Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Marsh Farm Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Askam In Furness > Marsh Farm Caravan Site Reviews

Marsh Farm Caravan Site
Duddon Road
(lake District)
Askam In Furness
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA16 7AW
Tel: 01229 462321
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/04 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 9 Reviews
                8/10 from 9 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jhmills 2 reviews from this member

 No frills camping at its very best. Six of us made our way there in July, two adults and two kids in a tent and two seniors in a camper van. The farm owners pointed us to the right field and we had it all to ourselves for three days. The shower rooms and loos were basic but always well-scrubbed and clean. The location was splendid, nestling behind dunes that overlooked the Duddon estuary, with the hills and peaks of the Lake District stretching off into the distance. There was endless space for running around, flying kites and kicking footballs, and plenty of scenery to be admired for those less inclined to activity. Askam itself has a station, a pub that opens five days a week, a splendid curry house, a Chinese take-away, a chippy and a Co-Op. Barrow is a short drive or train ride down the coast. We drove for a half hour one day up to Coniston Water, and took the train on another to see the steam railway at Ravenglass and enjoy lunch and excellent beer at the station pub there. And the site cost £7 a day. Not for glampers, it's one for the campers. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cooksons 1 review from this member

 We went to Marsh Farm and it was carnival day. The road was closed for 2 hours so we had to wait but that didn't spoil our trip. We just watched the carnival procession.

We pitched our tent in a quiet field and then went to the Carnival. Unfortunately the weather changed and we spent a very windy cold night there.

When it started to rain the following morning we thought we had better cut our stay short. There is a beach nearby which will be beautiful in the sunshine.

The South Lakes Animal Farm is not far away and in the spring season you get to hand feed the Animals.

The Village is just a walk away and because it was too windy to light our gas stove, we went to the local chippy.

You don't get many chips for £1.30 though. Very friendly Town and we will definitely be back when the weather improves. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ba67 3 reviews from this member

 My family have been to this site many times and if what you want is very basic camping with no clubs etc then this is the place to be. Picturesque views, great walks, loads of space for the kids to run riot and only a short walk to the beach.

Toilets and showers are available and although very basic Mary keeps them clean and tidy (pity about the concrete floor in the showers).

This is a working farm and you have to remember that, close the gates and drive slowly.

Very cheap to stay here but very relaxing place to be. The only thing that would be nice is some kind of lighting at night other than that very happy to keep going to this site. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Delaney45 5 reviews from this member

 Site is just really an open field, plenty of room for the kids to run around. Toilets basic but spotless. 1/2 mile to supermarket, 1/4 to pub, a few takeaways in the village. We never actually got to stay on the site, we arrived paid and started to try and pitch up but the wind coming off the fells was horrendous so we decided to not risk damaging our gear. We went and told the lovely old lady who owns the site we would not be staying and she promptly refunded our fees and said she hoped to see us again in better weather, which she certainly will! 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Pablo1308 15 reviews from this member

 We have stayed at this lovely little site on numerous occasions as it is local to visit my children.

The site is very basic, it has clean toilets, hot showers and a pot wash area. All included in the price.

At £2 per person per night plus £1 per night for the car you can't beat the value. I would highly recommend this site and we will be staying here again. There are fabulous views and there are lovely walks along the beach. Handy for the local village and the train station is less than a mile away. This is ideal for people who want to explore the picturesque North West. 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wwells69 1 review from this member

 We found the campsite to be ideal. The lady in charge was very helpful and apologised for the state of the toilets / wash facilities as she had not had a chance to do them yet - They were spotless. We had the pick of where to pitch our tent.
It was a very secluded and quiet site, which suited us fine, with easy access to Barrow-in-furness and a beautiful beach at Roanhead. There was no need to book in advance and we were charged just £2 per person per night and £1 for the car. Great value, great site and we will be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: RogerS24 1 review from this member

 We spent a very pleasant weekend at this site and had the field to ourselves. Weather was good and we enjoyed walks along the estuary with spectacular views of the lake district as a backdrop.

We made several trips out to Lake Coniston (20 minutes drive) and swam and fished in the Lake. Also spent a day on the beach at Walney Island (Nature Reserve - North) where we swam in the sea and sunbathed in the dunes - lovely!

Would recommend this site for its peace and quiet and value for money. Facilities basic but perfectly adequate. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mackemprincess 3 reviews from this member

 We visited this site many many times before moving permanently from the North East to the North West.  The site is very basic but is what I would call closer to rough camping. There are toilet and shower facilities and thankfully no clubhouse. The site has all year caravans and is also a working farm. In our experience we usually camped in the field which was previously occupied by the cows so choosing your spot was important.
You are surrounded by Lake District hills and beaches and beautiful walks, you can take walks via the local golf course which is mainly occupied by sheep and a little wild and wonderful. The site however some might say is just a basic site with the practicalities of a working farm, sewage plants (I think) and windmills (well that's what I call them).
BUT the cost to us when we stayed there was £1 per head per night and £1 for the car, tent came free and all the space we needed. 
I spent a whole week there one time and the lady there was very helpful and refroze our freezer blocks for us when they were needed and the rest of the time we were left to our own devices to enjoy our break and camping holiday and relaxation.  


Date of Visit: August 2005 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gill Maxwell 1 review from this member

 Extremely disappointing site. Started by trying to find Reception - not signed - had to knock at farm back door to find which pitch to use. Water points not clearly marked, and with no associated drains got a bit wet with spillage. Toilet block, although clean, in very poor repair and binder twine used to flush overhead toilet cysterns as chains missing. Shower floors un-sealed concrete - yeugh! No brown water disposal point - choice to either tip down a stream (not very environmentally friendly) or lift full 40litre waste hog up onto a toilet bowl. Picturesque location next to the sewage treatment plant!

Good points, fairly peaceful (apart from sewage pumps), not much traffic and good field to run dogs. Nice walk along sea embankment, but don't go onto the beach -quicksand! 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Marsh Farm Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Marsh Farm Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Marsh Farm Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Askam In Furness      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3439 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements