Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ullswater Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Ullswater > Ullswater Holiday Park > Reviews

Ullswater Holiday Park
Watermillock
(lake District)
Ullswater
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0LR
Tel: 01768 486666
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 160
Open: 01/03/2024 to 14/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 84 Reviews
                8/10 from 84 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  84 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Richp123 2 reviews from this member

 Plenty of space, lots of camping fields to choose from, quiet as soon as you get beyond the playground and main facilities.

Furthest field has views of Ullswater.

Staff in shop and cafe were so helpful. Bar in the evening.

Free showers, lots of toilet blocks,

Would def recommend. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: LINDOPS 4 reviews from this member

 Our first trip to this caravan site with our tourer. Already rebooked for next year.

The staff are lovely, helpful and friendly. The games room has a couple of pool tables to help pass some time for the teenagers. The bar was lovely, we were lucky enough to be there when a live band were playing, they were really good.

There is also shop where you can buy your essentials. The toilets were clean and tidy.

Site is ideally located for exploring the lakes. Ullswater is lovely, we hired a kayak at Glenridding on the recommendation of the staff at the caravan site.

The site is lovely and peaceful, choice of accommodation if you donít have your own. Not a commercialised site, family run and it shows.

A beautiful place to stop. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Sonnas 1 review from this member

 In a lovely location. Super pitches are a good size. Donít forget to take aerial extension good reception.

Toilet shower block a little on the small side 2x toilets 1x shower has a good size disability room.

Reception nice and friendly with a well stocked shop. Fantastic fish and chip shop on sight highly recommend.

Site is well positioned for walking straight from site so no need to worry about parking.

Lovely play park for kiddies. Great for dogs too. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lianne1978 8 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 4 night with our 2 children on a scorching weekend in July. Lovely campsite with very clean facilities. Within a few minutes drive of the lake and marina. We went down to the lake for a pic nic and a swim in the water as it was so hot. Has a Bar on site (which we don't normally go for) but which we did use one and it was fine and child friendly.

We would go back here for a second visit. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gizmo1 1 review from this member

 Have visited this site with tourer and have stayed in static visited with family group. Excellent and clean facilities. Weather cold on evening, but have own club house so can have a drink and quiz or dance etc, also games room. Beautiful location with short walk to lake and plenty places to visit, chip shop on site and small shop for essentials. Would buy static if more affordable 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Lilysmum0151 1 review from this member

 Great site not far from banks of Ullswater and jct 40 of M6. Pooley Bridge (which has great pubs) and several national trust sites nearby (including a lovely waterfall). Hill up to site a bit steep, but we managed it with no issues. Grounds very clean and tidy. Small club house had entertainment over bank holiday weekend (but we didn't use it). Nice playground for kids (near to camping pitches). Mix of camping, statics, touring pitches and cottages /glamping pods. Showers and toilets were very clean. Our touring pitch was not very level but others were better (stick to low numbers). Female manager (owner?) very friendly and efficient and did me a massive favour in accessing shop out of hours when I needed something in an emergency (if you read this. Thanks so much you took the stress out of a very difficult situation). Only minor criticism is that showers were badly designed (water runs from one to the next) and they could do with a bench in each cubicle and mats like those used in public pools which allow water to drain. Not a major issue though and we will be returning soon. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: GARY MOO 1 review from this member

 Excellent tree lined friendly family run site and they all work double shifts, as in the staff mowing during the day and mopping the showers to ensure they are spotless at all times. also serves your drinks in the evening, small clubhouse open 8pm-11pm regular pub prices, great chippy on site open 5pm-9pm. Great safe play area for the kids with a brand new zip wire. The only downside is the Lakes weather so choose your pitch carefully, what is bone dry when you arrive may be a mud pit the next day if in a dip, but hey you are in the lakes the wettest place in the UK anyway. All in all had a great stay and will be back, happy camping and thanks to all the team and to the MOD for the free regular airshow over Ullswater 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tykeinire 1 review from this member

 On arrival the site looked beautiful and the views are spectacular. We arrived during August Bank Holiday Weekend after what looked like very heavy rainfall. It left the site looking like a mud bath which made the stay uncomfortable. However this is the Lakes and that has to be expected, so can't be to overly critical on this point. It was very busy during our stay and I must criticise the cleanliness of the shower blocks, which left a lot to be desired. I did witness the inspection of the blocks which consisted of a quick look, flush of toilets etc, but without much actual cleaning. If you pay a premium to stay at Peak times, than this should be reflected on the cleaning duties undertaken too. We did attempt to go into the clubhouse to experience the Bingo, however dogs were not welcome; being on a dog friendly site we found this very unfortunate. Being so busy it felt like too many people to get to know so it also felt unfriendly, the mud bath may have played a part in this too. The Good points were definitely the views and the Staff on Reception were very pleasant. Whilst awaiting the BBQ to get fired up we sampled the chips from the site shop and they were beautiful, so much so that we sampled again the next night and on our final night we had fish and chips and they were delightful. I would definitely recommend this site for families as they have what looked like a great kids playing field and they have plenty of space to run around (albeit on our stay, plenty of mud). If you looking for a more relaxed stay, I would think careful about the weather as there is very little drainage on the site and we had friends that stayed in a tent and were laid on top of a big puddle. Overall: Plenty of facilities, on our stay cleaning was minimum and let down by the clubhouse being non-dog friendly and the site was waterlogged. Great scenery all around and wonderful fish n' chips! 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Landrovernut3 2 reviews from this member

 What a little gem. Was intending to stop overnight but stayed for a week. Very friendly and helpful staff, the site in general was very clean and as for showers etc, they were spotless. A well stocked shop, free wifi aslong as you were in or near main building which isn't a problem at all

Great location for touring/ exploring the north Lake District, even though we also explored Windermere which was only a 40/45 minute drive away. Great walks for the dog from the site itself. All in all a great little site with very reasonable rates 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gina1972GS 2 reviews from this member

 Liked this site a lot. However, it's a steep narrow road up to the site.

Although we were pitched amongst the tourers. That wasn't really a problem and the pitches were huge. But they were gravel. Ideal if there's lots of rain which can happen in the lakes but we were fortunate to have very good weather over the bank holiday weekend. Had a couple of pegs bend while trying to pitch.

There were 4 showers. These were nice and hot with plenty of pressure but you have to press the button to keep the water flowing. Not that that bothered me. And they're free, which they should be. And I didn't have to queue once and they were immaculate.

My male friend said the showers were cold when he used them!

The shop on site sells a variety of items and seemed well stocked. Fish and chip shop on site reasonably priced but limited items on the menu.

We didn't go into the bar or use the games room so can't comment on those.

There was no major noise after 11pm. However I was woken a few times by nearby dogs howling in the early hours! I thought there was a dog kennel nearby! The sound was eerie in the early hours that I thought I was in a Twilight film!

I'm sure I heard a Woodpecker a couple of times in the morning but that was a nice sound compared to the hounds of hell!

Overall the site was lovely. Well maintained. I didn't see the main camping field so can't comment on that. Ideal base for visiting many areas of The Lakes and Morrisson's and an Aldi are 10 minutes up the road in Penrith if you need more than basic provisions.

Would definitely return to this site.  


Previous     84 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Ullswater Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ullswater Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Ullswater Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ullswater      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4209 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement