Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Park Cliffe Camping & Caravan Estate

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Windermere > Park Cliffe Camping & Caravan Estate > Reviews

Park Cliffe Camping & Caravan Estate
Birks Road
Near Tower Wood
Windermere
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA23 3PG
Tel: 015395 31344
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 140
Open: 01/03/2024 to 14/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 178 Reviews
                9/10 from 178 Reviews

Photos (29)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  178 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: KathP29 33 reviews from this member

 Fabulous traditional campsite. Well kept and attractive. Safe for the children to play in the park or the rock in the middle was a great meeting place for them.

Great walking from site and in 20 minutes going up great panoramic views of the lakes.

Facilities always being cleaned. Great little bar (hubby loved the Guinness). We are a good breakfast on our last morning

Highly Recommend for families 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Makey1976 1 review from this member

 Great little site. Location great few mins to towns around Windermere.

Facilities are great, bar, food, toilet and shower all prefect.

We had electric hook up and water next to pitch.

Overall nice relaxing stay at a fantastic site even when weather wasn’t great.

Defo be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Oops a daisy 8 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, very well looked after and the staff are lovely. Popped to the on site bar for afternoon drink next to a beautiful brook - great for kids to paddle in & play in the shade of the trees.

There is an old caravan on site that does different foods 4 nights a week and they do a good breakfast in the bar on a morning.

I would have had only positive things to say however when we got back to our campervan we were greeted by a new neighbour in a huge camper plus awning plus extra car crammed in & pitched far too close to us (within 1 metre and guy ropes crossing ours) Why, when you have 25 acres would you allow a huge until to set up so close?

Absolutely ruined it for us and wouldn't recommend or come back 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Dkpanoz 8 reviews from this member

 A wonderful picture perfect site set in the Lake District 10mins drive to lake Windermere.

Spotlessly clean extremely well maintained we had a pitch(number 24) right at the top of a hill with hard standing, electric hook up and waste water drain.

Only slight negative was Elsin point(one of)was a good 5 minutes walk near we’re our pitch was, and we could only find one dog waste bin.

But didn’t really bother us that much in all honesty.

We had beautiful weather all weekend and which we could have stayed for longer, we simply didn’t want to come home with our tans.

There was a small games room on site and there was a bar which closed at 10pm where our children had a few games of pool.

Staff were extremely talkative and very kind an helpful.

Our 5th site we’ve visited this year and the best one to date.

A perfect base for cycling, walking and lake Windermere.

Would highly recommend and definitely return next year for a longer stay 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 15 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: AndrewMoorey 38 reviews from this member

 Followed directions given by the park with no dramas, the road up from Newby Bridge is a bit twisty and Birks Road, the last 300 yards is single track.

Very pleasant staff on arrival. Didn't like the pitch we had been allocated, 35, I think it was probably the worst pitch on the site, it looked very much like an afterthought, borrowed from pitch 34 which we moved onto which was much nicer. Caught the sun in the early part of the day, chilly in late afternoon and evening

Bar and restaurant very pleasant, no dogs in the bar but they could come on the terrace with us. We had a takeaway Sunday roast which was delicious and generous portion size

Site very clean and tidy all the time, sanitation block cleaned regularly. Only used the site push button showers twice. Found building itself very cold, water pressure low and fixed water temperature only just warm enough for my liking so used on board facilities instead. Personal choice.

So much to see and do in the area. A great site for families, very lively with children at the weekends! Buses run from the main road up to Bo'ness, Ambleside and, Kendal.

Fell Foot gardens (NT) a nice place to spend a sunny day. Climb up the mountain behind the site for spectacular views, go up the left side leaving the play area for an easier climb. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Glmb 2 reviews from this member

 Very good location, lovely place, and very clean facilities with lots of toilets.

The restaurant is not open everyday which would be quite helpful.

Staff is very professional and kind. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Hannah 1 review from this member

 Great location short walk to Bala.

Staff were amazing very welcoming and helpful.

Great size pitches for tents and all seemed to be close to the toilet blocks.

Campsite was very clean.

Would definitely recommend! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: DplusG 27 reviews from this member

 This was out first trip this year and only the second since the pandemic started so it was a big deal for us.

The Site was very welcoming, immaculate in all respects, well run in a friendly way and easy to find.

Our neighbours on the site were all friendly and well behaved, so it was a lovely place to visit.

We'll definitely be returning to Park Cliffe. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Jwd80 2 reviews from this member

 We chose to stay somewhere near Windemere and I was aware the it is a bit more pricey than others we had been to, compared to North Yorkshire for example, however the Lake District is generally a little more 'pricey'. We were glad we were caravanning and not paying for a hotel. It is pricey for obvious reasons.

It's simply beautiful, with a plethora of things to do with the family, such as Brockhole, boating, hill walking, 'Peter Rabbit, home of Beatrix Potter, and the highlight; my kids feeding beautiful wild doves by hand in Bowness. It's a fabulous place, and highly recommend it as a touring destination.

We chose Park Cliffe because I wanted somewhere I could be sure was pleasant, and not far out, which is exactly what you get. Its immaculate, has its own mountain, lovely bar and cafe, and a play park. It had all we needed with pleasant staff, and would go to Park Cliffe again if going to the Lakes.

As the owner states, its better to approach from Newby Bridge with your tourer as the turn would be 'too tight' with potential grounding if approaching the other way (or go past the left turn into the campsite, and do a full 180 at the roundabout in Newbybridge, and back to make a Right turn). 


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Grannygrandma 5 reviews from this member

 Very nice site, we have stayed here quite a few times,

Always clean and tidy, staff friendly, lovely for children,

There's a stream that they can play in so take wellies,

Restaurant and bar nice, staff very friendly menu limited but good food 


Previous     178 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Park Cliffe Camping & Caravan Estate child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Park Cliffe Camping & Caravan Estate?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Park Cliffe Camping & Caravan Estate dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Windermere      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


55683 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement