Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Seadown Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Dorset > Charmouth > Seadown Caravan Park > Reviews

Seadown Caravan Park
Bridge Road
Charmouth
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT6 6QS
Tel: 01297 560154
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 60
Open: 16/03/2024 to 02/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 100 Reviews
                9/10 from 100 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  100 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2024  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Janepe 1 review from this member

 Excellent site, great size pitches very quiet, wardens go above and beyond.

Beach 10 minutes away all on flat ground,

Toilets showers immaculate,

Very friendly site this was our first visit and will definitely be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2024  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Truckled 1 review from this member

 Very nice campsite. Everything immaculate and staff very friendly.

Pitches are quite close together and I should imagine itís very busy in summer. I only found 1 toilet/shower block so would be a nightmare in season time.

It was quiet when I visited and I probably wouldnít visit in season time due to how many pitches they have. Loads of static caravans too.

Great bus route and bus stop just outside the campsite. Short walk to beach. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2024  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Markch 1 review from this member

 Great site with great access to the beech.

Really clean site friendly staff.

Excellent and very clean showers/ toilets.

Well stocked shop that opens early 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 28 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: The mcquarrie 19 reviews from this member

 Excellent site for accessibility to the beach, The village, The bus routes and other places of interest.

Clean and well maintained facilities. Wonderful showers! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Vanessa45 20 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site, toilets showers were kept immaculate, always loo roll never empty.

The grounds were so tidy very well cared for.

Little shop on site selling most needed products, bread was so fresh and tasty.

Beautiful walk along the side of the river to get to the beach, also very well looked after, mowed regularly.

Didn't venture out of the site much apart from shopping, it's just so peaceful and relaxing.

Don't expect a club or pub on site there isn't one, it's not needed.

The staff are amazing very friendly and informative.

Superb site. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dazdud 2 reviews from this member

 I can honestly say that this site is the quietest site I have ever stayed at.

The grounds are immaculate, toilets and showers, pot washing, laundrette all the same(immaculate).

The staff are amazing, with plenty of info for where to go, see, do and eat.

All for £28 a night in ehu. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Lmon16 1 review from this member

 Wow! What an amazing site

Clean, tidy

Toilet block even at high peak was always spotless

Kids loved the games area

Short walk to the beach

Flat pitches

Every member of staff I encounter was friendly

The river was a bonus

Mobile fast food was delicious

The only negative was having to use a key to access the toilet block, I understand why but remembering the key, we separated the keys onto lanyards for male & female which helped 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Buck1 2 reviews from this member

 This was our second time at this site in our tent. The toiletís are clean and the showers are lovely and hot! They do get a little busy when familyís come of the beach.

The wardenís are very friendly and keep the site very clean. You are allocated a pitch on arrival, itís a bit hit and miss to were you are put.

Our tent is a quite large air tent, last year we were on some grass the end of a row of touring caravans that were on gravel pitches and next to the fresh water and waste tap, it wasnít a ideal for a large tent and was glad we were only there for 6 nights.

This year we had quite a long grass pitch with enough room to sit and bbq out side the tent and have our car next to us. Charmouth is about 5 minutes walk with a wonderful little bakery.

The walk a long the beach ( if the tide is out ) into Lyme takes about 45 minutes. Charmouth beach is about 5 minutes walk from the site, and is grate for fossiling. 


Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: JoannaLesley 51 reviews from this member

 Most of the route to this site was straightforward, with just the last few miles from Chard on smaller roads. The site seems initially to be in the middle of a residential area, but once through the entrance it opens up.

It has a large number of statics and, beyond them, a field for touring. There are both hard standing and grass pitches, with plenty of room for caravan, awning and car, although still in the very British line with no dividing hedges.

The depth from the roadway to the hedge at the rear of the pitch might be a bit short for large outfits - I don't think I saw any twin axles while we were there, but they might be further over where there is more room against a bank.

This is an immaculately kept site, with very unobtrusive maintenance. The wash block had everything that would be expected, although I suspect that there might be queues for the showers at busy times. The ladies had 5 loos, 3 large showers, a wash basin cubicle and 4 open wash basins.

Outside, in the porch were hair dryers and a large mirror. My husband said that the mens was the same, except for the hairdryers (perhaps that is why they were outside!). Access was by a key and we were asked for a £5 deposit for this when we arrived. We got two keys.

We arrived after the well-stocked shop and office had closed for the day, but the warden had obviously seen us arrive and came out as we pulled up. He was very helpful and friendly and there was little sense of "rules". We were told where to pitch and the best way to approach this.

The site is obviously very popular and has a lot of regular visitors, may of whom obviously know each other, but there was not sense of there being "cliques" and everyone was very friendly.

The site is ideally situated, within a huge park, which gives a level walk to the beach which is accessed through a gate. There is a large dog-friendly beach and lots of people were fossil hunting there. Dogs must be kept on leads within the park, but are free to go off lead on the beach. Plenty of dog bins too!

There is a short walk into the village, which has a couple of pubs and shops and a pharmacy. The shop on site sells most things, but anything else can be got in the village. Petrol/diesel seemed expensive in the area, but we went the 5 miles or so to Axminster to fill up at Tesco.

The south west path runs past the site, although it goes inland for the couple of miles to Lyme Regis. It is possible to walk along the beach at low tide, but there is a risk of getting cut off.

We paid £25 per night outside of high season (which is currently £35 per night) and felt that not only was this cheaper than a CAMC site, but also more pleasant. We would certainly visit again.  


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Colbabs 1 review from this member

 Fantastic campsite with flat pitches and great modern clean facilities,

Easy access to the beach,

Loads of space for children to play,

Would highly recommend. 
via mobile


Previous     100 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Seadown Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Seadown Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Seadown Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Charmouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2531 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement