Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Fallowfield Dene Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > Northumberland > Hexham > Fallowfield Dene Camp Site > Reviews

Fallowfield Dene Camp Site
Nr Acomb
Hexham
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE46 4RP
Tel: 01434 603553
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 160
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/01/2025
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 70 Reviews
                8/10 from 70 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  70 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Niranu 1 review from this member

 Backpacking Hadrianís Wall we got a bus (£2) from Chesterís Roman Fort to Hexham and a taxi from the station to the campsite (£9) to this dream of a campsite.

Flat pitches, swanky toilet block with laundry room, showers and hairdryers.

Fabulous staff and the most picturesque wooded site.

It was quiet, had a happy feeling and felt super safe.

Would go back again just for a holiday there. Loved it! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Tazsmum 41 reviews from this member

 Just turned up here after following campsite signs en route home. Plenty of space, midweek, and good welcome.

Most expensive pitch in a month of travelling and the only one that charged for the dog.

Facilities fine, dog walk overgrown, but good 3+ miles circular walk covering the local village.

Not aware of childrenís facilities, and lots of seasonal and residential pitches. 


Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: CampervanGill 9 reviews from this member

 I chose this site because I was visiting a friend in Hexham so location was important. It is in a lovely area for walking and /or cycling so I will definitely return as I didnít have the opportunity to explore the local area.

The site is clean and tidy with level pitches. The staff were helpful and provide a plan of the site so itís easy to find your way round. Plenty of water taps, and a chemical toilet disposal point which is easy to use.

I used my own facilities (shower and toilet) so canít comment on the campsite ones, but I heard form my neighbours that they were clean.

It wasnít busy when I visited and the only anti-social behaviour I witnessed was a dog owner in a caravan who let her dog poo on a grassy tent pitch - not very pleasant for the incoming campers. This type of behaviour is clearly out of the control of the campsite so perhaps they need to make it clear to dog owners that dogs should be kept away from the grass pitches.

The approach to the campsite is along very narrow country lanes with only a few (not enough!) passing places so make sue youíre aware of the best route for whatever vehicle you are driving. Iím in a small-ish campervan which wasnít too much of a problem but I wouldnít fancy doing the same route with a larger vehicle or caravan! Again, this is out of the control of the campsite, but maybe a bit of a warning on the website or when people are making a telephone booking.

I thought the site fees were reasonable, particularly at a time when all campsites seem to be increasing their prices to unreasonable levels, particularly for electric hook up for solo travellers like me. Iíd like to see metered supplies so that I only pay for what I use!  


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: G30ffb 1 review from this member

 Canny site located near to Hexham, Northumberland. Site has an electronic barrier for site security and a one way system around the site which seems to work well.

Facilities were nice and clean and situated in an ideal place for the touring pitches. There are numerous public footpaths around the site as well as a short dog walking area on site.

Booking online was straight forward though if phoning for enquiries etc they have limited periods of calling.

Access to the site can be tricky as it is down a single tracked road with few passing places. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jrobwa 1 review from this member

 Nice site. Well maintained.

Due to covid 19 shop was closed.

Toilet/Showers were open hand sanitiser outside but nothing to clean showers after use. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: ALH1 34 reviews from this member

 Firstly the likes. Toilets and showers were good, reduced capacity with good sanitation on the way in and out. Showers were lovely and hot although my husband says the water pressure in the gents wasnít too good.

Pitches were quite generous with 16amp electric.

There are walks and cycles from the door.

Wardens are lovely.

Dislikes. Scores of children (we were there over a weekend) running around with no social distancing, majority unsupervised, playing ball games when it clearly states not allowed.

Large number of what we call Ďlifersí who were very noisy congregating in the evenings until late.

No shops within easy walking for supplies (we knew this and wasnít a problem for us). 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 641 reviews from this member

 We used the site as a base for the Hexham fireworks.

Large site with mainly seasonal tourers and statics.

Improved facilities since the last time I was here - heated and spotlessly clean.

Good base for Hadrianís Wall and Northumberland NP. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Miffin 9 reviews from this member

 We are new to trailer tenting so gave it a good bash in 2019. We did 10 or more sites. However, this came out our favourite.

Nice level pitches. Well run, great and helpful staff. Great toilet and shower facilities with all pitches circled around them.

Nice walk through the fields to Acomb for pubs etc. Can walk to Hexham but we didn't do that one. Nice little pub/hotel The Miners just a short walk up the road opens at 6.

Great doggie walks. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Adamedwardsteather 42 reviews from this member

 We cycled here along the Hadrian's Cycleway. Hexham sites are both up hills and this site was better for a day ride out to see the Chesters Roman Fort.

This is a big site much of which is given over to static units. What works well is that the wooded site splits everything up into smaller sections. As cycling campers we had our own small clearing in the trees, separeated from others and car free.

There is a security barrier to stop car movements after 23:00 and before 07:00 which is appreciated. There are a few basics on sale at reception who also do teas and coffees.

The two facilities blocks were very good and kept very clean. No push button timer showers, although the shower heads are quite small so on a cold morning you have to keep moving about as you can't keep your whole body under the hot water. The kitchen sinks outside have no plugs on the assumption everyone has a washing up bowl, which is a luxury on a tandem.

There is a bridleway track out of the site to the north west which we used to get to Chesters but expect to push some bits. To the east there is a pub on the road to the site but this does not do food, so if like us you wanted to eat out you needed to cycle home from Hexham up hill for 3 miles after. The site news said fish and chip vans do visit but there was no information as to when. Please advertise the dates!

A good well run efficient and well kept site. Location easier if you have a car. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Wherenext 39 reviews from this member

 We chose this site to access Hadrians Wall and be near a small town. Both of these were fulfilled from this site. However we didn't enjoy our stay on the site itself. Tourers are pitched in one of two circular areas with tent campers having a green to pitch on.

The pitches themselves were adequate but we don't agree with some of the previous reviews regarding cleanliness or care of the site. When we arrived someone had washed some fruit under the drinking water tap. No problem except the some of the fruit remained in the grid until we left proving that no-one had bothered to clean the area.

The laundry area was a disgrace. I wouldn't have washed our dishes in the sink provided. We did on our third day see someone with some cleaning materials enter the area but he was out in less than a minute. The dishwashing area was similarly ignored over a weekend and the bins remained unmerited.

The Elsan emptying point was disgusting. This was at a time when school was half terms so the place was packed so staff should have been emptying and cleaning even more than normal. Admittedly the shower area was cleaned daily but not to any great degree.

The staff didn't really seem overly concerned with the tourers as the majority of the stayers were seasonal and obviously this is where they get their money from. We left earlier than anticipated and won't bother returning. 


Previous     70 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Fallowfield Dene Camp Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Fallowfield Dene Camp Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Fallowfield Dene Camp Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hexham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4741 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement