Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Holly Bank Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Cheshire > Warrington > Holly Bank Caravan Park > Reviews

Holly Bank Caravan Park
Warburton Bridge Road
Rixton
Warrington
Cheshire   (Browse area)
WA3 6HU
Tel: 0161 210 2524  or  07885 457 164
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 75
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 33 Reviews
                7/10 from 33 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  33 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: November 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jk16hi 2 reviews from this member

 Unfortunately the only positive we have is that the showers were hot.

We didn't receive a reply to our email and on phoning were informed they only take bookings by phone.

The showers and toilets were dirty and the gents stank of urine. They don't supply toilet roll so it's take your own!

Overall very disappointing and disgusting for £25 a night. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 4inarow 2 reviews from this member

 Wouldnt Normally leave an essay but please read to the end!

Last minute booking, alarm bells should have rang when they had availability as no where else did in the whole of Lancashire, paid £50 for 2 nights for a hard standing pitch with electric hook up and water.

Morning of departure a fellow caravaner rang us and advised not to go ‘ it’s a S***H***! Called the park to enquire about cancelling and was told that they didn’t do refunds as a pitch had been reserved for us, hey ho we’ll give it a go!

Arrived to a friendly lady on reception she confirmed our booking in her diary, to which we were the only one in there for that day.

On waiting on a guy coming to show us where we where to hook up it seemed the caravans at the top of the site near reception were people who lived on there, I. E several awnings, garden furniture etc, all crammed in like sardines!

The guy that arrived was very nice and helpful, told us to go to the bottom of the park and go on the grass opposite the caravan with an awning on either side! Didnt like the sound of this already! Got on the field to which there was plenty of space for at least another half dozen vans, the guy could see we weren’t happy where we’d had been stuck and offered to move us to a hard standing back up the top of the park.

Didn’t fancy being up top with the sardines and on the journey to the bottom passed god knows how many green mouldy caravans, cleaner vans but with all sorts of S*** all around, it looked like a caravan scrap yard if anything!

We did not bother being placed up the top, we thanked the guy for all his help but said we're off mate! What a waste of a bank holiday weekend! 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Crazy Maisie 17 reviews from this member

 Chose this site recently on the basis of location and when I phoned to book it I was surprised to find it was to cost £30 pn for 2 adults, that's more than we’ve ever been charged on top end sites so I thought it must surely be of a higher standard and hopefully have Wifi.

Unfortunately I couldn’t have been more wrong, the cost is simply down to audacity. We have stayed on many sites up, down and across the UK we are usually pleased, if not impressed, by their standards but this was an exception by far. No Wifi, barely a network signal and the road it borders it really busy and noisy well into the small hours.

Turns out it is mainly a ‘residential’ site for workers and non-workers who occupy caravans packed in like sardines (approx. 8-10 feet space between those on the hardstanding and other pitches) many of the caravans in a very poor and dirty condition. (There are also rented bedsits on site)

A large site, there were 3 showers and 4 toilets for females, 3 showers, two toilets and a metal urinal for males. No disabled access in the shower/toilet block and the Elsan disposal was grim. There was one dishwash sink with no plug and a hot tap with water coming out in three directions, none of them vertical!

The ladies toilets were leaking, so constant puddle spreading over the floor to the neighbouring cubicles. There was no motorhome service point and few fresh water access points. But the most disturbing aspect was the tone of the notices about the place, they were threatening and oppressive to say the least.

One demanded that all heating had to be fuelled by gas, any electric usage would be detected, another made it clear that ALL gas had to be purchased from the site only and if it wasn’t the site managers would know who they were and there would be consequences, yet other stated the male toilets were filthy and anyone not keeping them clean would have to leave.

Two positives: the reason we’d give it a star, one of the workers, was a nice genuine guy, very helpful and friendly and also our pitch was almost level. 


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TheDecanus 1 review from this member

 This place is fantastic now that it is under new management. The site is a lot cleaner, the staff are friendlier and they have improved all the caravans and site pitches.

You can tell they have spent a lot of money in improving the site as a whole. People need to remember that this place is more of a budget campsite and isn't for 'glamping in Warrington'.

It's for pitching up a tent and walking around the surrounding areas and breathing in the fresh air. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jalmac 1 review from this member

 This has been taken over by new management. It's a great site and cheap. Not far from the Trafford Centre if you like a good shop and the beautiful village of Lymm.

Some superb walking paths throughout Cheshire. They were updating the on site shop whilst we were there. It has an ATM machine in case of emergencies and is open 7 days a week until 10pm 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jill Alan 1 review from this member

 On our way to Wales when my husband received a puncture in his motorcycle tyre. Our journey came to a halt very close to Holly Bank. The staff and residents were very helpful, going above and beyond to help us.

Once settled at the site we found the toilet/shower block, clean and warm. The site itself was well maintained and overnight there was no noise. 


Date of Visit: November 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bigdave50 2 reviews from this member

 I do not rate this site very good

1. The hard standing pitches are very close together, there is only a grass patch between each van of 10ft in width so if you had an awning you would be nearly touching the next van.

2 No Cars parked near the vans all parked in the Car Park.

3 Gates to the van area are locked and we had to ask for them to be unlocked at 9. 00 am to leave the site which took time. What would happen if there was a fire on site ?

4 Toilets Showers very basic

5 Charged £20 per night which is a lot for this standard of site, We are use to Caravan Club sites

6 A lot of older vans on site occupied by workers.

Positives

Friendly Helpful staff. Toilets cleaned everyday.

Some of those living on site were friendly. Handy for Manchester and Warrington which is where we wanted to be.

Would we go again NO 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: T222mak 2 reviews from this member

 Great site if you want to visit Manchester

Read reviews and yes there is a lot of caravans for hire to contracters but pleasant to talk to, toilets clean, nice park on the hard standing area we're I was pitched,

a good all rounder for location but don't expect it to be like a club site, and yes I will go back. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Camogirl- 15 reviews from this member

 Stoped here for 3 night when doing the manchester marathon. Very nice site and very accomadating. Alot of the van's on site are work men living in them and some families. The area where we stayed (bottom feild) was very quiet.

Went into manchester by bus and was a one hour 30 minute ride at the shortest route so you might want drive. There is a local train station about 30 minute walk away or 10 minutes drive but trains only run every 2 hours when we went.

Had a lovely trip to Denham Massey National trust property.

The site is next to a Toll bridge but it's only 12p one way or 25p for a return journey.

Toilet, showers etc very well maintained and free to use open 24 hours and cleaned daily.

Even though it is nexrt to roads we did not here much traffic at all. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Joe693 1 review from this member

 I had a lovely Easter weekend with my wife and children at this site. And there is a lot to do around the the park and Also say I read reports and wasn't going to go for Easter at this site but when we got their I couldn't see what all the fuss was about as its lovely here & will Defo go again.

The weather was lovely for us too and we did have a great Easter weekend. 


Previous     33 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Holly Bank Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Holly Bank Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Holly Bank Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Warrington      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cheshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3930 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement