Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Woodbine Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Cheshire > Northwich > Woodbine Camp Site > Reviews

Woodbine Camp Site
Woodbine Cottage
Warrington Rd
Acton
Northwich
Cheshire   (Browse area)
CW8 3QB
Tel: 01606 852319
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 23 Reviews
                8/10 from 23 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  23 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Brianf 1 review from this member

 4 kayakers, who were paddling from Winsford flash to Runcorn rowing club on the Weaver Navigation.

Booked the site well in advance, 4 small tents.

Great price, good communication with the owners,

Brilliant site, excellent facilities, lovely shower and laundrette.

Fantastic pitch next to the river.

Nearby pub with meals.

It was quiet, secure and wonderful.

Well done woodbiners. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bryan bell 1 review from this member

 Top marks for this site

Very well run

Very helpful

Nice clean and tidy

Will definitely be going back

Nice pub with walking distance

Chinese take away that deliver to the site

What more do you need

The river weaver runs by the site which you can fish in or just relax by the water

Very quiet 😀 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Noodlebug 1 review from this member

 Brilliant stay here.

We usually book fully serviced pitches so that was our only reservation. It didn't matter at all. Lovely clean and well cared for site, helpful owners, amazing pitch with a river view, close to amenities if needed and a pub also with a river view 2 mins walk.

There is some road noise but again that didn't matter at all to us given everything else being so great.

Will definitely be back, would seriously consider a seasonal pitch here. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Col60 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely little site, had a pitch overlooking the river which was a bonus.

Lovely to get up in the morning and see that view.

Very friendly owners and helpful, great facilities. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Ronnie 1 review from this member

 I booked this campsite for myself and two friends to use as a bass for a kayaking tour of the river Weaver.

It suited the purpose very well as our pitch was on the riverbank.

The facilities are excellent and spotlessly clean and with the riverside pub/restaurant next door serving good food and drink, we enjoyed our stay very much. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Karen6 1 review from this member

 Friendly and helpful owners,

Really peaceful site, the location is right next to the river and the toilet block is very clean,

Definitely stay again.

Pub within walking distance 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: B16MCC 1 review from this member

 What a great little site. The pitches are made up of a flagged / concrete area with adjacent grass area. There's short runs to the site electric sockets. The area to the left as you enter is quite tight and we were asked to unhitch and the young lads helped us push our unit into the pitch. Nice and easy. There's a small single track road that loops around this area. This area is very flat with a few water taps dotted around.

The area on the other side, on the right as you enter is a small slope but all pitches are more or less flat. There's a bit more room to manoeuvre over there.

The toilet / shower block is rather old, but all in working order and importantly clean. The grey waste outside on one side, and chemical disposal on the other side. There's also a kids tree house with a slide.

We had a pitch on the river bank. It's literally 5 feet to the water down a small slope. As we had a small inflatable rib type boat with us, this was perfect. The banking along the site is great for getting the boat into the water. There's plenty of ducks and they're quite tame. Obviously where there's ducks, there's duck poo, but it wasn't problem. The site grass and general maintenance is very good.

There's a few large trees along the river bank but I managed to site my tripod and satellite dish for a good reception. Our friends on the next pitch who use a digital TV aerial also got a good reception.

There's a co-op and a tesco express less than 10 mins drive away. The riverside restaurant is 5 mins walk down the main road and there's a pub with a great beer garden for the kids about 20 mins walk just over the Acton Bridge. Unfortunately there's no way across the river to pick up the footpath on the other side.

On the whole, a good find, a nice little site. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cloggie 4 reviews from this member

 Not very transparent with the pricing policy. The web page is just that a page no prices mentioned. It was 18 50 a night for two adults. Add to that a charge for each dog of 50 p a night, a charge for an awning not sure how much as I didn't use one, a charge of 1 for any visitor coming to see you rising to 4 should the visitor stay overnight, a 1 a day or any part of a day charge for a second car, It soon ads up.

The site itself was spotless and although the Toilets/Showers looked dated they were clean and tidy. No parking allowed next to the units, instead a very busy car park was used. Not a problem for us as we double parked on each other. The caravans were very quickly unhitched and spun into place by three members of staff presumably to stop any manoeuvring in the grass areas whatever the reason it worked very well. The manager was I felt very abrupt bordering on the rude but maybe that is me?

I heard and felt lots of vibration and noise throughout the night from the main road A49 which unfortunately turns into a seventy zone right outside the entrance to the site. A few hundred yards down the road is a very nice Marstons pub right on the river Nice staff and reasonably priced food. The area is very pretty with lots of walks through the fields and with Delamere forest not far away.

All in all a great weekend slightly marred by the sites pricing policy. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fraser Gardiner 30 reviews from this member

 Arrived at this site by chance after having directions from the local filling station on the A49 travelling South. We had left Isle of Arran that day and were looking for a stopover on our way home to Swansea. The hosts were friendly and guided me to a pitch adjacent to the canal which was fine for the night. The ducks soon invaded looking for food and were fine. Showers and toilet were more than adequate and the pub down the road, a 2 minute walk provided meals 2 for 1 which was excellent value for money. This site was ideal for a stopover but quite a few rules to digest for a long stay. Would return for a night no problem. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: CKC100 15 reviews from this member

 This was the first site we came across which was close to where we wanted to be so stopped in by.

The couple who run it were very nice and when asked how long could we stay I was informed 'how much money have you?' so this was great we paid a couple of nights to start with and obviously the option for more.

The toilets were dated and needed modernising, but kept clean.

Electric hook up was close by and worked fine.

Great looking site, but lots of ants & forkie tails which is expected from being so close to water I suppose.

Not much on site for the kids to do, but there was a small play par, but no cycles allowed, but we did get fishing from the river bank which kept them occupied.

On liking the site and it was only 15 mins from Winsford, 30 mins from Chester so was quite central for the area we choose to stay for longer and duly went and paid for another couple of nights as the weather was also still dry and great, when chatting to the couple we talked about the Riverside Pub down the road that did breakfasts on the weekend and we said if the weather stays we will visit there.

I was shocked to find that on the Friday morning of our 4 nights stay to be told that our pitch had been given to some one coming for the weekend. I couldn't believe that they had not asked or even had the morals to come and tell us that they would need it booked by us or they would give it away.

After a great stay with at the site I would say there customer services is terrible.

Shame for it to be spoiled by the owners that's all I can say. 


Previous     23 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Woodbine Camp Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Woodbine Camp Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Woodbine Camp Site dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Northwich      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cheshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3991 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement