Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Border Forest Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Otterburn > Border Forest Caravan Park Reviews

Border Forest Caravan Park
Cottonshopeburnfoot
Near
Otterburn
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE19 1TF
Tel: 01830 520259
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 60 Reviews
                7/10 from 60 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  60 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 13 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dogpam123 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned home from a great time at the lovely border forest campsite, we just love it there and our fourth visit,

Very friendly campsite owners,

Fantastic walks from campsite directly into the amazing forest, and what a delight owners have made a great dog walk all secure for days when you donít want the forest trail with your four legged mates,

We just love it there and cannot wait for next year to return, thankyou border forest

Graham Sandra beck and there two goldies 🐾 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Iawnski 1 review from this member

 Lovely people but, outdated the toilets need updating, the showers are far away if you get on the bottom of the site, it really really need a few bob spending on them and toilets.

No shop there to get any milk or bits. Nope not for us. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kismet dal 1 review from this member

 Very quiet site. perfectly situated for a peaceful get away, idea for dog walkers as plenty of walk straight from campsite.

Not much to do for kids that need entertaining, as no play area, but mine loved it as plodded in stream that was right next to caravan. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Ficklejade 9 reviews from this member

 Firstly I should make it clear that my friends have a static on this site and this is what I was using. Consequently, I can't comment on value for money, although there isnít an N/A option for this section, so Iíve put a neutral response there.

The site is just off the A68. Chalets are at the top of the site, each with parking space and I had a brief show of one of these and they looked well appointed and clean. Reception is at the top of the site and is open 8. 30am to 7. 30pm; there is a communication system if no-oneís actually in reception.

Reception has a lot of local information and Simon and Kathy are also very helpful. Security is provided by a barrier, the fobs for which require a £10 refundable deposit. Thereís a one way system for vehicles around the site.

The main rubbish/recycling facility is near the top of the site as are the main toilet facilities. I obviously didnít use the gents but, although a bit dated, the ladies were spotlessly clean and the water was hot, although the site was busy with tourers over this weekend. (We had a small issue with our friendsí caravanís shower!) Overall, the site was spotless.

From this area, the site slopes down, through statics (mostly owned by individuals), to the lower, level field for tourers where there is another small facility block. A small bridge directly links the site to various walking routes, including the Pennine Way.

At this point, and in the interests of the backpacking section of the UKCS forum, this site does not take tents BUT DOES TAKE BACKPACKERS IN TENTS DOING THE PENNINE WAY. In fact, on the morning I left a couple, arriving around 11pm the previous night after a horrendous dayís walking, had been pitched up by the owners near reception (thus avoiding undue noise for other campers).

There is a burger (and a bit more) van that comes on a Saturday night in the main season Ė itís located at the top of the site just before you enter the statics section. Good value for money. Otherwise, thereís a small store in Otterburn but the Co-op in Bellingham (roughly 30 minutes away) is very well stocked with a great bakery next door, good greengrocers, hardware store, good pubs, some with a takeaway service and also a filling station and garage workshop.

Itís a great site for those who donít want a regimented site to use as a base for exploring the area. I had good 02 phone signal but wasnít great for friend for Internet which was intermittent. Iím not techy dependent, so probably not best person to comment!

This site is only a few hundred yards towards Otterburn to the access to the Forest Drive through to Kielder (toll). My bad, forgot to ask if this drive is actually open following the destruction of a bridge during Storm Desmond the other year Ė if you want to use this, check out first. 


Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site no longer offers tent camping but still has motorhome and caravan pitches and holiday lodges. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Milestone 6 reviews from this member

 Disappointed with this one as the majority of reviews are so good, yet we thought it to be scruffy with some run down statics and caravans.

The fresh water hose was un hygienically long enough to lay on the ground next to the bins and the small, open sided toilet area with concrete flooring was in need of a good clean.

The owners were pleasant, and the dog walking great, but we wouldn't return. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Eskymew 3 reviews from this member

 This site is ok. The toilet block was quite disappointing and a long walk from the camping field. We also struggled to get hot water at the washing up sinks. I'm not sure if they charged extra as it was a bank holiday weekend but £28 for 2 adults and one child seemed pretty steep to me.

I've stayed in much nicer sites for much less money. All in all it would be great if your in a caravan with your own facilities, but in a tent it was average. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Tazsmum 25 reviews from this member

 Well organised site, which was busy and some statics. Facilities OK. Good walking straight into forest which I enjoyed with the dog!

We used it as an overnight as we headed north. It was fine for that but others were staying for a full holiday and exploring the area. Good picnic, play areas by river in good weather. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Indyxe 3 reviews from this member

 Excellent place to stop, I stayed right next to the toilet block which had a nice little kitchen area with large fridge microwave and sink, and shelves with books that can be borrowed. The showers and sinks were near the entrance (mens)and were clean with warm water. Site had a lot of nice touches and perfect for dog walks. The site was perfectly situated for visiting kielder water and the surrounding area. Will definitely be using this site again. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Buffmeister 2 reviews from this member

 What a beautiful place to stay! A lovely welcome from the owner. It's a well set out site, very tidy and a bonus for us was staying in a tent and not wanting electric, we stayed in a separate field away from the main site, which gave us more peace and quiet through the day. Great hot showers any time of day and clean toilets with their own sink, nice touch! Freezer was great for popping things in overnight and the washing up area always had hot water. Yes, as mentioned previously, there are many, many midges but with lots of repellent and sitting inside by 8, we weren't too badly affected by them. And to be honest, the beautiful surroundings more than make up for them! I'd recommend this site to anyone, great price with great facilities. 


Previous     60 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Border Forest Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Border Forest Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Border Forest Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Otterburn      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4373 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement