Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Allensford Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Co Durham > Consett > Allensford Holiday Park Reviews

Allensford Holiday Park
Castleside
Consett
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DH8 9BA
Tel: 01207 592566
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Statics only
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 8 Reviews
                8/10 from 8 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 We have spoken to the site owners who have confirmed that as of 2018 they do not have any touring caravan, motorhome or tent pitches.

If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Marshall3 1 review from this member

 Whilst our stay here was overall very good, the other people staying on the site were very friendly and the site manger was very helpful, the downfall for this visit was the toilet and showers which looked like they had not been cleaned for a long time. The ladies showers had a lot of hair in the draining hole and were in a filthy condition. The toilets were dirty and there was the remains of peoples toileting still on the toilet pan and no toilet rolls were supplied. We were very disappointed this time as when we visited the site at Easter Weekend the facilities were lovely and clean. 


Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nikkip123 1 review from this member

 You can't fault this site. It is very basic with only a shop and park situated at the end of the site but it makes a fantastic getaway. We don't live that far away but pitch our van for the season and you always get a friendly welcome from the others on site. So far this season it has been a little muddy but the kids love it and the adults enjoy the company of each other trecking between awnings/tents/statics.

This site is great if you have kids to because everyone watches out for the children.

The site is well known for marking events like our experience in October for the Halloween party. What an effort they made it was fab.

If you have transport there is so much to do shopping, walking, biking, its great.

The local take aways even deliver to this site if you fancy a treat.

The toilets are cold but very clean.No complaints there.

When the weather warms up you can normally enjoy a game of bingo on the field which is fab if you win 1st time like I did.Lol. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Snowyjo 1 review from this member

 OMG what a fantastic place for everyone it was our 1st time camping with 5 kids aged 6,5,3,2 and 11wks and I was terrified but from the minute you drive in you are made to feel more than welcome by all, there is loads to do your holiday is what you make it,good facilities there is a washer and dryer (which I didn't know 1st time )i took enough clothes for 7 of us for 10 days ( wont do that again ha ha ha ) shower clean fresh toilet (thank you karen) shop beautiful park forests that go on forever and so much more its like home from home the owners are amazing nothing is a problem and the same goes for fellow campers and static owners. The wildlife is lush we were watching squirrels while eating our breakfast and watching owls at night. The only fault I had (nothing to do with the site or owners) Durham don't do 8 seater taxis so we had to get 2 taxis to go shopping. Be armed with mosquito repellent you will need it or just have a bbq every night like us

All in all excellent site and staff. Good ground and very family friendly we are going back this yr for a long holiday instead of 2 little 1s so watch out ha ha 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Under the stars 1 review from this member

 This is a beautiful site, toilets and showers are basic but clean and get the job done, I like the idea of a key to get in as there is a public playpark right next to site. It was very wet the weekend we were there but as all tent pitches are very flat we had no problems. The holiday home owners are very friendly and made us very welcome. I will be keeping an eye out for a holiday home for sale on this site I liked it that much! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Peepdip 15 reviews from this member

 The site is basically a large field surrounded by deciduous trees adjacent to a little stream. Statics surround the perimeter of the site with tents and caravans placed in lines in the middle, plenty of space allocated to each. I'm not sure whether the earlier review of this site meant the same site as this, but there is no clubhouse or pub on site but there is a well stocked shop and very friendly owners (nothing was too much trouble).
The park is not actually on the site but adjacent so you couldn't let your kids wander there alone but it is very well equipped for a municipal park.
A popular location with many caravanners travelling only a few miles to get to the site and staying nearly every weekend (!)
On the negative side the toilet block is basic, dark and not very clean or warm. A key is needed to get into the toilets - a pain in the middle of the night when you toodle all the way across the site to find them locked.
I'd probably come back to the site for a weekend, any longer and I would definitely require a little more in the way of facilities. 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Roganfamily 5 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from site. Was not up to standard previously stated for this site. Ground was even but bare which meant if you were leaving on wet day your awning got absolutely filthy while taking it down. Toilets were a disgrace, they were filthy and were not cleaned once in the three days we stayed.only one out of the three showers worked in ladies,and that one was barely a trickle! sinks were filthy used bottled water to wash and clean teeth etc. No allocated fresh water for drinking had to get bottled water. Despite paying £10 deposit for toilets they were never locked and people used it as public convenience when passing.
Will be sending details to Camping and caravan club and AA as both their signs were at entrance and this site was far from adequate for tourers. The new owners seem to prefer the statics and have not bothered to maintain the services needed by tourers or campers 


Reviewer: fluffycheese 2 reviews from this member

 Aug 03
Reasonable site with flat pitches. There is a shop but it is not well stocked and sometimes not open. No other shops in walking distance, so take your food with you.

Busy site and almost full when we went so pre-booking essential in high season.

This site is ideal for older kids 8+ years. There is a big playpark next door with high slides, zip wire etc. The park was in good condition and is maintained by the council. You can also paddle in the river Derwent.

A couple of nice woodland walks start from the park.

On Saturday night there is was a karaoke and disco. Not my cup of tea but our kids loved it.

On the downside there is a fast road running alongside the site, so good supervision of small kids is essential.

Showers and toilets good (£10 deposit). Staff helpful.

Site is on the C2C cycle route.

Places to visit include:

Durham City (20mins)
Metrocentre (30mins)
Derwent walk (10 mins)
Derwent Reservoir (10mins)
Consett (10mins) 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Allensford Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Allensford Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Allensford Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Consett      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3475 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement