Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Glencote Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Staffordshire > Leek > Glencote Caravan Park Reviews

Glencote Caravan Park
Station Road
Cheddleton
Cheddleton
Leek
Staffordshire   (Browse area)
ST13 7EE
Tel: 01538 360745
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: February To December

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 79 Reviews
                8/10 from 79 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  79 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sos2301 20 reviews from this member

We stayed here so as to be near Stoke on Trent for a friends wedding, not a too bad to navigate to, road running up to the site was a bit tight at times but all good.

We arrived Friday and was told to choose our pitch, what ever was free, nice walk through site to the steam train and canal.

Toilet blocks need updating, showers are push button and last about 3 seconds (a little annoying), and one in gents dripped all the time, the pot wash area needs the same TLC, as the site is mainly static then I feel they have neglected the tourers.

All of the pitches are paved and level which is a bonus, also the local Chinese delivers to site, the staff on site were very friendly and helpful, as we were going to a wedding I wanted my nails done, I asked the men in reception and one told me exactly where to go and where to park ! for a man very impressed.

Lovely area to explore. Lovely farm shop in area (meat as far as eye can see), very well priced.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Retired of IOW 12 reviews from this member

Lovely site, nice big hard standing. The toilet and shower block was clean, but a bit dated. The site itself is kept tidy and is in a lovely location. We were sitting looking out over a farmers field. A short walk through the site and down the road, you come to the pub, which served nice food.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cressy69 11 reviews from this member

Stayed for 5 nights over the may bank holiday at Glencote after it was recommend on arrival I was greeted by the owner very nice bloke got checked in very quickly and shown to our pitch which was on very very well kept piece of grass. The own told me where to put the van on the slabs and was told to peg the awning down via the holes that were already in the slabs or to put the pegs down the cracks in them!. We have an air awning so this really didn't work to good but with a bit of modification of the straps we sort of got there luckily why we were there the weather was good which helped. The site it's self is very nice a mix of touring vans and static/holiday homes the toilet and showers in my opinion could do with updating but they were pretty clean all the same. The boat inn just a short walk is very nice great food and very nice to sit and watch the steam train which runs pass the site. All in all a nice site but could do with a bit of tlc but don't let it put you off booking it was we will be going again soon.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Redorion 14 reviews from this member

Easter weekend family holiday - us and another family.

Excellent welcome on arrival and help onto the pitch as the ground was a bit soggy and I didn't reverse far enough !.

The pitch itself was slabbed which gave us a problem as we couldn't use the awning. We have a small light weight porch awning with flex poles that need to be pegged all round. Friends have an issabella fixed pole type which was no problem. The slabs had the bonus that there was no issues with mud and water outside the van. This with kids is brilliant.

Small quite site with dated facilities. Mostly statics and seasonals from what we could see. However facilities were always spotless through out the weekend, which in my opinion is vital !.

Location - easy to get to and in a nice little village. There is a great pub within 600 yards walk 'the Boat' and there is a couple of others in the village but we didn't check them out. Leek just up the road which is worth a walk around on market day.

If you like walking there is the manifold and dove valley within 15 -20 minutes drive or you could just head off down the staffordshire moorlands walk from the campsite.

No play area for the kids and to be honest not much space so may not suit all families. Our kids ranges from 8 - 14.

No phone signal higher than GPRS therefore you will have to talk to each other ! however the Boat has free wifi so it was great excuse for the dads to get a pint while the rest of the family caught up on the world outside each day !. Can still get a TV signal though.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lavlark 11 reviews from this member

A lovely little site, albeit you have to drive along an industrial estate to reach the entrance. This road is quite busy at times, and there is little in the way of footpath, so vigilance is needed, especially with children or dogs. The locals using this road will either slow down for you, or go as fast as is possible and give you no quarter !

The site is in a dip, so either way, if you want to walk, left or right, it is uphill. We did this one morning, and found a nice country walkway, it took us 2 hours, we are not seasoned walkers, but it was enjoyable, meeting some of the locals, all of which were really friendly.

At the far end of the site, is the railway station where they are developing the range of journeys, on the restored trains.

However, I couldn't fault the site. All amenities were handy and clean, with very friendly staff, and the site is well kept.

There is a bus stop on the main road, but it is over a mile walk from the site. Therefore, we battened down the hatches each day and used the motor home for getting around. A really lovely area, more suited to walkers, or cars, we found it very difficult to park the motor home - and its not that big ! But it was lovely getting around, up hill and down dale.

All in all a pleasant 3 night stay. Not cheap, 25pn, but no extras to pay.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Campermaid 20 reviews from this member

Brilliant site. A very friendly welcome. Toilet/showers clean and plentiful. Has its own fishing lake, which we didn't use but believe to be well stocked. Just a short walk down the road is Cheddleton steam railway, well worth a visit. Though the journey isn't as long as they say, because you stop at two stations for 15/20 mins each. We stayed on train but maybe we should have got out to look around. Also by this attraction is a quaint little pub on the canal, which serves great food. I would recommend this site. (Though if you have little kids there didn't seem to be a park, but a bit of a field with footy nets in).

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hels-bells 4 reviews from this member

Just back from a four night break at Glencote and couldn't have asked for a better site to stay at. Went to meet up with friends who were only staying a couple of nights and had a brilliant time.

Not far from Alton Towers where a few of us were going on one of the days and well placed to reach the best bits of the Peak District in a half hour drive. The rest stayed behind to go for walks, watch the fabulous steam train go past the end of the campsite and to make a trip to the local pub.

One slightly frustrating thing about the whole area is that a lot of pubs/businesses etc either don't open on a Monday or serve food on a Sunday/Monday due to it being quiet, except we were tourists looking for somewhere to eat on Sunday or Monday before coming home Tuesday? Maybe it's because there just isn't the demand? I'm not sure of the reasons but we ended up not spending our money in the local hostelries and cooking on the site instead.

No mobile signal here but after two days, I didn't care. The peace and quiet was lovely (apart from the odd farm vehicle trundling past and hauling trailers up the hill). The site has a lot of permanent sited vans but most were in use while we were there and it's obviously a popular site where the regulars know each other well enough to say hello.

The toilets/showers were spotless although I wished the showers were a tiny bit cooler and that they stayed on a tiny bit longer than 3-4 seconds (a mildly frustrating experience when you have long hair to wash!). Showers are free and hair dryer is 50p although it was so sunny, I didn't bother drying it.

Overall a fantastic break, a great site and reasonably priced at 25 a night during August with electric. We would definitely like to stay here again even if nothing was changed because the little things weren't enough to put us off such a great find.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jeff jo 2 reviews from this member

Hi we stayed at this wonderfull site for three days but wished it was for longer the staff were really friendly and very helpful the site is spotless. The grounds are very well kept a real credit to the gardener. As he takes real pride in his work. The fishing was great I was shocked just how good the fishing really was. I had chub to 5lb carp to 10lb the lake was full of fish they say chub go to 7lb and carp up to 20+lb other species bream tench roach perch real gem.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chapperslc 1 review from this member

Just come back from weekend visit to Glencote. Site was beautifully landscaped and pitches very tidy. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Toilet blocks were very clean although I understand they are soon to be updated. The pub at the end of the site, the Boat Inn, was very welcoming and food excellent. The Steam Railway runs from station next to pub and passes the campsite, it was pretty impressive to watch. Alton Towers is also a short drive away. It is a very good site and we would not hesitate to come back again.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: KWDerby 2 reviews from this member

This was our fourth visit to Glencote Caravan Park and it is always a pleasure to visit here. The site is very well maintained and laid out. The surrounding countryside is peaceful, relaxing and there is an abundance of birds around. The farm nearby has sheep grazing on the hillside.

The steam train is an added bonus to see, passing alongside the campsite at certain times.

One thing people comment about is the difficulty getting a television signal. From the conversations we have had with the very friendly site manager this is to be addressed later on in the year, together with an upgrade of the toilet blocks, which are always warm, clean and adequate, but could do with modernising.

There are some nice pubs about. The Boat is a short walk away and the staff are very friendly, The Red Lion on the main road has very tasty food and a pleasant walk along the canal brings you to the Black Lion (we were told it takes 20 minutes - double that!) - with friendly chickens roaming about in a lovely venue.

All in all we love coming here and will return again and again!

Previous     79 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Leek      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Staffordshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4547 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019