Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Chester Fairoaks Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Cheshire > Chester > Chester Fairoaks Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Chester Fairoaks Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Rake Lane
Little Stanney
Chester
Cheshire   (Browse area)
CH2 4HS
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 93 Reviews
                9/10 from 93 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  93 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: October 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mjh73 16 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, fantastically situated for a number of amenities in the Chester area!

Facilities were immaculate, as expected! Couldn't have asked for more!

Be aware of where you pitch as you may be subjected to falling acorns! 


Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Merlot65 15 reviews from this member

 One night stopover on way back home to Glasgow. Neat and tidy site with first class modern toilet/shower facilities. 10/15 min walk to shopping outlet with numerous eating places.

We had dinner in Ego restaurant which is ten mins walk from site but has no pavement and got 20% discount as we were staying on the site. Food was delicious.

Friendly check in and will definitely return here to explore area but will try to get a pitch away from the bins/ recycling next time, not great if you wanted a lie in and someone is disposing of their empties at 8am! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Squeky 11 reviews from this member

 Having visited this site many times it quickly became a favourite mostly due to its cleanliness and high standard of Maintenance.

We had not however been for a couple of years and when we visited in June this year we were dismayed to see that

A) the grass had not been cut particularly the area at the back.

B) the whole site looked incredibly scruffy

C) many of the pitches had weeds on them

D) a couple of motor homes were not parked

By the white peg thereby contravening fire regulations

E) the 5mph speed limit around the site was often not adhered to.

Certainly not what we expect from a Caravan & motorhome club site 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: 664DaveS 54 reviews from this member

 We have visited this excellent site before but this is our first visit for a while.

We received a warm welcome from the lovely lady warden and were asked to choose a pitch. It was not busy so plenty on offer!

We had a nice large flat hardstanding at the top of the site overlooking fields behind.

There are plenty of water points and a large spotless warm facility block.

We visited Chesire Oaks as the wife wanted to buy some bits and bobs! Pricey day out. There are plenty of food outlets to take a break in.

You can get the bus to Chester or Liverpool from there, which we have done before having bus passes!

There are 3 pubs in walking distance but be careful on the lane and take a torch after dark.

Some noise from the nearby roads and few aircraft passing over.

Excellent for visiting lovely Chester Liverpool or Ellesmere Port.

TV and phone signals are good and there is CMC WiFi if you have paid! Our subscription had expired but 4G was fine!

Please note arrival time is 1pm now. We arrived later but they had a notice to that effect.

It busy at weekends so outfits could cause blockage on Rakes Lane. The wardens monitor it and get people to pull onto the site past the barrier if they can.

A good site with good access to nearby attractions. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mickproc1 13 reviews from this member

 One of our favourite sites, it is up to the usual high standard we expect from club sites.

It is just across the road from Cheshire Oaks Outlet village, it is about 10-15 minutes walk to the bus stop located in Cheshire Oaks and buses to Liverpool, Chester and Chester Zoo run every 15 minutes.

The Rake pub, which is 200 yards from the site, has recently re-opened under new management as Rake Hall, the atmosphere and food is much improved compared to the cheap and cheerful (sometimes) previous pub.

The only downside to the site is that it is located several hundred yards down Rake lane, which is unlit, doesn't have a pavement and is quite busy, especially around rush hour, a decent torch and visible clothing is a must late afternoons in the winter. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Janes3 1 review from this member

 Me and my husband have stayed on this site several times, What a fantastic site it is,

Toilets are very clean, and the staff are very helpful,

Cannot wait to go back in September and we are also going to book Christmas.

Mr and Mrs sund. 


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: John+judy 111 reviews from this member

 This CAMC site is nicely and spaciously laid out and makes a change from some car-park like club sites. Pitches are level, and thankfully in the showery weather ths year it was possible to find some not under trees.

Covid restrictions were still partly in place during my stay but the toilet block was open, albeit with some limitations. I had the need to add some days to my stay owing to a car problem, but the wardens were very understanding and helpful in letting me stay even though the site was nominally fully booked at the weekend.

The designer outlet is within 15 minutes walking distance - assuming you are not intending buying more bargains than you can easily carry! Be careful walking on Rake Lane though, especialyy in the dark.

The layout of the centre is confusing to the un-initiated, especially by car. Amongst the buses stopping there is the X1 to Liverpool, which makes for a good free day out if you have an English (national?) concessionary bus pass.

A must for many visitors to Fairoaksis is a trip to the zoo, just a few minutes away. I admit to being surprisingly impressed by the quality and spaciousness of the enclosures, and especially enjoyed the lemur experience. Sadly many exhibits were still under lock-down restrictions.

The zoo justifies a full day visit or more. You can also use the P&R adjacent to the zoo to get a bus into Chester - hope you have better weather for this than I did!

I can't comment on child-friendliness, so have scored 5. 


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Janetk 1 review from this member

 Very friendly site very helpful and very convenient for shops buses and pubs couldn't ask for more.

Great help at the reception desk helped with electric lead as ours had disconnected no trouble for the maintenance man to repair

Would recommend site to anyone and come back again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: February 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bessy525 58 reviews from this member

 Good location for shopping, Chester and zoo. North Wales coast within striking distance.

Large flat pitches good freeview and satellite reception, play area for small children on site. Some noise from main road, very little noise from aircraft heading for Manchester airport.

Numerous pubs and restaurants all within walking distance everything from McDonald's to Miller and Carter.

Nearest pub 100 mtrs from entrance closed for refurbishment while we stayed.

Staff excellent very cheerful and knowledgeable about local area. Will be back 
via mobile


Date of Visit: January 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bofs 98 reviews from this member

 We took advantage of a spell of decent winter weather to get away for a few days. Despite heavy rain in the days before our visit, most of the hard-standing pitches were available to use and we had free choice of the many unoccupied ones. The site-managers were friendly and cheerful on arrival and when we saw them around the site.

During our stay we did several walks by the canal, walked to and round Stanney Woods and visited the Cheshire Oaks Retail Outlet, but in addition Chester Zoo, the Blue Planet Aquarium, the Ellesmere Port Waterways museum and of course Chester itself are all close by and easy to get to.

The easy access to the site, 16amp electric hook-ups, level hard-standings, heated, high quality facilities block and proximity to many places to visit, shops, restaurants etc make this an ideal site for winter, as well as summer caravanning, and of course at this time of year the site is much quieter (and cheaper).  


Previous     93 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Chester Fairoaks Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Chester Fairoaks Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Chester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cheshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


26075 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement