Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cross Hall Farm Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Sedbergh > Cross Hall Farm Caravan Park > Reviews

Cross Hall Farm Caravan Park
Cautley
(lake District)
Sedbergh
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA10 5LY
Tel: 01539 620668
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/04/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 15 Reviews
                9/10 from 15 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Adrian Strain 2 reviews from this member

 A beautiful location and a clean well kept site with pitches for fewer than 10 tourers, we enjoyed our stay and will probably return.

Our stay was married slightly by the 20p charge for a shower. It shouldn't be necessary. A push button switch would be better. I need only three or four minutes whilst my wife prefers five or six.

The water runs cold for the first minute. It's an unnecessary failing on what is otherwise a lovely site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Sheila9206 6 reviews from this member

 A very small and tidy site, all the facilities you would expect, good pitch sizes, electric if needed, a clean shower and 2 toilets, it's 20p for a shower, had enough time to shower but not wash my hair on the 1 20p! Recycling facilities,

This site is on a working farm so lots to see, sheep, horses. It has a dog walk just off site, up a steep hill, we had the campsite cat come with us on our evening walk, he/she was a real cutie.

All in all a good site, nothing to dislike about it. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Pandlwarby 1 review from this member

 Just had a brilliant weekend stay at Cross Hall, a lovely quiet site with great views of the local fells.

The owners clearly work very hard to maintain the site to a high standard, the facilities are kept spotlessly clean and are sufficient for the number of campers, couldn't fault it for our needs.

Look forward to returning. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Soozjev 3 reviews from this member

 This is a good basic campsite. We stayed in the camping field which is sloping though we found a flatish part. Unfortunately it had been raining prior to our visit so the ground was wet, we were therefore asked not to drive on the field. Luckily there is a small concrete track in the field that goes up to an old farm building so we were able to use this to get halfway up the field to unload.

The wash block is on the other field, a 30 second walk, it has two loos, a sink and a shower for each sex. The showers are 20p, this gives you a quick shower, fine for washing my children, I splashed out on 40p which was plenty! The site is small so no queues, the wash rooms are very clean and the shower was hot and powerful.

There is one sink for washing up, plenty of hot water for this.

We were allowed to have camp fires which was great.

There was a swing for the kids and a baby swing plus a climbing frame.

The views were beautiful and there are lots of walks around the area.

Sedbergh is lovely, cafes, great book shops, there is a Spa and a Boots in case you need them.

All in all a lovely quiet camping site.

There wasn't a freezer for cool blocks, but Spa sell bags of ice, just so you are prepared! 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sussannah 1 review from this member

 A wonderful campsite with all you need for camping, We had a great time with our dogs and the views are breathtaking.

The owners Karen and her hubby are very friendly and helpful and there children are very sweet. This was my first time in my life camping and I love it and am going back in a months time,

My first camp fire was brilliant and toasted marshmallows are the best. I have started later in life camping but I will be making up for it. Thank you fro a great stay. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Petes Mrs 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a three night stay at Cross Hall Farm, it's a lovely little site with stunning views and beautiful walks. A mixture of static vans and tourers with a separate camping field serviced by a small basic toilet and shower block. The site is really well maintained and spotlessly clean. The main road to Kirkby Stephen runs close by but you really don't hear it. My only criticism during the whole of our stay is there was no soap in the ladies toilet but being in a touring van I could wash my hands there would have been a problem if we were camping. Would highly recommend and will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Templogin 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 3 days in some appalling weather. The guy running the site is very friendly and helpful. Stayed in the tent field, which was well kept, as was the shower block, although with only one male shower it could be difficult to get in there. A brief ride down into Sedbergh, which seems to contain mostly cafes, but also and excellent greengrocer - remember them!

The site is situated alongside a road, but it is a quiet one so no need to worry about noise. I would go back again if I was passing that way. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Robbent 15 reviews from this member

 Just back from a two week stay over Easter at Cross Hall Farm, after a bit of a dodgy start with the weather it turned good and we had a great time. Very quiet site with a basic but spotlessly clean toilet/shower block, usual drinking water and waste water/chemical point. Touring pitches are hard standing with hook up. The owners, Karen and Bob are lovely people, very friendly, chatty and helpful, their young son comes round every couple of days offering his freshly laid hens eggs for sale! The site is easy to get to from the M6, just a couple of miles to the East of Sedbergh, the setting is fantastic with wonderful views of the Howgill Fells. Walks are available directly from the site and there are lots of alternatives either a short walk or drive away. Sedbergh has a couple of small shops, pubs and cafes and Kendal is only a 30 minute drive if you can't get stuff locally. There is a temperance pub (?) a couple of miles from the site, The Cross Keys which although has no license serves superb food for a reasonable price considering the quality and you can take your own alcoholic drinks, it's a very quirky place and is a must visit, ring to book though and only serves food Thursday to Saturday. Quite the best food we've had in long time! There is a small play area for children in the tent field and although our children are long ago grown up the children who were there seemed to be having a great time playing with the owners son, riding bikes around the farm and disappearing over the fields! 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Saltperk 1 review from this member

 Lovely peaceful, sheltered spot. Stunning views to the Howgill fells (and brilliant walks from the farm). Also good access to other areas such as Yorkshire Dales, Eden Valley and Lakes. The owners were terrific, really accommodating. We were there in a motorhome but lovely space for tents too. The toilet and shower block are spotlessly clean and do the job. Nothing flash about it but perfect small, family run campsite. We'll definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Smithbarvas 1 review from this member

 After the motorway madness on May holiday, Cross Hall Caravan Park proved to be a tranquil setting for our two day stay.

This camp site is in a beautiful setting nestling between the stunning Howgill Hills, complete with a stream running through the site. The site is next to the owner’s farm where we had the privilege of watching the farm livestock including Alpaca with their long silky wool.

This camp site really is a place to unwind, the splendour of the surrounding hills gives a sense of isolation, despite only being a conveniently short 15min drive from the M6. A short drive from the site takes you to the lovely town of Sedbergh. The site is also well placed for exploring the Lake District & the Yorkshire Dales.

On one side of the Stream running through the site there are hard standings for the caravans and motor homes with electric power points for each spot. The toilet block is small but clean, with coin-operated showers, which at 20pence per shower is more than reasonable.

On the opposite side of the stream is a separate area for pitching tents and for barbequing. There is also a small playground for children.

The camp site owners and their family are very friendly and helpful. An added bonus was the supply of fresh eggs available from the farm each morning.

This is a great site to spend time and relax in, the facilities while basic at the moment are being improved by the new owners and I am sure that we will see even better facilities on our next visit. 


Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Cross Hall Farm Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cross Hall Farm Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Cross Hall Farm Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Sedbergh      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


47179 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement