Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Chester Fairoaks Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Cheshire > Site Reviews

Chester Fairoaks Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Rake Lane
Little Stanney
Chester
Cheshire   (Browse area)
CH2 4HS
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 81 Reviews
                9/10 from 81 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  81 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: David Klyne 212 reviews from this member

This is really just an update to my review of 2014. Excellent welcome from the site staff. Since our last visit the toilet block has been completely refurbished to an excellent standard. In addition the motorhome waste point has been converted to an open grill type which is much more convenient. If you wish to leave a motorhome on site there are buses to Chester, and beyond, from the Cheshire Oaks Shopping Centre which is a mile from the site. If walking with children be aware the first half of the route has no footpath and to get to Cheshire Oaks requires crossing a very busy light controlled road. For the second time we used the Rake Inn and found the food more than acceptable and very good value. We tend to eat late afternoon so it is usually less busy then.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: VenessaR 8 reviews from this member

When I arrived here I was a motorhome and camping virgin and not a member of CMC. The wardens were so incredibly helpful. They even tuned in my TV for me.

This pleasant first experience of motorhoming ignited a passion for it and cost me a lot of money as I bought a grand new motorhome as a result.

The site was immaculate. The shower block was a revelation and none has come up to this standard so far. They reminded me of a 5* hotel I'd stayed in in Berlin the previous year.

There's an enclosed dog walking area, a big hit for me.

I think this site is open all year. It's convenient for M56 but not noisy.

Date of Visit: January 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: The Searles 3 reviews from this member

We spent three days at Chester last week and were very pleased. The site staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The facilities were spotless and warm, when it was below zero. Cheshire Oaks Retail Outlet is less than 15 minutes walk or 5 minutes by bike. Here you can get a bus to Liverpool or Chester. We cycled the 5. 5 miles into Chester along the canal which was very easy and flat. A great site.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mitchells 23 reviews from this member

This is a typical Caravan Club site with large hardstanding pitches. The warden, as previously mentioned was very welcoming even if the weather wasn't! There had been a lot of rain in previous days and quite a number of the pitches were flooded.

This is NOT a cheap site, even mid-week in September (not school holidays)we paid over 25 a night and that was the club members price.

The facilities were the normal Caravan Club high standard.

One thing to mention, which no-one else seems to have done, is that the site lies under the flight path of Liverpool airport and the first flight in the morning is about 5. 45am. Flights go on well into the evening. The site is also very close to the M56 and there is 24/7 road noise which rather spoilt our stay.

Within walking distance of the site are three pubs which all serve meals, the closest one (the Rake)gives discount to club members.

Sadly, even though there is a lot to do in the area, because of the noise I don't think we will be back.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nuevoboy 69 reviews from this member

We used this site as a stop off on our journey up to Scotland and on arriving we had what I consider to be the friendliest ever greeting form a C&MC warden. She was so cheerful and helpful that we immediately felt at home. On her recommendation we decided to buy a bag of chips from the visiting fish and chip van and they were wonderful.

Sadly, not everyone on site was as friendly, as there was a 'falling out' which necessitated a police presence. Never before have we witnessed anything like that and it took four officers to try and sort the problem out, with apparently further disturbance going on into late evening and there was an uncomfortable atmosphere all the time.

We felt really sorry for the wardens who had to suffer the stress of it all, as it was just the two of them in charge for the night.

There were a lot of 'vans moving pitches in the morning trying to get away for the trouble-makers but thankfully we were only there for one night.

Hopefully such an incident won't ever occur again, but it certainly took the shine off our stay and would think long and hard about revisiting.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: FlintLock 14 reviews from this member

This was the second time we have visited this site and since our last visit when I met Jonny Vegas, the toilet block has had a revamp and its a very good one to. Our stay was for five nights and we had good weather thankfully. We had our 8 yr old grandaughter with us who enjoyed the play area and the trips out into North Wales. We also took her to Port Sunlight and the Lady Leaver art gallery, free entrance, which she thoroughly enjoyed.

We gave the Zoo and Blue Planet a miss because we have have been on a few occasions to both which are close by, Blue Planet within walking distance from the site.

The zoo is not that far and is also the location for the park and ride into Chester which I recommend using. You can't use your consessonary bus pass on this service but the charge is very reasonable with free parking. There are also discounts for quite a few things in the area, for CC members.

There are three pubs close to the site which do meals.

