Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Pomeroy Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Site Reviews

Pomeroy Camping Park
Street House Farm
Pomeroy
Nr Flagg
Buxton
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
SK17 9QG
Tel: 01298 83259
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: Easter To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 55 Reviews
                9/10 from 55 Reviews

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  55 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: T6fle 2 reviews from this member

10/10

Highly recommended, so much that my daughter is camping there in a few weeks time.

Friendly staff, lovely location. Toilets clean and spotless. A working farm and you see them work. Cleaning, cutting grass, removing rubbish.

Excellent site. On site shop, laundry, family bathroom.

Cannot recommend enough.

Will visit again and with some of the sites I have seen I cannot believe how well though out and looked after this place is.

All caravan pitches are fully serviced. We did have a problem with a leaking tap, which was easily rectified, as soon as it was reported.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chrisandali 1 review from this member

Just returned from here for bank holiday weekend. Reasonably priced. Basic field not too big. This is in no way a criticism. Office open to 6. 30 or 7 some days. Few simple things in shop milk, cold drinks etc. They are a dairy farm and sell amazing ice cream and their own milk.

A small area with goats and you can see the cows in the field. Our kids loved it. Lovely views.

The showers and toilets are first class and a credit to the site. Underfloor heating lovely and warm and immaculate. They even have a family bathroom and bath! Free thermostatic showers huge cubicles.

The Duke of York pub is a very short walk away. I highly recommend the royal Oak just over a mile away along the High Peak Trail which is next to the camping field. Again highly recommended flat and perfect for small kids on bikes. Parsley hay is few miles down trail and hires bikes.

The site is quiet after 2230. It was busy when we stayed there and no noisy groups.

The site hire firepits and wood for 20 quid for your stay.

On the whole excellent. Buxton is nearest supermarket 10 mins drive away. Went to Bakewell in opposite direction again excellent.

Would go back again as kids loved it. It's small site so safe for kids to run about. Also have a games field.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Phil+friends 17 reviews from this member

This was our second stay at Pomeroy and I should of left a review this time last year, I'm not going to go into too much detail only to repeat other reviews, but this is an excellent campsite with the mixture of tents and caravans on the electric side and tents on the non electric field. A few added details to the site and that's the dog exercise field and their own icecream which they sell at reception or the cart on the High Peak trail. Anyhow a friendly site, great staff and spotless facilities it's a must for any camper.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tracey and Stuart 3 reviews from this member

We found this to be a lovely, friendly site in a excellent location with easy access off the main road. That said it's set down a long driveway so although the road can be heard it's just a mild background noise that didn't bother us at all. We stayed on the main site where there was a mixture of tents and caravans, all pitches are fully serviced and a good size. Facilities are fabulous and include a family bathroom. Always spotless and warm with plenty of hot water. Brilliant location for walking/cycling and pubs within easy walking distance. Tv reception hit & miss and nearest supermarket a decent drive away although there are some provisions available in the reception shop. The tent field looked well maintained and cosy with campers hiring the firepits from reception. Views from here were lovely and there is direct access on to the tissington trail. We loved it here and have already booked to go back.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Pablo1308 13 reviews from this member

This is lovely camp[site with ample amenities, 4 showers in the gents and plenty of toilets too. We spent a great weekend here and although the site was busy with tents, caravans and Motor homes the facilities were always clean and we never had to queue. There is easy access straight our onto the High Peak trail and loads of lovely walks, raging from gentle strolls along the high peak to more challenging walks on public footpaths through fields etc. Lots of local cycling too with access to High Peak trail direct from the site. There is also a field for dog walking and ball games, the site has a little shop too, along with chickens and pygmy goats. There are local pubs and a daily bus to Buxton, yep just 1 bus, although a 40 minute walk to Earl Sterndale gives you access to more frequent buses, a taxi to or from Buxton is around 17. We could not recommend this site enough and we will be returning

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Phil+friends 17 reviews from this member

This site has it all, great staff and facilities, pitches are plenty big enough some bigger than others with electric points and water taps on every pitch. It's dog friendly with a non electric field that leads onto a dog walk which also leads onto the High Peak trail. Not much for children to do, only play in the non electric field or feed the small goats that are there. There's plenty of pubs nearby, we stop off at the Royal Oak on the High Peak trail which I can absolutely recommend it great food chose and also has it's own little campsite. We've stayed at a number of sites around Derbyshire and each one gets better and better but will be staying at Pomeroy definitely again this year.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Slimslam 4 reviews from this member

OK site, but not really a campsite, more of a caravan park, with no where for children to play - though maybe on the camping field (we were in a campervan). Very light at night due to lots of lampposts and very noisy road 24/7/ Good washrooms though.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Daggreen 1 review from this member

I've just returned with the family from a lovely (albeit wet) weekend at the Pomeroy campsite. This was our first family camping trip. I'm a bit of a seasoned veteran, but my wife hasn't camped for years and the future of family camping was dependent on a successful outing! Thankfully, I think we pulled it off and much of that was due to the campsite.

The campsite is easy to find from the main road, and as we arrived after reception closing time we pitched straight up. We had already pre-booked a specific (electric) pitch which was spacious and flat, with no obvious stones.

Our attention was immediately drawn to the brand new shower / toilet block which (as others have said) is superb. I'm probably sticking my neck out here, but it's probably the best I have used in over 20 years of camping. As others have also mentioned, the dishwash area is quite old and if you don't pick your time wisely you will end up waiting a while as there is just a single sink (the water also takes some time to heat up which is a problem acknowledged by the campsite owners). From a notice displayed by the sink, it is clear that there are plans already underway to upgrade the dishwash and ancillary areas (laundry etc)and this would be much welcomed.

In terms of noise, there is a bit of noise from the road and overhead flight path as well as the normal countryside sounds. Some of the other campers weren't quite as considerate having their radios on early morning, but you can get that wherever you stay.

There is a lovely bike trail just below the campsite (the site of an old railway line) - lots of nature to see which our young son was fascinated by.

I loved this campsite, when the new dishwash area is commissioned it will be close to perfect for us and we'll definitely return next year. It would be nice to have a small dedicated play area for the kids (to keep them away from the tents / caravans)- if one existed, we didn't see it this time.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Phil m72 2 reviews from this member

Hi had a few days at this site the location was spot on with easy access to Buxton or Ashbourne. We went with two dogs so ideally placed for good walks. The owners were very friendly on arrival with plenty of local knowledge. Pitches slightly sloping but not a problem. Facilities fairly new and kept spotless even in the poor weather. The surprise was how big the shower cubicles are loads of room. There was no hidden costs for dogs, awnings etc, we would definitely visit again if going to area again

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lexie10 15 reviews from this member

The fantastic shower block is what really makes this site special. Plenty of space, hot water, soap, loo roll etc. And kept spotlessly clean. A hairdryer was available in the ladies section (not sure about the mens!).

Washing up facility - ie one old double drainer sink in a rundown outhouse - lets the site down though.

Online booking was very easy to do. The staff are very helpful and friendly, although the reception opening hours are very limited. The site seems very well managed, but maintains a nice relaxed feel to it too.

Most pitches are grass, but a couple of hardstandings are available too. There are electric hook ups in the top field by the shower block, but we didn't notice them on the rather sloping adjoining field, which was also available for camping.

Fantastic location for walkers and for cyclists who lack confidence, as there is direct access to the High Peak Trail, which leads to the Tissington Trail. The same trail also leads to the lovely Royal Oak Pub - just a 25 minute walk away - which serves great food and beer!

We weren't disturbed by traffic noise from the nearby A515, although it is a very busy road with lots of large lorries. This made it quite scary walking to the nearest pub (The Duke of York), or to the bus stop, as there is only a rough verge to walk on for most of the way. Only one bus a day into Buxton (10. 00am) with return at 1. 15pm. Not long, but long enough to get a delicious coffee in the Hydro cafe!

We didn't notice a play area, but there were a number of children on the site. We were a bit concerned about some of them kicking a football around very close to caravans and tents.

As the site is quite isolated use of a car would be better for exploring the beautiful locality, and for getting about if the weather is not great.

Overall, a lovely site which we would recommend to anyone who likes a relaxed, peaceful environment with excellent shower/toilet facilities.

Previous     55 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2949 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019