment area to spot a build a bear cupboard at the back wall so waited about and eventually someone turned up to run it. No other guests though, so my daughter and 3 entertainment staff built a bear together which was a bit weird. After that experience we passed on the pottery that we were going to book for the following day.

At the end of the stay I was tempted to ask for a partial or full refund as it was so disappointing, but to be honest couldn't be bothered to have to waste time doing so.

I think you would know by now I'm not going to recommend this site to anyone, you'd be much better off going to a site with basic toilet and shower block only and leaving site for all your needs and entertainment instead of going here. The price is low and that's clearly because of the state of the place. If you want to be able to stay on site for the duration and not just stay in your caravan or tent the whole time, look elsewhere and do yourself a flavor.

The place needs to be shutdown! 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Bimbob 1 review from this member

 Arrived on Monday, Pitches not laid out, no hot water in shower, toilet or to do washing up, toilet door broken, no soap In any of the toilets, No toilet roll even after they were cleaned. It was not topped up, was reported but nothing done And was told we canít help it if people steal the stuff, was told toilet was deep cleaned but only floor and sink was clean.

Toilet down in club house kept overflowing and you would be walking in dirty water. Some staff did try but they were outweighed by facilities not working.

I was also told when I booked that the children's park was going to be open, in the current climate I feel there should be more cleaning and feel strong enough to to say the place needs shutting down! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Loopylou123 2 reviews from this member

 On entry to the campsite it looks nice, the entrance and entertainment block are neat and tidy. But once past the electric pitches it is not so, the hedges are strewn with litter, the toilets had no soap, one toilet had a broken lock, the hairdryer in the showers did not work.

The grass pitches are not marked out and are self allocated so some people take up a very large amount of space and others want to be almost on top of you.

No lighting around the grass pitches, this ends at the electric hook ups. This makes it difficult In the dark because of numerous holes and bumps in the grass.

Our daughter took her 3yr old to Toddler time, but the entertainer was not very entertaining, he did not seem to want to be there. Everything is very overpriced from the shop, drinks (particularly) and the food.

The place advertises a take away but there isn't one, only bar food. You are told to keep entertainment passes with you but not once were they checked even though there was a door person on the door in the evening. It is a base for visiting Clacton but nothing more.

We spoke to reception about the litter twice and they promised to get it cleared but it was still the same when we left.

I also spoke to the cleaners about the broken lock, hairdryer and soap but that also was not addressed. They were very polite and pleasant, but nothing was done. The site needs much attention and tightening up on several aspects. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Oldcodgers 21 reviews from this member

 Apart from saying there was plenty of space not much else good I could say about this site.

On arrival given minimum information and told to find a site anywhere in the touring field. This was a large area about space for 100 caravans, very uneven and unkept. One toilet block which was

Dirty, insufficient facilities if the site was full. Only one water tap with press button, unable to connect a hose. The elsan disposal had no hose to wash the toilet out. We thought the site had direct access to the beach, you have to leave via the main gate to reach the beach which was very stoney.

Altogether not a good experience. They appear to have spent a lot of money on the entertainment area which looks really nice, pity they haven't smartend up the rest of the area which is looking very tired.

Jaywick is very rundown, short distance by car to Clacton which was really nice, gardens and plenty of space to use a mobility scooter. The town centre has been modernised and looked really good with plenty of seating.

The Toby carvery was excellent, polite helpful staff, food was good at a reasonable price. Would visit Clacton again but not this site. 


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mitch1973 1 review from this member

 Lovely place, near a wonderful beach with a nice free and quiet space to do whatever you want as long as don't bother the others.

The staff is extremely kind and helpful in every problem you can have. So, for as, was perfect. Thanks a lot for everything :) 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Manphill 4 reviews from this member

 I love this site. Always take a booking at short notice, as its massive. Facilities are clean and tidy, and the staff are always happy, helpful and accommodating. The children's entertainment is great. All makes for a happy mummy with her little'uns.

Great for taking the kids bikes, and there are loads of paths and easy road to ride, as well as all around the campsite.

Playgrounds are clean and tidy.

Shop has a useful supply of bits and pieces, and not massively overpriced.

Could do with a little table or chair in the shower block, as clothes can so easily fall of pegs. (we have a little folding table we take over with us).

Always come away from this site. Willing to go back 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vincent perry 3 reviews from this member

 Needed a bit of me time so booked the martello campsite. When I arrived went to reception and was greated by a very nice young lady. She explained in great detail all facilities of the site we were given directions on where to go

Went over the clubroom in the evening was quite good but a bit of a task trying to find a seat. Its a bit small for size of camp

Eat in the cafe which I must say was really nice and helpful staff

Toilet block and showers were very clean and tidy and for those that want one is a hairdryer

The only thing I could comment on is that the field had loads of cut grass so was a bit messy apart from that enjoyed it 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Manphill 4 reviews from this member

 I LOVE this site.

Reception staff are polite and knowledgeable.

Toilets and showers are clean and tidy, well maintained and in the centre of the touring field for easy access to all. Could do with a chair or two, or some hooks as space for placing 'dry' wear is limited.

The pool is quaint, clean and tidy (book at busy times, but no issues)

The clubhouse could do with some new table and chairs, but the entertainment is always fantastic, the children love Sparky's Krew Club, and the staff are great with the children and adults.

Pitch few are reasonable, but with so much to do on site, you can keep the cost down, by using everything here. Playground is well maintained, and secure for the children to play in.

Lovely cycle path to Clacton Pier.

Beach clean, tidy and great for the kids and kite flying.

Don't be put of by the approach to the site, once you turn that corner into the Martello Park, its what is inside that counts. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 777Tony 3 reviews from this member

 We were greeted by a very professional girl on the reception. She pointed us in the direction of the field and said we can park anywhere.

The site was fairly clean and there were always some site wardens around. Our dog managed to wander off on her own (she is a Poodle)and the first thing we knew about it was the warden bringing her back to us, saying what a lovely dog we have. What a lovely warden.

On the journey to the campsite, you have to drive through an area like you are in a third world country and you think 'will you ever get out of here'

On the campsite, it's a totally different story. It is all ok. 


Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tynxuk 16 reviews from this member

 Having been here a few times due to being located close to a family members static which doesn't take tents (and no other camp sites even close) I decided to brave another one nighter here.

I was surprised they are using the barriers again (that were left up for our last visit) and check ins are advised to park in the 4 spots to the left of the barrier, all very well for us without a trailer but not sure this would work with a caravan or trailer on the back. Reception staff were polite and friendly as always, advised me to pitch were we liked and warned of muddy pitches, they even gave a weather report and advised there was no rush for us to pack up on our departure day :).

On driving to the camping field I noticed a new addition, an enclosed blue wooden kitchen area with two fridges (or freezers - didn't check) and four sinks mounted slightly higher than normal (I guess this if to encourage the men to wash up!). Also all the EHU pitches had been marked out but it wasn't very clear due to the grass being quite long and cuttings being left.

Whilst there is a shop, bar, amusements, pool, laundrette we only used the toilet block as we were visiting family so could use their facilities and used the site as a base for sleeping having breakfast then left. There was a bit of shouting around 10pm but it soon calmed down and listening to the site wake up on mothers day was much like any other family site we've been on.

We didn't go on the beach but it looked much cleaner (maybe time of year) and the walk along the wall was definitely much cleaner.

Overall I would say this site is trying to improve which is what I was advised last year but was pessimistic about that. I hear that the area has been offered council funding for improvements (grants available for the run down shacks I assume) and hopefully everyone will make an effort to at least get it to an acceptable standard. The 60's & 70's this was a fantastic area so my father in law tells me but sadly it seems very little has been done since. 


Previous     65 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Martello Beach Holiday Park (park Holidays Uk) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Martello Beach Holiday Park (park Holidays Uk) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Martello Beach Holiday Park (park Holidays Uk)?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Martello Beach Holiday Park (park Holidays Uk) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Clacton On Sea      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Essex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4013 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement