Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Fairways International Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Somerset > Bridgwater > Fairways International Caravan Park > Reviews

Fairways International Caravan Park
Bath Rd
Bawdrip
Bridgwater
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA7 8PP
Tel: 01278 685569
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03/2024 to 30/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 19 Reviews
                6/10 from 19 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: January 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Miles1966 22 reviews from this member

 The wardens are very friendly and helpful but the site itself is a shambles.

The showers and toilets are in serious need of updating as they are very basic. Not only do you have to pay for the showers, which is quite unusual to other sites we've visited, but you also have to keep pressing the on button to get the shower to work - which is fine if you're not paying, but when you are you just want the water to flow. You also don't even get cold water after your 8 minutes are up! The shower cubicles themselves are very basic and not that clean.

The toilets aren't cleaned that regularly either.

The site itself is still being developed and so was rather muddy at times and not very tidy.

All in all, this is a site that's very much a work in progress. 


Date of Visit: January 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Xisle 6 reviews from this member

 We visited this site for 1 night as a stop on the way to visit Cheddar Gorge.

The site was under new management and there was some work being carried out, however, the warden was very helpful.

As this was a one night stay, we didn't use any of the facilities so can't comment on them, however, the site was good and great location for visiting Cheddar and also due to the location to the M5,

This could be a great stopover on the way to Cornwall.

We also used our ACSI card, so it was a cheap stay. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KatieM 3 reviews from this member

 We spent 5 nights at the Fairways and got the feeling that tents were an after thought at this site - everything was very much aimed at caravanners, including the shop. No electric hook-up available in the camping field at all, not that we needed it, but we have met many tent users at other sites who do. The camping field was also un-lit, unlike the caravan area.

The camping field itself was level and well drained, and despite the recent very heavy rain no mud whatsoever. It is right next to a busy road but we weren't disturbed by it at night, probably because we are used to it at home! Dogs are welcome but the designated dog walk area is only a few square feet in size. There are plenty of dog bins on site, as well as good re-cycling facilities.

The toilet/shower block was lovely and has won awards, which are displayed on the walls. (Free showers). There were also freezers (no fridges)and microwaves if you wanted to make use of them in the kitchen area and an ice machine - all free. Washing up area in the kitchen was very clean and tidy - again award winning, and the certificates displayed.

Playground area was disappointing for my younger kids as the swings are very high but there was a sand-pit they could play in and football goals and a basketball hoop for the older ones. The games room had two well kept pool tables, lots of gaming machines and a telly. However, the owner locked it at 9pm! Ok if you're the go-to-bed early type. There is no bar on site and nothing in the way of entertainment for adults.

The owner was friendly but we found him a little over-helpful. When I mentioned we were going to the beach one morning (Weston-Super-Mare, about half hours drive) he insisted it was horrible, dirty and muddy and that we'd do better to drive to Devon! We took the advice and after an hour and a half got to Sidmouth only to find stones, albeit clean water, but the kids wanted to build sandcastles. We visited Weston a couple of days later and had no complaints about the beach's cleanliness and the sand was lovely. Minehead beach too, about 45 mins away was beautiful.

There's nothing really close to this site - everything was a bit of a drive. It's about 20 mins from Glastonbury, half hour or so from Cheddar Gorge and Wookey Hole. Still the countryside is lovely, which made up for the time spent on the road.

We stayed here on a deal from the Daily Mirror (95p p/night p/basic pitch) and the owner revelled in pointing out what a good deal we'd got. Apparently for a tent with 2 adults, 5 kids and 2 dogs it would have cost 40 p/night! As we paid only half that in Cornwall in the height of summer and right next to a fabulous beach, within walking distance of a Co-op on a site that had electricity, a swimming pool and a bar we'll be giving this place a miss in future. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mazmonkey 9 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Fairways August bank holiday of 2010, and arrived Friday afternoon. Owner was helpful and pointed out that we could pitch anywhere on tent field and as a previous reviewer has stated, you do get the impression the tent field is an after thought. Big Field though and plenty of room. Owner said we could arrive when we like and leave when we liked too which was a HUGE bonus. As we arrived before lunch friday so managed Glastonbury day out, then Monday didn't pack up til 3 pm so had most of Day at Burnham on sea which was lovely. The toilet block and washing up facilities are fab, really good, plenty of showers, wash points with mirrors in cubicles too. Pot washing is great etc but all this is a bit of a walk from camping field, its right in the middle of the caravan field so is shared by the WHOLE site! At 3am its quite a trek from tent to toilet with a 3 year old half asleep! Price was ok-ish but we have stayed at far better sites for much less, even including hook up. No hook ups for tents in camping field but we were informed if we wanted that we could pitch on hard standing inbetween the caravans and use a hook up station there. But we didn't fancy that. And thank god we didn't. Friday night was wonderful, very quiet, few tents then Saturday came and loads more arrived which was fine BUT in the caravan area the tents that had pitched in there made THE MOST NOISE EVER! very very loud families with gazebos between about 3- 4 tents, how the people in the caravans slept I do not know! it really did spoil saturday and sunday night for us as it was so rowdy! and NO ONE told these families to keep the noise down. To say we were in another field and were being keep awake is bad!

All in all I would say its a fab site for caravans, wonderful facilities but don't go on a bank holiday and don't expect much from the tent field, playground, or shop. Location good for exploring this area but we have found much nicer sites for tents using the search facility on this website in same area. Good for stop off on way to Cornwall I would say. But don't think we would stay again. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Olddog69 1 review from this member

 This is a really nice friendly site. Excellent assistance given by the owner on arrival and nothing too much trouble. Nice pitches with hook ups.

Large toilet block, very clean and well equipped with private wash rooms if so desired, vending machines for essentials and plenty of toilet and shower cubicles.

A great cooking area with a freezer area, just label your food and store, simple. Ice machine is a good idea too. A very nice launderette room. Will happily recommend this site 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Smooster 1 review from this member

 I was at this site at the same time as the previous but one reviewer. However upon reading this ladies comments, I have to wonder, were we staying on the same site with the use of the same facilities??

I don't know which toilets she was using but I didn't see any that been closed due to blockages. While the chemical emptying point doesn't smell like a bed of roses, it does the job it needs to. Granted you do need to empty a little steadier rather than just tipping it upside down and letting everything empty in one go. The flush works well to get rid contents and the tap is well thought out with the hose attached to it, being handy. On my stay, which was for 16 days, I bumped into the cleaning lady in the toilets at least twice a day, which you could really smell and see that it was nice and clean in there.

Whilst I did notice that the play area does require some attention with regards a revamp, I did also note that there was work ongoing with it, so hopefully when I next go down I will be able to see improvements.

I have been coming to this site for a number of years and will continue to do so. I have and do recommend this site to others as it is a nice quiet family run site, the owners are friendly and always willing to help wherever and however they can. Good value for money. Best of all they are a very dog & pet friendly site, a key factor to those of us who like nothing more than to bring our pets with us on holiday. 


Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Farside1 19 reviews from this member

 Think we were there about the same time as the previous reviewer and a bit surprised at the negative comments. The pitches are a bit tight but there seemed to be plenty of space and everyone from arrival to departure was really friendly and helpful.

Toilets were cleaned at least twice a day and we never had anything to complain about except maybe that the water could have been a bit hotter sometimes. The answer was to shower early or to wait until after the morning rush.

Good value for money site with a handy location. Sure you could look for more facilities but you would have to pay extra so guess you make your own choice - we certainly have no hesitation in recommending it and will definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Janet Pendreigh 2 reviews from this member

 Chemical disposal smelly and does not flush away. No water through the chemical rinse hose pipe.

Pitches close together.

Toilet and shower block filthy, no mop to clean out after use, and no cleaning routine. Toilets blocked were simply closed by the owners.

Cheap nightly rates yes, but you can do better for your money both as to location and facilities.

We stayed here in the winter, would not think about summer. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mia220781 3 reviews from this member

 Finding the site was not that easy, there were not any signs from the M5. Used our sat nav which sent us past it - but luckily saw it as we drove past!

Arrived on friday evening and the owner came out and explained everything to us. The Tent field was empty apart from one other tent - so lots of room!

The grass was short and even ground. Plenty of bins around the field. We did not notice any noise from the A39, but then were half way down the field.

Kitchen room was amazing! Clean and well laid out! The ice machine was a real bonus! Excellent for wine in the evening!

Toilet block was very large and never busy. Was clean. Showers were push ones and didn't last very long, but were hot!

The park was four very high swings and a rocking elephant! So not really very good for young children.

The whole site was very clean and well laid out.

Really liked this site and will definitely be returning. There is lots and lots to do around the area, so aim to go for longer than 2 nights next time! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sher951 5 reviews from this member

 On arrival the owner came out to greet us, we found him really helpful, he pointed us in the direction of the tent area. The field was great, drained well and had plenty of room, there were only four other campers and we were told to pitch anywhere we liked. It was a nice quiet site during the day but unfortunately the tent area backs onto the A39 or very close to it so all night you could hear the humming of vehicles, some very loud at times. I agree with the previous review that the toilet block could do with updating but on the whole it was ok and it was clean. The wash-up facilities / freezer area was great, really laid out nicely and easy to wipe up after using it. The freezers were free and you just marked up your items and placed them in. They also had an ice machine which was quite handy. On the whole I'd recommend this site especially for a stop over. 


Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Fairways International Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Fairways International Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Fairways International Caravan Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bridgwater      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...

  

  

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Sussex 18/05 to 19/05

Endless activities for you and your dog to enjoy plus weekend camping - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4184 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement