Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Upper Carr Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Pickering > Upper Carr Holiday Park Reviews

Upper Carr Holiday Park
Upper Carr Lane,
Malton Road
Pickering
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO18 7JP
Tel: 01723 584311
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 80
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 91 Reviews
                8/10 from 91 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  91 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JaneB1968 2 reviews from this member

We visited this site this weekend for the Pickering Traction Rally.

What a disappointment! We checked in with a lady at reception who told us where our pitch was, but no explanation of where any of the facilities were toilets, waste etc.

Our pitch was crammed in between tents and a caravan virtually on top of each other no space at all, we could of not put our awning up if we wanted too as there was just no space! We had to move our car four times to let other cars in and out whilst they set up.

The toilet/shower facilities were very un-clean and the shower went off every 5 seconds! Who can possibly have a shower when the water goes off every 5 seconds!

Reading the other recent reviews the park has new owners they definitely need to ' up their game' we will definitely be staying at the Black Bull caravan park across the road next year.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Smoore1106 1 review from this member

Just visited this site, it was a lovely site but it was very overcrowded.

There was no cafe/restaurant or games room as advertised they were all closed down.

The shower block was clean enough but you had to keep your finger constantly on the button for the water and the water then didn't go down the drain, the shower tray filled up and you were paddling in 2' dirty water.

Its recently been taken over I was told but think the new owners need to keep up standards, and take the facilities off their web site that are no longer there or charge a bit less, as this is quite an expensive site

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jack1 1 review from this member

My husband and I have just returned from the long Easter weekend at Upper Carr and have to say it has changed quite a bit from when we were last here and not in a good way really.

We used to go there when it was privately owned and it was a different site then, lots more space per unit.

I don't know whether it was just because it was a bank holiday but we felt like we were really hemmed in, we could not have put an awning up if we had wanted to - just not enough space!

I have to agree with Obzi, the loos are not as clean as they could be and one or two of the doors don't lock properly either! The showers are ok but need a radical clean, I accidentally knocked the disc off the plug hole and it was full of hair - yuk!

After speaking to our neighbours we agreed with them that it was a little disappointing, the kids' indoor amusements were not open and neither was the tea room, which was advertised as being so. The out-door play area is good for the kids but someone really needs to police the use of balls in that area, I believe there is a designated spot for footballs, I heard the whack of a ball in the side of a car/caravan on more than one occasion and wasn't happy about it at all!

I think they are cramming too many people on, especially at bank holidays, one poor family in a tent were butted directly up to the play area, which was bedlam at times, as it should be when it's a school holiday but who wants to be bang at the side of it?!

However, the bins were emptied regularly and the staff seem to be very friendly. It's in the right place for lots of attractions. 'Spencers' the new bar is a great place with reasonably priced real ales and the food looked beautiful. The Black Bull accorss the road is also a nice welcoming pub. The mile walk into Pickering is ideal and we regularly eat in the restaurants.

We probably won't be going back to Upper Carr again, especially at a Bank Holiday, and neither will the neighbours we spoke to. :-( Bit sad really.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrsed20 13 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to this site in our tourer, we have visited previously in our tent and I have reviewed it before. We booked for the Pickering 1940's/war weekend. A 3 night stay was £145. Yes, over £48 per night for a caravan pitch. It was a minimum 3 night stay, but like most we only needed 2 so we paid £72. 50 a night! We booked last December - 10 months in advance. We arrived at around 6. 15 pm - a typical Friday night arrival time? Reception was closed. I was surprised at this as we were told in December we had booked the last 2 places so the site was full. We were left an envelope with details and a mobile number for the warden. When we got to our pitch (12a right beside the toilet block) it was nowhere near big enough for a caravan (ours is a typical 4 berth)! So I rang the warden - answer phone. Our friends arrived and managed to just squeeze onto their allocated pitch next to us. But the electric wasn't working and fellow campers told us nor were theirs. I tried the Warden again with no luck. I eventually found him with the help of the lady in the coffee shop taking us to his van. He told us to just 'stick the van on sideways - that'll do'. He couldn't tell us when the electric would be back on however an engineer was on call. He did come and it did come back on however I overheard from their discussion that he was aware of this problem the day before - which begs the question why was it not rectified then. We were also disappointed to see that the 2nd field and the area by the barrier has been filled with statics since our last visit. The touring/tent space is much smaller. Whilst they are not charging for showers now, 3 seconds of water per push is not and never will be enough for anyone to get a comfortable shower! The war weekend was fabulous though, would highly recommend it!

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Albatross88 2 reviews from this member

Having recently returned from a 1 night stay at Upper Carr, I wanted to share what a great experience it was for my 17 week old puppy & myself. From the smile & greet of the park warden to the happy smiley receptionist. The park was very clean as were the facilities. I visited 'Spencer's', the new pub just 50 yards from the park entrance. The food was good & the staff very friendly. In the morning I had a fantastic breakfast at the park coffee shop (Sinders of York) & sat out on the deck in the Sept sunshine. It was well presented, fresh & a great price. There is a dog walking paradise route just outside the park, where you can walk your dog for miles without fear of traffic. The whole park showed that it was loved & I highly recommend it.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Obzi 5 reviews from this member

There's been a lot of very good reviews left for Upper Carr and to be fair this IS a very good site that I will probably return to but I think a few people are getting carried away. This makes me feel like I need to bring things back to the real world.

My comments may appear harsh at first glance but they are to reset the balance or some of you will turn up here and maybe be disappointed.

First of all the toilets are very good and probably in camping world are extremely good but they are not spotless and they are not immaculate. That's a fact, not my opinion, go back and take a closer look.

If your in a tent you should be aware that you'll be put in quite as small area and not that far away from the kids play park. So ok, you will not all be crammed in solid but you will not have loads of space either.

The tent pitches in my opinion need to be much more defined and marked, with so many tents in this area you had noise coming from every direction. The tent next to us had his guy ropes crossing well into our ropes and the tent behind was so close I had to have mine as short as possible.

This unorganised tent pitching caused a few problems too, one day I could park one side of my tent and then the space was gone because another tent arrived, I tried the other side but then that was gone too. I ended up having to park next to an empty caravan and hoped the owner didn't come to stay that weekend.

One guy parked his car next to his tent but then a van appeared and then some tents pitched up around him and suddenly he found his car blocked in with no way out!

With such a confined space they've got to start telling people that's where your tent goes and that's where your car goes or provide a separate area for ALL cars to park away from the tents. This free-for-all approach is fine for bigger sites but not here.

You should also be aware one of the tent pitches is right next to the kids park, so close I would go mental if I had to go there, one poor guys tent was maybe 3ft away. It was all made worse by one family who had children that were screaming (literally) and shouting from before 7am.

As mentioned previously an open grate next to a water tap was being use to dump all kinds of waste down and the smell was disgusting.

As many have said, pitches pretty flat, good clean site, great location, great little café and so on.

The Black Bull pub is close but the brand new Spencer's bar and grill is closer still and both very good. Spencer's has lovely seating outside over looking a lake.

So as I said earlier, this review is just to bring a previous gushing reviews back into line, to set the balance right. A good site overall and well worth a try but I do feel the tents are a touch short changed in space compared to what the caravans get.

One last comment regarding this and many other sites, with so many bars, pubs, restaurants and more offering completely free Wi-Fi these days why are camp sites charging so much money or anything charging at all?

I think the days of charging for Wi-Fi are now over.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Beccacallander 1 review from this member

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a week, and I couldn't have been happier with the site.

Bathroom was consistently spotless, and there never a queue for the facilities. The showers were used by push button so you couldn't control the temperature, but it not too hot for young children. The picture on the site does not do the bathroom justice.

On a few occasions we used the on site cafe/takeaway and I was pleasantly surprised at how good the food was and how cheap it was. We had one of their takeaways the first night we arrived. The two of us were fed for under £10 and had chips, pizza and kebab. The tea room and sun deck were also well set out and in the nice weather the sun deck was a glorious place to sit and have a glass of wine.

The kids were a bit too noisy for us because we wanted lots of sleep if we were getting up early every day to go and do different things, however it is a family campsite and so the noise of children playing is to be expected. Most of the time we still got to sleep when we wanted.

We stayed in the pod and compared to other sites this was the cheapest and nicest by far! Electricity available and they provide you with a light. Great spacious room for the two of us and kept the heat in at nights well.

The people on site were so genuinely nice and helpful. They knew a lot about the area and made the effort to help you as much as they could.

Bus routes are just down the road to Pickering, Thornton Le Dale, Flamingo Land etc so we used them everyday. The pub down the road is a 2 minute walk and is family friendly with cheap food and drink.

I can't recommend this site enough. Well kept and presented and lovely people. I will book again for nexy year!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hev24 8 reviews from this member

Just back from a 10 day holiday at this lovely site. There are quite a few static caravans, however these are mostly screened off by hedges so there isn't that feeling of being crowded out by them and my daughter enjoyed the company of her new friends.

The touring field is flat and can get quite busy at weekends etc as you would expect in a popular area. We did feel a little bit too close to a seasonal tourer but this was a small price to pay. Our pitch was shaded by a couple of large trees which kept us nice and cool in the summer sun.

The children's playpark can be seen from all of the touring pitches and the site was quiet by 11pm with all the kids being called in from the playpark about 10pm!

We didn't have to queue for showers etc and there is a disabled/family shower room (the shower temperature was easier to control in this for smaller kids). The showers are free and of the push button variety so there is no temperature control but they were fine for us.

The site is situated on a quiet lane off a busy main road but the road noise was more of a background hum at it's worst.

We had a great holiday and would happily go back to this site. There are plenty of good days out in the area and the site is much more reasonably priced than some others nearby.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Casper 17 reviews from this member

Hi. What a lovely site. Very safe for children. Spotless toilets always clean. Lovely café selling good cheap food and drinks. Lovely pub only 10 mins walk away but across a very busy road. Local bus outside. Everyone is very friendly. We stayed in a pod called the den which I highly recommend when you want to book one. Very cosy and very cool in the hot weather we're having at moment, plenty of room inside for 2 adults.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Phyll a 4 reviews from this member

Stayed here a few years ago and absolutely loved it, can't say the same for this visit, felt like we were playing sardines the way we were all packed in round the children's playground area.

The smell from the chemical toilet waste was horrendous and actually came home early as I couldn't stand going to the toilet any longer and walking past it.

Sunday afternoon the bins were overflowing.

This site itself is lovely and is in a lovely part of the country.

A new bar has just opened about 50 yards from the campsite called Spencers it is lovely and good value for families.

Previous     91 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3850 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019