Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Whinfell Hall Farm Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Cockermouth > Whinfell Hall Farm Camp Site > Reviews

Whinfell Hall Farm Camp Site
Lorton
Whinfell Campsite
Low Lorton
Cockermouth
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA13 0RQ
Tel: 07706976907  or  07706976907
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/03/2024 to 30/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 24 Reviews
                8/10 from 24 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   No Motorhomes   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  24 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: RA93 12 reviews from this member

 A great little site.

Owner around if you need help but not intrusive.

Facilities are dated but perfectly adequate and always clean.

Quite a lot of cats around the site but not really a nuisance.

Ideal location for getting to the Western Lakes or Cockermouth. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 636 reviews from this member

 The site is in a lovely location, near a nice village pub and easy driving distance to Cockermouth in one direction and some of the best places in the Lakes in another.

We arrived and pitched up and didn’t see any owner during our stay.

Pitches a bit uneven and ground muddy and churned up. We just about managed as there’d been some dry days, but it had clearly been problematic during rainy weather.

Facilities basic but adequate.

Would return but would think twice in anything other than dry weather. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Dianne 1 review from this member

 Lovely old school campsite. Perfectly situated for exploring the area.

Toilets and showers are a bit dated but regularly cleaned and showers are always hot.

Owners pretty much leave you to enjoy your holiday but are there to help you if needed.

Good value for money and will definitely be returning next year. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Brianf 2 reviews from this member

 Nice camp in a very nice location, facilities, basic, but very clean.

Their menus in the utility room for eateries in Cockermouth, there's a pub about 10 mins walk away, make sure you book a table, otherwise they WONT serve you any food.

We plan to return to Whinfell soon, Not really a site for young kids, in my opinion. No play area. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Stephj 1 review from this member

 Great campsite, beautiful views of the surrounding mountains. Owners are friendly and very helpful (thank you for lending us your jump leads).

The toilet, showering, washing up facilities were very clean, I saw the owner on several occasions making sure of this. Hair dryers have been removed in accordance to the COVID guidance (Understandably), so make sure to pack your own.

The location is perfect if your looking for a trip to Crummock water (about a 10 min drive) or Buttermere (about 20 min drive) I highly recommend these places, stunning walks!

Overall great little trip and extremely good value for money. Thank you 😊 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Lancaster20 5 reviews from this member

 Good location. Easy to get there. Pub and shop in the village.

A bit chaotic when we and others arrived. No one to say where to go and confusing as some pitches had reserved signs - not clear if they were reserved for people who had booked.

Basic facilities - toilet, shower in draughty building, water pipe and sink for washing dishes.

Rained so toilet floors became muddy - needed to be cleaned more often.

No obvious chemical disposal point. Although spotted farmer lifting a drain cover for someone to use

Not first choice but would use again if wanted to visit buttermere. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Yorci 9 reviews from this member

 I spent 3 very pleasant nights at £17 per night with electric (arrived Mon 30 Jul - departed Thu 2 Aug), at the Whinfell Hall Farm Camp Site which is spread over 3 small fields. There is a mixture of electric and non-electric pitches which are a good size and level. The site is dog-friendly and is suitable for families with kids with space to play ball games - providing the site is not busy!

Whilst the site may not be 5 stars, it is basic, whether you are a solo, couple or a family, I do recommend it. Overall I enjoyed my stay and I will definitely be returning later this year, if this summer continues, I may squeeze in two short trips.

The site is located within the Vale of Lorton with the River Cocker just across the road. It is a 10 minute or so drive to Cockermouth where there is a Sainsbury's and usual shops and facilities and the nearest pub the Wheatsheath is only a 5-minute walk down the road.

Likes

The site is very quiet, spacious and great location for visiting Loweswater and Cockermouth area, and very good value for money.

The washing, shower and toilet facilities are very clean, with hand scented soap available in the toilets - but there is no hand dryer (take a hand towel!). Though there are only 2 wash-up sinks where there is a freezer. There are 2 toilets and 2 showers in the gents, they are very clean and tidy, with plenty of hot water. However, it may involve queuing at times. Whilst they are very clean they are very tired and in need of a bit of modernising.

The owner is very friendly and welcoming, and only a phone call/text message away with their number displayed at the reception office.

Dislikes

There was no appointing of the pitches, so it is a bit of a free-for-all on arrival with no manned reception. There was a camper who booked electric, but ended up with non-electric. Some pitches had stakes with a tag labelling them as reserved, but no names on the tags. I was fortunate as the owner showed me to my electric pitch.

The path through the site is uncovered, so after rain or in the wetter months the trek to the small centrally located toilet block can be very muddy.

The refuse bin opposite the shower block was in need of being emptied, it was overflowing on my visit - a bit unsightly. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Camp2017 1 review from this member

 An overall fantastic weekend :) Only criticism of the campsite would be of the showers which tended to switch from one extreme temperature to the other. Other than this, the toilet blocks were kept exceptionally clean with toilet rolls and soaps being replaced daily, the hairdryer in the female showers also came in very useful when the weather took a turn for the worse. We were a group of 9 under 18's and we all found the campsite to be very welcoming to us which is unusual for a group of our size and age, this was much appreciated as this turned out to be one of the best weekends we'd spent together. The prices of pitches were very reasonable and provided us with everything we needed for our weekend away :)

The nearby pub 'The Wheatsheaf inn' was also a welcome change from the stove cooking with lovely food and great service only a 10 minute walk from the site. If you plan on going here I would definitely recommend booking well in advance, I phoned up round 5 days before we intended to go and still struggled to get a table due to a large group before us.

The nearest shop we found to be useful was the Sainsburys's in Cockermouth centre which was only a 10 minute drive from the campsite.

All in all, our experience with this campsite was more than adequate for what we needed and provided the base for a very memorable weekend.

Thank you for having us, we will hopefully be back. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Zzcharlie 12 reviews from this member

 We stopped at eight sites in a two week tour of the Moors, Lakes & Dales & the wife said this was one of her favorites, it doesn't need modernising it's great as it is, all you need & it's clean. The little touches like flower arrangements & hand wash in the ladies are much appreciated. Considering it's old buildings it was kept lovely & clean. The Swallows flying in & out of washroom are a joy to watch as well. In case you're wondering the fields are as described in most other reviews all grass & reasonably flat but could be a problem if to much rain if anything like our MH, it's the original stick in the mud! for £14. 50 pn for two of us the dog & electric can't be bad! 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: SianG-J 2 reviews from this member

 Turned up without a booking, just for the one night, but not a problem as it was just before the late May bank holiday so site hadn't started to fill up yet. Lovely situation as small paddock area, with high hedges between ourselves and the road, although this was not busy.

All facilities, just a bit shabby, not a problem for us though as site was very reasonably priced.

Very quiet and relaxing place will definitely return. 


Previous     24 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Whinfell Hall Farm Camp Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Whinfell Hall Farm Camp Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Whinfell Hall Farm Camp Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cockermouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet National Outdoor Expo 23/03 to 24/03
Held at the NEC in Birmingham, bringing outdoor enthusiasts all of the kit, tech, nutrition, activities and advice under one roof for a jam-packed weekend of outdoor inspiration Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3579 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement