Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sandhaven Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Tyne and Wear > South Shields > Sandhaven Caravan Park Reviews

Sandhaven Caravan Park
Sea Road
South Shields
Tyne and Wear   (Browse area)
NE33 2LD
Tel: 0191 454 5594
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 25 Reviews
                7/10 from 25 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  25 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: BRanger5104 12 reviews from this member

We chose this site for two reasons, we were pretty new to caravaning and also I have family in South Shields so if anything was not working on the van or the kids didn't like it we had some options available to us.

The site is immaculate and is geared very much toward static owners, that said the staff were pleasant and helpful and the pitches are a decent size and very level.

Toilets are very clean and the waste/fresh water points are readily accessible. It is a small site and probably best suited to short stays but is ideally placed for the excellent local parks with miniature steam train ride and pedal/rowing boat hire.

The fairground is only a 5 min walk away and the beach area is also close by where there is a lovely elevated walkway with the fantastic Minchellas ice cream parlour that has been serving customers in South Shields for many many years and is well worth a visit.

Overall a pleasant site but due to it's seafront location a bit on the expensive side.

I wouldn't personally visit again but that is only because I only live 30 miles away and have family in the area.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: GMC1958 39 reviews from this member

Wanted a site close to Gateshead and coast so this site looked ideal. I was concerned over the prices for early March and the no refund policy. We made the choice and booked a fully serviced pitch. On arrival all the pitch services were on the opposite side to the caravan and required 7 Metres of waste pipe! Lucky I had enough. Pitch 1 was next to the entrance so road noise was evident. Static owners ignoring speed limits was an issue. The £3. 00 per night for our dog was extremely RIP OFF charging as no dog walk and no dog bin, what was my dog paying for. Toilets were clean, chemical toilet point was unusually high from the floor. Would I travel 400 mile round trip to visit this site? NO WAY. Will probably go to Whitley Bay.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: ChrisnBob 8 reviews from this member

Hmmm, I am finding this just a bit difficult because, yes, the site is well laid out, clean, smart and very central for everything S. Shields has to offer but it is very much geared towards permanent mobile homes with, I am guessing here, about 20 touring sites. The facilities are good. There are water and electricity points every 2 pitches. There are 3 toilet cubicles in the M & F and 2 showers in each (the shower cubicles are small and the tap is on a slow release system (actually quite fast. I pushed it in and just about counted to 10 before it stopped - I had to keep a hand on it to finish my shower). These are kept very clean. In addition, there is a laundry room with the usual washing machine etc. , and 2 sinks, one for washing clothes and the other for washing dishes. Unfortunately, we didn't discover this until the night before we left. We weren't told about it (whatever one of the Wardens seemed to think!) and they do not seem to have an information booklet about the site to hand out.

It is, as others have said, rather pricey but you probably get what you pay for; there are no other costs involved. But we will not be using the site again mainly because when we booked we were asked to pay in full 28 days before our arrival date. We had to sign a form confirming that we would adhere to their terms and conditions, one of which was that in the event we had to cancel, there would be no refund whatsoever; not just keeping the deposit but keeping the whole lot! The other reason is harder to explain: we just didn't feel as comfortable and relaxed as we do at a Caravan Club site. One of the Wardens was very warm and welcoming, the other had a bit of trouble hiding irritation (or perhaps we didn't understand a rather sarcastic sense of humour).

If you have children then it is probably ideal because of its proximity to the beautiful sandy beach, fairground and parks.

South Shields has a lot to offer in terms of events, shopping, the wonderful coastline and proximity to good transport routes but if we return to S Shields next year we will be back to Whitley Bay or maybe Lizard Lane.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Franbee 166 reviews from this member

Reviewers - mature couple with campervan and bikes.

We chose this site for an overnight stay whilst we visited the town, and booked the day before. It is situated near the town centre, across from the beach, with a park on one side and grassland on the other. However the entrance is not off the promenade but at the back of the site on a quiet residential street.

We had parked further out of the town earlier in the morning as I had been told that check in was at 2. 00pm, and cycled in for a look. The warden was very welcoming and pointed out our pitch, backing on to the park, under trees for welcome shade. There was a free concert on in the park, but it finished at 4. 00pm.

The site was immaculately clean and tidy. There are lots of mobile homes, mainly towards the sea side, and a touring area towards the back. The facility block is in the centre behind reception, with separate very clean facilities for men and women. Another room has a laundry sink and a washing up sink.

The town was very busy with lots going on. Nice beach area, park with boating lake and lots of activity space. Cliffs on the south side with grassy public parkland on the top. Free parking there too and a cycle path into town.

I was worried that being in a seaside town centre it might be noisy at night, but it was quiet at the back where we were. Plenty of places to eat in and takeaways nearby.

However it was expensive.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Zackyboy 13 reviews from this member

Beautifully clean site within easy walking distance of the lovely parks, town and the beach area. Good for touring the area. The facilities were always kept clean and tidy although there was no washing-up facilities available. The individual pitches were well laid out and had plenty of room between vans. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The site felt safe and secure. Only downside - a little pricey.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: John+judy 101 reviews from this member

I must admit this is not the location or type of site we would normally choose but we had to come to South Shields for a reunion. What a pleasant surprise! The site itself seems to have been totally redeveloped in the last couple of years, and although largely dedicated to mobile homes these are all modern and smartly laid out in an immaculately maintained grassy area.

Touring pitches are in a minority, placed around the edge of the site, mostly bordering the park next door. The pitches themselves consist of a level concrete pad for the caravan with a gravel area alongside for an awning, and a paved area in front for a car.

Pitches share a tap between two with (at least on our pitch) a waste water point, so virtually fully serviced. Toilet facilities are new and excellent. As other have said, the toilet cassette emptying point is a little higher than usual so I think the lesson is not to allow your tank to get too full/heavy.

There is no play area on the site, though of course the beach and parks are just next door. This resulted in a curious phenomenon that I have also seen elsewhere of kids congregating in and around the toilets.

The other great surprise to us, not having been here before, was how pleasant the surrounding area is. Immediately next to the site is a string of parks, all very well kept by the local council. Although there is a small fun-fair just across the main road this does not characterise the coastline around here.

Firstly there is a long wide stretch of soft sand beach, again very well maintained by the council - it appears to be swept regularly - and which is (or is supposed to be) dog-free for most of the day. After the beach the coast changes to low cliffs and rocky bays with occasional difficult-to-access sandy beaches.

Behind the cliffs is a wide stretch of greenery, though with urban development in the not-too distant. This green area known as the Leas is owned and maintained by the National Trust, as is the Souter lighthouse 3 miles along.

This is well worth a visit and has a very informative guided tour telling the history of the lighthouse and foghorn. We cycled there along the cliff path in about 30 minutes from the site, but note that you canít access the beachside road directly from the site, but only via the main entrance and through the park.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Big Scott 10 reviews from this member

Got the caravan out again after our horrendous Scottish summer and headed down South. What a beautiful, clean, well kept site. The wardens ever so helpful. And with having 2 labs, dog walks aplenty. Will definitely visit this site again.

There are also pubs just 2 mins away and the food is also superb. Tesco express 3 minute walk up through the houses, the bigger stores are only 5 minutes away.

Beach is closed to dogs from 8am to 6pm but there is miles and miles of grass paths.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Very disappointed 3 reviews from this member

This was such a nice site. The wardens were really helpful, suggested places to visit and eat. Everything was really well organised, very clean and we would definitely go back to this site when visiting the area.

There are many places to either get a snack at or more formal eating. Just ask.

It seemed because the site was so pleasant so too were the people staying there. We stayed over the Bank Holiday and although full the site is arranged so you don't feel crowded. There was no pressure on us to leave at a certain time on the day of our departure, although I'm sure if they had been still very busy on the day we departed they may have needed to ask us to move off a bit earlier.

Lots of things to do within walking distance plus plenty of places of interest just a short car ride away.

We would highly recommend this site.

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Acesiena 1 review from this member

Seafront at South Shields, three minute walk to the beach, and Minchellas, THE most delicious ice-cream.

Pitches are all hardstanding, serviced. Toilets / shower exceptionally clean, thanks to the hard working staff. One problem is the waste disposal (toilet waste from the motorhome)) it's too high. , someone who doesn't own a caravan/motorhome has designed it.

Staff are brilliant and will help in any way possible, with any query.

Location is superb. A park/ field on either side of the site, perfect for dog walking, and of course there's the beach too (outside season) There's The Leas, a huge expanse of greenery running for a few mile along to the Souter Lighthouse. Also a plus, the Marsden Grotto (think pirates and smuggling) is at the bottom of the cliff, accessible by lift, or, you can walk.

A bus stops at the gate of the caravan park going into the market at South Shields. Morrisons and Asda / Poundshop/M&S/ B&M etc, also handy are B&Q and Halfords and Wickes.

Plenty of pubs on hand, and places to eat. Sea Hotel do an excellent Sunday lunch, and for a good Indian curry you can't beat the Indian Brassierie on Ocean Road. Which just happens to be next to a brilliant pub, The Pier AND along the road from an award winning fish and chip restaurant / carry out, Colmans.

There's loads of places to see (and sea) from this site, even a Roman fort ! Ask the wardens Ann or Bill for a brochure.

All in all, a brilliant site, one huge fault, in my opinion, is the fact that such a brilliant site does not have wifi (?) They have obviously spent a lot of money on this site, I'm at a loss to understand why they haven't got it ???

8/10 mark because of this. Everything else is a 10/10

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gacaaa3 1 review from this member

1st visit to the site, testing our caravan out, we have been campers for 18 year and recently up graded to a caravan. This is the cleanest we have ever visited. Great location and great Indian food just round the corner. Very good. Very close to the beach and shops, two great pubs very close to the beach. Great area for kids, great scooter park very close, our little 7 year old really enjoyed our first caravan outing.

Previous     25 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Tyne and Wear

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code ďtribukcampsiteĒ to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5296 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019