Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hoathwaite Farm National Trust

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Coniston > Hoathwaite Farm National Trust Reviews

Hoathwaite Farm National Trust
Torver
Coniston
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA21 8AX
Tel: 015394 32733
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 60
Open: 23/03 To 28/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 15 Reviews
                9/10 from 15 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. We don't have showers. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bodandmeg 1 review from this member

 A very good site if you like the more ‘off grid’ style of camping, as opposed to the very formal caravan park style. - No ehu. - Ground is VERY undulating, so finding a truly flat pitch is very difficult - levelling ramps are really a necessity. -

Pleasant, friendly and informative staff, who are actually National Park Wardens, and who look after more than one site. -

Good 4G and mobile signal on the site. -

Toilets were clean and adequate, although only two unisex shower cubicles for the whole site. - Chemical disposal, adequate rubbish bins and glass recycling available. -

Good Access to the lake, and to the fells (walk The Old Man of Coniston from this site). -

Pubs available within walking distance at Torver (nearest) and Coniston, which can be reached via off-road footpath. -

All in all, a good site if you like basic (quieter) campsites - but unsuitable for caravans. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Carol Lauderdale 1 review from this member

 A beautiful site with stunning views. Basic facilities, two very clean showers, ladies and gents toilets and good washing up area.

The top field has extensive options for pitching your tent and is well drained. There is a small shop on site which opens a couple of times a day when the warden visits.

Lots of walks can be done directly from the site and the lake is a 5 - 10 minute walk downhill. Camped for two nights with my eight year old granddaughter in a small backpacking tent and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. This time of year the midges can be a problem but go prepared with an insect repellent coil to burn and you will be fine. The site is quiet, can certainly recommend to fellow campers. We will be staying here again in the future. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pete654 1 review from this member

 This National Trust site was promoted as basic, and this is honest.

This was my second visit this year, in June the showers were cramped plastic portaloo type things, in September whizzy new purpose built timber structures with good quality fittings had appeared. Really nice!

A new hut/shop had also appeared to be opened when the warden was on site, I did not see it open as I was out walking. The toilets (Gents at least) were clean but in need of TLC as they had been in June. I fear however price rises may be on the way if improvements continue.

I was too mean to pay the booking fee so turned up on spec and found a great pitch with a view over Coniston Water, it was a bit exposed to the wind though. The field is rough and steep in places and tends to mud quite quickly. Trips to the loo at night without a torch proved challenging and the nearest (of 2) standpipes became boggy.

At £6 a night an affordable break. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TEFKAS 23 reviews from this member

 This is a basic site on the hill side falling down to Coniston water between Coniston village and Torver. Access is by a very narrow but well maintained lane. We had pre-booked our stay and glad that we did because we were confronted by a 'FULL' sign as we entered the gateway. The NT warden was very friendly as he booked us in. He helpfully explained the facilities, which didn't take long because there aren't many, and told us to pitch where we wanted. You can drive on to field and park by your pitch - which is not marked.

We chose to stay in the top field on a flat spot near the fall away. We had a great view down to the lake with the Old Man behind us. To the North, the Langdales were spectacularly painted red by a glorious sunset. We were about to pitch our small tent between two big Outwells but thought we would be too close to them. We were amazed when later on a large group turned up with 3 large tents and assorted vehicles and corralled themselves into the same space we had thought too small. Hint: overlapping guys with your neighbours is a dead giveaway that you are too close. We feared party time but to be fair the guests were very quiet.

Our pitch was flat, dry and firm. Pegs went in OK - just had to change the angle of a couple to avoid some stones. The facilities consist of toilets in a portacabin and washup facilities - 3 sinks - in a farm outbuilding. The showers were here too - 2 cubicles stood on wooden decking. I've not seen this type of arrangement before. The shower was turned on by flipping a switch on the shower head which started the flow. There was no adjustment of flow or temperature, but it was just right for me. And free!

The farm I mentioned above appears to be disused. I've seen a few NT properties like this. I have no idea what they intend to do with the buildings.

It's a steep walk down to the lake, so we drove down and parked out of the way to launch our kayak. We spent a perfect day paddling from end to end and back. We discovered the lower camping field. It's a trek to the facilities at the top but night-time emergencies are catered for by a couple of portaloos.

We like NT sites because they are generally quiet and well run without being regimented. This was a great example. We walked to Coniston village (about 30 mins) which took us through Coniston Hall Campsite - this was absolutely jam packed and we saw that people were still turning up. I'm glad were not staying there!

Our 2 nights at Hoathwaite cost us £26. We packed up early on the last morning and scooted up the Old Man before the rain came down. Brilliant weekend all-round. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: XFMGx 4 reviews from this member

 I was a bit dubious about booking this site as there seemed to be a lot of emphasis on it being basic. I'm glad I gave it a whirl! The site was beautiful, over looking lake Coniston. The facilities were basic but very clean and a lovely warm shower. The showers were in a portaloo size box but it did the job. I can't comment on customer service as we didn't see anyone and it wasn't clear if we needed to book in but everything was quite explanatory so we didn't need any help. The site was split into 2 parts. We pitched up in the top part which had stunning views. The second, lower part didn't have the views but was very close to the lake which was great. I have a membership for the National Trust so use campsites as a base to visit the local national trust places so took the opportunity to visit Tarn Hows and also Allan Bank. We also took a walk from the campsite along the lakeside to Coniston village where we stocked up on fudge! There's so much to do that I'll need to book again! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sarahmcquaid 2 reviews from this member

 We had a wonderful 7-night stay here despite near-continuous rain! Nice quiet laid-back site, very much a family place - our kids found other children to play with and the site is small enough that the kids had freedom to roam and yet were pretty much always within view. Various rope swings attached to trees and so forth. It was also really nice to be able to choose our own pitch. Drainage was good, no mud or puddles even in heavy rain. Toilets are basic and weren't always well maintained - loo roll ran out a few times and took a day or so to be replenished - but it wasn't a big problem and I'd happily go back there again. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pipplepopplesue 1 review from this member

 We have just come back from a lovely stay over the bank holiday weekend at this beautiful national trust campsite. The location and views are stunning and we really did not want to leave! The site was not too busy even on a bank holiday weekend and there was plenty of room to pitch. It is a very quiet campsite and was silent at 11 pm when we came back from a stroll down to the extremely nice pub in Torver along a newly opened path down the old railway line. The warden was very helpful and we were very impressed with the facilities. New clean toilet porta cabin. 4 ladies toilets, spotlessly clean with hand wash and towels and lots of toilet roll which was replenished daily. The 2 showers were in a farm building behind with 2 pot washing sinks. Again very clean and once you had a system to keep everything dry not a problem at all. Only cold water to wash up in but good to have this facility as we didn't expect it. If you want peace and quiet then this campsite is perfect. If you want more facilities/hook ups/a shop then there are other campsites that provide this. For us it was perfect. It's a five minute walk to the lake and then 45 minutes to walk along the lake and on good paths to coniston. Lots of people cycled along here. Coniston is a lovely village with plenty of shops to buy any type of food you need. We absolutely loved our stay and will be using this gorgeous campsite again and again. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Peace and Quiet 1 review from this member

 We - husband any myself - stayed here for just over two weeks during August. We loved it here.

We chose it because we wanted to go somewhere quiet and the emphasis at this site is on quiet. There is a notice as you arrive saying that this is a quiet site and noise to be kept to a minimum at all times, with no noise after 11pm.

The first two nights weren't quiet at all though, and we were kept awake on our second night until 1.30pm due to people partying in their tents. We wondered if we'd made a big mistake. However, after that it was very peaceful. Those people left and the warden was very put out that there had been noise late at night.

The location is lovely, and access to the lakeside is easy. We spent many happy hours watching birds and deer from our pitch. The site got busy for a few nights whilst we were there, but there was still plenty of room for everyone. Most of the time there was loads of room for everyone.

There is only one shower in a porta-cabin, so it's a good thing the site wasn't busy all the time. The shower wasn't too clean and I would advise that you take waterproof shoes to go in with. Also, take a plastic bag to put your things in, then hang it on the door before you pull the shower curtain across. The shower curtain needs throwing away! I would suggest to the National Trust that they change it at least once a month. The water was warm though.

We took a toilet tent with us, although we occasionally used the site facilities. I always found the women's to be clean enough, although my husband had to clean the loo on several occasions before he could use it. He suspected that young kids had been in on their own. There was only one cubicle for men when we arrived, although a porta-cabin loo arrived whilst we were staying there. Not just for men though, for anyone. There are three ladies loos in the large porta-cabin.

We missed a shop too - especially to freeze ice packs. But, after having said all that, it was a lovely site and we'd happily go back. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alex75 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from our second visit to hoathwaite and I can definitely say we will be returning again. Camping at its basic. Fantastic views all around, coniston lake 5 mins walk down the hill. Coniston village at least 20 min walk along the lake.

Facilities are very basic but cleaned daily by the warden. Highly recommend this site purley for the location. Must say though the sit it on a slight slope but there are flattish pitches. The large tree at the bottom of the hill has a rope swing and is the ideal place for all the kids to meet up. (my 7 yr old daughter was out playing straight after breakfast and only came back for a drink or something to eat.) Great site for young kids as you can see where they are at all times. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chloster101 1 review from this member

 I have just been to Hoathwaite Farm Camp Site and it has been quite amazing. The lake was a short walk away and was very useful for doing water sports eg Sailing, Canoeing and Raft Building.

We were not far away from the shops but you had to walk at least 30 minutes before you get there. I think you have to bring your own toilets but I'm not sure because I went with school. Also the weather was great for 3 out of the 4 days I went.

I totally recommend this to anyone who wants a challenge or who just likes to relax for the weekend. 


Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hoathwaite Farm National Trust child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hoathwaite Farm National Trust?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Hoathwaite Farm National Trust dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Coniston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5376 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement