Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Fallowfield Dene Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Hexham > Fallowfield Dene Camp Site Reviews

Fallowfield Dene Camp Site
Nr Acomb
Hexham
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE46 4RP
Tel: 01434 603553
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 160
Open: March To January

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 67 Reviews
                8/10 from 67 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  67 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: G30ffb 1 review from this member

 Canny site located near to Hexham, Northumberland. Site has an electronic barrier for site security and a one way system around the site which seems to work well.

Facilities were nice and clean and situated in an ideal place for the touring pitches. There are numerous public footpaths around the site as well as a short dog walking area on site.

Booking online was straight forward though if phoning for enquiries etc they have limited periods of calling.

Access to the site can be tricky as it is down a single tracked road with few passing places. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jrobwa85519bow 1 review from this member

 Nice site. Well maintained.

Due to covid 19 shop was closed.

Toilet/Showers were open hand sanitiser outside but nothing to clean showers after use. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: ALH1 12 reviews from this member

 Firstly the likes. Toilets and showers were good, reduced capacity with good sanitation on the way in and out. Showers were lovely and hot although my husband says the water pressure in the gents wasnít too good.

Pitches were quite generous with 16amp electric.

There are walks and cycles from the door.

Wardens are lovely.

Dislikes. Scores of children (we were there over a weekend) running around with no social distancing, majority unsupervised, playing ball games when it clearly states not allowed.

Large number of what we call Ďlifersí who were very noisy congregating in the evenings until late.

No shops within easy walking for supplies (we knew this and wasnít a problem for us). 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 552 reviews from this member

 We used the site as a base for the Hexham fireworks.

Large site with mainly seasonal tourers and statics.

Improved facilities since the last time I was here - heated and spotlessly clean.

Good base for Hadrianís Wall and Northumberland NP. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Miffin 6 reviews from this member

 We are new to trailer tenting so gave it a good bash in 2019. We did 10 or more sites. However, this came out our favourite.

Nice level pitches. Well run, great and helpful staff. Great toilet and shower facilities with all pitches circled around them.

Nice walk through the fields to Acomb for pubs etc. Can walk to Hexham but we didn't do that one. Nice little pub/hotel The Miners just a short walk up the road opens at 6.

Great doggie walks. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Adamedwardsteather 30 reviews from this member

 We cycled here along the Hadrian's Cycleway. Hexham sites are both up hills and this site was better for a day ride out to see the Chesters Roman Fort.

This is a big site much of which is given over to static units. What works well is that the wooded site splits everything up into smaller sections. As cycling campers we had our own small clearing in the trees, separeated from others and car free.

There is a security barrier to stop car movements after 23:00 and before 07:00 which is appreciated. There are a few basics on sale at reception who also do teas and coffees.

The two facilities blocks were very good and kept very clean. No push button timer showers, although the shower heads are quite small so on a cold morning you have to keep moving about as you can't keep your whole body under the hot water. The kitchen sinks outside have no plugs on the assumption everyone has a washing up bowl, which is a luxury on a tandem.

There is a bridleway track out of the site to the north west which we used to get to Chesters but expect to push some bits. To the east there is a pub on the road to the site but this does not do food, so if like us you wanted to eat out you needed to cycle home from Hexham up hill for 3 miles after. The site news said fish and chip vans do visit but there was no information as to when. Please advertise the dates!

A good well run efficient and well kept site. Location easier if you have a car. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Wherenext 32 reviews from this member

 We chose this site to access Hadrians Wall and be near a small town. Both of these were fulfilled from this site. However we didn't enjoy our stay on the site itself. Tourers are pitched in one of two circular areas with tent campers having a green to pitch on.

The pitches themselves were adequate but we don't agree with some of the previous reviews regarding cleanliness or care of the site. When we arrived someone had washed some fruit under the drinking water tap. No problem except the some of the fruit remained in the grid until we left proving that no-one had bothered to clean the area.

The laundry area was a disgrace. I wouldn't have washed our dishes in the sink provided. We did on our third day see someone with some cleaning materials enter the area but he was out in less than a minute. The dishwashing area was similarly ignored over a weekend and the bins remained unmerited.

The Elsan emptying point was disgusting. This was at a time when school was half terms so the place was packed so staff should have been emptying and cleaning even more than normal. Admittedly the shower area was cleaned daily but not to any great degree.

The staff didn't really seem overly concerned with the tourers as the majority of the stayers were seasonal and obviously this is where they get their money from. We left earlier than anticipated and won't bother returning. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Janiep 1 review from this member

 What a lovely site.

Well kept. Lovely little cafe and outdoor seating area. Showers and toilets were immaculate. Wardens were helpful and very security conscious. Safe for kids to play. We will definitely be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Jonathan dodds 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely site surrounded by countryside and trees for cover from the wind. The toilets and showers are nice and clean. We only stayed for one night with the kids souly because there is nothing at all for them to do which leads me onto the bad bits.

There is no playground, yeah there is a lot of open space but there are signs everywhere saying no ball games or frizbys. There were a lot of cars moving around late at night and a bit of noise from over the back of us, the wardens leave site at 5 so no one to police the rules.

Just to further with wardens, they are like good cop, bad cop 🤔 the bloke is a nice bloke and very polite and helpful but gets brought down by Pam with her confrontational aggressive bad attitude and specially infront of 5 year old kids. The lady really needs some people skills and learn to talk to people respectfully especially in the line of job she is in.

Other than this a good family night away with the kids for our first night away in our first caravan. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nicmel 1 review from this member

 Me and the wife discovered this gem of a park a couple of years ago and canít fault it. Itís less than an hours drive from our home and we feel a world away. The owners and staff are all lovely and welcoming.

They care about all of their guests and do their best to make sure site rules are adhered to which is reassuring and avoids the worry of rowdy people spoiling your stay. Site is beautifully kept including grounds and facilities and the location is a gateway to amazing days out.

Also great for walking dogs both from the site or further afield. One of our favourite sites to visit and we will return every year without fail love it! Nicola and Mel and pooches 


Previous     67 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Fallowfield Dene Camp Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Fallowfield Dene Camp Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Fallowfield Dene Camp Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hexham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5314 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement