Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Great Langdale Campsite National Trust

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Ambleside > Great Langdale Campsite National Trust > Reviews

Great Langdale Campsite National Trust
Great Langdale
(lake District)
Ambleside
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA22 9JU
Tel: 015394 32733
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 175
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 155 Reviews
                9/10 from 155 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  155 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: October 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Julesmorris 33 reviews from this member

 Stayed here many times over the years, including a memorable tent invasion by a hungry hedgehog.

This was our first time with the campervan, there are four dedicated campervan pitches otherwise you park on the car parking hardstanding along the access roads.

Shower block was toasty warm with hot showers and underfloor heating, shop was adequate though pricey and quirky {no cereal bars, chickpea curry).

A short stagger to the Old Dungeon Ghyll pub which has a renowned climbers bar with fire, food, local ales, dog=friendly and free WiFi. 


Date of Visit: June 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Susant 1 review from this member

 I was blown away by this camp site

Stunning location

Considering the camp site was full it did not feel crowded at all.

The facilities were wonderful and very clean! I absolutely enjoyed my stay and would recommend 10/10 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Dnestr 1 review from this member

 All excellent, but no internet and even no mobile connection.

I forgot my watch in toilet, and found them in reception to my big happiness.

All clean in toilets and showers. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor + Jo 132 reviews from this member

 The location is just stunning with awesome walks in all directions from the campsite. The campsite is generally well maintained and the facilities immaculate.

There are plenty of trees and hedges for shelter and this also breaks the site up into smaller units.

The place has a very safe feel and there was a lovely, friendly atmosphere.

However, it's not all good. The water pressure in the far wash block was poor and the showers weren't that hot. It seemed better in the wash block by the reception. The biomass unit emits an annoying intermittent hum so don't pitch too close. T

Here is no phone reception or WiFi, although this could be seen as a benefit!

26 for two and a medium tent isn't exactly a bargain either.

Finally, I had a hole chewed in my tent door by rats after a loaf of bread so the vermin control policy needs improving. Never had this happen before in over 30 years of camping.

There are two pubs within easy walking distance and a shop for essentials on site. 


Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Callya 1 review from this member

 Lovely campsite, the facilities are nice and clean and the staff are extremely helpful.

Our tent was a little worse for wear after a storm and they fixed it for us whilst we were away from the site.

There is absolutely no phone signal or Wi-Fi on the site which is great if you want to enjoy the peaceful surroundings without interruption.

Also two pubs situated nearby with friendly staff and customers.

Overall I Would highly recommend this camp site ❤️ 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Gazeed 1 review from this member

 Great campsite with amazing views. Good value for money and all the amenities that was needed.

Make sure you take strong pegs though as I bent a few trying to put them into the ground 🤣 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Camp Velo 1 review from this member

 The site itself is fantastic - an old favourite in a scenic location and close to great pubs.

We haven't been for a few years and were pleasantly surprised to find they now space people out a lot more - in the old days, tents were crammed together.

Also, the toilet & shower block has moved considerably upmarket with lovely tiles and heated floors - very luxurious for a campsite!

There was some confusion about our booking as we did it online at short notice and didn't get a reply.

However, we managed to get a space when we arrived as there are a small number of campervan spaces not booked in advance. We were very lucky. 


Date of Visit: October 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Jbb1003 6 reviews from this member

 Second time we've been, and second time the campsite has flooded. We expected it this time, given the forecast, and pitched on higher ground, plus packed wellies and ponchos which made packing up much more pleasant.

However, the first time we went (summer '20) we were lucky with our pitch, but had to move our friends' tent and help several other campers move theirs. Either we are missing something, or there is no information provided by NT about possible flood zones here.

The campsite is great, the drying room is wonderful, the location is amazing. The fact that it floods, in a valley next to a lakeland beck, is unsurprising, but it would be nice to see it publicised a bit more (ie at all). The warden did come round last night and chat to everyone warning them the place was about to flood - but a bit late after you've already pitched.

Other comments

Toilets must have been installed by someone with no tape measure, the pans are way high off the floor!

Drying room is FAB and wish more sites had one. 


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Steven 1 review from this member

 Flat site, picturesque location, quiet site,

Clean toilet and showers.

Couple of nice pubs 10 minute walk. Lots to see and explore.

Friendly and helpful staff. Will return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Sarah3 3 reviews from this member

 Good location within walking distance of several pubs which were all good.

Excellent facilities, very clean, hot showers.

Staff were helpful and welcoming 
via mobile


Previous     155 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Great Langdale Campsite National Trust child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Great Langdale Campsite National Trust?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Great Langdale Campsite National Trust dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ambleside      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


55869 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement