Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Matley Wood Camping In The New Forest

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > New Forest & Hampshire > Lyndhurst > Matley Wood Camping In The New Forest > Reviews

Matley Wood Camping In The New Forest
Beaulieu Road
Lyndhurst
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SO43 7FZ
Tel: 01590 631641
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: 01/04/2024 to 30/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 11 Reviews
                9/10 from 11 Reviews

Photos (9)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: CampingFix 5 reviews from this member

 We spent a lovely couple of nights in the basic but very peaceful site.

As it is an open site, there are a few walkers alongside the cows and ponies.

But, dogs are allowed in Matley Wood as long as they are under full control.

Although in a wood, distant road noise could be heard. 


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Minisharon 10 reviews from this member

 Stayed here over the Whitsun Bank Holiday weekend.

The site is perfect and so quiet with wildlife coming to visit.

Even though there are no facilities it was a perfect 'off grid' weekend.

Would certainly visit again and recommend this site for its peace and quiet 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Ilusby 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed at Matley Wood as an overnight stop for part of a trip down to Dorset. Being a couple of days before the August Bank Holiday the site was very busy and as there are no designated pitches as such it was a little difficult to find a space without being on top of another unit. I did find a space after a little searching and was glad I'd got the levelling blocks in the camper as it was far from level!

This site doesn't have any toilets or showers etc on site but this didn't bother me as it was literally an overnighter as part of a longer road trip. The price was very reasonable and I believe reflects the level of facilities available. I would like to come back when it's not so busy to get a better spot to pitch, and take some walks or bike rides out into the surrounding New Forest area.

One point to note is that all of the customer service is done from the Denny Wood site down the road. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dug1911 7 reviews from this member

 I spend most weekends at this site, its hard to fault it

There has been an ongoing problem with the water supply but with the site manager pressing the powers that be it seems finally to be solved

The manager organises coffee mornings fish and chip nights and many other gatherings to allow people to meet each other these are of course optional

The area is very quiet just the occasional motor bike and train noise to disturb the peace and tranquillity that this site has in shovel fulls

The only noise at night is from the owls

Wild deer foxes and badgers are to be seen most nights coming close to the units and are fairly used to the campers so they allow lights to be shone on them

This coupled with donkeys ponies and cows wandering free on the site makes for a real rustic feel

Informal camping at its best

Highly recommended 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Allanthetruck 1 review from this member

 This is the first camp site that we have ever stopped at, so bear in mind we have nothing to compare it with.

However, we stopped at Matley Wood with our two border collies. We chose a pitch looking straight out onto the forest which the two dogs loved.

The site is quiet and clean. The facilities ( water and disposal site only )were well maintained. The reception is up at Denny Wood site ( about 1.5 miles up the road ).

Lyndhurst is about 2. 5 miles away and has various restaurants and takeaways. The only drawback that we found was that the gate to the site closed at 10. 30pm. It would have been nice to have a couple of drinks after our meal but we would not have been back until 11pm

We will definitely be back hopefully when it doesn't rain nonstop! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gone for a p 5 reviews from this member

 Lovely little site. We decided to give this site a try after a long love affair with the New Forest. We normally stay at the Longbeech site but fancied a change and we wasn't disappointed.

Its very quiet although you can hear a busy road and trains going past but still peaceful all the same. Nice and clean and very basic with only your drinking water tap and the elson point to empty your chemical toilet down.

You must have a chemical toilet as there are no toilet facilities on site but if you are a regular at the New Forest you will be used to this anyway.

The man in charge of the site was very friendly and helpful and will always stop and have a chat whilst walking with his two dalmatians

I would recommend this site to anyone looking for peace and quiet. Its quite small with 70 pitches, it wasn't very busy while we were there but can imagine it might feel a bit crowded when full up.

Dogs are welcome at this site. Our dog loved every minute of it and we all enjoyed a cycle ride together at the back of the site on one of the cycle paths that run through the forest. You can also see the lovely animals just walking through the forest.

The site is about a mile away from local village (Lyndhurst) where there is a supermarket with a cashpoint and little souvenir shops and there is a camping shop there too for anything you have forgotten to pack. We had a lovely stay and fully intend to go back. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rockin Rachel 9 reviews from this member

 This is a beautiful campsite with a choice of pitches right amongst the trees; however by the time we arrived at 7pm on Friday we got one of the last pitches that was backing onto the forest. Later arrivals camped on open grassland next to each other. T

He site was predominately used by motorhomes and caravans and was on the whole much quieter than all other campsites we have stayed on.

Beware midges which swarmed around as us we pitched in the evening leaving us all bitten an itchy (buy neat citronella oil from the Apothecary on Lyndhurst High Street!). The other downside was a huge flock of crows which came at 4. 30 every morning and made such a racket until 7/8am that we were all really tired after staying 3 nights. Maybe we just picked their tree to pitch under? Anyway not quite the dawn chorus we expected! There was also an issue with a caravan that watched the Eurovision on their TV so loudly with all their windows open until gone 11pm that was a real pain.

We just felt we'd given up toilets and showers to get away from noisy campers so I did speak to the Warden who really kindly had a word and the next night all we could hear was the owls and people gently enjoying themselves!

We would definitely return to this well run site but I guess like any campsite it really depends on your luck with your neighbours as to how much of a 'quiet forest' experience you will get! 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: ABC001 1 review from this member

 We stayed at this site for our first adventure in our new caravan. I must say I was pleasantly surprised by the site. Having spent many years in the New Forest, mainly going to Roundhill it was interesting to try somewhere new.

Its about 3 miles out of Lyndhurst, although the site has NO facilities, it is very plesant. It was quite busy when we stayed, but even so it was not noisy in the slightest. The countryside is lovely, the walks / bike rides through the woods was very relaxing, there was plenty of wildlife to watch and listen too, especially the owls in the evening. The walk to the Beaulieu Road Station pub is well worth it, its only about 45 mins each way.

We would stay here again 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tigerseye 10 reviews from this member

 Just wanted to add my review as soon as we came back from camping, we had such a great time!

Matley Wood is a lovely, peaceful and charming spot, handily close to all amenities of Lyndhurst - 2 miles easy walk or a 3 minute drive - yet right in the heart of the forest and feeling like miles from anywhere!

We had the best pitch on the site, right next to the woods, so all we could see from our clearing was trees, the occasional pony, deer, birds, toads.It's a real nature-lover's paradise!

The site is small enought to be friendly and quiet, but large enough to feel spread out and spacious. Tents and caravans are pitched under the trees in clearings - there are no marked pitches so you have to bear in mind the rules about not pitching too close. There is a gravel road all around the site, and water and fire points. There are no toilets or showers - not a problem if you have your own. It's worth it to take advantage of the very reasonable site fees compared to other all-singing, all-dancing sites in the New Forest.

There is a cycle/walking track direct from the site, which leads on to a pleasant level walk through the woods, to a clearing then on further to Beaulieu if you so wish - though we were not that athletic! Ponies ramble through the woods, and birds of prey can be seen circling in the clearings, with deer occasionally leaping ahead of you it can seem really magical. Kids seemed to love it, there is an abundance of 'dens' built out of tree roots and branches, and there is room to run around and be free. We don't have kids but our two elderly dogs seemed to gain a new lease of life, they walked their legs off and slept all the way home!

A great site, reasonably priced, peaceful and natural. Please - please! -only come here if you want to enjoy the peace and quiet, and a natural woodland setting to kick back and relax! Don't come here wanting kids 'play areas', loud music and - shudder - a clubhouse. This is camping how it should be, plain and simple. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sashamicklayla 3 reviews from this member

 It was our first time at Matley wood and needless to say we will be returning. What a lovely site. There are no toilets or showers you must have your own toilet facilities to stay at this site, there is waste disposal and drinking water and rubbish and barbecue disposal.

The site is literally in the middle of the New Forest with wild ponies and horses roaming freely which was lovely to see our 16month daughter loved it.

Lyndhurst is a mile walk away although it was the longest mile I've known! Still was a nice walk with beautiful views of the forest all around, wouldbe better by bike so we've invested in a bike each for next time.

There is a farm about half way down the main road which on a sunday does a farmers market that was really lovely.

Lyndhurst village is lovely highly recommend the fox and hounds pub for good food and LOCAL beer was the only pub around which did the local beers.

There is the New Forest museum as well which was really interesting. Lovely shops for buying presents. There is a big camping shop just off the high street, I must stress that they are overpriced and the owner was not very friendly or helpful but there is another little shop on the high street and he sells camping stuff and is a nice bloke and not expensive.

Matley wood is in one of our top 10 sites and we cannot wait to return. 


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Matley Wood Camping In The New Forest child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Matley Wood Camping In The New Forest?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Matley Wood Camping In The New Forest dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lyndhurst      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...

  

  

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Sussex 18/05 to 19/05

Endless activities for you and your dog to enjoy plus weekend camping - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3954 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement