Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Rowanbank Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Rowanbank Caravan Park
Beckfoot
(lake District)
Silloth
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA7 4LA
Tel: 01697 331653
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 20
Open: February To January

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 24 Reviews
                9/10 from 24 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  24 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kirsty_Atkin 13 reviews from this member

What a friendly warden, we turned up on bikes and he gave us some milk so we could make a cup of tea. The site was very well kept, there is a small area for tents but flat and well mown. The toilet & shower block was cleanish, plenty of hot water, mops were supplied to clean the shower if needed there were a lot of notices. The local pub is 2. 5 miles away. Great location for us as it was on our cycle route.

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Turnip2 1 review from this member

Great site across the road from the beach and not to big ideal for a peaceful stay. Very clean and tidy and great pitches. Ideal site plenty of dog walks nearby our dog loved it. Steve the warden could not be more helpful. And would recommend to all Hope to go back very soon Thank you for a great stay

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Poppsy16 1 review from this member

Thank you, you are a very good site manager, helpful and considerate. The site is well kept. No problemsS with toilet cleanliness as in past reviews. We will be visiting again on a short stay. Miles of beach to dog walk, our 'girl' was in her element. Sun, sea, and big sky's and wow factor sun sets for the photo shoots. Fish 'n' chips in Allonby are a must, seek them out it's only a small shop but the fish and taste are huge. If you need a relaxing quiet break this is it, take your own refreshments as it is about 3 miles to Silloth and the same to Allonby

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jax365 6 reviews from this member

I first visited this site three years ago, when it was very well maintained and the wardens were on site all the time and took a great pride in keeping the whole campsite pristine, the loos cleaned and mopped properly every day.

Not so this year. The new wardens, who are a young couple who are very pleasant and friendly, were not always around on site when you needed them.

Apart from a little desultory sink and toilet seat cleaning in the ladies, the floor wasn't cleaned at all during our week-long holiday, and the showers not mopped out either. There was no mop or squeegee provided or I would have done it myself! The hand towels ran out for three days, the hand dryer was out of order. Then the loo roll started running out because people were using that to dry their hands. The men's loos had a note pinned to them at one point, which read 'Please Clean me!' and the chap who pinned it to the door said that the loos in the gents hadn't been cleaned for a fortnight and were so dire, he didn't want to take his lads in there.

Apart from the loos, the general appearance of the site was ok, grass nice and short. Bins emptied a few times, but sometimes overflowing. The wonderful hanging baskets of old were full of weeds though.

Nice places nearby for visits - Allonby, The Gin Case, Silloth, Maryport, Cockermouth - and St. Bees, if you want a really nice run out for the day (tip- follow the signs for the campsite at St. Bees to the beach - there is a car park with lots of disabled places - don't go to the first car park you see as you round the bend, it's private and costs a-plenty. )

The walk to the beach from the campsite wasn't far, but was a narrow footpath through the dunes. The beach seemed clean and fresh, and sandy when the tide went out. A few muddy areas, but easy to avoid.

The campsite is between Silloth and Allonby on the coast road. Best to go through Silloth to get there, don't follow your satnav if it's taking you through Allonby, it's much harder. Set it for Silloth and reset for the campsite from there if you need to.

Not a bad price including EHU/awning/car in high season, at £15. 50 per night, no charge for dogs, and they are allowed unrestricted on the beach there. This price is for two adults only, there is a £1. 50 charge per night, per child over the age of 7. Under sevens are free.

Most of the pitches are now standard hardstanding, with grass to one side for awning and room for a car. Only a few of the pitches are on grass now. These are at the very back of the site, and use splitters for the EHU if more than one.

There isn't a playground here for children, but with the beach being close, that's where most families headed for part of the day.

We had a pleasant stay, only marred by lack of toilet/shower cleaning really.

My overall rating is lower because I feel that the general lack of toilet block cleaning really let the site down.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Derek007 1 review from this member

Peaceful, very clean park. Well maintained areas. Credit to the wardens, very nice couple and very helpful. Will be visiting here again in the very near future. The caravan we stayed in was very clean and tidy and comfortable. Could not ask for anything more apart from the tv could do with updating to flatscreens, just to finish the décor better instead of all the wiring on show and indoor ariel is a bit of an eyesore. Otherwise all ok.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ccornall62 2 reviews from this member

Across road from beach. 2 miles from Silloth, nearest shops. Visited when there was a lot of young children on site, so not so quiet, Toilets & showers did not seem to be cleaned to often. Had to share our electric point with another caravan through splitter. Electricity to whole of site kept going off. Most caravans are seasonal, only 5 or 6 pitches for night/weekly stays. Nearest pub 5 minute drive.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: And dog makes five 4 reviews from this member

Nice little site, mainly park homes with touring area to rear of site, most units were on seasonal pitches. Two minutes to lovely beach, excellent for finding shells and driftwood so perfect for kids and dog! Toilet block is old but very clean, wardens friendly.

Nice base to discover sleepy West Cumbria, Allonby is great and completely unpretentious, Silloth has undergone something of a makeover and has a great adventure playground and water play area.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Missprimmy 4 reviews from this member

We arrived on 29th June, a day after the massive rainfalls and our pitch was not affected in any way!

A lovely peaceful site, very tidy & well maintained by wardens Trevor and Karen.

Toilet/Shower block is dated but very clean and lots of hot water (if you keep pressing the button!)

We arrived later than we'd hoped approximately 9pm, this was not a problem and Karen was waiting to check us in.

There is a small children's park/play area at the top of the touring park, and, as said before the beach is just across the road.

The pitches here are very reasonably priced and the site is well placed for visiting the lake district.

My only criticism is that the amenity block is not lit up at night. I think the outside lights are on motion sensors, but this is not very assuring as you walk from your van to the block in the pitch dark!

If you like peace and quiet we would definitely recommend this site.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Zakky1234 9 reviews from this member

Just spent 5 nights on this lovely and peaceful site. The managers were very helpful kept the site very well maintained and clean. The toilet block was very clean and hot water.

There is a laundry room and plenty of information on where to visit in the surrounding area. Silloth is only 3 miles away and if you like wind surfing Alonby just 5 mins down the coast is ideal. It is literally 5 mins to the beach which is just across the road, our dog loved it.

We can definitely recommend this site and will be staying again in the near future.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sparkleandstar 7 reviews from this member

A very nice and well maintained site. The wardens were very helpful with parking up and any other queries we had.

Good level hard standings. Electric and water points were close to hand.

The toilets and showers were always immaculately clean when we used them.

All pitches had good space between each other. The grass around the site looked to be well maintained.

The location couldn't be better. A walk across the road and your onto a nice sandy beach. Our 2 dogs loved playing there. 5 minutes drive and you are in Silloth.

We were incredibly lucky with the weather, Even got sunburnt!

For £15. 50 a night off season it is fantastic value.

We will certainly be back.

Previous     24 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3520 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019