Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Waterfoot Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ullswater > Waterfoot Caravan Park Reviews

Waterfoot Caravan Park
Pooley Bridge
(lake District)
Ullswater
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0JF
Tel: 01768 486302
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 36
Open: March To Mid November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 80 Reviews
                9/10 from 80 Reviews

Photos (24)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  80 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is opening in line with government guidance and we are taking bookings for arrivals from 17/07/2020 onwards , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas and this may include toilet and shower facilities. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Garyp13589kqc 1 review from this member

 Camp site very well maintained. Pitches plenty big enough and hard standing, each pitch also having its own water supply and drainage.

Toilet block always clean and large shower cubicle each with own sink, spot on.

Would definitely use again if in the area. Friendly staff also 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dartgirl81 23 reviews from this member

 This is a nice site, approach road and site access is good.

This was our first time here and our first impression was that they really squeezed the units on, it made it feel even more packed in as there were trees on all sides. Pitches are full service and are well kept. There is a great play area for kids, a huge field with football goals, and swings and slides, so they can kick a ball around without getting moaned at. Also no dogs allowed on the play field.

The toilets and showers were basically clean, but I felt they needed a deep clean, as dirt was gathering in the corners, and I guess the cleaning contractors only gave them a cursory quick mop. Also the window ledges outside we're covered in old cobwebs which made it look a bit 'soapy'. 3 large shower cubicles in the ladies, with a shower and sink. Some washing cubicles, and a baby changing station. As mentioned, they need a good scrub out and updating. My husband went into the gents one morning and said there was no toilet paper in any of the cubicles. I guess the staff don't do an evening check that most sites do.

The laundry had 1 washing machine and 1 dryer, perhaps I shouldn't say, but we've been touring the UK for 7 months and these were the cheapest we've come across. Washing up facilities were also in the laundry block.

The worst elsan point we've seen on the 12+ sites we've stayed on since we started touring in January. Checking the elsan point on a daily basis isn't part of the daily cleaning regime. It was awful. It needed jet washing and the use of a good stiff broom. Husband had a moan, and all they did was swept it out. Yuk!

A 20 minute walk to Pooley Bridge and the ullswater steamers, there are some pubs there, and a post office/convenience store (very expensive)

The on site shop does most basics and the lady was very helpful.

Not sure we'd go back as its very squashed in, oh and the awful elsan point. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Photolady 7 reviews from this member

 The campsite is very well situated being at the head of Ullswater and within walking distance of the village of Pooley Bridge where there are 3 pubs, one of which we would recommend called The Pooley Bridge Inn. Good food and not too expensive. Lots of walks can be done from the site especially with the aid of the Ullswater Steamers.

The site staff were very friendly and helpful and there is a good little shop. The shower block was always clean.

Things that were not so good for us was the level of noise when we were there. I admit we don't have dogs so do find constant dog barking a bit of a pain when you are after peace and quiet. Also they are doing some building work at the entrance to the site which carries on all day and was quite intrusive. The pitch sizes were adequate, but not spacious. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: ChisCross2458 7 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a 3 night break at this site and all we can say is WOW. Loved the location, very quiet and peaceful. It's mainly privately owned static caravans but the touring part of the site is secluded and well laid out. We had one of the inside pitches and found it to be spacious and we had an awning up. Toilets and showers were clean and well maintained if a little dated. The shop on the site was good and all the staff were friendly.

It was a nice walk up to the mansion where at weekend you can have a drink in the bar and take in the view of Ullswater.

Pooley Bridge is a lovely little village with 3 pubs, some shops and cafes. The river running into the lake was a big hit with our dog, he didn't want to come out and my husband had to go in after him! It's hard to believe that it was so fierce that it took the stone bridge out in 2015/16. There's plenty to do on the lake and as it was a scorcher there were loads of people out there in boats, paddle boarding and canoeing.

Loved it here and this site is definitely on our list of repeat visits. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Piffy57 37 reviews from this member

 Heard about this park whilst visiting the Caravan Show in Manchester. Itís the sister park to Woodclose Park in Kirkby Lonsdale. The wardens formerly worked at Woodclose Park and moved to Waterfoot a few years ago.

You get a great welcome, plenty of information, walked to your pitch and the holiday starts there. Its 5 miles from J40 of the M6 and easily accessed (switch off your sat nav when you turn off the A66).

Pitches are wide enough close to all the facilities. Wash rooms are spotless and there were no queues.

The shop is well stocked, you can order a paper. The mansion House is worth a walk up the hill and the bar is pleasant with a lovely view of Ullswater.

We went on the steamer trip on the Saturday and itís a great way to see the lake. Pooley Bridge is a lovely little village and recovered well after Storm Desmond in 2015. Nice shops and the Pooley Bridge Inn is a lovely pub with great food in big portions.

We only went for two nights and time caught up on us. We will definitely return later this year and explore more of the area. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Madgeplus2 23 reviews from this member

 Easy to find, reception staff excellent and given choice of pitch. Site has a circular road with pitches both inside and outside the road, those inside look to be very crowded together. All of the pitches are narrow and past their best in terms of levelness and personally I felt rather squeezed in, even on the outside.

TV reception is poor but they do have TV points on the EHU post, so you need a coax cable to reach them. They are available to buy at Reception for a reasonable sum.

Toilet block is regularly cleaned and big enough for number of visitors.

WiFi is free BUT you have to walk up the hill between the statics to the Big House to pick it up, beware, the portal dumps spam on your connection.

Easy walk into Pooley Bridge, across meadows and through a wood passing the Steamer pier on the way, 4 pubs there, at least two are very good, the cafe just over the temporary bridge is worth a visit also. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: PaulineW 10 reviews from this member

 We had a wonderful 2 day stay at this site, and enjoyed every minute of it. When we got there we were shown our pitch by a very friendly man, it was a lovely spot with hard standing and plenty of room between pitches. Dogs are welcome although not in the children's play area which wasn't a problem for us. Shower block/toilets were close by and were spacious and the water a good temperature. Dish washing facility was inside and very clean, also a washing machine and ironing board available. The site is nice to walk around with the mansion at the top of a hill, with lovely views over Ullswater. The walk into Pooley Bridge was off road and about 10 minutes. It's a small place but we loved it, not the hustle and bustle of Windermere! It's a great starting point for cycling too. Can't wait to go back. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Crazy Maisie 10 reviews from this member

 Had high expectations of this site as it was featured as one of 100 top UK campsites and when we arrived the layout and presentation of the many static holiday homes was impressive. However, the touring part of the site was shabby by comparison; the pitches were of large grade chipped stones interspersed with weeds and were uneven in all directions. The grass and hedges could have been better kept and neater. However, the pitches had EHU, H2O and aerial point.

The hairdryers were good and the safe pathway down to the main road was appreciated. The showers and toilets, though clean and warm, were outdated and poorly finished. The wifi was hopeless; available only in 'the mansion' (bar) a fair walk from the touring pitches, it was difficult to access, slow and unreliable. Phone reception non-existent. But importantly the staff were both friendly and helpful and the shop looked well stocked. I assume it makes the top 100 campsites due to its location and proximity to Ullswater. (A return boat trip from Pooley Br. To Glenridding is £13. 50 pp) 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Type4alfie 1 review from this member

 Very well run campsite, toilets and showerblocks very clean warm and tidy. No noise after 10. 30pm this rule is respected by everyone. Close to all arterial routes but at the same time being peaceful and quiet. Staff very helpful and polite. On site shop keeps essentials including bottled gas. Our stay was very good and would definitely return soon. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Daisy the Van 3 reviews from this member

 My Husband and I stayed here for 2 nights recently. What a lovely place, friendly helpful staff.

Pitches are roomy, have their own water supply, TV ariel point as reception is poor. Not that this bothered me.

The toilets and showers are spotless, as is the laundry room and dishwashing area.

This site is popular with tourers and after speaking to some visitors it was clear that advance booking is required as many people return on a regular basis.

This is a beautiful site in a lovely area. We will definitely return. 


Previous     80 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Waterfoot Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Waterfoot Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Waterfoot Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ullswater      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3959 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020