Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Fallowfield Dene Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Hexham > Fallowfield Dene Camp Site Reviews

Fallowfield Dene Camp Site
Nr Acomb
Hexham
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE46 4RP
Tel: 01434 603553
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 160
Open: March To January

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 59 Reviews
                8/10 from 59 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  59 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Janiep 1 review from this member

What a lovely site.

Well kept. Lovely little cafe and outdoor seating area. Showers and toilets were immaculate. Wardens were helpful and very security conscious. Safe for kids to play. We will definitely be back.
via mobile

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nicmel 1 review from this member

Me and the wife discovered this gem of a park a couple of years ago and canít fault it. Itís less than an hours drive from our home and we feel a world away. The owners and staff are all lovely and welcoming.

They care about all of their guests and do their best to make sure site rules are adhered to which is reassuring and avoids the worry of rowdy people spoiling your stay. Site is beautifully kept including grounds and facilities and the location is a gateway to amazing days out.

Also great for walking dogs both from the site or further afield. One of our favourite sites to visit and we will return every year without fail love it! Nicola and Mel and pooches

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Magsie 32 reviews from this member

A large site, mostly permanent caravans, tucked away in the forest at the end of a single track road - unsuitable for larger outfits. Convenient for visiting Hadrian's Wall, Corbridge or Hexham if you have a car.

The WC/showers are good (apart from the fiddly entry codes). The laundry has one washer and one drier, and hanging washing outside is strictly forbidden. The wash-up sinks are outside.

The free WiFi zone is only by Reception, where I was told I could sit on a bench outside (in the pouring rain, with no shelter and no table). Reception sold basic items and hot drinks.

Overall, not a very friendly place, with notices everywhere about what is and is not allowed.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jillhomeuk 21 reviews from this member

If you like rules, this is the place for you! It is a lovely site, and the wardens were very friendly and helpful. Facilities were great.

Our 2 children were a little bored, as there is not really anywhere for them to play, but we knew this when we booked. Fabulous area to visit.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Msnelson 1 review from this member

The hosts at this site are amazing! They were able to fit me in at the last minute when my initial plans fell through. In addition, they offered to pick me up from along the Hadrian's Wall trail and return me to the Wall trail the next morning.

They even let me tag along on their grocery run to Hexham so I could get a few things for my trail provisions! I couldn't have hoped for a better welcome and assistance from them.

Yes, the site is a bit of a detour from the trail. But, as Hadrian's Wall walker, the staff, facilities (soft grass, free showers and paid laundry on-site!), and price make it totally worth it. I would strongly recommend this site.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jools7890 3 reviews from this member

We booked to go here after seeing it on the way home from a disastrous camping trip at another site in May. We arrived at the campsite earlier than planned and Jill, who had just come on duty, kindly let us on and showed us down to our pitch, which had electric hookup.

Can't say enough about the site. Everyone was friendly, the site is kept clean and tidy. The toilets, showers and washbasins, of which there are ample for a site this size were kept beautifully clean. We felt really safe leaving out tent each day when we went off on our travels - very handy for Hadrian's Wall and the forts.

The barrier to the site, accessed by a swipe card that you are issued on booking in is a really good idea. There are plantings of new trees and shrubs put in around the road, which we thought was really nice - shows they care about the site.

Hardly any noise at night - again, the wardens check round and there's a number on the site instructions you're given, so if you have a problem, you just call and it's sorted.

There's a small shop selling the basics on site, where you can also get a cup of tea or coffee and pick up wi-fi, which is the only downside of the site that we found, but we can live without wifi for a few days!

We'll definitely be visiting here again.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: NEJane 25 reviews from this member

Stayed here one night, on our way to the Borders. I liked the location and wardens were very friendly.

Neither my son or I had any issues with the facilities but we were amused by one sign in each block indicating that they had put as much information onto it as possible to avoid plastering signs everywhere. Great until we both looked at the five other signs posted on the walls, each in a different vibrant colour!

That amused both of us. As it was a night-halt, we hadn't had time to go out and explore the site properly. On leaving the next morning and, having to follow the one-way system right through the site, we were a bit disappointed to see lots of unkempt, green caravans, standing 'here and there', obviously seasonal but looking very neglected.

Some areas on site were a bit 'gypsy campish' too - cluttered and a bit untidy, in other words. Pity as it could be a really lovely site if a little care was taken, in some areas.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Carl_birkenshaw 4 reviews from this member

If your are looking for a site as a family, then note here there is no park, or any play areas, children are not allowed to play ball games of any description, you're also not allowed to play any frisbies so apart from ride there bikes around a circle on the site that's pretty much it for children. Warden we met was not a friendly guy at all just liked the authority route, pointing to signs and walking away.

We arrived on site to be greeted by a lady who was nice, she walked us to our pitch for 2 nights and pointed to a pitch that I can only describe as a car park. When I asked if we could move to a pitch with some grass around it, I was moved to a area shaded by trees although pitches were available without trees shadowing the Motorhome. On questioning mr warden said it's only April ! As if sun does not rise in sky till June or July, temp out side was 18į and a glorious day. We accepted the pitch and moved our chairs to middle of grass area nowhere near our motorhome to get some sun for rest of the day.

The site is pleasant, you must vacate pitch by 11. 30 this is a positive, you are not allowed to check in until 2pm a negative, dogs must be kept on a lead at all times, no washing lines although we did not have one but if you want to dry clothes there are signs pointing to use the laundry area. 16 amp supply for hook up, shop was not well stocked, couple things on shelves, understood if it was 1st week of season ! As the local village shop does not open on Sundays you must make sure you have what you need. The web site says it has a cafe, this was nowhere to be seen in April when we arrived !

There is a nice walk in the village with a superb Sunday lunch in the Queens Head

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sdnpk 2 reviews from this member

Very disappointing, the poorest site we've been to in 3 years.

Shabby pitches, a mixture of rubble, weeds & compacted earth. Planters & central beds were full of weeds, no flowers.

Showers and toilets clean but showers dark during the day.

A tatty, dismal place, we were relieved to leave.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 505 reviews from this member

This site is a good base for visiting Hexham and Hadrian's Wall.

Warden was friendly and helpful. Facilities were fine, though a little dated and unkempt, as was much of the site.

Overall, a pleasant site.

Previous     59 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3963 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019