Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Dalebottom Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Keswick > Dalebottom Farm Reviews

Dalebottom Farm
Naddle
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 4TF
Tel: 01768 774713
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/03/2021 to 01/11/2021
           01/03/2022 to 01/11/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 34 Reviews
                8/10 from 34 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  34 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Davean 3 reviews from this member

 Great location. Walk into Keswick via castlerigg was lovely, as was the walk in via the stone circle.

Helpful managers on site.

Showers very hot and nowhere to put clothes when showering! Also, not sure how often the floors were cleaned (no evidence of having been cleaned while I was there). A mop and bucket available to use after showering would help greatly

Despite that, I would be happy to stay there again 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Pamela R 1 review from this member

 Just spent 2 lovely days at Dalebottom campsite. We had a camping pitch for a 4 man tent. The weather was good so the location was absolutely fabulous, 360 degree panoramic views of the fells, a beautiful campsite.

The toilets and shower block were absolutely spotless. A 1 token per shower required. The site was peaceful although 3 quarters full. The site is Dog friendly.

It is close to Keswick centre with a short ride in the car or approx. half an hour walk.

Didnt explore walks from the site to Low/High Rigg St Johns in the Vale or the Stone circle at castlerigg,

Planning to return soon to do so though in the coming weeks, cant wait to return 


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jimti3 1 review from this member

 Setting of site was very picturesque. Owners very helpful. However for amount charged facilities very basic.

Easy access for local transport to other areas. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 594 reviews from this member

 I last stayed here 10 years ago and very little has changed.

It's in a stunning location but the site itself is unkempt with older tourers and statics predominating.

Showers are very basic and prone to faults. And they charge 1 for them.

25 per night + 1 per shower wasn't great value! 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Taxis Kendal 29 reviews from this member

 Great views outside of the large camping field, but the field is largely bordered by static caravans, long term caravans and a wasteland/waterworks work in progress. We were able to pitch our tent anywhere. Useful, since outside of the long term stays, most of the field is sloping. There was only one functioning washroom sink for the site, but on our Monday night we were the only tent, with two caravans occupied. Road noise is only slight, but the lower of the two tracks through the field was very noisy with a tractor and trailer on some occasions.

We phoned twice beforehand, leaving a message, but received no reply. Reception was closed when we arrived at 3. 30pm, but a nice man took our money when we found him working in the farmyard. 16 for two adults, a tent and car for the night, gazebo free of charge. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Angef 28 reviews from this member

 We stayed here as we wanted a tent pitch with electric, at last minute, and dalebottom farm said there was plenty of space and quoted a much cheaper price than other sites in the area.

Dalebottom is located in a lovely valley, it was very windy the day we arrived but we were very sheltered and hardly felt a breeze. The pitches are sloping but we managed to get a relatively flat pitch, in fact at one point there were only 2 tents on the entire site. The site has a few statics, seasonal tourers and ample space for tents without electric.

The toilets are old and dated, but functional, clean and the toilet roll was topped up every day so there was never an issue. The showers (which were a lovely temperature) had 20p machines outside but were free when we used them, with electric sockets for charging phones or using hairdryers. They were always open, so no restrictions on when you went for a shower etc unlike some sites.

The views from the site are lovely, looking at Blencathra, or Low Rigg, with ample walks from the site.

My gripe with this site is the lack of prices available. We were quoted 28 a night for a tent with electric, 2 adults, 4 children and 2 cars, both by email and telephone. However, when we arrived at the site, we were told there had been an error and the fee was actually 34 - payment was by cash only, and we were never given any change !

The dishwashing area is in a room in the toilet block, but again you have to pay 20p for hot water - something I personally disagree with.

The site gets very dark at night with no lighting, so torches are needed but on the plus side, the stars are stunning.

There is a horse in one of the fields, and this was exercised through the main field of the site, close to the tent, harmless enough but a little too close to the tent for my liking.

There were 2 groups of DofE on site, but we never had any noise from them, I suspect if this site was busy noise could be an issue, with the owner working on the farm or away from the site.

