Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Great Langdale Campsite National Trust

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Great Langdale Campsite National Trust
Great Langdale
(lake District)
Ambleside
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA22 9JU
Tel: 015394 32733
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 140 Reviews
                9/10 from 140 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  140 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Other Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: LBBK 40 reviews from this member

As a tent camper I reviewed this site back in June 2016 but this time I stayed in one of their "camping pods" - aka posh shed - so thought it worth writing another review.

The pod was comfortable & pleasantly warm thanks to its little radiator. There was also a spare electric plug for other uses: camping fridge, low wattage camping kettle or phone charging.

The mattresses were comfortable but you were at floor level not on a sleeping platform.

Reception: staff friendly but seemed poorly stocked maybe because it was still early in the season? The Co-op, 2 miles up the road but you can walk on nice footpaths, had plenty of supplies.

Toilet blocks: one was closed for refitting. The other was open but quite a walk from the furthest corners of the site. Ladies: absolutely fine but my husband reported somewhat unpleasant toilet blockages in the Gents each day suggesting design faults.

One further warning: it can snow in Langdale in April. A family had booked a teepee tent and reported it was absolutely freezing inside at night. Don't forget your hot water bottle!

Date of Visit: December 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 490 reviews from this member

We spent New Year in Great Langdale and it was excellent.

The National Trust pub, the Sticklebarn, was a great place for the celebrations.

Langdale is one of the most picturesque spots in the Lakes so the site is worth visiting for the hill walking alone!

Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 490 reviews from this member

This is an excellent base for walking in the Langdale valley. Excellent walks including Bowfell and Lingmoor.

The Sticklebarn is a good pub with a friendly welcome, though the food is average and overpriced.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Beri 2 reviews from this member

I loved this campsite but now that they have installed a biomass fuelled heating system that is on all night and sounds like a loud extractor fan, I shall not be returning for a while. Even earplugs did not work. The extractor fan in the new toilet block is also noisy, and neither should be on all night. Possibly OK if you pitch up nearer the old toilet block or the Group field.

I may return later in the year as I am hopeful that this will get sorted.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: John dev 3 reviews from this member

I have visited this site many times over the years and have always pre booked a pitch at the side of the family field as the pitches are flat and there is plenty of room between tents, however when booking this time I was told that they no longer used the usual pitches in order to save the grass from wearing out in the same spots but was told a spot would be saved for me in that area

On arrival I was told the area was full and I would have to search the site for a space, after 30 mins of walking round the site I found a spot and pitched. I went to look at the area I had booked and saw that more tents than usual were on the same piece of grass, so it seems to me that rather than saving the grass the idea of getting rid of pitch numbers is to get more tents in and make more money. A shame as its a lovely site but is now a massive free for all whether you pre book or not

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: BeachDog 26 reviews from this member

National Trust run campsite in an ideal location for walks in the fells. 5 mins to Old Dungeon Ghyll pub which serves great food and ale. Small shop on site. Level pitches, few hard standing campervan pitches adjacent to the reception area which did feel a bit like a car park. Big field for tent pitches. Showers and toilets clean.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Christophertrafford 1 review from this member

Great site with very good facilities. Friendly staff with good local knowledge. 3 pubs within easy walking distance that serve food. Magnificent views. A good choice of accommodation, tent, caravan, yurts, huts, mobile home.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Jimmyb 1 review from this member

Great campsite though it gets a little like a car park at peak times. Love the informality of everything. Now got more electric hook ups so becoming more popular at weekends so plan ahead. Only gripe really is the 5 booking on line fee.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Howards of hessle 4 reviews from this member

Have camped here a few times and a fabulous site with friendly helpful staff. Great local pubs serving tasty food. Perfect for climbing Scaffel pike etc. What more can you ask for. Oh and there's a drying room, to dry boots and clothes. Just in case the weather isn't on your side. Back there in August.

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Summersmum 27 reviews from this member

Friendly welcome from National Trust staff and pointed out where to pitch. Details had been left on the door with a map provided too but we had personal service having arrived after 3pm when shop was open. We thought that was when you had to arrive as it is not very clear from the website - but other people seemed to arrive at all times. Would have ben useful to know where water points were on arrival as it was a long way to carry it to our campervan once we had pitched - only two water points at shower blocks. Fabulous views all around and we did walks in all directions without having to drive anywhere. Imagine it would be very busy in season with over 200 pitches but lovely and quiet in March - only a few campervan pitches but they seemed to be flexible at this time of year for those who didn't want hook up. There were even some brave tent campers. Website says you can only book 24 hours in advance which seems silly considering you have to pay the full amount then too - surely most people having paid will turn up.

Several pubs in walking distance and all dog friendly - completely different feel to them so depends what you like. In fact we each preferred the food in different ones! Large toilet and shower blocks which were clean and warm - could do with a floor mop/squeegee to leave it dry for those following you. I'm sure we will be back but not in high season !

Previous     140 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


207 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!