Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Firs Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Belper > The Firs Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

The Firs Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Crich Lane
Belper
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE56 2JH
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 67
Open: 16/03 To 05/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 56 Reviews
                9/10 from 56 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  56 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Eycaravanner 23 reviews from this member

Lovely clean site, friendly, helpful staff, there is a dog walk with dog waste bin provided close by, despite this someone had let their ( obviously large) dog foul the grass close to the bin, very unfair to fellow members imho. Stunning views and countryside all around, it really is a country retreat.

The walk to the nearest pub ( Fisherman’s Rest) less than a mile away, partly quite steep on the way back. It was a bit hairy as most of the time there isn’t a footpath, despite this we received a warm welcome, lots of local people in there which says it all, the food and service excellent, best steak we’d had in a while.

The menu said it was a limited choice but there is surely something for everyone, hard to choose, locally produced where possible. Good choice of drinks and guest beers, lovely country pub. NB they also do takeaway including fish and chips and pizzas.

Next day discovering the area on foot, the walk to Belper is not good, for the first over a mile there is no footpath, it is just grass verge so pretty scary, the cars are very fast and close, once you get on the path it is ok and Belper has a good choice of shops, pubs and eating places.

Caught the bus back which drops off at the gates of the site. If you go left out of the entrance towards Heage you will find beautiful countryside and footpaths. Plenty to see and do nearby.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Speedmook 4 reviews from this member

This site has the loveliest wardens you will ever find. It is quiet, peaceful and well kept.

We walked into Belper. The road doesn't have a path for the first half mile, but the verges are wide enough to walk on. Not sure how good it would be with dogs or children. Called at The Fisherman's Rest for a drink to help us up the hill back to the site. Food looked very good.

Perfect site for a relaxing break.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tom Thumb 34 reviews from this member

Not many reviews for this site as my review for my visit in June is the last before this one. Still a good site, very busy despite being October, we pitched on the top section this time and had a very enjoyable stay.

On this section of the site it is best to get as far from the road as possible as the road can be noisy.

All facilities are as you would expect from a caravan Club Site, a very convenient site for Derbyshire attractions.

We again had a meal at the Hanging Gate, Shottle, it was very good and we also tried George's Fish & Chips in Belper also very good we ate in but they do take away as well.

There is a very small car park but I would advise parking in the large town centre car park and walk between the petrol station and the Lion Hotel to get to Georges (less than 3 mins)

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tom Thumb 34 reviews from this member

This is a site in two parts, the main part is as you enter and is a large area of mixed pitches, most of these pitches get the sun all day, but also catch the wind.

The second part is down a steep slope and takes the form of 2 terraces, these get the sun from about 11am for the rest of the day.

There is an exceptional view from the slope connecting the two areas, but no views from other parts of the site.

It is off a very busy road with a speed limit of 60mph.

We were on the terraced area which was quieter than the larger area.

We visit the area a lot and will use this site in future.

There are lots of places to visit from Haddon Hall and Chatsworth, to small towns such as Bakewell, Matlock and Belper.

If you want a great meal try The Hanging Gate where meals are served from lunch time through to late evening, it's on the Belper to Ashbourne Road and is 2 miles from Stutts Mill in Belper, post code DE56 2LE.

For another day out try Crich Tramway Museum, it's not all trams there are indoor and out door play areas, woodland walks and refreshments, once you have paid you can go every day of your holiday if the mood takes you, or by booking in advance you can drive a tram for the day, it's not cheap but it's great fun.

With this site it is important to follow instructions for getting to the site, you will see what I mean when you get there!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andypye 12 reviews from this member

I was so impressed by this site. It's location is set high above the Derwent Valley and offers fantastic views. It had been a drizzly day so in the evening this view was looking down onto a cloud covered Belper, stunning. Facilities blocks were kept impeccably clean, as were the grounds in general. The staff on duty were probably the kindest and most friendly we have come across. So much to do within a few miles radius, but maybe like us, you will enjoy the peace, charm and tranquillity of the site so much, you wont want to venture too far!

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kbcalypso 8 reviews from this member

Just stayed on this site for one night, toilet block very clean, friendly wardens, site was getting full while we were there. We went on to pitch 31, which is in a corner, then two large caravans came onto pitches 30/32 and due to the layout their hitches were towards my front wings, so we felt trapped, the dog walk is on the small side, and off the site the road has no pavements and the cars speed past, so one needs transport. Don't think I will return to this site.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alk47 15 reviews from this member

We spent one week here in June 2014. Set on a hill high above the valley of the Belper town, it has the usual high standard facilities that all Caravan club sites possess. The wardens were very friendly and helpful. There are only two drawbacks for us. There are no local walks, so we had to use the car to travel to suitable places for recreation. The pitches nearest to the road suffer from constant traffic noise and seem crowded together. We moved our pitch on Day 2 to one in the middle of the site where peace was restored and the space seemed more generous.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mandyg1 5 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site, wardens really friendly & check in very quick & smooth. We chose a pitch at the top of the site, which had wonderful views of the valley & in summer it must be a joy to have lunch in the small picnic area behind the screen of trees at the rear of the pitch. Toilets were sparkling as were the showers & seemed adequate for the number of pitches. There is no road noise to disturb you & is very very quiet. Really enjoyed our stay here & will return.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: David fowler 6 reviews from this member

Just returned from this peaceful site, very friendly staff. We had great weather and just sat around chilling. The dog walk had got a little over grown, but the wardens said they had set a temporary dog walk at other end of site. The toilets and showers are cleaned daily and was immaculate if you want a relaxing break. Come here. A short walk to the spanker Inn for some great meals and enjoy real ales. This is one of my favourite sites.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: GMC1958 39 reviews from this member

The site was full but pleasingly quiet, pitches were of a good size. The 'Spanker' pub nearby was a nice place to eat and made our dog more than welcome. The site is ideal for exploring the many facets of the Derwent Valley. The facilities on site were good and the shower block was always clean and tidy. My only criticism is that the on site dog walk is a bit on the steep side and could be difficult to use in inclement weather.

Previous     56 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4033 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019