Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hetherick Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Co Durham > Barnard Castle > Hetherick Caravan Park Reviews

Hetherick Caravan Park
Nr Kinnivie
Barnard Castle
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DL12 8QX
Tel: 01833 631173
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 41
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 42 Reviews
                8/10 from 42 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  42 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kelandy 1 review from this member

We arrived On Saturday. We called into reception a lovely lady greeted us. Filled in paper work and then parked the caravan. Set up. The park was lovely. Well kept, grass cut. Our pitch was a little uneven the gravel wasn't put down that well which left us on a slight angle but it never really bothered us. The other people around us were very helpful. People were friendly. It didn't seem like there was a click of people. Like at other places we have been to. We took out dog and there is a lovely dog walk area in a forest, a little dam. We hit on lucky as the weather was amazing. The dog walk brings you out where there are owner statics and it looks amazing. All looking amazing and pretty gardens done up and a nice area. There are two touring fields and tents are allowed too. Price was brilliant. You can hear the cows and sheep but I liked that. There is toilets and showers facilities, when we used the toilet it was always clean and open and tidy. The shower is small not really enough room to dry yourself as your in the same cubicle to do that so the floor gets soaking wet. And only one little peg to hang bag on the wall. You pay 20p before you go inside. No problems at all just the shower being small. There is a laundry room with sinks and a disabled shower room with toilet huge. You have the toilet are to enter waster and toilet. There was a sign up when we were there saying a burger van was starting up on 7th but we left on 7th so cant comment on that. The area is lovely really pretty, relaxed and well looked after. A little park for kids to play in too. Its a friendly place we were a family of 2 adults a 15 and 17 year old and our dog. We will definitely be back here. It was lovely. Friendly and highly rate it for relaxing break away.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jojobo01 13 reviews from this member

We booked this site after reading reviews and thought it would be a great little get away for 3 nights for my birthday. All we can say is we will never return.

On arrival there was no site plan or rules ? no fire points pointed out.

The hardstanding was a very small patch of rocky stones that had cigerette ends all over and a nice dog poop at the end.

We pitched and cleaned area then went off to try and find anything. Its a large site with a lot of static home and now 2017 what seems a lot of seasonal pitches.

The showers are on a 20p box and you can see into showers through window.

I couldn't use them, the bathrooms where wiped over during 3 days and are not clean.

Cigarette ends down toilet and one morning while I was using the toilet a man walked in shouting for his wife !

The park now has a lot of children who obviously run riot kicking balls, dropping litter smashing a toilet window! Noise went on till well into 10pm.

On the bank holiday Sunday we listened to 5 hrs of the guy opposite trimming grass with a strimmer.

There is no grey waste point !

You are expected to empty the grey waste into the toilet waste hole which has a 2ft wall! seriously, who gonna lift a full waste container into toilet waste when we store or grey waste container in our van.

The list just goes on and on. Needless to say we packed up and arrived home early.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: FJH46 1 review from this member

Just returned from a few days camping at Hetherick Caravan Park. This was our first visit and will certainly be returning. The site is spotlessly clean, couldn't find fault. It is also child and pet friendly. The owners we found to be very welcoming as were the residence (static caravan owners) I would, without a doubt recommend this site to family and friends.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: P7hut 22 reviews from this member

Stayed here for the weekend at the beginning of May.

I had a weird conversation with a man on the phone when booking, he didn't take my name or details, didn't want a deposit and when I asked how much for 2 nights was told 'not right expensive lad'.

So I turned up expecting not to be expected or to find there was no room at the inn.

The lady was lovely in reception, laughed when I told her about the man on the phone (her husband) and said that was him alright.

We could pitch wherever we wanted, there is a dedicated touring area or some pitches on the camping field next to the statics. We chose the camping field.

There is a lovely circular dog walk through a wood then back through the static side of the site. The static area is lovely, some of them have great gardens, and everyone we met was so friendly.

The facilities aren't the best, they could do with updating and some heat, but they are clean and do the job.

The site is handy for Staindrop, Eggleston, Barney etc and beyond.

I would be happy to recommend this site.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: MandyandPaul 5 reviews from this member

What an absolute gem! Beautifully kept site with a very helpful gentleman on reception. Site location is really quiet, yet only 5 minutes away from the bustle of lovely Barnard Castle. Hardstanding pitch was huge and level for motorhome. The amenities block was absolutely spotless - no sign of creepy crawlies anywhere and joy of joys - electric sockets with nearby mirrors in the ladies shower block to plug in a hairdryer! It is always a treat to find somewhere like this where everything has been thought of and yet the fees are extremely reasonable, well done to all concerned, we highly recommend you.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wallace L 7 reviews from this member

A fantastic site everything you could ask for locted on a family run farm. What can I say, we all had a fab weekend! The toilet block was spotless and water was lovely and hot, showers cost 20p. We booked 2 pitches and were the only tents there unfortunately we were right in front of the toilet block which was very handy for my pregnant daughter and our 3 year old granddaughter but kids hanging round in the evening were a little bothersome. The children's play area was ideal and we found everyone on the site to be very friendly so would definitely recommend this site but would ask to be away from the toilet black if we go again.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Leighr 1 review from this member

A fantastic site everything you could ask for and we will be back again. Nice clean toilets and shower blocks plenty hot running water, great play area for the kids my 8 year old loved it and its a safe environment for kids. Barnard Castle within 5 mile drive over all a great little site well worth the money its a shame its fully booked for the August bank holiday or we would have been back.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Trevord2011 7 reviews from this member

Nice little site easy to find just of main road helpful as booked last minute and when arrived on site.

Clean shower block, a bit small but loads of hot water one thing you need 20 pence for shower.

Nice big pitch loads of room, big play area for kids nice and we'll laid out, nice dog walk.

One little thing could do with working light in chem. Toilet room but loads of lights around site.

Nice and quite at night everybody Respect's each other.

Nice location to go places from.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Craigsimo157 7 reviews from this member

Just had a weekend break at this site, the location is absolutely fantastic with lots to do in the local area. Barnard Castle just 3 miles away with plenty of shops, eating places and things to see. On arrival I was greeted at reception with a very laid back manner, no directing to a certain site just a help yourself and choose your own pitch. Having 3 young children I have to have eyes in the back of my head, however the playing area was very close to the touring pitches as were the showers and toilets, so they were never out of site. There are a lot of statics on site and plenty of seasonal tourers pitched. The pitches were spacious enough for Caravan, awning and car. The toilet block was clean and open 24hrs. There was a wooden play area which the children enjoyed and areas for them to play other games.

All in all a very enjoyable experience at Hetherick, which I would recommend to others. We will certainly return in the future.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Djhj 1 review from this member

Myself and family have stayed at this site for 5yrs on and off, consists of mam, dad and daughter and 2 dogs, good points, showers clean and tidy, site very clean, shop ok (could do with opening more often)good sized play area for kids, very nice walks and good dog walk, friendly staff. Very spacious gaps between vans and tents

Not so good points:-

Some people who just visit as one offs seem to think they do not have to follow rules and request signs for example,

NO BALL GAMES ALLOWED (big play area for all sorts of fun at the park), yet caravan and cars gets bumped often.

PLEASE KEEP DOGS ON LEADS, some people think my dog is well behaved so off you go and remember to poo behind bush or in long grass just where the kids play.

I have 1 child 2 dogs and yes sometimes a pain to put my food and drink down and leave friends while enjoying myself. But they are my responsibility so PLEASE look after kids and dogs so that everyone can have fun

PLEASE PICK UP YOUR DOG POO. If this is you please stop

Only a few spoil it, a great site and going back again soon.

Previous     42 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3262 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019