Probably wouldn't stay here again due to the price for the facilities on offer but if you're not bothered about decent toilets and showers and just want good views and walks, this is a good site to stay on.

Overall, a lot of money for the facilities on offer. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Blinxter 11 reviews from this member

 I was looking for another site from this website which had no directions posted by the owner and as such, remained undiscovered. Having passed this well sign posted farm camp site several times on my search up and down the road I decided to give it a punt. What a fantastic accident!

The site accepts everything from tourers to tents and also has statics and cottages to rent, there is a shop and the staff and family are so pleasant and helpful.

Literally over the hill from Keswick to the north and 5k (2 bus stops) from a pub hotel to the south.

The short hop to Keswick provides local markets and produce plus all your modern luxuries including an all you can eat Indian restaurant. The fuel is reasonably priced in the town too so avoid the more expensive petrol stations on route if you can.

Not in a car/leaving it at the site? The busses between Keswick and Lancaster (555 and 555R) run roughly every half hue from the top of the driveway.

The site is bordered by tall conifers on the road side which effectively cuts away any road noise with the exception of the occasional loud motorcycle but these still sound quite distant.

Electric hook ups available for my tent, don't thikn this is a normal service but on enquiry they accommodated a flattish spot at one end caravan area. Without electricity you are free to pitch our tent in the large flat field over the wall.

Toilet and wash facilities available, shower 20p and all cleaned out daily in the wee small hours as the sun is still peeping over the mountain in the east.

Friendly and helpful, even to the extent of the young farmers daughter Becky giving the visiting kids supervised rides on her horse (at no extra charge)

An excellent base for a stay in the lakes with everything within easy access. 15 minutes to Penrith and the motorway with the rest of the lakes within easy drive from here.

A true gem, I am already planning my next visit and this time plan to take the rest of the family.

I could write for ever about this site but I will leave it at that, thoroughly enjoyed my brief stay. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jordygl 1 review from this member

 We first camped at Dale Bottom 20 years ago we have stayed in there caravans and one of there two cottages. I love the whole atmosphere of the site as well as the friendliness of the family. We returned to Dale Bottom this year after a few years break and everything the same. Friendly owners even helping us out lending us cables for electric hook up basic showers toilets and washing up facilities but very clean and we will be returning very soon 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: CKC100 15 reviews from this member

 We visited this site after not finding anywhere else at 7 at night and it was a great find.

We were given a nice spot albiet it was a bit damp to start with, but that was not an issue as it soon dried up over the stay.

Handy as well as there was grass pitches with hook up as we were told by one site that we drove into that there was no sites in the area that offered grass pitches for campers, which was wrong obviously.

We have a campervan with a large drive away awning and the price per night including hook up was really good for the area.

The campsite warden was very nice and pleasant also along with the old man in the shop. I never noticed the items in the shop until the last few days of our stay, but would have been very handy if we had not wanted to go out for the day.

Keswick only being a couple of miles from the site as well was quite handy for the odd takeaway treat as well.

The site was nice and quite and the views were very good as well. We had 5 days of which were all sun and very warm.

The toilets were cleaned every day and had plenty hot water, showers were 20p and roasting hot. Only thing with them in the womens ones there was no where to hang clothes whislt taking a shower and a shelf or two would have been handy at the sinks. In the whole the toilet blocks were functional for what is required.

I would certainly stay here again and recommend it to others as well. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Theoccupier 2 reviews from this member

 This site was just what we were looking for. We visited for the Keswick Mountain Festival, 2 adults, 1 child and 4 large dogs. On searching for campsites, many wanted to charge me additional fees per dog however this site charge per unit. Plenty of space, electric hook up at no extra cost (we didn't use this). Small shop in the reception though I can't comment on this as I didn't really pay much attention, I was too taken with the elderly gentleman who was booking me onto the site. What a delightful man.

Shower/toilet block was clean and well looked after.

Will probably stay here again. 


Previous     34 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Dalebottom Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Dalebottom Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Keswick      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2764 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement