Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Yont The Cleugh Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Site Reviews

Yont The Cleugh Caravan Park
Coanwood
Haltwhistle
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE49 0QN
Tel: 01434 320274
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 67 Static plus 20 Seasonal
Open: 01/03 To 31/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 29 Reviews
                8/10 from 29 Reviews

Photos (21)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  29 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ribbed Tickler 7 reviews from this member

This site is lovely and peaceful - Ideal for a quiet getaway and a break with your better half, but there are a few improvements which could be made.

Showers / Toilets

Apparently the owners have plans to build a new block near the tourers, but have been hindered by planning permission. This should really be sorted, as the current toilets - although clean - are small, dated and shared by the users of the on site bar. I was using the shower one night when I had the pleasure of 2 'guests' from the bar popping in to use the toilets

Access Road

The road from the entrance to the tourers is in need of repair.

Ongoing Work

There's a new area for tourers in the process of being built - but nothing seems to have moved for a long time. Piles of stones / sand, but no work being done.

Pitch Facilities - Water

Some of the pitches against the back fence have their own tapped water supplies. We were told they don't pay any more for this, so doesn't really seem fair. It would be nice for all pitches to have a water tap.

Pitch Facilities - TV

TV reception is very hard to come by. TV ariel sockets have been on other sites we've stayed on who suffer similarly, and it's a great benefit.

Lighting

The walk from the bar / reception / toilets can be very dark, as there's only one light along the whole route. The water access point could also do with a light as if you run out of water late at night and don't have a torch you may be eaten by monsters of the night.

WiFi

Everywhere has free WiFi these days - shame this place doesn't. No point in trying dongles etc either, as reception for mobile phones is very limited. Free WiFi would be a great asset.

Onsite Bar

The bar itself is fine in the summer nights when events are held outside and there is plenty room, but can be cramped in the colder months with the regulars. As mentioned earlier, the toilets could do with being sorted out - you currently have to leave the bar, walk out into the courtyard and into the toilets used by the tourers / campers.

I understand the owners had been waiting for the electricity company to finish some work before carrying out some of the improvements, but nothing seems to happen very quickly there.

Hopefully some of their improvement work can be completed over this coming winter and we may pay another visit again next year - as this is a nice park, but it could be a great park.

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DEBBIEANDY1 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from this little gem of a campsite.

The toilets and showers although small are very clean and tidy. The 2 showers are spacious and have plenty of hot water. Whilst we were there there were no queues for either. The majority of units are statics or seasonal pitches, everyone is really friendly, especially the owners who are making some really good improvements to the site.

There is a bar on site, with a separate adults only area, but unfortunately we did not get chance to try it out. The bar sounded quiet and peaceful, there was no loud music or drunken behaviour on site.

Haltwhistle is approx 4 miles away, it has a few take-aways, we tried both the Indian and one of the Chip shops both were excellent. Co-op sells everything that you need.

We visited Hadrians wall, which was only 1. 5 miles from Haltwhistle, Hexham which has many shops, Alston which was a lovely old market town with a steam railway. The scenery in this area is breathtaking. If and when we get chance to return we will definitely do some hill walking.

All in all a really relaxing weekend, the campsite has everything that you require.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 4sters 5 reviews from this member

This is a cracking site we visited at Easter. Set in a lovely location 'on the banks' of the North Pennines, not far from Hadrians Wall.

The site is surrounded by mature conifers and borders a gushing stream down the hill side, comprises some old farm buildings which have been converted into an office, a lovely cosy bar in an old barn, launderette and tourist information.

The site has 60-odd statics, some splendid looking private lodges, children's play area camping area and a hard standing touring area.

There are horses in a near field and some slightly strange looking ducks - half chicken half duck- for the little ones into animals, plus the owner's pet parrot who makes an appearance.

Showers and toilets were clean (if a little walk from the touring area) and the on-site, in-barn bar had a lovely atmosphere on Easter Saturday eve with a quiet adults lounge upstairs in the barn and separate pool table room for the kiddie pool sharks.

The owners had organised Easter activities for the kids and it was nice to see families out and about taking part in the Easter egg hunt on Easter Sunday.

The owners seem to have been working hard to improve the site in recent times and credit to them, they were also very friendly and helpful.

Depends what you want of course but this is a 'bonny' relaxing, quiet site, still with oodles of potential, in a lovely part of the world run by friendly decent folk.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sparkleandstar 7 reviews from this member

Lovely little site. Has a lovely tranquil feel to the place. Local countryside is beautiful.

We felt it offered excellent value for money and found the owner very welcoming.

Good hard standings. Water and waste points within good distance of caravans. Toilet block was spotlessly clean and had plenty of hot water when we used them. They also have a small room with books and DVD's to borrow for free.

We didn't get the opportunity to use the bar as it wasn't open the days we stayed. However it did look very welcoming from through the window.

Was fairly windy and wet when we stayed but the trees around the site offered good protection.

Will certainly be going back.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dusty51 2 reviews from this member

This is a return visit under the new owners Barrie and Wayne, both still extremely pleasant and helpful, Barrie will even park your caravan for you if necessary. Showers still plenty of hot water, with now one new large shower and one smaller one in each block. Everything kept very clean with plenty of toilet rolls.

Tents now have their own area separate from the caravans which is an improvement. Nice grassed area for children playing with balls and a small set of goal posts. The children's swings etc. Are one of the improvements planned for next year.

There is a nice cosy pub on site open at weekends with friendly service and reasonable prices, they also have occasional entertainment.

There are two small supermarkets in Haltwhistle with a small variety of other shops, there are also cafes and 'takeaways'.

We visited various sites on the Roman Wall, had a ride on the railway at Alston, enjoyed a swim in the wonderful outdoor pools in Haltwhistle and had plenty of exercise with all walking you can do in the area.

A great holiday with amazingly good weather, we will be back.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Frederico 47 reviews from this member

We stayed here at the bank holiday weekend with a folding camper. The owner, Barry, was very friendly. He took us to the place he had arranged for us, with hard standing and grass for the awning. He helped me maneuver the camper into place. We had not put up the awning before and a man from a resident touring caravan came over to help. The showers were clean and easy to use but no room to get dressed so I used a toilet cubicle. Toilets were clean. Haltwhistle is a few minutes drive with two good supermarkets. The bar was open with a good choice of drinks at sensible prices and good service. There was a good atmosphere with campers and resident caravaners mixing well. Barry had organised a female singer for the Saturday night. My wife and I were joined by three sons, wives and five children 10,8,3,1 and 6 months. We had a large tent as well as the camper. The family played Cricket and football on grassed area. The playground could be better. Some of the family went to the swimming pool in Haltwhistle. We enjoyed our weekend and will definitely return.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dhaysi 3 reviews from this member

After searching several sites and ringing around this was the only site near to home that had availability with ehu we didn't want to travel to far with our first outing of our new Sunncamp shadow 800 I rang and spoke to Barrie who as extremely friendly and took our payment over the phone. We arrived on Friday and met Wayne and Monti (the parrot). Wayne showed us to the tent field and showed us where to pitch our tent, it was very boggy at the far end under the trees were. There is no ehu, but it doesn't get a lot of sun with regards to the trees giving it so much shade. We found a fairly level spot and pitched our tent.

The site is rural but I really like that aspect. There are two showers which are a bit of a squeeze but nothing that cant be worked around and 4 toilets. They were clean and tidy and always had plenty of toilet roll. The water was lovely and hot. There is a hairdrier which is 20p a shot. There is a laundry which a washing machine, drier and also an iron and ironing board we didn't use these facilities either, but nice to know they are on site

The office does have a small selection of pop, beers and sweets and crisps there is a little information area with leaflets about whats in the area also a selection of books, games to borrow too.

The bar wasn't open very often we went on the Saturday night and there was a singer on she was good and sang for free but asked for donation for the Air Ambulance the prices were good there is an upstairs with a table football and a pool table downstairs.

The park itself is kept very clean and tidy I never saw any rubbish or anything around the park.

There is a separate field with a goal post which my son loved and also prevents the kids hitting anyones tent too.

Overall we found this site really really nice and would definitely go back.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sushiguru 2 reviews from this member

As described previously this is a small and reasonably remote campsite; the site has recently been taken over by Barry and is run with his son - both extremely pleasant and helpful.

On arrival we were shown where to set up - unfortunately out of reach of the EHU due to a caravan having to stay an extra night (ill health; the owners, not the caravan.).

However, Barry produced an extension and we were able to setup at the bottom of the touring field. First night had an extremely rowdy group of females who sang drunkenly and off-key into the small hours of the morning (x-factor material they were not) - Barry spoke to them and we didn't hear a peep from them again.

The bottom end of the field is extremely wet when it rains and we ended up with what can only be described as a 6' deep puddle of mud under the tent over half of the living area. At the earliest opportunity we moved the tent 8 feet into the middle of the park where the ground was much firmer.

The site slopes gently from top to bottom and from the road to the trees; generally, stay away from the very bottom corner and you'll be OK. The road side is better then the tree side. The site needs better drainage for surface water overall.

Contrary to an earlier review, we found that the surrounding trees offered excellent shelter from the winds - quite high at times - and the location is lovely and quiet.

Our children (6 & 4) played on the wee football pitch happily, and the swings, but we were mostly occupied off-site; the area has loads to offer and all within an hour's drive from the site we went horse-riding, fishing, swimming, and took a wander round Haltwhistle.

For swimming, we went to Hexham since it was tipping it down and didn't fancy the open-air pool at Haltwhistle, though it looks fab.

The on-site playground needs attention; there are only a few swings and some climbing bars. Some wooden climbing toys / fort / slide etc wouldn't go amiss, and a bunch of bark as groundcover and we'd happily send the kids there to play. As it stands it's a little spartan and young kids will need close supervision - another area for development?

As has also been mentioned, the showers lack a little in space: not a problem if you're happy using the rest of the space as a communal changing area but more of an issue if you like your privacy. Barry has stated that this is in his development plan. Water is hot, free, and plenty of it.

I nipped into the bar for a swift pint and it was grand. If we didn't have the kids with us, I would have been more often. My kids were enthralled with Barry's parrot, Monti. Please say 'good-bye' to him lots, as he currently only knows how to say 'hello'!

Overall, this is a good site, well positioned to explore the area, and hopefully it will be developed on a bit. We will return again.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bernard0166 1 review from this member

An excellent friendly site quiet and well maintained, facilities were small but showers had plenty of hot water with decent pressure and cleaned regularly.

The pub on site was pleasant but only opened fri, sat and sun lunch but it did not spoil our stay. No on site shop but haltwhisle only 4 miles away and close to hexham were we used the local leisure centre which was excellent,

would definitely go back and will recommend it to my friends.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gonetothedogs 1 review from this member

Just returned from our first ever family camping break at Yont Cleugh and apart from the weather everything else was brilliant. The Owners of the site are very friendly and offered us help with our tent although none was needed (just).

Small playground for the kids as well as horses to pet and places to explore kept them busy. Pub open at the weekends. Definitely would return

Previous     29 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Northumberland   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1952 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019