The Rake is closest and do reasonable meals but the service can be slow and dreadful. One of our meals came with no implements, I. E. Knife and fork to eat with! Its OK at quiet times but when busy the staff have just too much to do.

The Stanney Oaks was the next closest but we only spent less than 15 minutes there because we thought it was wheel them in wheel them out sort of place. We where asked three times, I kid you not, in less than five minutes if we where ready to order. The first time we hadn't sat down proper or looked at the menu so we left for the pub down the road, the Old Hall Farm, where we got great service and a cracking Carvery at a good price. The children's menu is also very good and once you order the children's menu, they will tell you when its coming so you can go for your carvery and eat at the same time. Unless your a big eater, don't get the large one, its big.

So, is Chester Fairoaks site worth a visit, yes as its very close to the motorway and a good base for the Wirral, North Wales and the surrounding area and the usual CC standard. We don't like the retail site, its a much ado about nothing and a lot of the same but its not far if that's your thing.

Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mogadon69 15 reviews from this member

This lovely site has a very slight slope but pitches are mainly level, as with all Caravan Club sites it is immaculately kept and spotlessly clean.

There is a small grassed tent area, with room for 4 tents, all other pitches are hardstanding with enough room for caravan, awning and car.

The site is close to the motorway network, therefore very easy to access, however this has its downside, there is some traffic noise, a bit of a permanent low hum, but I imagine this noise will be less during the summer months when the trees on the site perimeter are covered in leaves.

The ablutions block has been recently refurbished, and has ample large shower cubicles, privacy cubicles and toilets along with disabled facilities. The building also houses the laundry room and dishwashing room.

There is a central, adventure type play area which looked very good, but having no children with us, can't really comment.

Cheshire Oaks Outlet is a 10 minute walk from the site, good for shopaholics, with discount big brand shops galore. Also close by is The Blue Planet Aquarium, we spent the best part of a day in there, and thought it was good value, the food, however, is quite expensive. Chester Zoo is about 2 miles away from the site, and a good day out, if a little costly.

There are 3 pubs within easy walking distance of the site, but beware, the road out of the site has no footpath but is well lit, The Rake (part of the Hungry Horse chain) is the closest, just out of the site gates, the food is good value, but the service and cleanliness leave something to be desired, the next closest, The Stanney Oaks (a Harvester) is lovely and clean with pleasant staff, a little further down the road is Old Hall Farm (a Marstons pub) again clean and pleasant, but no customers at 9. 45 on a Friday evening? Both of these establishments require crossing a fairly busy main road so, again, care required.

Chester is close by (about 6 miles) with plenty of large stores and the Rows shopping. You can walk round the city walls, visit the amphitheatre and the castle. The best way is to catch the Park and Ride from just outside the Zoo, free parking and 2 per person for the bus ride, so much less hassle than trying to park in the city centre.

All in all, a lovely site and thoroughly recommended.

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Fat fairy 1 review from this member

One of the most expensive sites in the book. Grass not cut. Weeds in hard standing. No newspapers available. The dog walk, that's a laugh, no more than a dog toilet. Although the main facilities were excellent.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Marshmallowqueen 5 reviews from this member

Just had a lovely few days at this site. The facilities were always clean. It's about a 10-15 mins walk to Cheshire Oaks. There is also easy access to the city and North Wales. You do hear the traffic from the motorway, but it didn't worry me.

For me, the only bad point was that the facilities block has the radio playing all the time. Lovely extra touch during the day but when you nip to the loo at 3am, I really didn't want to hear the radio. I'm glad my pitch was not one of the pitches close to the facilities block because at night you could hear the radio outside, although faintly but anyone who is a light sleeper or perhaps leaves the window open may hear it. I wonder how much the CC spends on the necessary licences to play the radio? I would question whether it adds any value and is it good use of our fee. I would return to the site.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kaut0Bill 17 reviews from this member

Just stayed as an overnight stopover on way to Oxford. The site has been recently upgraded and is a lovely site with excellent facilities. Site is well placed for visiting, Cheshire Oaks Retail Park, Chester, Liverpool or North Wales. There are also 2 or 3 pubs within short walking distance. We will certainly visit again for two or 3 days to visit Chester and Cheshire Oaks.

My only minor criticism would be that we had a problem with our electrics and the wardens were the only unhelpful wardens we have encountered on any camp site never mind Caravan Club sites.

Previous     81 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cheshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3479 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019