Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Dalebottom Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Keswick > Dalebottom Farm Reviews

Dalebottom Farm
Naddle
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 4TF
Tel: 01768 774713
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 40
Open: 1st March To 1st November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 31 Reviews
                8/10 from 31 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  31 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 510 reviews from this member

I last stayed here 10 years ago and very little has changed.

It's in a stunning location but the site itself is unkempt with older tourers and statics predominating.

Showers are very basic and prone to faults. And they charge £1 for them.

£25 per night + £1 per shower wasn't great value!

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Taxis Kendal 29 reviews from this member

Great views outside of the large camping field, but the field is largely bordered by static caravans, long term caravans and a wasteland/waterworks work in progress. We were able to pitch our tent anywhere. Useful, since outside of the long term stays, most of the field is sloping. There was only one functioning washroom sink for the site, but on our Monday night we were the only tent, with two caravans occupied. Road noise is only slight, but the lower of the two tracks through the field was very noisy with a tractor and trailer on some occasions.

We phoned twice beforehand, leaving a message, but received no reply. Reception was closed when we arrived at 3. 30pm, but a nice man took our money when we found him working in the farmyard. £16 for two adults, a tent and car for the night, gazebo free of charge.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Angef 28 reviews from this member

We stayed here as we wanted a tent pitch with electric, at last minute, and dalebottom farm said there was plenty of space and quoted a much cheaper price than other sites in the area.

Dalebottom is located in a lovely valley, it was very windy the day we arrived but we were very sheltered and hardly felt a breeze. The pitches are sloping but we managed to get a relatively flat pitch, in fact at one point there were only 2 tents on the entire site. The site has a few statics, seasonal tourers and ample space for tents without electric.

The toilets are old and dated, but functional, clean and the toilet roll was topped up every day so there was never an issue. The showers (which were a lovely temperature) had 20p machines outside but were free when we used them, with electric sockets for charging phones or using hairdryers. They were always open, so no restrictions on when you went for a shower etc unlike some sites.

The views from the site are lovely, looking at Blencathra, or Low Rigg, with ample walks from the site.

My gripe with this site is the lack of prices available. We were quoted £28 a night for a tent with electric, 2 adults, 4 children and 2 cars, both by email and telephone. However, when we arrived at the site, we were told there had been an error and the fee was actually £34 - payment was by cash only, and we were never given any change !

The dishwashing area is in a room in the toilet block, but again you have to pay 20p for hot water - something I personally disagree with.

The site gets very dark at night with no lighting, so torches are needed but on the plus side, the stars are stunning.

There is a horse in one of the fields, and this was exercised through the main field of the site, close to the tent, harmless enough but a little too close to the tent for my liking.

There were 2 groups of DofE on site, but we never had any noise from them, I suspect if this site was busy noise could be an issue, with the owner working on the farm or away from the site.

Probably wouldn't stay here again due to the price for the facilities on offer but if you're not bothered about decent toilets and showers and just want good views and walks, this is a good site to stay on.

Overall, a lot of money for the facilities on offer.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Blinxter 11 reviews from this member

I was looking for another site from this website which had no directions posted by the owner and as such, remained undiscovered. Having passed this well sign posted farm camp site several times on my search up and down the road I decided to give it a punt. What a fantastic accident!

The site accepts everything from tourers to tents and also has statics and cottages to rent, there is a shop and the staff and family are so pleasant and helpful.

Literally over the hill from Keswick to the north and 5k (2 bus stops) from a pub hotel to the south.

The short hop to Keswick provides local markets and produce plus all your modern luxuries including an all you can eat Indian restaurant. The fuel is reasonably priced in the town too so avoid the more expensive petrol stations on route if you can.

Not in a car/leaving it at the site? The busses between Keswick and Lancaster (555 and 555R) run roughly every half hue from the top of the driveway.

The site is bordered by tall conifers on the road side which effectively cuts away any road noise with the exception of the occasional loud motorcycle but these still sound quite distant.

Electric hook ups available for my tent, don't thikn this is a normal service but on enquiry they accommodated a flattish spot at one end caravan area. Without electricity you are free to pitch our tent in the large flat field over the wall.

Toilet and wash facilities available, shower 20p and all cleaned out daily in the wee small hours as the sun is still peeping over the mountain in the east.

Friendly and helpful, even to the extent of the young farmers daughter Becky giving the visiting kids supervised rides on her horse (at no extra charge)

An excellent base for a stay in the lakes with everything within easy access. 15 minutes to Penrith and the motorway with the rest of the lakes within easy drive from here.

A true gem, I am already planning my next visit and this time plan to take the rest of the family.

I could write for ever about this site but I will leave it at that, thoroughly enjoyed my brief stay.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jordygl 1 review from this member

We first camped at Dale Bottom 20 years ago we have stayed in there caravans and one of there two cottages. I love the whole atmosphere of the site as well as the friendliness of the family. We returned to Dale Bottom this year after a few years break and everything the same. Friendly owners even helping us out lending us cables for electric hook up basic showers toilets and washing up facilities but very clean and we will be returning very soon

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: CKC100 15 reviews from this member

We visited this site after not finding anywhere else at 7 at night and it was a great find.

We were given a nice spot albiet it was a bit damp to start with, but that was not an issue as it soon dried up over the stay.

Handy as well as there was grass pitches with hook up as we were told by one site that we drove into that there was no sites in the area that offered grass pitches for campers, which was wrong obviously.

We have a campervan with a large drive away awning and the price per night including hook up was really good for the area.

The campsite warden was very nice and pleasant also along with the old man in the shop. I never noticed the items in the shop until the last few days of our stay, but would have been very handy if we had not wanted to go out for the day.

Keswick only being a couple of miles from the site as well was quite handy for the odd takeaway treat as well.

The site was nice and quite and the views were very good as well. We had 5 days of which were all sun and very warm.

The toilets were cleaned every day and had plenty hot water, showers were 20p and roasting hot. Only thing with them in the womens ones there was no where to hang clothes whislt taking a shower and a shelf or two would have been handy at the sinks. In the whole the toilet blocks were functional for what is required.

I would certainly stay here again and recommend it to others as well.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Theoccupier 2 reviews from this member

This site was just what we were looking for. We visited for the Keswick Mountain Festival, 2 adults, 1 child and 4 large dogs. On searching for campsites, many wanted to charge me additional fees per dog however this site charge per unit. Plenty of space, electric hook up at no extra cost (we didn't use this). Small shop in the reception though I can't comment on this as I didn't really pay much attention, I was too taken with the elderly gentleman who was booking me onto the site. What a delightful man.

Shower/toilet block was clean and well looked after.

Will probably stay here again.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Treeguy 1 review from this member

Me and a friend stayed here for 4 days over the bank holiday weekend and cannot fault the site at all,

Close to everything we wanted with good quality showers and toilets, which were very clean and didn't smell.

Other site users were friendly and helpful as this was my first time in the lake district.

Although this site in a bit hilly it is perfectly situated in gorgeous farmland with fantastic views of the surrounding areas and skiddaw.

Owner was very friendly and helpful with his knowledge of the area.

Would not hesitate to stay here again and again with my children as well next time.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Caddonav 3 reviews from this member

We visited Dalebottom Farm after it was recommended by a friend and we weren't disappointed. The site is situated in the middle of some fantastic scenery and walks are abundant from the doorstep.

The facilities are basic but clean and are perfectly serviceable. Keswick is only 5 mins by car and the stone circle at Castlerigg is a lovely evening walk if the weather permits.

We were impressed with the lack of road noise as the touring pitches are set below the road level and that makes a real difference.

We will definitely be returning in 2012.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mark_N 1 review from this member

This is not a five star camp site but the facilities are functional and clean; they were adequate for a week with teenagers with whom the intention was to be off site during the day. There is a shop selling basic provisions but Keswick is only 2 miles away if you want the ingredients for more substantial meals.

The ground is undulating but this is the Lake District and mountains are not unknown in the area - find a flatter part of the site. It also means that if it rains, and it did, the ground does not become a quagmire.

Just off the A591 Borrowdale Road (Keswick to Ambleside road) it was easy to find but did not suffer from car noise. Its location also meant that it made other parts of the Lake District accessible - Scaffel Pike, Consiton, Ullswater.

Both the owner and his son were very pleasant. His son also walks the local mountains and is knowledgeable about them.

We stayed from Sunday to Sunday paying for 2-3 nights at a time. There are not designated pitches, campers select there own spot. There always appeared to be space on the campsite.

This is a useful site to use as a base for the Lakes but you would probably find it limited if your intention was not to go off site.

Would I go again? - Yes

Would I recommend it? - Yes

Previous     31 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4555 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019