Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Beckses Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Beckses Caravan Park
Penruddock
(lake District)
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0RX
Tel: 01768 483224
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 28
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 24 Reviews
                9/10 from 24 Reviews

Photos (21)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  24 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dinsdaledoddy 1 review from this member

What a terrific site this is. Family owned, run by 2 brothers and their sister who helps out. One of the brothers is addicted to cleaning the toilets so they are absolutely spotless. The other brother seemed to spend his time cutting the grass so the site is in tip-top condition.

No ridiculous rules like you get on some campsites - the owners here treated visitors like adults. Nothing was too much for them. The showers are spotless, water always hot and the pricing is very reasonable. Dog walking area, children's play area and 3 fantastic pods if you want some luxury. I'd recommend this site to anyone.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Noeliewoly 5 reviews from this member

Very friendly and a nice clean, well laid out site with clean and convenient wash facilities. Pitches have hard standing and grassed area but tent pegs were difficult to get in. Down side is no shop on site and the nearest pub is about 1. 5mls away. Rates are very good at 17 with pitch up and electric included. There is a field at the back for recreation and dog walking. Some road noise but very much reduced in the evening.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bonnyrigg 32 reviews from this member

This is a lovely clean well laid out and well run site. Approximately 18 Static vans and I think about 20 touring vans and a camping area. Its a family site with a play area for the children. The facilities are extremely clean and are cleaned daily, even over the Bank Holiday. Its good to visit a site like this and listen to the children playing. The only down side is the noise from the A66, its quite loud at times, not intrusive but there. I would still recommend this site to anyone looking for a good family site with good facilities.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Flearn 1 review from this member

An excellent site in easy reach of all the lake district.

The toilets were always spotless, free showers with lots of hot water. Not the push button type.

Owners of the site are very friendly and helpful.

Probably the best site we have been on.

Village pub not open but the Sportsman a mile away was excellent.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Soozjev 3 reviews from this member

Great little site. Clean facilities, showers were free with plenty of hot water. Lovely feel to the site, not too big. Children had a great little play park. Laundry facilities were excellent, clothes got clean and dry on first attempt! The owners were very friendly and gave us a bin bag as there is always something you forget!

The site has a freezer for your ice blocks. Washing up facilities were excellent. A quiet site generally, though there is some road noise from A66, however that means you have great access around.

We will be back!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Coanjones 1 1 review from this member

Just spent 6 nights here, super little site, adequate spotless facilities, laundry room, Very easy to get too. Friendliest site owners I've encountered for ages had a problem with a snapped bolt on my stabiliser lads took it into their garage drilled it out supplied a new bolt and charged me pennies for the job. Excellent location for walks up Skiddaw, Helvellyn, Ullswater and Derwent water. Dog friendly and kids playground. Superb value for money at 18 a night. Will definitely visit again.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wildhunter 6 reviews from this member

We stayed with you for 7 nights recently while we were exploring the Lake District and we thought we'd leave you a review that you can put up on your website, if you feel inclined.

We were there in August with our tent which we pitched on nice firm level ground in a sheltered area of the site, under a line of trees. Whilst there is some noise from the nearby road it didn't bother us at all.

That main prerequisite of a camp site, the loos we found to be exemplary. I wish more campsites maintained their facilities to such high standards. The free showers were always hot, no matter what time of day, always clean, and there was never a queue, there were even free hairdryers in both men's and women's areas. The loo roll always available, and never on the floor, the mirrors were clean and the air clear and fresh, very impressive! The hand soap dispensers were always full and paper towels were always available, the bins were never over-flowing either. Our only quibble is that we would have liked a few more hooks to hang clothes on when in the shower.

The washing up facilities were maintained to the same high standard and again there was always hot water. The area also contains clothes washing and drying facilities which while we didn't use them seemed to work well for other people who did. We feel it would be useful to provide somewhere to freeze ice-packs for campers, but if that is the only gripe it can't be much. Another plus is that in the washing up room there are books to be borrowed and much local information to be gathered.

Children are catered for with a nicely set out play area with a bark chipping base and things to clamber about and swing on, and even a Wendy House.

The site is also blessed with full 4G phone and Internet, very useful for getting weather forecasts on your 'phone! Behind the site is a dog walking area and a bin for waste.

We had a very pleasant stay, exploring the Lakes. Ullswater is really just down the road, Derwent Water is very easily accessible and Thirlmere is a fabulous, peaceful and beautiful lake a little further off, Beckses proved to be a great base for exploring the whole area.

Greta and Steve

From Dorset

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mattthetraindriver 12 reviews from this member

This is a great site, we were put on a grass caravan pitch as the tent site was full but it was great, quieter part of the caravan park and sunshine all day! Yeh we had a prefect week of hot sunshine! Fab!. Now the two gents that run the site were polite, helpful and would enough a chat with you and tell you anything about the surrounding area and where to visit, all the facilities were well placed water taps etc etc and the toilet blocks and showers were always very clean and well stocked, they were what I'd call old school and by that I mean they were old but perfectly kept, very clean and of a high quality which has stood the test of time. The morning birds and a little road noise may wake a light sleeper but weren't a problem to us, the site is perfectly placed to go either way into the lakes or to the motorway to go to either north or south lakes.

We walked skiddaw one day and parked in Keswick footie Carpark 3 which is great value and you put it in a honesty box a great way to sponsor the football club get there before 9am as it fills up quickly. Scaffell pike 25 minute drive to park in seathwaite free on the grass verge but get there before 10am as it gets busy or 3 in the farmers field.

We walked to the local pub and booked a table on a Thursday which is steak night 2 steaks and a bottle of wine which was very nice for 25 and the food was great so worth a visit.

All in all this site was perfect we will return if camping in the lakes as 23 per night EHU on bank holiday in the school holidays in the lakes was a bargain, I rate this campsites now in my top 3, go visit you won't be disappointed.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Armstrmj 8 reviews from this member

Great site. It's fairly basic, no real bells and whistles but everything g's OK. Would definitely go back. The location is ideal, a few minutes from Penrith, 20 from Keswick, and 15 from Pooley bridge. No horrible roads to tow down as it' s 200 yds from the A66. The noise didn't bother us although we could hear it.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Special01 42 reviews from this member

Used this site on the way up to Scotland. Stopped over for 3 days. I have been to this site before.

Very friendly staff. Clean toilet/shower blocks

Couple of pubs about 1. 5 miles away with free WI-FI.

Easy driving into lakes area or to Penrith. Good base for exploring. Yet easy to get back on M6.

2 adults +1 dog in caravan =17 a night. Bargin.

Previous     24 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1730 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!