Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Silecroft Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Whicham > Silecroft Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Silecroft Caravan And Camping Park
Silecroft
(lake District)
Whicham
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA18 4NX
Tel: 01229 772 659
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 12
Open: 01/03/2021 to 14/11/2021
           01/03/2022 to 14/11/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 26 Reviews
                7/10 from 26 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  26 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vsa1961 3 reviews from this member

 Difficult to see what campers get here for their fees. Excellent location and in terms of grass cutting the site is very tidy. However no detergent was available for washing up, the standpipe by the gents toilet requires an attachment to avoid a soaking when filling bottles. In the main it appears many years since the basic wash

Facilities have been updated, as observed by our family who have been camping here for 40 plus years. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vsa1961 3 reviews from this member

 Spent 3 nights here earlier this month. No complaints, toilets and free showers were regularly, cleaned and inspected. Good drying facilities for the invariable wet clothing. Staff were very courteous and helpful. Unfortunately they have now 'lost' camping space by the pond at the front of the site so tent space will be limited.

Look forward to our next visit. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nigel1501 2 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site offering peace and tranquility. A good Tesco is in Millom about 10 min by car. The grounds, toilet block and laundry are kept clean and checked on a regular basis. The staff are most helpful. The one drawback is that for those with tents the site is very exposed and during our stay there was very strong winds and heavy rain. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tynan 2 reviews from this member

 Very very poor facilities, toilet block and showers very dirty, we seen this site on a groupon offer so went on there website and seen it had a pool for the children and was very close to the beach for our dogs so we booked it for a week we arrived to be shown to our pitch which I was unable to put our awning up as we had a pool of rain water there, we were very close to the next pitch which is not good,

The kids aged 14 and 12 and very good swimmers, I paid £10. 00 to use facilities only for the them to be told that they could not use the pool as they need to be 14+ To go iin,

So was not very happy as that is why we booked there as it does not say on there website anything about age restrictions I asked for my £10. 00 back as I'm unable to sit for hours around a very small pool.

We paid for one week with electric and left after just one night

Would not recommend this site at all if your in a caravan/ tent/trailer

We have learnt now you get what you pay for. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LULU73 1 review from this member

 We visited Silecroft Holiday Park for 3 nights camping and were very happy with the facilities offered by the park.

The camping pitch we had was spacious for our needs and the children enjoyed the small playground area.

The toilet facilities were clean and tidy and well maintained.

The pool had recently re opened after some mechanical issues and again this was first rate as far as we are concerned.

The staff were very helpful and courteous and provided us with numerous leaflets offering information on local attractions with a wide variety of choice.

A very nice pub just a short distance away serving excellent food and the beach was just stunning and very clean.

We would definitely recommend this site and we fully intend to try another Groupon booking very soon. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Elysiumuk 2 reviews from this member

 Very poor facilities, dirty and not cleaned. The swimming pool and jacuzzi was closed for repair according to the signs. However, after over hearing a management conversation, the real reason it was closed was because it was dirty. The men's toilet block had two cubicles, one of them was broken. The showers were not cleaned once during the week. There was no toilet roll provided.

On the plus side, it's a beautiful location convenient for the west coast lakes but not for central lakes. The beach is pebbled and right next to the site. Incredibly windy in windy weather due to the sites exposure.

The pitches were good. Ground was flat, very few stones and rocks and the grass was well maintained. The playground was very good.

I got a very good deal on the price with groupon. It only cost £33 for 4 nights plus £20 for electricity which was good.

Unfortunately in this case, you get what you pay for. I feel the website is misleading as it is very slick and makes the facilities look first rate. The facilities need a lot of investment and to be cleaned regularly before this site could be recommended. Avoid until then! 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lin1087 5 reviews from this member

 The first impression was the incredible cost at £30 per night, but as we were travel weary, having toured Scotland and the northern lakes we were ready to park up for the night. We have never paid as much. Already shocked I couldn't believe that I had to pay extra for the showers (20p) and then another (10p) for use of a hairdryer. The nearest restaurant was a pub maybe 1 mile away. I could not get a TV signal, I went to the office to enquire if this was usual only to find it locked with an emergency only mobile number posted in the window, it was only 5. 20pm

Overall not value for money. Very disappointing and would not recommend. Definitely will not be returning. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paulandsam 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a 4 night camping holiday. This camp site was great. Very clean and staff was very helpful and friendly. The kids loved the playing area and the swimming pool and with a great beach on the doorstep. One of the cleanest beaches with lovely blue waters we all swam in. The beach itself has the best of both worlds, pebbles and sandy beach. We would definitely recommend this campsite and this is the first campsite we have been to where the kids want to come back to and we have now been to a lot of camp sites. For our family this campsite is getting 10 out of 10 thank you 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Drummond brewer 1 review from this member

 We escaped the mountain rain in the North Lakes and went to the South Lakes (Silecroft). And found a gem of a location. Clean and pleasant campsite with friendly staff. We found great walks and beach combing, a definite place to recharge and get away from the rat race.

We usually camp at the base of mountains, which we do expect to pay a premium for. For £22. 50 per night they charge for camping, is over the top and their price structure needs to be reviewed.

We will return. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dianeking2007 2 reviews from this member

 We have visited this site numerous times over the last 5 years, we have found it to be ideal for our needs. The site is about 200 yards from the beach and the local pub is about a 1/2 mile walk.

We have always found the site clean and tidy and the staff very helpful. We used to put our tourer down by the duck pond but unfortunately this area is now no longer available. We were sited this time just behind the shower block and toilets on a gravel hardstanding that was reasonably level. At £22. 00 per night it is a bit expensive, but worth it for the location, although 20p for the sometimes tepid showers was disappointing! none the less, we will be back. There is a small children's play area but as we don't have kids with us we can't comment on child friendliness. 


Previous     26 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Silecroft Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Silecroft Caravan And Camping Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Silecroft Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Silecroft Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Whicham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3252 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Get a Reminder