Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Chester Fairoaks Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Cheshire > Chester > Chester Fairoaks Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Chester Fairoaks Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Rake Lane
Little Stanney
Chester
Cheshire   (Browse area)
CH2 4HS
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 84 Reviews
                9/10 from 84 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  84 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: February 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bessy525 50 reviews from this member

 Good location for shopping, Chester and zoo. North Wales coast within striking distance.

Large flat pitches good freeview and satellite reception, play area for small children on site. Some noise from main road, very little noise from aircraft heading for Manchester airport.

Numerous pubs and restaurants all within walking distance everything from McDonald's to Miller and Carter.

Nearest pub 100 mtrs from entrance closed for refurbishment while we stayed.

Staff excellent very cheerful and knowledgeable about local area. Will be back 
via mobile


Date of Visit: January 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bofs 76 reviews from this member

 We took advantage of a spell of decent winter weather to get away for a few days. Despite heavy rain in the days before our visit, most of the hard-standing pitches were available to use and we had free choice of the many unoccupied ones. The site-managers were friendly and cheerful on arrival and when we saw them around the site.

During our stay we did several walks by the canal, walked to and round Stanney Woods and visited the Cheshire Oaks Retail Outlet, but in addition Chester Zoo, the Blue Planet Aquarium, the Ellesmere Port Waterways museum and of course Chester itself are all close by and easy to get to.

The easy access to the site, 16amp electric hook-ups, level hard-standings, heated, high quality facilities block and proximity to many places to visit, shops, restaurants etc make this an ideal site for winter, as well as summer caravanning, and of course at this time of year the site is much quieter (and cheaper).  


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: ScoobySnaps 12 reviews from this member

 Nice site who called us a couple of times ahead of our stay to advise of road closure nearby due to tour of Britain.

Told we needed to arrive before 12. 30pm or after 2. 30pm to avoid traffic problems but could not arrive before 12. We arrived 30 mins early, rung ahead and we were welcomed and allowed on pitch.

Nice site, although layout not very picturesque, and pitches are close with only a narrow road between opposite pitches Toilets nice and clean and plenty of showers, although mens loos closed at 10. 15am for cleaning.

Close walking distance across main road to Cheshire oaks outlet, and passing 3 pubs on way back. About 5 miles to chester and we even managed a further day trip to southport too.

Would return if we fancied another close stay to Cheshire oaks but that's all that would attract us to this area again. (expensive as not club members too) 


Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: David Klyne 228 reviews from this member

 This is really just an update to my review of 2014. Excellent welcome from the site staff. Since our last visit the toilet block has been completely refurbished to an excellent standard.

In addition the motorhome waste point has been converted to an open grill type which is much more convenient.

If you wish to leave a motorhome on site there are buses to Chester, and beyond, from the Cheshire Oaks Shopping Centre which is a mile from the site.

If walking with children be aware the first half of the route has no footpath and to get to Cheshire Oaks requires crossing a very busy light controlled road.

For the second time we used the Rake Inn and found the food more than acceptable and very good value.

We tend to eat late afternoon so it is usually less busy then. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: VenessaR 8 reviews from this member

 When I arrived here I was a motorhome and camping virgin and not a member of CMC. The wardens were so incredibly helpful. They even tuned in my TV for me.

This pleasant first experience of motorhoming ignited a passion for it and cost me a lot of money as I bought a grand new motorhome as a result.

The site was immaculate. The shower block was a revelation and none has come up to this standard so far. They reminded me of a 5* hotel I'd stayed in in Berlin the previous year.

There's an enclosed dog walking area, a big hit for me.

I think this site is open all year. It's convenient for M56 but not noisy. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: January 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: The Searles 3 reviews from this member

 We spent three days at Chester last week and were very pleased. The site staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

The facilities were spotless and warm, when it was below zero.

Cheshire Oaks Retail Outlet is less than 15 minutes walk or 5 minutes by bike.

Here you can get a bus to Liverpool or Chester. We cycled the 5. 5 miles into Chester along the canal which was very easy and flat.

A great site. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mitchells 27 reviews from this member

 This is a typical Caravan Club site with large hardstanding pitches. The warden, as previously mentioned was very welcoming even if the weather wasn't! There had been a lot of rain in previous days and quite a number of the pitches were flooded.

This is NOT a cheap site, even mid-week in September (not school holidays)we paid over 25 a night and that was the club members price.

The facilities were the normal Caravan Club high standard.

One thing to mention, which no-one else seems to have done, is that the site lies under the flight path of Liverpool airport and the first flight in the morning is about 5. 45am. Flights go on well into the evening. The site is also very close to the M56 and there is 24/7 road noise which rather spoilt our stay.

Within walking distance of the site are three pubs which all serve meals, the closest one (the Rake)gives discount to club members.

Sadly, even though there is a lot to do in the area, because of the noise I don't think we will be back. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nuevoboy 86 reviews from this member

 We used this site as a stop off on our journey up to Scotland and on arriving we had what I consider to be the friendliest ever greeting form a C&MC warden. She was so cheerful and helpful that we immediately felt at home. On her recommendation we decided to buy a bag of chips from the visiting fish and chip van and they were wonderful.

Sadly, not everyone on site was as friendly, as there was a 'falling out' which necessitated a police presence. Never before have we witnessed anything like that and it took four officers to try and sort the problem out, with apparently further disturbance going on into late evening and there was an uncomfortable atmosphere all the time.

We felt really sorry for the wardens who had to suffer the stress of it all, as it was just the two of them in charge for the night.

There were a lot of 'vans moving pitches in the morning trying to get away for the trouble-makers but thankfully we were only there for one night.

Hopefully such an incident won't ever occur again, but it certainly took the shine off our stay and would think long and hard about revisiting. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: FlintLock 15 reviews from this member

 This was the second time we have visited this site and since our last visit when I met Jonny Vegas, the toilet block has had a revamp and its a very good one to. Our stay was for five nights and we had good weather thankfully. We had our 8 yr old grandaughter with us who enjoyed the play area and the trips out into North Wales. We also took her to Port Sunlight and the Lady Leaver art gallery, free entrance, which she thoroughly enjoyed.

We gave the Zoo and Blue Planet a miss because we have have been on a few occasions to both which are close by, Blue Planet within walking distance from the site.

The zoo is not that far and is also the location for the park and ride into Chester which I recommend using. You can't use your consessonary bus pass on this service but the charge is very reasonable with free parking. There are also discounts for quite a few things in the area, for CC members.

There are three pubs close to the site which do meals.

The Rake is closest and do reasonable meals but the service can be slow and dreadful. One of our meals came with no implements, I. E. Knife and fork to eat with! Its OK at quiet times but when busy the staff have just too much to do.

The Stanney Oaks was the next closest but we only spent less than 15 minutes there because we thought it was wheel them in wheel them out sort of place. We where asked three times, I kid you not, in less than five minutes if we where ready to order. The first time we hadn't sat down proper or looked at the menu so we left for the pub down the road, the Old Hall Farm, where we got great service and a cracking Carvery at a good price. The children's menu is also very good and once you order the children's menu, they will tell you when its coming so you can go for your carvery and eat at the same time. Unless your a big eater, don't get the large one, its big.

So, is Chester Fairoaks site worth a visit, yes as its very close to the motorway and a good base for the Wirral, North Wales and the surrounding area and the usual CC standard. We don't like the retail site, its a much ado about nothing and a lot of the same but its not far if that's your thing. 


Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mogadon69 16 reviews from this member

 This lovely site has a very slight slope but pitches are mainly level, as with all Caravan Club sites it is immaculately kept and spotlessly clean.

There is a small grassed tent area, with room for 4 tents, all other pitches are hardstanding with enough room for caravan, awning and car.

The site is close to the motorway network, therefore very easy to access, however this has its downside, there is some traffic noise, a bit of a permanent low hum, but I imagine this noise will be less during the summer months when the trees on the site perimeter are covered in leaves.

The ablutions block has been recently refurbished, and has ample large shower cubicles, privacy cubicles and toilets along with disabled facilities. The building also houses the laundry room and dishwashing room.

There is a central, adventure type play area which looked very good, but having no children with us, can't really comment.

Cheshire Oaks Outlet is a 10 minute walk from the site, good for shopaholics, with discount big brand shops galore. Also close by is The Blue Planet Aquarium, we spent the best part of a day in there, and thought it was good value, the food, however, is quite expensive. Chester Zoo is about 2 miles away from the site, and a good day out, if a little costly.

There are 3 pubs within easy walking distance of the site, but beware, the road out of the site has no footpath but is well lit, The Rake (part of the Hungry Horse chain) is the closest, just out of the site gates, the food is good value, but the service and cleanliness leave something to be desired, the next closest, The Stanney Oaks (a Harvester) is lovely and clean with pleasant staff, a little further down the road is Old Hall Farm (a Marstons pub) again clean and pleasant, but no customers at 9. 45 on a Friday evening? Both of these establishments require crossing a fairly busy main road so, again, care required.

Chester is close by (about 6 miles) with plenty of large stores and the Rows shopping. You can walk round the city walls, visit the amphitheatre and the castle. The best way is to catch the Park and Ride from just outside the Zoo, free parking and 2 per person for the bus ride, so much less hassle than trying to park in the city centre.

All in all, a lovely site and thoroughly recommended. 


Previous     84 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Chester Fairoaks Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Chester Fairoaks Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Chester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cheshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/03
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3294 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement