Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Park Cliffe Camping & Caravan Estate

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Windermere > Park Cliffe Camping & Caravan Estate Reviews

Park Cliffe Camping & Caravan Estate
Birks Road
Near Tower Wood
Windermere
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA23 3PG
Tel: 015395 31344
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 140
Open: 01/03/2021 to 08/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 170 Reviews
                9/10 from 170 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  170 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Jwd80 2 reviews from this member

 We chose to stay somewhere near Windemere and I was aware the it is a bit more pricey than others we had been to, compared to North Yorkshire for example, however the Lake District is generally a little more 'pricey'. We were glad we were caravanning and not paying for a hotel. It is pricey for obvious reasons.

It's simply beautiful, with a plethora of things to do with the family, such as Brockhole, boating, hill walking, 'Peter Rabbit, home of Beatrix Potter, and the highlight; my kids feeding beautiful wild doves by hand in Bowness. It's a fabulous place, and highly recommend it as a touring destination.

We chose Park Cliffe because I wanted somewhere I could be sure was pleasant, and not far out, which is exactly what you get. Its immaculate, has its own mountain, lovely bar and cafe, and a play park. It had all we needed with pleasant staff, and would go to Park Cliffe again if going to the Lakes.

As the owner states, its better to approach from Newby Bridge with your tourer as the turn would be 'too tight' with potential grounding if approaching the other way (or go past the left turn into the campsite, and do a full 180 at the roundabout in Newbybridge, and back to make a Right turn). 


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Grannygrandma 5 reviews from this member

 Very nice site, we have stayed here quite a few times,

Always clean and tidy, staff friendly, lovely for children,

There's a stream that they can play in so take wellies,

Restaurant and bar nice, staff very friendly menu limited but good food 


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mikecollier 13 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic site.

Owners are very helpful - advised us of halloween party on arrival day and allowed early arrival to ensure the kids could attend.

Site is relatively flat with only minor leveling required. Hard standing pitches are serviced

Electricity is 10 Amp (only tripped it once with too many heaters on and you can reset yourself)

Beautiful views from site, including hill behind site that can be easily accessed giving spectacular views across Windermere.

Facilities are clean with plenty of hot water (two sets of each, so always one set open). Bar and restaurant on site

Only thing to note is make sure you approach site from Newby Bridge as last half mile is sharp turn off main road and single track. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: IzzieB 9 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a week long stay at Park Cliffe with our tourer. Excellent and friendly welcome on arrival and very informative of local attractions.

Pitch was spacious and provided full hook up which was not expected but appreciated. Shower facilities were well maintained and plenty of hot water.

Despite very busy period I did not need to queue at any time to shower which were solid cubicles so no passing shampoo under the partitions if you have children! Children enjoyed the play park and paddling in the stream which runs through the site.

Bar and restaurant good, with reasonably priced food. Nice that our dog could join us on the bar terrace for a drink in the afternoon too.

Only improvement I would say is to have regular opening times for the shop.

Thank you for a wonderful stay and look forward to returning. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: GAVLAD 5 reviews from this member

 Just spent two nights at Park Cliffe after booking it for a last minute weekend break. The site is located approx 4 miles from Bowness and is very much on a countryside hill.

Check in was smooth and the warden guided us to our pitch.

The site is a mixture of static vans, caravans, Motorhomes and tents. Take levellers as some pitches are not flat.

As we are in a Motorhome, our intention was to walk into Bowness with a pushchair but was disappointed to learn that there's no pavement on the main road into Bowness from the site and that the road is narrow and can be very busy. Taxi it was (12. 50 each way) if you had a car, it would take less than ten minutes.

For ease, I've listed the pros & cons experienced during our stay:

Pros

This is a lovely site, well tended, almost immaculate in fact, well laid out pitch wise, good facilities and friendly staff. The outlook is very nice.

Kids are very well catered for with a very good play area.

Toilet block, bar area and shop are all good.

If you have your own transport, this would be a very good choice of site.

Cons

You're a bit limited staying here without transport as public transport is hit & miss plus the bus stops are miles away.

I'm sure there will be a public footpath via fields and woods but if you've got kids, you'd have to take a taxi - factor in this cost before booking, as it adds up.

The site is noisy at night. We experienced excessive noise from those returning from the bar, plus endured a 3 car party staying in one tent chatting until after 0130hrs which was poor. Even when the heavens opened, the chitter chatter continued as they went inside their tent. (Not the sites fault but the site doesn't uphold their noise policy)

The Motorhome service point is located next door to reception - on a very steep hill. Not ideal for draining your tank.

Plus, the site parked their Land Rover there for the duration of our stay so we couldn't have accessed the grey waste point if we wanted to.

Small things, but when you pay a premium to stay at a decent site, one shouldn't experience such small annoying things.

All in all though, the site is a very nice site to stay at. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tony Headlam 29 reviews from this member

 Park Cliffe is a lovely little site, all the staff were pleasant and helpful,

There is a small shop on site that opened on request between the hours of 9 am to 5 pm a small bar, lounge area that provided meals, can't comment on those as we did not partake but they looked ok,

The play area for the children was well maintained and safe for them to play on, all the washing facilities where cleaned to a good standard and kept clean through out our stay.

The touring pitches are a good size with plenty of room for your awning and car and still room to sit and relax outside of your awning.

The campsite is on a bus route and only a short walk down to the main road, it is also perfectly placed to visit the many and varied attractions the lakes has to offer, walking or towns and villages that are scattered all over the area.

There is also a small fell to the rear of the campsite that is worth the walk up to take in the view of Lake Windermere and surrounding area 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Abbey15 2 reviews from this member

 Having asked for a 4m x 4m pitch upon booking, we were disappointed to find that the pitch was not able to accommodate our tent. We asked at reception but were told there was nothing else.

As the pitch was long and narrow we then tried to configure the rent so that the extension was added to the front. The tent hung over the side of the drop onto the pitch below, so we tried to secure it only to find that the other side was also rocky/ slate incline that we couldn't secure the guy ropes to.

I went back to reception asking again for help, either to move pitch or for help securing the tent. I was told there was nobody to help and to go and buy rock pegs. As two females with two children, we struggled with this, but eventually we secured it on the slope by tying the guy ropes to trees.

Later that day the two parties camping near us ( with an identical tent to mine and staying longer) told us that when they had arrived after us they had complained about their pitch and had been allocated better pitches.

That evening in the bar a member of the bar staff who we had not met previously or spoken to asked us out if the blue if we'd not thought about the fact in advance that our tent wouldn't fit the pitch. We were a little taken aback.

Whilst the site itself is beautiful and the facilities really well maintained, we have left early as we were unable to sleep due to the bedroom sloping steeply and hanging over the edge of the pitch.

A disappointing experience 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sdub 1 review from this member

 Went to park cliffe for a weekend and couldn't believe how nice it was so much so we returned the weekend after for the bank holiday.

The park is family run, they are so friendly, it was so clean, all the facilities were amazing including disabled bathroom, shower, toilet etc,

We ate in the restaurant the food was great.

We will definitely return. The Robinson's 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KmarieL 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely site with excellent facilities (the best we've been to yet), and perfect for family holidays.

The site is set at the bottom of a steep hill - when on a dry day is definitely worth a climb as the views are amazing.

The site we pitched our tent on was a little boggy due to the previous weeks bad weather - but the local staff found us pallets to use from our tent to the path to stop us bringing in the mud.

The shower / toilet / washing area / laundry facilities are excellent. They were spotless on each visit.

The site is clearly very well managed, from the reception team to the chap who shows you exactly where to pitch. Its a no nonsense sight which means everyone was very courteous - no loud noise or music.

Its an excellent site for families with young children - with amazing play facilities, and the stream which all the children waded in (under supervision) at some point during their stay.

The location is good, we found it central to all the places we wanted to visit. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Goldengirl62 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned from this site and have to say what a lovely place well kept, very clean, and very friendly helpful staff.

We did use the takeaway facility twice and both times it was great very tasty. We used the local taxi service which reception were happy to book for us as we did not want to take the motorhome out we went to Bowness the cost was 11. 00 each way they were happy to take our two dogs.

I think it would be a fair walk plus to parking looked pretty limited very busy this was on a Monday so would imagine w. Ends would be worse.

All in all this has to be one of the best sites we have visited so far would use again. 


Previous     170 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Park Cliffe Camping & Caravan Estate child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Park Cliffe Camping & Caravan Estate?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Park Cliffe Camping & Caravan Estate dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Windermere      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2253 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement