Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Wansbeck Riverside Caravan Park And Glamping

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > Northumberland > Ashington > Wansbeck Riverside Caravan Park And Glamping > Reviews

Wansbeck Riverside Caravan Park And Glamping
Wansbeck Riverside
Ashington
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE63 8TX
Tel: 01670 518866
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 2
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 69 Reviews
                8/10 from 69 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  69 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: February 2020 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 0 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 We're delighted to advise that we've been advised this site is under new management and will be reopening in 2020. They are currently taking static caravans on the site, and the cafe is scheduled to be open by Easter. They are taking touring caravans in the future however at the time of writing those pitches are under development. 


Date of Visit: February 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note, the owners have advised that as of 2012 this site is closed until further notice, with a view to being sold. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: B073F 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a two day stay here. Toilets could do with a re-vamp but the water was very hot {basic}. The site could do with a bit T/L/C to bring it up to scratch. E/H/U/ were available. On site kids park slides, climbing frames and swings, the grand-kids loved it {6} of them.

Great for walkers and bird watchers, pubs, shops and chippy/take aways just 5/10 mins {walking}morrisons 5 mins in car. Took kids to Newbiggin-by-sea 4 mile away.

it kept the kids happy. That kept us happy.

Loads of places to visit ie Dunstanbourgh and Bambourgh castle, s Craster village Alnwick gardens all just a few mile away.  


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chis5 3 reviews from this member

 Read all the reviews about this site before we went and 100% were right about the toilets which where portable cabin and the toilet doors opened in over, which was a bit of a tight fit to try and get in and get them shut. Not many toilets with locks on, the water was boiling hot too hot! there was never a queue.

But that's the end of the bad points. This is a lovely quiet site with pitches which you can go to tent field or pitches which are separate with hedges between which are great!

Have small shop plus there is a huge asda 24hrs just 5 mins away in car, plus loads of other shops as it's right near the city centre.

The campsite had a nice walk for us and our dogs down by the river you could walk for miles! people were lovely, site very clean and tidy, no noise after 11 o'clock was as though the site went on mute!

A great time all round, would defo go again, they just need those toilet blocks sorted out, which would make a huge difference. Would give 8 1/2 out of 10. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 1st time camper 6 reviews from this member

 Very friendly wardens with a handy little shop for essentials. Plenty of hot water and toilets with paper although the units are dated.They were clean.

We were given the choice of private plots (area surrounded by trees) or a field, as first timers with two small children we decided on the private plots and loved it. The children loved the park/playground and were in the splash pool within minutes. Situated right on the river, wonderful walks either way. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tomdix1 1 review from this member

 Excellent site, facilities good, shower blocks were not as bad as expected after reading some reviews on here, they were adequate with hot running water and never running out of paper etc. Dated yeah but very clean, come on guys your camping!

Its our first time at this site but definitely will be returning. Ian and Tracey were helpful in every way even opening the site shop out of hours for us. We stayed for 2 nights but would have loved to have stayed longer but work commitments didn't allow.

The kids had a great time chasing rabbits and walking along the riverside. Trip to the beach was a good day out too then having tea at the local shack n tackle pub before returning to our tent and relaxing with a couple (few) beers. Would definitely recommend this campsite to anyone. Well done. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sixchannel 6 reviews from this member

 Really have mixed feelings about this site. It is graded 2 Stars which is probably just about fair.

The Location is superb in the middle of the Wansbeck Country & Wildlife Park and just few metres away, down the hill, (yes- the Site is on a decided slope) is a wide and beautiful bend in the Wansbeck river. Gorgeous.

However, having spent some time there, visiting family in the area and sight-seeing, a few things should be noted.

The road through to the bottom of the site is shaped like a saxophone with pitches on either side. There are areas for non-electric tenters at various points too, including one field down actually by the river. Let no-one kid you that this site is level. Even in our bay, supposedly one of the more level ones, I had to use a levelling ramp under one wheel. The drop from Entrance to bottom of the site is around 50-80 feet.

The pitches are in tree-lined 'bays' of around 8 meters wide which makes for good privacy, although they are pretty shallow. Long units would have difficulty in fitting in. Caution here for whatever reason dreamed up by the Council the 'trees' are cotoneaster (OK), Hawthorn (with its viscous long thorns) and Dog Rose (also with many long and sharp thorns) and are really not suitable for use where there are going to be children.

The base is hard rough concrete with cross shaped patches every 20cm or so, through which you should be able to peg an awning down. We managed it after a quite inordinate amount of time trying to find the areas we could peg into. I'm sure the idea was that these cross shaped patches would grow grass which would look pretty and stand out but the reality is that many of the pitches are just dust bowls and a MUD bowl as soon as it rains.

Pitch cleanliness was poor on our pitch and we spent an hour collecting up dozens of cigarette ends and bottle tops and general detritus from previous occupants, before we were happy to lay our groundsheet on it.

Quite a high light level at night from the street lamp style sodium lights possibly a good thing considering the unwelcome visitors.

The Toilet Block. Oh Dear! This is a Portable loo of many years vintage, probably put there when the site was first opened. NO money has been spent on it since. To the Credit of the site wardens it was always clean but the place is falling to bits. Shower doors are rotting as the water gets into the MDF door bottoms.

The shower cubicles by any modern standards are extremely shallow, front to back and narrow a rotund or obese person would stand no chance. Of the 4 in the Mens side, two did not have any locks. Same for the toilet compartments themselves no lock on one of the three. Sing loudly, chaps! On the positive side, there was always lashing of (too) hot water when ever you wanted it and an electric hand drier that 'worked' unlike many sites we have been on.

Unwanted visitors - Despite its rural feel, the site is quite close to the towns of Ashington, Guide Post etc and others in the area. On one occasion, around 10.30pm a group of 6 youths casually sauntered through the site and then sat on the wooden bench outside the Loo block, hoods up, for a while. My wife would not go over unaccompanied, so I called the Warden on his mobile and he removed them from the Site.

The following night at 12.30am or so, and returning from the Loo block, I saw two youths wandering about the tent area, (casing the joint?) When they saw me, they skedaddled up the hill and off the site.

But it was the Friday night that decided us to pack up and move on. It was Bedlam! The site was about 2/3rd full. On the tent area of the Site, apart from children running around completely out of control (and yes -we DO have children of our own), by 10pm there was so much noise and commotion that the Warden made a trip up from his bungalow to ask them to calm it down. Several youths (maybe 'Campers' but I suspect not) were lining up their dead cans of Carlsberg along the path edge by the Loo block as they consumed them from the two 15 packs they had considerately brought with them. As this blocked the access path to the Loos, once again I had to accompany my wife there as the language between the lads was pretty foul and she wasn't happy with the way they were behaving. Nor was I !

Its a rough-and ready site in a lovely location, let down by a total lack of expenditure that no amount of Caring by the Wardens can put right. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Darrylwebb 40 reviews from this member

 Very friendly bloke booked us in.

Site is quite nicely set out with mature plants, and the pitches are all set out with hedges around them making for nice private pitches. At the time of our visit, it was a bit overgrown, but that could well have been sorted by now.

The pitches in our area were all hard-standing.

The site is next to the river, and there's a nice peaceful walk in either direction along the riverbank, but walking into town might be a bit ambitious.

The site office doubles as a small shop stocked with the essentials.

But, like the other reviewers said, the toilet block really casts a cloud over this site. From the outside it looks likes a lorry container, and inside it's really rather grotty. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lisablake 1 review from this member

 Please wansbeck council update the shower block as this is a lovely site to visit for all ages. The staff couldn't be more helpful but the shower block lets the site down

I visit this site every year, more than 4 times a year and it's a great value for money site .I have read a lot of the reviews and they all state the shower block so come on wansbeck council get the builders in

The toilet block down by the river for passing public has been up dated last year so hopefully this year we might see I change in the camping park 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kikis 1 review from this member

 This is the second time I have stayed at Wansbeck Caravan Park and will return time an time again. Very friendly and helpful people who run the site. Lovely walks along the river which will take you to Sandy Bay.

Campsite very clean and tidy, electric hookup if needed, washroom, only downside is the toilets and shower blocks really need updating as the are old and a bit gloomy but always kept clean, this is the only thing that lets the site down. 


Previous     69 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Wansbeck Riverside Caravan Park And Glamping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wansbeck Riverside Caravan Park And Glamping?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Wansbeck Riverside Caravan Park And Glamping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ashington      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3787 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement