Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Pinfold Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Sedbergh > Pinfold Caravan Park Reviews

Pinfold Caravan Park
Garsdale Road
(lake District)
Sedbergh
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA10 5JL
Tel: 01539 620576
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: 04/02 To 04/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 11 Reviews
                8/10 from 11 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Guerdeval 1 review from this member

Just found this so booked late on return journey home. Despite what it says it does allow smaller (7m) motorhomes but just 3 pitches. Right alongside river, good 4g and TV reception and facilities were immaculately clean and tidy. No dog walking but in the countryside anyway, 10 minute walk to town, pretty good value at £20.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: DebraWoods 5 reviews from this member

Can't fault the friendliness of the staff, laid back and helpful (so laid back that there was no-one on reception when we arrived!)

I found this a really strange site to stay on. The camping area was empty when we arrived apart from a few caravans that look like they stay there all year. We had plenty of space initially, however by the time we left there were tents, motorhomes crammed in all around us.

Part of the camping area is right next to the river which I wouldn't recommend if you have young children as there is no barrier between the field and the water.

The facilities were ok, although I always found that the floors in the shower cubicles were soaking wet as there were no mops to use after using the shower.

This has the feel of a site where people stay for long periods of time or even live there. I can't say anything particularly bad about it but I won't be rushing back.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Annie G 16 reviews from this member

We visited this site without booking and although it was full (Bank Holiday weekend) we were squeezed in. As other reviews mention Fred on reception is really friendly and went out of his way to offer us a pitch. We paid £17 for a night with hook-up for 2 adults, the van and 2 kids - fabulous value given the truly marvellous facilities. Even though I usually use our own shower we were more than happy to try the warm cubicles with showers, a loo and a basin - and a radiator ! no danger of wet soggy towels on the floor here.

Great location just outside Sedbergh, pleasant walk in and plenty of places to eat and drink. A great small site especially if you have kids.

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Weeton1 4 reviews from this member

I visited this site whilst walking the Dales Way. The facilities are top notch and this was far and away the best site I used on the 5 night walk. The reception was very friendly and welcoming. The shower block is wonderfully clean with great facilities, including a hair dryer. The tent field is lovely and flat with sheltered spots beneath the trees or pitches closer to the river. The weather was a bit wild so I went for the shelter! Sedbergh is a short walk away with plenty of shops, pubs and other attractions. I would highly recommend this site.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tim-antonia 11 reviews from this member

Just got back from a fantastic weekend away at pinfold. The owner was very polite and friendly. The cost was very cheap £29 for a very large tent 2adults 2 kids for 2nights. The toilet block had toilets and 3 showers which also had sinks and toilets in them. The showers were free and hot! Also a free hairdryer in there as well. What I was most impressed with was how clean the facilities were bearing in mind that I experienced some of the wettest conditions I've ever camped in and I've been camping 17 yrs! They were spotless, how they managed it with all the mud around is a mystery. Enough about toilets!
The site where we were was flat with no stones. Only a small field but no problem with that. There is a river flowing along the edge of the site which the kids loved (take plenty of spare clothes) but to get to the river involves a four or five feet scramble down a slippy bank. Sedbergh is about 10mins away on foot and has pubs and bookshops!
We went to the dalesman for food on the saturday after recommendations read on other reviews. The food was a little expensive and just ok, nothing special. The real ales there however are superb. I will definitely be going back sometime soon. Might go to the chipshop instead of pub next time though.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KarenK 1 review from this member

We visited without booking and they were able to fit us in. It is a lovely site and some pitches are next to a river which is great if you have kids, although if you don't then your not likely to get a sleep in as the river is too inviting for kids to stay away from even at 8.00 in the morning. It is a small site with pitches for about 15 tents some with electric hook up.
There is a lovely utility block which is very new with showers (free), toilets, wahsing up, a microwave and lauderette facilities which you have to pay for. It is a 10 min walk into Sedbergh which is a lovely small town, with cafe's 2 pubs and 2 small supermarkets, although not many of the facilities were open even in August. I would well recommend Pinfold for a relaxing break and we are looking forward to going again soon.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jayne33 1 review from this member

After reading the reviews on this website we decided to go to Pinfold for a couple of nights. What a lovely, pretty, clean, quite site it is. We took 5 kids and 3 dogs all made very welcome. The river is beautiful and the kids caught little fish in their fishing nets. FREE hot clean showers! small field for tents so would recommend you book in advance. Fish and chips from village chippy were excellent! Highly recommend this site for a relaxing weekend. A few other kids on site but all played well together and were in bed by 10pm! We enjoyed it so much we are going back this week for 4 nights!

Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gerry31 16 reviews from this member

Well situated. Short walk to village & shops etc. Site is mainly statics, but with one field for tents and tourers beside the river. Very clean, not much grassed area for ball games etc, but riverside location makes up for this. Our boys loved it. Amenities block looks new and is heated! 3 individual cubicles each in ladies and mens with toilet shower and basin, as well as 2 separate toilets, plus several sinks with mirrors over, hairdryer (also free!). Not a busy weekend so we never had to queue. Super Fish&Chip shop in village, meals great at The Dalesman, but need to book at weekends! Owners very friendly and offered ice block freezer service. The quietest site we've ever been on, the only noise at night was the 'animal orchestra' – sheep, birds, ducks, owls and wood pigeon. Delightful. We'll definitely stay here again.

Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Leplombier 3 reviews from this member

This is a very nice site with excellent shower/toilet facilities (they've been updated since the earlier review). The site managers are friendly enough and keep the place clean and tidy.

The river that runs alongside the tent pitches is lovely, the kids were wet through within 10 minutes! They had a wonderful time fishing out football and rugby balls.

Security was a bit of a worry as the pitches are right beside a road with a drystone wall running alongside it. The road wasn't too busy, especially in the evening/night time and so it didn't cause any disturbance.

Sedbergh, which is a 10/15 minute amble from the site, is a lovely place with a few quality pubs, especially The Dalesman, which serves excellent food (and the beer's not bad either). There's also a good chippy, Indian and Chinese - spoilt for choice. There's also a Spar "supermarket" and a few outdoor pursuit shops.

Lots of walks to do - as you would expect, and the tourist info in the village is very helpful.

We'll be back - top site.

Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Debsy 110 reviews from this member

The tent and motorhome pitches are outside the main static area. They are next to a river - you can fish for free as long as you have your rod licence. Toilets lovely and so were the showers. It cost £17 for four of us - two kids. No playpark but big field in the middle with tents on the outside. Sedbergh has tons of second hand bookshops. The fish and chip shop is cheap and great - not open Mondays. - open 5-7 in the evening - til 8 on Saturday and Friday. There is also a cafe attached.

The large carpark next to the tourist information is pay and display - but you can't park a caravan. It didn't say anything about motorhomes so I rang them up and the guy said it was ok to park in the coach bay. I had asked the lady in tourist information - she said she didn't know but had been asked that last week!

Ooh heard tons of owls at night!

Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4878 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019