Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Birch Bank Farm Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Cheshire > Chester > Birch Bank Farm Camp Site Reviews

Birch Bank Farm Camp Site
Stamford Lane
Christleton
Chester
Cheshire   (Browse area)
CH3 7QD
Tel: 01244 335233
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 10
Open: May To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 38 Reviews
                8/10 from 38 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Waterspanielman 1 review from this member

Just stayed at this campsite, lovely site, people and location, handy for Delamere Forest, Chester, Wirral etc etc.

Working farm with shower and toilet block, electric hookup, excellent value for money and lovely people,

will most definitely be going back again.

£17 for two in a camper van with a dog including electric hookup - excellent value.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Potherb123 7 reviews from this member

Just visited this site, well maintained grass pitches with electric hook ups.

However the toilet/showers need bringing up to date, only one toilet, sink and shower for gents and ladies, no hand drying facilities,

owner did make us welcome and said he was thinking of upgrading the block, it's not altered since we stayed there 9 years ago.

Dishwashing facilities need updating too, a canopy would help as it's in the open, alright if it's fine weather but not if it's inclement.

Found it a little noisy on our first night, laughing and shouting till early hours from campers. Dogs running loose, woke up to find dog mess outside our van.

Would still visit again due to locality to Chester. It's a working farm so animal noise is expected.

Generally its a lovely little site.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Silverfox65 1 review from this member

What a lovely campsite, so very peaceful even though it's a working farm too. Lovely owners, very helpful.

Facilities are basic but clean and all working fine. 15 minutes walk away from the plough pub which serves lovely food and allows dog's.

And 30 minutes walk away from a park and ride for a bus to Chester, £2 per adult.

Will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Debbiemorris71 2 reviews from this member

Just come home from a lovely relaxing weekend from this campsites. Such good value for money, £17 for two adults, dog and electric for our campervan, site owner very friendly,

if you are looking for luxury then this is not the site for you but if you would like to stay on a working farm in the country side then try this site,

the toilet\shower block is very old and basic but the shower is free and works well.

You can walk into Christleton which is a beautiful old village with pub (half hour walk) or you can keep on walking along the canal tow path into Chester city centre, we will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hedgehugger 7 reviews from this member

Approach to the camping field behind the red brick farmhouse and buildings is across the old cobbled farmyard, so take it nice and slowly. Owner is pleasant and helpful, dog has a big bark but is a big softie.

When I went the field was very well mown, pretty much level, grass slightly longer under the double row of old fruit trees to one side, but still perfectly usable. Fire points are well lit at night and wash-up light is on a sensor. Ladies (I can't speak for the Gents!) is basic but clean, one of everything with a push-button shower.

A couple of coat hooks inside the outer door would have been handy but there is a large ledge for washbag, towel etc. The cattle were a novelty to watch; I didn't find the mooing a problem, didn't notice any before about 7am. It's a pleasant landscape to enjoy; seems popular with people bringing bikes to ride along the canal, which is accessible from nearby Christleton.

There is some road noise but not enough to put me off. I heard owls at night; would imagine there would be bats around too, but I didn't do any bat-watching this time. For a single camper, so often penalised at 'pay per pitch' sites, it's great value at £6 and I would go back.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: PUTTI 2 reviews from this member

We have stayed on many farm campsites - certified locations. Our expectations are that it is perfectly reasonable that there should be farm noise - eg cows and farm dogs roaming.

Also basic facilities are to be expected too.

What we don't expect is to be charged £21. 50 per night then asked for a further £3 each per night for our 2 x 16 year olds totalling £27. 50 per night (this price is the going rate for large sites with extensive facilities not a basic farmers field!)

Price - particularly the charge for our 'teenage' adults not made clear when booking.

For a basic site with frankly dirty toilet and shower facilities/ noisy cattle/ farm dogs emptying our awning bins this is just unacceptable.

We have stayed at sites for £12 - £15 per night that far exceed what was on offer here and only used the site due to its proximity to Car fest.

We did not use any of the facilities as they were dirty and I felt sorry for campers having to use them and the open air/ un covered dish washing facilities - all very basic.

Owners seem friendly but they need to review and improve their facilities or reduce their prices!

We will not be returning!

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: RPWC 3 reviews from this member

Fantastic site, lovely surroundings, quiet, yet only 15 minutes from Chester city centre.

Showers and toilets are basic, only one of each, but it is just a small site and they were always clean and fresh.

Ideal site for exploring west Cheshire, or just visiting the city of Chester, plenty of space for kids to play safe, even with cars and caravans moving around, great for dogs too, plenty of room in the field for exercising them.

It is a working farm with a lovely friendly dog, that the kids enjoyed petting, so did I !

The site owners are friendly and helpful. We will visit again.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jeff6000 2 reviews from this member

Always enjoy my stay. The owner is a nice bloke who makes you feel welcome.

Comfortable farm site with reasonable toilets and washing up facilities, the terrain can be a bit hard but pick a good speck and your good to go.

He has plenty of cattle in near fields I think they are bred for beef not milk, also the site is quite good value for solo campers like my self.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alicehsu2 7 reviews from this member

This is a lovely small campsite which just what we like with a great view over the countryside.

The owners were very relaxed. The toilets and showers are basic by modern standards but kept very clean. HOWEVER, they had allowed their lovely and friendly dog to use the campsite as its toilet so we discovered that we were walking in the dog mess and had actually pitched our tent in it.

For this reason we would not be returning to the campsite.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: TCC Rallyman 8 reviews from this member

Pretty much echoing that which has already been written.

It's a working farm (Beef farming) which results in early morning alarm calls (Mooing). Helpful, easy going owners. Great views of the rolling hills (park nose away from the farm building for the views).

10 years on, comments on toilet & wash up facilities still sum it up pretty accurately, although they are kept clean.

Parents please bear in mind that this is a working farm and that means there are many dangers. Whilst kids will love the animals and exploring, they need to be watched for their own safety.

Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cheshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5196 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019